News Silvagni, Smith and Tabener sign contract extensions

Perhaps I don't have a clue, but I'll hedge my bets and back myself in, what do you reckon?

If he was anything more than a plan D, he'd get longer than 1 year now, wouldn't he?
Maybe that was the compromise to get him to stay?

Like a 'give us one more year as depth and we'll see what's happening with McPharlin's spot after that, then if you want to leave we'll trade you' sort of thing.
Strong commonsense.

That point would still be valid with a 2 or 3 year contract, except Silvagni has added job security (which you all know he'd never refuse), and we have slightly better negotiating power due to no threat of the PSD ;). If we saw him as someone that showed much value to us, or anyone else, he'd be on a longer contract.

There's no shame in just admitting that I'm right lads...
You're right........said no one ever!

Would he be?

He would be 4th in line for a game at GWS behind Jaksch, Davis, Gilham, Mohr, Bruce, Corr, Sellar. They've just delisted Cornes, O'Hailpin. Tell me why they would want a list clogger, when they've got stud 1st round picks which have served 1/2 year apprenticeships, and seasoned players capable of holding down the fort for another 6-12 months?

Melbourne have Frawley, Dunn, McDonald, Seller, Pederson or even bloody Watts who is a better player than Silvagni. They have got KPP's coming out of their ******* ears, they have no interest whatsoever ever in recruiting undersized KPP's with poor disposal, that lack pace.

Want me to keep going?

If Silvagni had serious interest from rival clubs, he would sign with them. If Silvagni had serious interest from rial clubs, and we felt he was important, we would sign him for longer than 1 season. If Silvagni was highly regarded by the club, we would have played him ahead of Tanner Smith, instead of putthing him up against some bloke called Lance Franklin in his debut match.

But yeah, you keep telling yourself he's the heir apparant for when McPharlin packs it in in another 2ish years. Ffffffuuuuu-
I'd ask if you're trolling, but I honestly believe you actually are that stupid.

I
Would he be?

He would be 4th in line for a game at GWS behind Jaksch, Davis, Gilham, Mohr, Bruce, Corr, Sellar. They've just delisted Cornes, O'Hailpin. Tell me why they would want a list clogger, when they've got stud 1st round picks which have served 1/2 year apprenticeships, and seasoned players capable of holding down the fort for another 6-12 months?

Melbourne have Frawley, Dunn, McDonald, Seller, Pederson or even bloody Watts who is a better player than Silvagni. They have got KPP's coming out of their ******* ears, they have no interest whatsoever ever in recruiting undersized KPP's with poor disposal, that lack pace.

Want me to keep going?

If Silvagni had serious interest from rival clubs, he would sign with them. If Silvagni had serious interest from rial clubs, and we felt he was important, we would sign him for longer than 1 season. If Silvagni was highly regarded by the club, we would have played him ahead of Tanner Smith, instead of putthing him up against some bloke called Lance Franklin in his debut match.

But yeah, you keep telling yourself he's the heir apparant for when McPharlin packs it in in another 2ish years. Ffffffuuuuu-
In saying this do you believe we should have re-signed Silvagni if he's such a 'sub standard' player?

I'd ask if you're trolling, but I honestly believe you actually are that stupid.

Have you got a problem campaigner?

Feel free to step up and post a reasoned opinion, mouth.

You've obviously had a belly full of piss, go sober up and come back in the morning.

Here's my conspiracy theory( you know I like these). A lowly placed club has approached us with a ridiculous trade for Silva. In an effort to not get done over by him walking to the draft, he has agreed to a one year extension. This does a couple of things. Firstly he now has a secure job for next year, if a trade takes place we are in a much better position to bargain a listed player. If he goes into the PS draft he could quite easily to to a club that he doesn't want to play for ( GWS) even with conditions on his trade. Finally if nothing happens, we have some of the best depth in the comp still.

Please, tell me how Silvagni will dominate while playing for Melbourne. He gets schooled playing for us, and we're the best defensive side in the competition.

Like I said, they've got older bodies to hold the fort until they develop ie Davis and Mohr. Forgot Plowman, heh.

No doubt KPP attract interest, but it's the young talented ones, or the proven quality ones. Clubs don't go trading for what they can pick up for free in the PSD, after another club delists them.

If you or Malpaso are confident that Silvagni will be around in 2-3 years time, I'm more than willing to place a wager on it.
The Saints were willing to pay through the nose for another spud in Mitch Brown, not saying we'd get the same value from a trade - but the trading of spud KPP's for inflated value does happen.

Have you got a problem silly?

Feel free to step up and post a reasoned opinion, mouth.

You've obviously had a belly full of piss, go sober up and come back in the morning.
Yes and I expressed my opinion. You sir are absolutely clueless. Silvagni obviously signed for one more year, hoping to break into the team next year, if unsuccessful he can leave. He's having one last crack, like I said before 'strong commonsense'.
Yeah I very rarely drink, but nice try, you know as much about me as you do about AFL, which is nothing.

Yes and I expressed my opinion. You sir are absolutely clueless. Silvagni obviously signed for one more year, hoping to break into the team next year, if unsuccessful he can leave. He's having one last crack, like I said before 'strong commonsense'.
Yeah I very rarely drink, but nice try, you know as much about me as you do about AFL, which is nothing.

You expressed nothing, you were pissed out of your tree and you thought you'd be a hero and take a few pot shots. I struggle to see any argument to counter mine, other than assuming his motives, and you sure as **** haven't validated that with supporting arguments.

I know more about football than you will ever do son, because I'm not a dunce. If you're going to be the hero, man the **** up, and have a reasoned discussion, instead of running your mouth like a twit and taking pot shots, without providing anything of worth whatsoever.

