Coach So you want Voss gone? Who will replace him and why would they want to coach Carlton?

Here are a few assistant coaches going around at the moment. Plus a few others. What do you think?

• Scott Burns (Crows)

Votes: 5 1.8%
  • Blake Caracella (ESS)

Votes: 26 9.2%
  • Justin Leppitsch (Filth)

Votes: 17 6.0%
  • Josh Fraser (Filth)

Votes: 3 1.1%
  • Josh Carr (Port)

Votes: 13 4.6%
  • Brendon Lade (Dogs)

Votes: 4 1.4%
  • Kade Simpson (Hawks)

Votes: 16 5.7%
  • Nigel Lappin (Geelong)

Votes: 15 5.3%
  • Dean Cox (Swans)

Votes: 6 2.1%
  • Adam Yze ( Melb)

Votes: 15 5.3%
  • Don Pyke

Votes: 43 15.2%
  • Chocco Williams

Votes: 20 7.1%
  • Nathan Buckley

Votes: 26 9.2%
  • Ken Hinkley

Votes: 30 10.6%
  • Adam Simpson

Votes: 46 16.3%
  • Stuart Dew

Votes: 4 1.4%
  • Leon Cameron

Votes: 7 2.5%
  • Brett Ratten

Votes: 40 14.1%
  • Damien Hardwick

Votes: 43 15.2%
  • John Worsfold

Votes: 10 3.5%
  • Paul Roos

Votes: 11 3.9%
  • Brent Momgomery

Votes: 3 1.1%

However - Carlton seems to be under endowed in kicking prowess and running ability - on top of below par execution of the opportunities its game style does manufacture- which btw- are more than enough to beat any opponent.

Fix conversion and the results come with that.

I'd suggest the Carlton player's kicking efficiency would be higher at Hawthorn.

Sounds more like a playing group not being able to multi-task... we've heard this rhetoric from some our previous coaches too
It's not up to the players to make miracles, it's up to the coaches to bring out the best performance from the team/collective.

Looks like they did the last few years, and this season has only just begun so let's give them the chance to succeed/fail instead of declaring a catastrophe every week

Sounds more like a playing group not being able to multi-task... we've heard this rhetoric from some our previous coaches too
And yet they go to other football clubs and function just fine... years of stress and being told to perform exactly to instruction does things to a mind.

Problem existed before Voss, but it is still being perpetuated. Bolton was supposed to be the solve for this with his education background, but he was more like a 2nd rate PE teacher.

Fitness too late
Assistants absolute fail
Head of Football leave pass unaccountable
List Management turned a blind eye
Football nous on the board, apparently Greg Williams is the closest we could get to a modern football advisor.
Sayers and his lieutenant, Cook.

Cook oversees as the "experience footy ceo" all this too. Lets not forget is multiple reviews into high performance that found no issues

Maybe just maybe, dragging someone out of retirement, was a bad idea

Sent from my SM-N981B using Tapatalk

Sayers and his lieutenant, Cook.

Cook oversees as the "experience footy ceo" all this too. Lets not forget is multiple reviews into high performance that found no issues

Maybe just maybe, dragging someone out of retirement, was a bad idea

Cook has been and still is, the best AFL CEO in the country (IMO by a long way). We have been fortunate to have had him at the helm following the string of utter duds over the last 10-15 years,.

Not sure Cook has had enough time to make meaningful change, and wasn’t involved in the reviews that led to new coach etc. Hopefully Wright gets the time to make the changes necessary.

The most important decision for Cook has always been to find the best replacement for him (which he has done in my opinion).

He was never going to be the one to fix us in the short term. I see his appointment as an excellent one and not dissimilar to the Roos appointment at Melbourne. He was never going to lead them to a Premiership, but he had to make sure he handed over to someone who could.

Considering that Tassie (the AFL) would've wanted Wright, I think landing him is the biggest coup this club has had (other than Judd) this century.

Always an excuse at Carlton. Always

He has had 4 pre seasons. Plenty, of time.

who is the next coach you'll want sacked six months later mate - FMD there are some dead set negative nellies posting on here every day but you just about take the cake!!

How about some positive suggestions to balance out you continual whinging? I'm all ears surely you have some positive ideas that you can share?

I'd suggest the Carlton player's kicking efficiency would be higher at Hawthorn.
Anyone can suggest/believe/opine/wish/present/argue whatever they like under the safety of cant be proven umbrella -are you suggesting Voss and CO tell teh players to spud up their kicks -that being all part of his *hit game plan?

what a load of codswallop

I'm starting to feel the winds of coach sacking roll through.

• Head of High performance left and openly discussed that one of the reasons was head coach overruling him in player recovery and availability decisions
  • Very flat end to a season in which we were top 2 for most of it to just barely scraping into the 8.
  • Injuries and non-football related absences in pre-season leading to sluggish start to new season.
  • Rumours coming out of stoushes between assistant coaches and the head coach relating to gameplan. Former players & father of current players rumoured to also be aggrieved (not exactly a huge deal but when combined with everything else it paints a picture)
  • Rumours of senior players feeling aggrieved at gameplan.
  • Rumours of players being made to play injured, with head coach overruling high performance team (McKay & Curnow both, arguably even Walsh given his start to the year looking very under-done)
  • A 2nd player being out for personal reasons, who happens to be one of the players pushed onto the field unfit.
  • Injuries broadly being a huge issue for the entire tenure of the HC.
  • Players just straight up look miserable on the field
  • Not least, lack of any sense of progression on field, if anything a big regression since a brief peak in which gameplan seems dated and completely out of touch with the current game.

