Simmo's Class Warfare

Some people (usually those who went to private schools) have a very odd view on what the public schools are like. They seem to think public schools are basically the purge.

Odd broad brush opinion to the real world that usually renders where you went to school as a curiosity, irrelevant to getting ahead.

Wow. That is one of the most elitist things I've heard in a long long time. Some of the best players in the history of the game have troubled stories/have outside issues - GAJ, Dusty, Fev, Stevie J, Swan etc.

Reckon that would upset a few of the Indigenous boys hearing that, who've had a rough time of it, like TK, W. Rioli, Jamaine Jones, to name but a few.

Poor form.

Anyone would any knowledge on the topic would know in WA, almost all of the good indigenous propects go to private schools under footy scholarships.

Simmo is simply saying what is a given in an attempt to garner some more AFL soft cap support.

Having gone to a country public high school myself for 3 years, with the last 2 years at a PSA school and having a son in the PSA footy program that has become almost prefessional in the last few years, the PSA in WA will be/is producing the vast majority of future AFL players from WA.

Don't shoot the messenger.

To those writing this off with a 'suck it up princess attitude', I posted this on the Geelong board, and I'll post it here too:

The commentary and the wording matter here for a very simple reason - it sounds elitist, and we currently exist in a very two tiered system of inequality that is ramping up day by day in this country.

You can't have a rich coach, at a rich football club, stating that public school kids from broken homes are unacceptable, and private school kids with happy families are. What you're stating is that your situation that you're born into (which you yourself have no control over), is what will dictate your livelihood. If you went to a public school and you want to play for us, well sorry you're sh*t out of luck because you're problematic and unfortunately we can't afford that risk.

Ask yourself this? What does this then do when it comes to recruiting Indigenous kids - who a lot of them face significant roadblocks in their day to day lives, due to social policy?

The wider implications of this statement are inherently political, and can't simply be written off with a 'drink some concrete and harden the f*ck up' attitude. If you have an attitude of rejecting a class of people on the basis of their situation, then you're basically stating that the AFL is only for the rich and the privileged - and where does that leave us?

He's literally arguing that clubs should be allowed to provide the resources that allow them to not let the family situation of the kid dictate their future.

Wow. That is one of the most elitist things I've heard in a long long time. Some of the best players in the history of the game have troubled stories/have outside issues - GAJ, Dusty, Fev, Stevie J, Swan etc.

Reckon that would upset a few of the Indigenous boys hearing that, who've had a rough time of it, like TK, W. Rioli, Jamaine Jones, to name but a few.

Poor form.

Given Simmos ongoing support of Willie Rioli, actions speak louder than words ... from yesterday: https://www.sen.com.au/news/2021/07...ider-playing-rioli-this-year-after-asada-ban/

Anyone would any knowledge on the topic would know in WA, almost all of the good indigenous propects go to private schools under footy scholarships.

Simmo is simply saying what is a given in an attempt to garner some more AFL soft cap support.

Having gone to a country public high school myself for 3 years, with the lasts 2 years at a PSA school and having a son in the PSA footy program that has become almost prefessional in the last few years, the PSA in WA will be/is producing the vast majority of future AFL players from WA.

Not just WA.

Sad to see so many fall for channel 7 click bait.

He is clearly making the point, as he has been for 12 months now, that soft cap reductions will mean less resources for players who aren't from the streamlined AFL program. Liam Ryan would probably be the example at the top of his head. Does he get drafted with a reduced soft cap and associated reduction in human resources at clubs? The private school comment is not the point.

Sad to see so many fall for channel 7 click bait.

He is clearly making the point, as he has been for 12 months now, that soft cap reductions will mean less resources for players who aren't from the streamlined AFL program. Liam Ryan would probably be the example at the top of his head. Does he get drafted with a reduced soft cap and associated reduction in human resources at clubs? The private school comment is not the point.

Read the whole article, doesn't change things in the slightest.

It doesn't matter what his point is, his inference that public school kids with single parents = bad, private school kids with two parents= good, is the problem here.

He's literally stating what he thinks is the definition of an upstanding person versus a shit person. That's not ok.

He's literally arguing that clubs should be allowed to provide the resources that allow them to not let the family situation of the kid dictate their future.

No he's literally stating what makes a good kid and what makes a bad kid - by using public school vs private school as his demonstration.

It doesn't matter what his point is, his inference that public school kids with single parents = bad, private school kids with two parents= good, is the problem here.

He's literally stating what he thinks is the definition of an upstanding person versus a sh*t person. That's not ok.

