Certified Legendary Thread Sneaking in to the Grand Final............

Been to every single Carlton game in Melbourne this year (plus ANZAC day and a few others) by sneaking in. Haven't paid a single dollar. I have also snuck into the rooms multiple times this year. Three main strategies I use.

1. Pretend you work there.
MCG - At the 'G they have tight security because Delaware staffers actually act as security, so you have to fit in. Wear black dress pants and black polishable shoes. Come a good 2 hours before the game minimum. Go to gate 1a where you will find the catering office. Say your name (or any name). Act surprised when they can't find you on the list. Be good at bullshitting - "Oh it's my first day so maybe that's why my name isn't on the system... oh I was a late call up because I was called up and they were understaffed". You'd be surprised how often it works. They'll give you a worker's pass on a piece of paper with a QR code. Instead of following the rest of employees walking behind the cricket nets to the uniform rooms, go to a random gate and you're in.

MARVEL - Much easier. Still recommend wearing the pants/shoes but you don't need need to come as early. Next to gate 5 there is an entrance for employees with proper security manning the check in. This may sound more daunting than the MCG but as there are no staffers from the catering company it is much easier to bullshit (and they don't interrogate you as much as as the 'G). Marvel is more difficult because you actually have to take the worker's entrance down to the basement, but take the first exit on the right and then the lift up to the seating area. You're in.

2. AROUND THE TURNSTILES (MCG ONLY)
Gate 3 is the only gate where you can do this (trust me I've tried). Walk up and pretend you have a ticket. Go through the bag check area. As you are approaching the turnstiles pretend to get a phone call and walk off the side of the turnstiles and next to the taped/barriered off area. Wait for the right moment and slide under or around the barrier. Stop complaining there's too much security, I did this during the ANZAC Day game so you can imagine how busy it was with everyone looking, you guys are just pussies :p

3. HOW TO GET INTO THE ROOMS
MCG - Rooms are just off the side of MCC. Late in the 4th qtr/right at the end of the game take the lift down to level B2. Pretend to be on the phone so security is reluctant to stop you. Pretend you're in a rush. Blend in with family members and don't make eye contact with security at the entrance. Act like you're meant to be there and no one will stop you. If you want to make it easier for yourself buy cheap disposable wrist bands for one in blue, green, yellow, orange and red. Family members get given a wrist band to wear as proof of entrance but the colour alternates each game/week. Bring one of all five with you.

MARVEL - Rooms are just bellow aisle 33. Late in the 4th qtr/right at the end of the game take the workers lift down to the basement. Lucky for you security won't be checking wrist bands at the entrance to the rooms, but rather outside the lift where family is coming from. Blend in and walk in. Happy days.

I've got heaps of photos and videos of me sneaking in this year. Have also sat on the interchange bench after games and even in the player's showers/ice bath areas (kind of weird, I know). I've used the same techniques this year to get into John Cain Arena (NBL), AAMI park (NRL) and Rod Laver Arena (KISS/Michael Buble). Any questions feel free to ask. :)
Who works in the player's showers?

Not grand final related, but in the general theme.

Back in the 80's when we lived in a student house in Carlton and tight-arsed on everything except what we spent on booze, me and my housemates had a great system of getting into Princes Park for nothing every Saturday arvo.

Whether it was a Carlton, Hawthorn or even Fitzroy home fixture for a while, they would use the same pass outs every Saturday - same colour, same size and shape and same printing. This was also a time when the gates were thrown open at 3/4 time to allow spectators to leave easily, but also allow freeloaders to get in, all above board.

In Round 1, we all paid to get into the match - probably about $4 with a student card - and then just before 3/4 time we'd go out each week, get a pass-out, wait a couple of minutes for the 3/4 time siren, and then wander back in with our valid pass-outs not needing to be handed back.

Then the following Saturday we'd just rock up at 1:30pm and hand over last weeks pass-out for free entry, and then repeat the process again just before 3/4 time that week too.

Must've got into about 50 or 60 free matches between all of us housemates each season.

Nowadays, my teenage son and his mates - sometimes up to 10 of them - simply go online and order child tickets (at the quite affordable price of $0 each), print them off, and use them get in through the turnstiles at Marvel each week. Of course the attendants never even bother checking, and do you think the technology ever finds it weird that nearly a dozen infants are all attending matches together, without even a single adult to chaperone for them? :tearsofjoy:

Back in the 80's when we lived in a student house in Carlton and tight-arsed on everything except what we spent on booze, me and my housemates had a great system of getting into Princes Park for nothing every Saturday arvo.

