Softest player in the AFL

Not AFL really, not that quirky, and maybe not even a fact.
I'm pretty sure that the VFA and VFL Premiers used to play each other in a kind of unofficial championship of Victoria, for a little while at least.

Back in the longlongago in WA the WAFL and the Goldfields league would have a match every year, the Goldfields league was very strong for a while.

You will not find a softer 200cm player on an AFL list today than Josh Jenkins

Fair call on Lever
He'll jump head first in to packs at times and at other times be really unsure of himself. I think he's more twitchy that soft. You don't make some of the good plays he does if you're soft.

For Melbourne it's clearly Melksham. Has some bravery in the air at times but is petrified of a loose ball on the ground.

Not AFL really, not that quirky, and maybe not even a fact.
I'm pretty sure that the VFA and VFL Premiers used to play each other in a kind of unofficial championship of Victoria, for a little while at least.

Back in the longlongago in WA the WAFL and the Goldfields league would have a match every year, the Goldfields league was very strong for a while.
So is the VFA, VFL, or WAFL the softest player you have seen? As none of those things are players?

Marlion Pickett for mine. Numerous times I've seen him duck when expecting contact in a marking contest.

Has been some very embarrassing moments.

Stephenson avoids contact whenever possible too.

Sent from my SM-G977B using Tapatalk

Miers? Really? I think there's heaps softer from GFC.

I genuinely think the hair fools people

I watched virtually every minute of every game played in 2020. Miers had only really first come properly to my notice when he flopped looking for a free in the 2019 PF when Houli made light contact off the ball. Flopping is different to softness but perhaps there is some overlap between the two concepts. So I didn’t necessarily think he was soft just from that encounter.

Anyway, imo after watching every game this season, Miers is THE weakest and softest player in the comp when under any sort of physical pressure or even perceived pressure in a contest. The Cats really surprised me with a couple of selection issues this season. One was playing Jack Steven so many games when he clearly wasn’t right, if I was sitting behind him in the queue for a spot I would be fuming. The second was persevering with Miers despite repeated non AFL standard contests. I know he can run Miers but god is he pitiful under any physical pressure.

Only other ones I noticed in the whole comp who were consistently weak in contests were Phillips, Daicos and Stephenson from Collingwood.

Taking talent + physique into consideration:

Adelaide - Tom Lynch
Brisbane - Eric Hipwood
Carlton - Jack Silvagni
Collingwood - Jaidyn Stephenson
Essendon - Shaun McKernan
Fremantle - Cam McCarthy
GWS - Jeremy Finlayson
Geelong - Gryan Miers
Gold Coast - Sam Day
Hawthorn - Jon Patton
Melbourne - Jake Lever
North - Ben Brown
Port - Xavier Duursma
Richmond - DES or Chol
Saints - Dan Hannebery
Sydney - Tom Papley
West Coke - Oscar Allen
Dogs - Josh Bruce
Hannebery really? I can name at least 5 saints players who I think are actually soft, unlike Hannebery, and since your footy IQ is so low let me help you out by providing them; Bradley Hill, Jack Billings, Seb Ross, Jack Lonie and Nicholas Coffield.

I watched virtually every minute of every game played in 2020. Miers had only really first come properly to my notice when he flopped looking for a free in the 2019 PF when Houli made light contact off the ball. Flopping is different to softness but perhaps there is some overlap between the two concepts. So I didn’t necessarily think he was soft just from that encounter.

Anyway, imo after watching every game this season, Miers is THE weakest and softest player in the comp when under any sort of physical pressure or even perceived pressure in a contest. The Cats really surprised me with a couple of selection issues this season. One was playing Jack Steven so many games when he clearly wasn’t right, if I was sitting behind him in the queue for a spot I would be fuming. The second was persevering with Miers despite repeated non AFL standard contests. I know he can run Miers but god is he pitiful under any physical pressure.

Only other ones I noticed in the whole comp who were consistently weak in contests were Phillips, Daicos and Stephenson from Collingwood.

Yeah if I was a team selector in charge of a group populated largely by players aged over 30 who have notoriously struggled for reliable goal scoring options behind Hawkins, the first thing I’d do is put a line through a kid averaging a goal a game in his first two seasons

Mate, look in our own backyard.

No one wants physical pressure less than Derek Eggmolesse Smith

Marc Murphy

And we have a winner. Considering how long he has been playing and how much he costs Carlton at critical times no other player can compete with the great marshmallow. Carlton will take a big step forward when they finally get him out of their side.

Stephenson has been awful this year but it is only the one year. Murphy has been doing it for more than a decade.

For his size, Jack Darling.

This is probably the worst call I have read on bigfooty. If anything he is one of the hardest players on our list that has had this reputation tarnished by a few bad moments in big finals.

For a key forward who is 191cm he cops double teams and contact more than almost any player in our side and bounces back up and keeps going. Incredibly durable hard player.

The softest player I've seen on our list has to have been Jarrod Garlett. Don't think his heart was in it - could've been a player had he been harder at it and taken his football a bit more seriously.

Jack Darling. Has to be.

Watch some of his performances this year early on when West Coast were stinking it up in the hubs. Absolutely putrid efforts from him surprised he wasn't dropped. Downhill skier.

Drivel

Softest player in the AFL