All that and we're only in round 3. All we need now is rumours of a board spill and we've hit Carlton bingo in the first month of the season...

I've been on the bandwagon of not sacking, as clearly the higher ups at Carlton have, but there's so much smoke coming out of the club right now that I think it's becoming inevitable. Unless things turn quickly, wins start happening and players are much happier, I really don't see how Voss can survive this, which sucks as I like him and he's a legend of the game. You'd really like to see him succeed, not least because it's our bloody club, but for guys like Cripps who've done the hard yards and were supposed to be tasting success now... It's just not fair.

This could be a very long season. To top it all off, we traded away our first round pick this year. Brilliant.
Voss just got asked about Charlie spending 58% game time in D last week vs 42% forward; he didn’t know that?
How wouldn’t you flipping know that!

A coach not knowing where you're two time coleman medallist is spending majority of the game is amateur hour. Unbelievable really.

He's clearly out of his depth.

Anyone can suggest/believe/opine/wish/present/argue whatever they like under the safety of cant be proven umbrella -are you suggesting Voss and CO tell teh players to spud up their kicks -that being all part of his *hit game plan?

what a load of codswallop
I could pick up 100 of your posts that opine that can't be proven. Before you say something think first. Please. And your previous logic comment was so stupid we let that one go.

As for your comment on jpfalvo...look at your own posts on Austin. It is basically the same thing. You are unhappy and wanted to rant so did. Just others cant.

Hyp...

I could pick up 100 of your posts that opine that can't be proven. Before you say something think first. Please. And your previous logic comment was so stupid we let that one go.

As for your comment on jpfalvo...look at your own posts on Austin. It is basically the same thing. You are unhappy and wanted to rant so did. Just others cant.

Hyp...

So you agree with me- your post was utter nonsense - cool.

I’m desperate for Vossy to succeed and to lead us to no.17 but I’m losing more faith in him by the day.

Team selection this week is horrible and he’s been conducting himself lately with his tactics and team selection with arrogance and delusion.

He better hope results change very soon or it’s gonna end badly for him.

No i dont. I think your responses are utter nonsense.

This entire sites purpose is here to facilitate football opinions. How silly do you feel.

Opinions are there to be challenged - sorry you didn't get the memo.

Thanks, i can do without the shallow, poorly thought out logic that you bring.

You posted I responded - simple. That is what forums are about - they aren't a soap box where nuffies can post whatever rubbish they feel like posting and expect to never haver their view challenged.

Back on topic, I'm not sure there is anyone out there to replace Voss. So I'm not currently rating him but do think he is up against it with no superhero fwds around to help him win (Charlie underdone, Harry out of action).

Things are problematic right now. I hope he can show me more than 'try harder for me' with the players in the next game. I'll accept change if he shows us change on gameday. We def need it.

What would send me spare is more send it inside 50 nice and high to Charlie/JSoS who will be giving up huge centimeters to the doggies two key defenders. Wouldn't that be stupid beyond belief this next game.

Voss just got asked about Charlie spending 58% game time in D last week vs 42% forward; he didn’t know that?
How wouldn’t you flipping know that!

A coach not knowing where you're two time coleman medallist is spending majority of the game is amateur hour. Unbelievable really.

He's clearly out of his depth.

"Voss is clueless about tactics, he needs to stay out of tactics!"

displays little knowledge of tactics

"Voss needs to get across tactics better! amateur hour!!"

in all seriousness, i found the amazon doco pretty good insight into coaching. in the grand final, dimma gets up to the box after 3QT and literally has no clue who's on the ground/where everyone is starting. he asks his assistants something like so vague like "alright what are we doing?", literally 3 mins into a final quarter in a grand final.

i'd be concerned if vossy spent his hours analyzing which player spent their time in what part of the ground & trying to break it all down. he has staff for that.

Not sure Cook has had enough time to make meaningful change, and wasn’t involved in the reviews that led to new coach etc. Hopefully Wright gets the time to make the changes necessary.
He interviewed Voss and ticked it off. If he thought Voss wasn't the right man he wouldn't have and would have said so. The man has integrity and knows how to run a football club.

who is the next coach you'll want sacked six months later mate - FMD there are some dead set negative nellies posting on here every day but you just about take the cake!!

How about some positive suggestions to balance out you continual whinging? I'm all ears surely you have some positive ideas that you can share?
History shows we have sacked coaches, probably more than anyone, and over and over again. History also shows many examples of teams who were going to sack one, didn't and the went on to win flags.

He interviewed Voss and ticked it off. If he thought Voss wasn't the right man he wouldn't have and would have said so. The man has integrity and knows how to run a football club.
If he thought Voss was a poor candidate he would have said so but that doesnt mean the result would have been the same if he was running the process from the outset.

Coach So you want Voss gone? Who will replace him and why would they want to coach Carlton?