Some truths from today.

When the heat went up a little today, Shannon was lost. Last week stuffed with his head a bit I reckon.

I'd drop him for Thompson this week.

Yes, his confidence is totally lost. He is only useful when his confidence is at its highest, so he may need to play some VFL footy right now.

one major clanger today, big deal,

my truths we learned today is how many lives has harro got, listed as in our best you could of fooled me with lack of 2nd efforts.

Harsh judgement. Harro was excellent in and under. Got a decent amount of the ball though as usual was crucified by the maggots.

Noticed this, too. At one stage a Footscray bloke was literally hanging off his head with his feet off the ground, the umpire saw it, I know the flange saw it, and waved play on.

Harris worked hard. Just not in great touch right now. He'll be right.

Good win today rooboys!!! I realy hope we dont come across you guys in the finals!!!-even Sam Power SHOWED US UP TODAY??

has got absolutely nothing from them this year. i thought he was good today and seems to be running more. had a couple of gallops today and kept going. played a run with role against Black last week, which may also have been of educational benefit to him.

Noticed this, too. At one stage a Footscray bloke was literally hanging off his head with his feet off the ground, the umpire saw it, I know the flange saw it, and waved play on.

EDIT: Watched the replay, and they showed it from the other angle. Johno didn't infringe. Apologies, B-Rad.

another that gets nothing from the umps is LT. maybe his previous staging abilities is hurting him, but his mark in the 1st quarter when he bumped whoever it was out of the way with his hip, and the free was paid against him for a push ..... well, i was looking around for goldspink!

Our team is playing amazing football for their lack of experience as individuals and playing together.

After one horrendous backline mixup in the last quarter went through for another Dogs goals I looked at our defensive group close to goal - Hansen, Urquart, Thomas - and thought it was brave and great of Laidley to not only be playing all these guys but to be mixing up where they play and who they have to team up with under pressure. Commentators had been saying the other side needed to play as a back six, and our back six at that stage would never have played there together before.

And Leigh Harding may turn out to be one of Laidley's major, major success stories - actually, maybe he already is.

Sinclair is in our best 22
Watt is not in our best 22
Harvey is a superstar
Wells is becoming one
Turtle kicks better for goal as a defender
Hale and Petrie are 2 of the best bigmen in the comp.
Campbell and Thomas are two of the greatest recruits for the picks we've had in a long time
Laidley can coach brilliantly on his day
Lower is hard at it and will be a good player for us
Firrito is able to play multiple positions well
We cannot put a side away when we have them at our mercy
Powers trade is starting to be justified
You forgot Gav U the shrunken headed one could be anything

When you watch the ball come into any 1 on 1 contest involving Watt, you just know he's going to bugger it up. Forwards must lick their lips when they see they are playing on him. I have a ongoing argument with a mate re whether Watt does anything at all & admittedly occasionally Watt surprises me by doing something useful. But that's just it - you never actually expect him to win a contest. Maybe that's Laidley's genious again - playing Watty for the shock value when he does something.

Thompson, Browny, anyone 6 foot plus could play that position better than watt.

Shannon Watt has been a great servant of the NMFC, it's not his fault that he gets picked in the team, or that he's a pretend tall or that he has the turning circle of the queen mary. He has a crack every week and plays to the best of his ability, unfortunately the turnovers and lack of contest he sometimes provides goes against him being in our best 22.

If we play Gibson & Hansen as 2 key talls with support from Firrito, Petrie, Power or Jess Smith as 3rd tall, IMO that's tall enough. Replacing Watt with an extra midfield/running player seems to make more sense. Both Geelong and Dogs only play with 1 tall forward and even though the Dawks usually have 3, in reality they only play through Buddy & Roughead. The rest don't matter.

Our tackling pressure was fantastic yesterday, in particular Gav's run down of Ray? and Campbell did it a few times as well. Both are now very, very important players and have cemented a spot in the best 18.

Laids is no doubt a great planner but I still wonder about some of his methods during a game. He continues to err on the side of caution/defence when we're up by 4 goals which inevitably results in us losing momentum and letting the opposition back in .. it's happened all year!

Some truths from today.