Sorry, Lib.....

jim440

Jul 19, 2001
Behind the goals, Geelong Rd end
Libba, you have been one of the greats of this footy club. You have provided inspiration when it was needed time and again.

You have wrapped those powerful arms around opponent after opponent and never did they escape from your grasp.

On your hands and knees, you have ripped the ball out of someone else's grasp and fed it to a bulldog waiting to take it away.

They never counted as stats the thousands of times you got a hand on the ball just as they were about to break clear with it.

Sorry, mate, but it's time.

Originally posted by Rocco Jones
Yeah it's also time for Dimma and Kinger me thinks.

Yes, because Kingsley was so bad tonight
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

He didn't play the whole game but still got more touches than 12 Dog players

He also kicked a nice goal and should have been given another one when Graham r*ped him,

But then again he only got 7 marks which is terrible

There were far worste players than him. Far worste

Originally posted by -PC28-

Because getting concused in the first 10 minutes of the game constitutes being dropped?

:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

No I talking about more than last night PC. It's funny that you bag the Hunter fans for being biased and then reply to my post about Dimma, which I think reflects the general feeling among Doggie fans, with roll eyes. Practice what you preach.

Originally posted by The_Flying_Egg

Like the above post, my comments were not solely based on last night's game.

Everytime someone bags Hunter on this board you guys come up with the at least he isn't bad as Dimma/Saunders/Eagleton line. Two of these guys are playing for Werribee and the other hopefully will soon again so what does that say?

I reckon it's real cute that you guys love Kinger and PC loves Dimma, but you guys have to remember I like most of the fans on this board have to watch their **** week in, week out and if I don't think they are good for the club then I will say so.

Far worste

Since when did worse have a t in it?
;)

Nah just kidding ya mate.

But seriously... I know you guys love Hunter and everything but when he plays badly you should be able to admit that he is playing badly.

He wasn't your worst player, but he was still too slow at many times during the night.

As for Libber.. I agree, he is a fantastic tagger, but he needs to find the ball as well. He had probably 5-6 possessions which just isn't enough for someone playing on the ball.

Originally posted by jim440
Libba, you have been one of the greats of this footy club. You have provided inspiration when it was needed time and again.

You have wrapped those powerful arms around opponent after opponent and never did they escape from your grasp.

On your hands and knees, you have ripped the ball out of someone else's grasp and fed it to a bulldog waiting to take it away.

They never counted as stats the thousands of times you got a hand on the ball just as they were about to break clear with it.

Sorry, mate, but it's time.

A very fair and (on this board) courageous post.

Agreed.

We probably won't make the eight now, and I'm all for giving Hahn, Power, Picken, Bowden etc a bit of a run to give them a taste and see what they are made of.

And if we do, then someone has to make way, and players like Libba and perhaps Dimma are among the obvious choices.

I've been quietly wondering for some time if Libba has tried to play one season too many.

Re: Re: Sorry, Lib.....

Originally posted by Dry Rot

Agreed.

We probably won't make the eight now, and I'm all for giving Hahn, Power, Picken, Bowden etc a bit of a run to give them a taste and see what they are made of.

And if we do, then someone has to make way, and players like Libba and perhaps Dimma are among the obvious choices.

I've been quietly wondering for some time if Libba has tried to play one season too many.

The penny dropped for me Thursday night when I realised I actually wanted his calf injury to keep him out for another week.

Don't really agree with that, Hawker. Sure, you don't want a team with a dozen Libbas, but one stopper in a side can be very valuable.

I remember watching the Dogs play the Swans at Optus a few years ago - in fact, it was the match which started the Libba-Kelly feud and the subsequent anti-Libba sentiment which dogs him to this day.

That day, he had something like 3 or four kicks, but kicked two sensational goals, one of which turned the game. Kelly had something like two kicks, and this was in a period when he was at his top and gathering 30-odd possies every week.