You listed Steve Johnson as an example of a great player with a troubled time. Simpson is arguing that clubs should have the ability to spend the money that allows them to help the young man who stuffs up and speeds 80km/hr over the limit, instead of delisting him because it's too much trouble.

He's literally stating what he thinks is the definition of an upstanding person versus a sh*t person. That's not ok.
He has been making this point about the soft cap for well over 12 months.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/adam-simpson-warns-against-afl-coach-cull-20200415-p54k13.html 15th April 2020
https://www.sen.com.au/news/2021/01/26/the-carrot-of-afl-not-as-strong-as-it-used-to-be-simpson/ 26th Jan 2021
https://www.sen.com.au/news/2021/05/18/riolis-plight-has-simpson-concerned-by-soft-cap-cuts/ 18th May 2021

But yes, private schools is the point. Channel 7 must be stoked that they can get dunces like most of the contributors in this thread outraged so easily. The advocation for a high soft cap is so we can devote more resources towards a more diverse player base.

Having gone to a country public high school myself for 3 years, with the last 2 years at a PSA school and having a son in the PSA footy program that has become almost prefessional in the last few years, the PSA in WA will be/is producing the vast majority of future AFL players from WA.

So what you're saying is that this mentality is indicative of your entire state? That predominantly only private school kids will be able to play footy in WA moving forward. And you think that's not something worth criticizing the coach of the richest club in the country for - when he subscribes wholeheartedly to this definition of private school kids = good / public school kids = bad?

Bloody hell, a guy speaks his mind and people start to lose their shit ???

Why would any club want to bring in some nuffie that is going to be a lot of hard work and potentially derail the culture of the place ??

Just take a look at the rugby league players, what a nightmare a lot of them are.

He has been making this point about the soft cap for well over 12 months.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/adam-simpson-warns-against-afl-coach-cull-20200415-p54k13.html 15th April 2020
https://www.sen.com.au/news/2021/01/26/the-carrot-of-afl-not-as-strong-as-it-used-to-be-simpson/ 26th Jan 2021
https://www.sen.com.au/news/2021/05/18/riolis-plight-has-simpson-concerned-by-soft-cap-cuts/ 18th May 2021

But yes, private schools is the point. Channel 7 must be stoked that they can get dunces like most of the contributors in this thread outraged so easily.

The article was actually in 'The West Australian', but sure, keep defending this position based on pure tribalism.

I wrote my thesis on inequality in Australia, so I can guarantee the only 'dunces' in here are you and your ilk.

The fact that you think the point is purely about what the AFL is doing, and not about his actual mentality when it comes to public school kids being problematic and being the ones who need help - says you're the one who has no idea about the level of structural inequality in this country writ large.

No he's literally stating what makes a good kid and what makes a bad kid - by using public school vs private school as his demonstration.

More likely he is taken out of context & those who are easily offended & unwilling to select 'think' are quick to let their fingers do the talking.

Your view of what he is stating reflects your view, not his:
'I wrote my thesis on inequality in Australia, so I can guarantee the only 'dunces' in here are you and your ilk.'
Well fair dinkum unbelievable, a rolled gold Xpert .....

Bloody hell, a guy speaks his mind and people start to lose their sh*t ???

Why would any club want to bring in some nuffie that is going to be a lot of hard work and potentially derail the culture of the place ??

Just take a look at the rugby league players, what a nightmare a lot of them are.

So you think that a kid from a broken home, through no fault of his own, who doesn't have two parents and who didn't go to a private school, is a 'nuffie that is going to be a lot of hard work and derail the culture of the place'?

Is that your contention?

Bloody hell, a guy speaks his mind and people start to lose their sh*t ???

So only kids from a private school system are well adjusted individuals ?

Really?

More likely he is taken out of context & those who are easily offended & unwilling to select 'think' are quick to let their fingers do the talking.

Your view of what he is stating reflects your view, not his.

Bullshit. That's what he stated, and that was the inference of the article. It's an absolute copout to state that it's down to interpretation, when he literally explained his definition of a 'draftable player' as 'has two parents... comes from a good stable home...goes to a private school.' That is not interpretation, and you're defending the indefensible based on pure tribalism if you say it is.

I kind of get it but it’s extremely dumb to say it.
A good example of that attitude is available for everyone to see who gets bored on the odd winter Saturday and actually can stay awake watching the rugby union.

rugby union has this attitude and it has made it a fringe sport.
Tye wallabies would be twice as good if they actually looked outside the private school spectrum - half the blokes playing NRL could have been turned into outside backs, fly halves, halfbacks or loose forwards and would be as good as if not better than the blokes they’ve got, but didn’t go to the right school or have a hyphenated surname

Simmo's Class Warfare