Simon Goodwin: Why so little noise?

Early days.

I mean sure, he may be gone, but I think he was gone in 2022.

Then again I guess Voss is in the gun too, maybe a couple more, so they might push him out early before the coaching cupboard is bare.

Really not sure about these first round picks for Melbourne players, Clarry hasn't been Clarry for ages.

Early days.

I mean sure, he may be gone, but I think he was gone in 2022.

Then again I guess Voss is in the gun too, maybe a couple more, so they might push him out early before the coaching cupboard is bare.

Really not sure about these first round picks for Melbourne players, Clarry hasn't been Clarry for ages.
I think Oliver's price is now a young player or maybe a late first plus the dees pay 60% of he's wage. He needs a young midfield around him. Maybe north and the dees hope for durrsma. Pies still have no picks or players that can get petracca, I'd think the blues and instead of Harry I'd be asking for jagga Smith.

Not sure what they get for fritsch or Salem who'll be part of a clearance deal.

I reckon they'd ask for Murphy reid as a straight swap for pickett.

It's the way they've lost, it reminds me of when the lions lost their aura, or the hawks or tigers of last year.

I think Oliver's price is now a young player or maybe a late first plus the dees pay 60% of he's wage. He needs a young midfield around him. Maybe north and the dees hope for durrsma. Pies still have no picks or players that can get petracca, I'd think the blues and instead of Harry I'd be asking for jagga Smith.

Not sure what they get for fritsch or Salem who'll be part of a clearance deal.

I reckon they'd ask for Murphy reid as a straight swap for pickett.

It's the way they've lost, it reminds me of when the lions lost their aura, or the hawks or tigers of last year.
Why in gods name would we trade Jagga Smith or Harry Mckay for Clayton Oliver lol?

It's evident watching the last 2 weeks the players aren't buying into Goodwins love mantra. Id sack him and richo now.

Petracca trade to Carlton at seasons end for their 2026 first and jagga Smith.

Pickett goes to freo for their first and Murphy reid.

Oliver goes maybe north or St kilda. For a first and player.

Salem trade.

Keep gawn, viney, lever, may, petty van rooyan mcveigh, rivers, mcveigh, chandler turner.

I'd go after cam Bruce as senior coach, Simpson to be the richo role for 2026.

You could end up with smith, Langford, Windsor, Lindsay as a midfield for a decade with reid to role through.
carlton are stupid..but not that stupid.
won't happen

Why in gods name would we trade Jagga Smith or Harry Mckay for Clayton Oliver lol?
Look you can get deals if there's cap issues (Bruhn +7, our infamous firesale) or a club fumbles (Houston deal was unders for Gold Coast, I think they got swept up in Port and Collingwoods enthusiasm and were left with the tab).

However that specific deal is beyond belief, not even Fremantle on the bad old days would've swallowed that. Carlton aren't "one drug addict short of a flag", they have the big pieces, they need to work on their role players.

A grade Clarry was never a role player, these days Clarry might not even be that.

Look you can get deals if there's cap issues (Bruhn +7, our infamous firesale) or a club fumbles (Houston deal was unders for Gold Coast, I think they got swept up in Port and Collingwoods enthusiasm and were left with the tab).

However that specific deal is beyond belief, not even Fremantle on the bad old days would've swallowed that. Carlton aren't "one drug addict short of a flag", they have the big pieces, they need to work on their role players.

A grade Clarry was never a role player, these days Clarry might not even be that.
Oliver would probably do very well in a well run and well organised club.

Brisbane
GWS

St Kilda or Adelaide might even be interested.

Oliver has a massive ceiling, he's just a little fat and completely disinterested in playing football at Melbourne Demons. Plenty of clubs will take a gamble on being able to rehabilitate him.

Wouldn't surprise me if he found his old form at another club, but I'm happy just to hold him and watch him play out his contract in misery.

Oliver has a massive ceiling, he's just a little fat and completely disinterested in playing football at Melbourne Demons. Plenty of clubs will take a gamble on being able to rehabilitate him.

Wouldn't surprise me if he found his old form at another club, but I'm happy just to hold him and watch him play out his contract in misery.

Not at age 28. His best days are behind him now. Been playing brilliant footy since he was 19 years of age.
Similar to Dayne Beams, the remaining 5 years of Clarry's career will be subdued. Better off looking for another Jack Macrae-type or someone with little fanfare who would cost a hell of a lot less and give you similar output.

Brisbane
GWS

We could cover up, plenty of practice.;)

I don't t think Melbourne has let him down, maybe the coach hasn't set a great example buy his choices are his own.

Any club would love to have a Gawn, a Trac, a Clarry (well behaved). So you could get a deal for him, just not Kako plus a first rounder.

I'm a big fan of clubs standing by their players even if they're idiots (it's definitely a Collingwood tradition). I think loyalty, even beyond the point of business sense, ends up paying for itself.

I hope Clarry and Trac retire together from Melbourne, maybe score a F/S down the track. Don Scott, aided by Dunstall and Brereton (and a bunch of quieter players pitching in) saved Hawthorn.

Club loyalty can be enormously important. One day Gawn or Trac or even Clarry might save Melbourne somehow.

They won you a flag. Treat them like royalty.

Also a pasty ranga. Limits trades to Docklands clubs or Tasmania.

Yeah, unfortunately Clarry pissed away the prime of his career getting on the gear. Anyone taking him end of this year would be doing so for a heavily discounted price.

Shame to see, but he's not the first and won't be the last player to succumb to the temptations of the devil's dandruff.

The best thing Melbourne can do is clear out Gawn, Clarry, Petracca, Viney and May whilst they still have some currency. Go to the draft before it’s compromised by Tassie.

This list isn’t winning another flag. Time to reload and give more opportunity to the younger guys.

Don’t do what West Coast did. They’ll pay for the next 5-10 years.

Brisbane
GWS

Oliver id think he's best bet would be north, not many other clubs will touch him. The pies have no cap space, no young players and no picks. Cats will have seen this year and will say no. Doesn't fit essendons list or the dogs. Maybe west coast for a second round pick. But I think it's only north or west coast.

Will be interesting to see what they can get for fritsch and Salem though

Oliver id think he's best bet would be north, not many other clubs will touch him. The pies have no cap space, no young players and no picks. Cats will have seen this year and will say no. Doesn't fit essendons list or the dogs. Maybe west coast for a second round pick. But I think it's only north or west coast.

Will be interesting to see what they can get for fritsch and Salem though
North have Sheezel, LDU, FOS, Wardlaw, Powell and Simpkin. The last thing they'd need is another inside mid on a huge contract.

Melbourne are paying half he's conract. No club is touching him full contract. Not sure if you've seen much of Oliver, he was two years ago in the top 5 in the league, he would add experience and coach these young guys where and when to run and take the pressure off them

Not sure if you've seen much of Oliver, the last 2 years he's been an overweight slug on the footy field who's been partly responsible for his clubs implosion. North could do much better than bringing him in and having him around impressionable youth.

The Oliver contract would be hard to move. He has looked far better this year than last. And he’ll continue to build. But he’s on up to 1.3 million. So a club is going to have to pay 800k minimum in my opinion if Melbourne are going to let him go. Trac on a similar wicket. They’ll be hard contracts to move as much as clubs will want the players.

Simon Goodwin: Why so little noise?

Write your reply...