So why aren't you going to the footy ?

I was in a conversation with a Melbourne flog. That said they would have got 30k on a Thursday night vs Port at the G! Then i looked they cant even get that for a Saturday afternoon vs another Interstate side( and selected Victorian) lol. Worst time to attend the footy would be Thursday nights as well as the twilight on a Sunday.
They play lions next thurs , they tend to draw bigger interstate numbers , 25-30 would be my estimate

Where do I start? I got over it when they kept closing the MCG carpark which I was willing to go early and pay money to use. No rhyme or reason to it, one week open one week closed. I hate public transport as it's basically a human cattle herd and our transport system is an abomination. The comfort of turning the telly on and not stressing about any of it was an easy choice for me. The price of food kept going higher and higher. Parking + Food + Petrol at 2.30/L has become too much of a luxury for the average family. There has been a steady climb year on year and the problem I have with all of this is that there was no giving back to the fans. My seat allocation was taken this year, there's no more running onto the ground after the game for a kick, the lines are worse these days, no more BBQ's in the carpark. I could keep going.

I pay a membership every year so I still support the club, but until footy is less of a manic, gigantic effort I'm staying home. I think people are really conscience of where they spend money.
I think you’re nailied it with cost of living increases , the reg every weekers more likely every now and again , something’s gotta give

As long as we continue to buy memberships and support our club Richmond will remain a big strong club. Buy your memberships and bonk your wives, get em pregnant so theres a rolling production line of baby Tiger cubs coming through. Bonk away lads and dont stop.
I'll do my Mark Guest on that already produced one cub.

Its terrible to watch and the horrendously inconsistent and poor umpiring/rules makes it hard to watch.
The cost of living has gone through the roof at the moment and it is tougher and tougher to survive without going to the footy and spending your weekly shopping budget on 2 mid strength beers and a pie. The pricing is an absolute joke. Its much cheaper to stay at home and watch

reckon in 30 years blokes having their dicks out through a hole in their pants in public will be the norm

Same reason why I don’t really go to the cinemas anymore - there isn’t a lot of good things to watch.

For a minute there.
Glad you continued on.

The major rule changes introduced means that there isn’t a lot of variations to game styles between teams.

It used to be interesting seeing the structure of teams in the past like when West Coast had the ‘Weagles Web’ in 2015 or Sydney had the ‘slingshot style’ in 2014-2016 or Fremantle had the whole team defence in 2013-2015 or Collingwood packed numbers in their forward line in 2010s (well at least I think that’s what they did) or Hawthorn’s elite kicking style of 2012-2015 or even Richmond’s perceived pressure on the kicker while on the mark. Even Bulldogs’ third man up in the ruck was interesting. Teams had more freedom in setting up on the field in unique ways so it was interesting going to the game and having an overview on how teams set up off the ball.

The game is near impossible to watch and enjoy anymore. I used to watch multiple neutral games so I could enjoy the sport in general (cause watching us gives me ****en heart palpatations). Now, its ****en garbage.

The rules introduced to influence higher scoring havent worked and make the game looked stupid (i.e STAAAAAND), the umpires have a different interpretation of a different rule week in & out (i.e HTB, DISSENT, HANDS IN THE BACK), and the general bias of umpiring against us is clear and disgraceful.

Teams are emulating our style from 17'-20' yet the evidence in free kick differential are clear.

The MCG has always been a shitty place to get to in Melbourne, and the night games never suit families etc. Ticketing has been crap for years, and so has food & bev pricing. Now, these small things are compounding because the sport is barely worth watching anymore. I can watch things I love get fisted for free on certain websites. I dont need it from the CFL too.

Empty stadiums make we want to turn the tv off. Atmosphere makes it great.
thursday night this week and rain

the double wammy

meanwhile sat arvo fine and sunny and the g is free

Where do I start? I got over it when they kept closing the MCG carpark which I was willing to go early and pay money to use. No rhyme or reason to it, one week open one week closed. I hate public transport as it's basically a human cattle herd and our transport system is an abomination. The comfort of turning the telly on and not stressing about any of it was an easy choice for me. The price of food kept going higher and higher. Parking + Food + Petrol at 2.30/L has become too much of a luxury for the average family. There has been a steady climb year on year and the problem I have with all of this is that there was no giving back to the fans. My seat allocation was taken this year, there's no more running onto the ground after the game for a kick, the lines are worse these days, no more BBQ's in the carpark. I could keep going.