Whether it was a Carlton, Hawthorn or even Fitzroy home fixture for a while, they would use the same pass outs every Saturday - same colour, same size and shape and same printing. This was also a time when the gates were thrown open at 3/4 time to allow spectators to leave easily, but also allow freeloaders to get in, all above board.

In Round 1, we all paid to get into the match - probably about $4 with a student card - and then just before 3/4 time we'd go out each week, get a pass-out, wait a couple of minutes for the 3/4 time siren, and then wander back in with our valid pass-outs not needing to be handed back.

Then the following Saturday we'd just rock up at 1:30pm and hand over last weeks pass-out for free entry, and then repeat the process again just before 3/4 time that week too.

Must've got into about 50 or 60 free matches between all of us housemates each season.

Nowadays, my teenage son and his mates - sometimes up to 10 of them - simply go online and order child tickets (at the quite affordable price of $0 each), print them off, and use them get in through the turnstiles at Marvel each week. Of course the attendants never even bother checking, and do you think the technology ever finds it weird that nearly a dozen infants are all attending matches together, without even a single adult to chaperone for them? :tearsofjoy:

Website says kids under 5 are free but mustn't occupy a seat. So getting a kids ticket wouldn't assign you a seat?

Used to work at the ‘G 10 years or so ago. The door to the broom closet behind Medallist Bar can be jimmied open in 2 seconds with a cutlery knife (there will be one behind the bar), and from there there’s a manhole into a large ceiling void where you can comfortably survive for a week uninterrupted by sniffer dogs. It’s also adjacent to the cool room packed full of kegs, chocolate bars, and pies. For anyone camping out at the ground before the Grand Final this is your best bet.

Website says kids under 5 are free but mustn't occupy a seat. So getting a kids ticket wouldn't assign you a seat?
Yeah you can't get free kids tickets. Those kids under 5 don't need tickets and are simply supposed to sit on their parents laps. So not sure what his sons are doing.

You can get junior tickets (5-12 years old I think) for about $12 which is what I will always buy for my mates and I as they never check, but those aren't free. Sometimes they have 'Kids Free Week' where every adult ticket comes with an option to also get two free junior tickets, but it's still cheaper to just buy three junior tickets then the one adult.

I like the imagery of you sitting your son down at a young age and shaking him violently while saying, son you must promise me that like me and my father before me, you will never pay for entry to the footy.

In the 70's when I was an early teen, I would go to Princes Park regularly for Blues games. My mate who has a mad Blues man and I would sit in front of a set of corporate boxes and invariably there was always one that was either empty or would empty after half time. We would simply sneak in and spend the remainder of the game sitting in one of these boxes (wasn't much of a box back then). I used to love Princes Park.

Used to also sneak into Linton St regularly (lived close to the ground and would always be there for Sainters home games). That was an easy ground to get into given the number of holes in the fence.

To this day I still don't know how I ended up a Tigers man given I spent all my youth at Moorabbin or Princes Park.

Been to every single Carlton game in Melbourne this year (plus ANZAC day and a few others) by sneaking in. Haven't paid a single dollar. I have also snuck into the rooms multiple times this year. Three main strategies I use.

1. Pretend you work there.
MCG - At the 'G they have tight security because Delaware staffers actually act as security, so you have to fit in. Wear black dress pants and black polishable shoes. Come a good 2 hours before the game minimum. Go to gate 1a where you will find the catering office. Say your name (or any name). Act surprised when they can't find you on the list. Be good at bullshitting - "Oh it's my first day so maybe that's why my name isn't on the system... oh I was a late call up because I was called up and they were understaffed". You'd be surprised how often it works. They'll give you a worker's pass on a piece of paper with a QR code. Instead of following the rest of employees walking behind the cricket nets to the uniform rooms, go to a random gate and you're in.

MARVEL - Much easier. Still recommend wearing the pants/shoes but you don't need need to come as early. Next to gate 5 there is an entrance for employees with proper security manning the check in. This may sound more daunting than the MCG but as there are no staffers from the catering company it is much easier to bullshit (and they don't interrogate you as much as as the 'G). Marvel is more difficult because you actually have to take the worker's entrance down to the basement, but take the first exit on the right and then the lift up to the seating area. You're in.