If Silvagni is a walk up start 2 1/3 of the competition, like some people suppose, why is he sticking around here to rot in the WAFL and hope for injuries to the guys ahead of him, so he can get a game? Common sense?

If we valued him as a player, and thought he had trade value, why would we not sign him up for multiple seasons, where we could try your "common sense" wait and see for 1 season approach, and then trade him for something of value (assuming we were able to get anything), as opposed to signing him for 1 season under the "common sense" approach and then have him walk to the PSD for nothing?

Common sense indeed.

Pull your head out of your arse and look at the situation with even just a hint of objectivity. Doesn't take a rocket surgeon to put 2 and 2 together.

Would he be?

Want me to keep going?

I had to read this several times before it actually sunk in.

Fair ****ing dinkum you write some absolute tripe.

Would he be?

Want me to keep going?

Except for Frawley, every one of the Melbourne players you cited bar McDonald are to date proving to be spuds of the highest order.

As for the GWS names, way to prove (despite your self inflated egotistical backslapping) that you know nothing about footy. Bruce is already gone to St Kilda, Jaksch is homesick and will either be traded or sit out the year and go back home, Gilham has been a massive flop and was repeatedly dropped during the season, Corr and Sellar are in no way KPDs, and have no experience in a truly defensive smothering style of footy (which Alex has now developed after playing for RTB for two years). Neither Cornes nor Setanta were ever played as KPDs at GWS. Davis has been hurt almost all year and has degenerative shoulder and knee issues. Mohr is the only player you mention who has been getting anything like regular games, and he has had his daks dragged down by some of the most ordinary mid sized forwards in the game, as he is proving unable to play body on body nor handle the leaping/leading types.

Your unprovoked, rude and offensive posting towards other long-term Freo posters on this board is also entirely unnecessary, especially in the week after our best ever win. Show some class and respect.

You expressed nothing, you were pissed out of your tree and you thought you'd be a hero and take a few pot shots. I struggle to see any argument to counter mine, other than assuming his motives, and you sure as **** haven't validated that with supporting arguments.

I know more about football than you will ever do son, because I'm not a dunce. If you're going to be the hero, man the **** up, and have a reasoned discussion, instead of running your mouth like a twit and taking pot shots, without providing anything of worth whatsoever.

If Silvagni is a walk up start 2 1/3 of the competition, like some people suppose, why is he sticking around here to rot in the WAFL and hope for injuries to the guys ahead of him, so he can get a game? Common sense?

If we valued him as a player, and thought he had trade value, why would we not sign him up for multiple seasons, where we could try your "common sense" wait and see for 1 season approach, and then trade him for something of value (assuming we were able to get anything), as opposed to signing him for 1 season under the "common sense" approach and then have him walk to the PSD for nothing?

Common sense indeed.

Pull your head out of your arse and look at the situation with even just a hint of objectivity. Doesn't take a rocket surgeon to put 2 and 2 together.
My god you are stupid. It couldn't be more commonsense that Silvagni is staying for one more year to try and break into the team. How does that not get into your small brain? You keep saying Plan D, even though Tanner Smith is our plan D, Silvagni is plan B. Strong football knowledge you have there. I have to say it again, because you seemed to have your period while you were trying to be both tough & intelligent, it's commonsense you twat. You seem to be the only person that doesn't get it, think it says a lot about your lack of football knowledge than it does about everybody else.

Ugh, give it a bone mate.

Interesting conversation going on in here :rolleyes:

Personally I am stoked with these signings. Really hoping to see those young fellas develop and push for a spot in the 22.

On Silvagni I am stoked he has decided to stick with us when I reckon there would have been a few clubs interested if he wanted to jump ship. Sure he's not in our 22 at the moment but the impact and professionalism he brought to the team when he was tapped on the shoulder has been fantastic. He didn't play a single poor game for us this year so I am confused why his signing has stirred up a hornet's nest.

I look forward to Silvagni having probably a similar role/ impact next year when called on and we all know he will bring great effort when needed.

Interesting conversation going on in here :rolleyes:

Personally I am stoked with these signings. Really hoping to see those young fellas develop and push for a spot in the 22.

On Silvagni I am stoked he has decided to stick with us when I reckon there would have been a few clubs interested if he wanted to jump ship. Sure he's not in our 22 at the moment but the impact and professionalism he brought to the team when he was tapped on the shoulder has been fantastic. He didn't play a single poor game for us this year so I am confused why his signing has stirred up a hornet's nest.

I look forward to Silvagni having probably a similar role/ impact next year when called on and we all know he will bring great effort when needed.

Agree entirely re Silvagni. Guy has shown great character after the near death brush with the mulleted one last year. Always gives his all and there is no reason why he can't continue to develop his game. If after next season it hasn't worked out, and he is finding it too difficult to break into a dual premiership team, we'll be happy to let him seek better opportunities elsewhere.

Gotta say I love Silvagni, looks a large margin ahead of his WAFL counterparts when playing for Claremont. You'd have to say that a few clubs would love to have him on their lists.
Don't like the slagging of one of our players on here though mate, pull your head in.

Hopefully Tabernar puts a crap load of muscle on this preseason.
He has a lot of potential.

Silvagni is only 26 - do you not think he is thinking wait my time and when Luke retires I'll be a very strong chance to play 2-3 seasons of top notch, finals footy with a good shot at a flag.

This scenario over 3-4 seasons getting a game but getting flogged.

Being in a premiership window does have it's own rewards.

Matt Tabs gonna make it? Haven't seen enough to be convinced yet. What you guys think??

His leading patterns are fantastic ....constantly hits up and double leads.

The base is there.

News Silvagni, Smith and Tabener sign contract extensions