I pay a membership every year so I still support the club, but until footy is less of a manic, gigantic effort I'm staying home. I think people are really conscience of where they spend money.
Will be interesting in the near future for us and the rest of the comp in regards to membership.We got away with it through the skin of our teeth during covid mainly in part due to our success.But with the cost of living(Rumour has petrol will hit the $3 mark by the end of the year)skyrocketting its not hard to figure out that buying a membership maybe one sacrifice supporters have to make.
What do clubs do?
Turn it from a attending membership too a TV membership like a 11 game foxtel package type thing?
Interesting times ahead.

To be fair, I am still going to our games, when I would've gone previously.

If it doesn't clash with the kids sport, I still go because they enjoy it...

HOWEVER

Even though I go, I am certainly not enjoying it. There are games that we go, we win, and I still go home unhappy. And it's nothing to do with our team or club... I even used to be able to enjoy games we lost (provided we played well and had an even playing field)....

But the level of umpiring is deplorable. And it's multi faceted:

• The new rules are shit
  • The new rules are applied inconsistently
  • The umpires are inconsistent with most/all interpretations
  • It's not just the new rules they get wrong, they now get the basic rules wrong more often than not
  • The influence umpiring is having on the outcome of games has become too strong

So whilst this is frustrating watching our games, I think the real reflection/indication that I'm not seeing this through Richmond coloured glasses is this:

I get just as frustrated watching a neutral game as I do ours...

To a point where I used to watch 5-7 games a weekend time permitting, where now I am lucky to have other games on in the background.

It's why non-member / neutral people aren't choosing to go to games, plain and simple.

I went on Thursday and I have to admit I actually like going to games when there is a smaller crowd.
I'm not a huge fan of crowds and get a bit nervoud when trying to get into Richmond station with that bottleneck etc.
I won't be going this week because I have COVID and won't get out of iso until Friday, but I wouldn't have gone anyway.
One of the reason why I still go to games is because I can't watch us on TV. I literally can't watch after, say, quarter time or halfway through the second. I don't know why. I have no control over the outcome where I am there or not, but when I am there I am much calmer.
I don't subscribe to the weather being a factor, unless it's raining all day or night. 12 degrees is not overly cold if you wear a decent jacket.

Reasons why I don't give much of a toss anymore are:

Distance. four-hour round trip for me. if I want to have a beer or two, it's even longer.
Scheduling: If the club hasn't arked up over being being scheduled two Thursday night HOME games in a row, then I'd be disappointed.
The product: It's not as good. Whistle every two seconds. Stand, stand.
Prices: $12 for a schooner on LEVEL 2 inside. That's not a pint either. A schooner! Let's just say I leave the car at home and have a few beers. Nothing radical, but not wanting the risk of drink driving. Costs me $22 in public transport, 6 schooners of Balter or Mountain Goat in the 3121 room $72, Uber home from the train station $35. That's $130 without even having anything to eat.
Floating fixture: That can get right in the bin.
Umpiring: Not their fault. Bitch of a sport to umpire. The constant rule changing and tinkering - I've had enough. It's almost at the stage where the umpiring has too much of an influence on the result.
Game day experience: Music and lights flashing. No thanks. Doesn't keep me away, just annoying.
Night games: Absolute bitch of a thing for me to go to, and more importantly, get home from.
And the big one that a lot of people are missing - success.
We've seen it. We've lived it. Three flags and a prelim in four years leaves you feeling pretty content with things.
For four years it was a pleasure to go to the footy. That manic game style, knowing we would beat anyone if we brought out best. it's a great feeling.
Now we are not as good and it's a bit difficult to adjust to I must admit.

Footy is not that same as it used to be, your team would get on top and go on for an easy win, or get dominated and lose. Now with all the free kicks, rule changes, the flooding from one end to the other, even a six goal lead doesn't make it safe. It's just not fun to watch anymore.

So why aren't you going to the footy ?