2. AROUND THE TURNSTILES (MCG ONLY)
Gate 3 is the only gate where you can do this (trust me I've tried). Walk up and pretend you have a ticket. Go through the bag check area. As you are approaching the turnstiles pretend to get a phone call and walk off the side of the turnstiles and next to the taped/barriered off area. Wait for the right moment and slide under or around the barrier. Stop complaining there's too much security, I did this during the ANZAC Day game so you can imagine how busy it was with everyone looking, you guys are just pussies :p

3. HOW TO GET INTO THE ROOMS
MCG - Rooms are just off the side of MCC. Late in the 4th qtr/right at the end of the game take the lift down to level B2. Pretend to be on the phone so security is reluctant to stop you. Pretend you're in a rush. Blend in with family members and don't make eye contact with security at the entrance. Act like you're meant to be there and no one will stop you. If you want to make it easier for yourself buy cheap disposable wrist bands for one in blue, green, yellow, orange and red. Family members get given a wrist band to wear as proof of entrance but the colour alternates each game/week. Bring one of all five with you.

MARVEL - Rooms are just bellow aisle 33. Late in the 4th qtr/right at the end of the game take the workers lift down to the basement. Lucky for you security won't be checking wrist bands at the entrance to the rooms, but rather outside the lift where family is coming from. Blend in and walk in. Happy days.

I've got heaps of photos and videos of me sneaking in this year. Have also sat on the interchange bench after games and even in the player's showers/ice bath areas (kind of weird, I know). I've used the same techniques this year to get into John Cain Arena (NBL), AAMI park (NRL) and Rod Laver Arena (KISS/Michael Buble). Any questions feel free to ask. :)

man, you're like a sneak-in doyen. you should take people on 'sneak-in' tours. poss make a bit of coin.

I say we utilise the "Area 51" tactic but split our numbers between both entrances (this one further down Brunton Ave.) nominate one person to go up to someone and play dumb to divert their attention and we make off to the nearest door toward inside. God speed brothers.

View attachment 1506798

Just a word if warning but at the 2018 GF that’s pretty much where VicPols CIRT set themselves up so, good luck 👍😂😂

I say we utilise the "Area 51" tactic but split our numbers between both entrances (this one further down Brunton Ave.) nominate one person to go up to someone and play dumb to divert their attention and we make off to the nearest door toward inside. God speed brothers.
If Collingwood make it, you wont have to "play dumb" ;)

2018 GF I was in the standing room bay on the ground level near the 50m line where Sheed kicked the goal.

Pretty sure a few of the guys standing near me were getting mates in for free. Something to do with passes to go out for a ciggy or passing their ticket through the metal bars.

Ok lads. With tickets hard to get I’m probably ****ed for getting one so now onto ways to get in. I got into McC with my mates apron they didn’t bat an eyelid and I had plenty of free drinks. However that’s in the ground.

Catering staff event staff etc get their own tickets so can’t pull off that stunt. Which other ways are there into the G

I’ll try my catering connections but of course I’d rather not put their job at risk

Ok lads. With tickets hard to get I’m probably *ed for getting one so now onto ways to get in. I got into McC with my mates apron they didn’t bat an eyelid and I had plenty of free drinks. However that’s in the ground.

Catering staff event staff etc get their own tickets so can’t pull off that stunt. Which other ways are there into the G

I’ll try my catering connections but of course I’d rather not put their job at risk

Step 1: obtain a replica premiership cup.
Step 2: hire a plane
Step 3: jump out of the plane
Step 4: enter the ground like this pre-game and they’ll think you were meant to be there:

Attachments

• 71BEE0DB-E139-421D-A17D-E6D33998D98E.jpeg
    71BEE0DB-E139-421D-A17D-E6D33998D98E.jpeg
    25.2 KB · Views: 136
I don’t even know if there’s a way into the ground these days that doesn’t involve a turnstile. It used to be laughably easy. Like, every gate had massive wide passout entrances that were literally wide open. And cardboard pass outs. And any number of different staff just walking in and out of open doors without being checked. It’s actually hilarious to look back on.

Terrorism changed much of it.

Certified Legendary Thread Sneaking in to the Grand Final............