He was playing on the ball that day, but as a tagger, much like he was supposed to do last night. He has beaten guys like Cousins, Crawford and the like before with niggling tactics, so I don't mind if his possessions don't reach double figures.
Originally posted by hawkfan5

Since when did worse have a t in it?
;)

Nah just kidding ya mate.

But seriously... I know you guys love Hunter and everything but when he plays badly you should be able to admit that he is playing badly.

He wasn't your worst player, but he was still too slow at many times during the night.

As for Libber.. I agree, he is a fantastic tagger, but he needs to find the ball as well. He had probably 5-6 possessions which just isn't enough for someone playing on the ball.

There is nothing wrong with tagging your opponent out and h and only having a few posessions yourself.But its when your possessions are costly turnovers when wehen it is frustrating. I agree with everyone Libba house been a great asset to this club. But it is time too try players like Bowden,Picken and Penny wont be far away. If they are going to play libba he should only be able to handball cos his kicking hurts us so much.
Cant take much away from Hawthorn last night we were outcoached and our players were reactive instead of proactive for the first time this year.

No I talking about more than last night PC. It's funny that you bag the Hunter fans for being biased and then reply to my post about Dimma, which I think reflects the general feeling among Doggie fans, with roll eyes. Practice what you preach.

He was dropped, found this form in the two's by kicking 6 goals, and getting 35 touches.

He came back into the side after his short spell, got concused, and hardly played another minute.

That said, what is your bases for him needing to be dropped again?

It's funny that i wasn't actually bagging the Hunter FANS rather the actual player, who i felt needed a spell in the two's.

Dimma, whom i also said during last week was out of touch, had a spell in the two's, played an awesome game, came back, and through no fault of his own, didn't end up playing much more of the game, and on that bases, you want him dropped.

If your out of form, you deserved to be dropped, and find your form, prove yourself, and come back. Dimma has done that, and yet you still feel that he needs to be dropped, but you state, not just on last night's performance.

I am wondering, what it is your basing his call for being dropped on?

Originally posted by -PC28-

He was dropped, found this form in the two's by kicking 6 goals, and getting 35 touches.

He came back into the side after his short spell, got concused, and hardly played another minute.

That said, what is your bases for him needing to be dropped again?

It's funny that i wasn't actually bagging the Hunter FANS rather the actual player, who i felt needed a spell in the two's.

Dimma, whom i also said during last week was out of touch, had a spell in the two's, played an awesome game, came back, and through no fault of his own, didn't end up playing much more of the game, and on that bases, you want him dropped.

If your out of form, you deserved to be dropped, and find your form, prove yourself, and come back. Dimma has done that, and yet you still feel that he needs to be dropped, but you state, not just on last night's performance.

I am wondering, what it is your basing his call for being dropped on?

OK I answer the Hunter thing first. You bagged the Hunter fans cause they are overly defensive of Kinger, than when someone states that Dimma shouldn't be in you reply with roll eyes. I agree that they are biased towards Kinger but don't you think you might be a little biased towards Dimma?

Secondly as I stated before my belief that Dimma shouldn't be in the seniors is based on more than what happened last night. He might be close to being in our top 22, but even if he is just in our best 22 shouldn't we give his spot to a younger player? I mean if he is only going to play a small role shouldn't we just replace him with a youngster?

IMO Gilbee, Birss and Power are all better and obivously younger than Dimma, so why would you have him in the side?

With Hunter, Penny is back now and I would have Bowden in front of him using the same line of thinking that I used with Dimma and the youngsters

I reckon it's real cute that you guys love Kinger and PC loves Dimma, but you guys have to remember I like most of the fans on this board have to watch their **** week in, week out and if I don't think they are good for the club then I will say so.

Im sorry its so painful to watch their ****

I know you think we're kidding ourselves about Kingsley but if you think he's **** week in week out you're at least as deluded as we are

I don't put all the blame on the players. Yes a lot of them played badly and deserved to be dropped.

Wallace was out coached this week. Poor selections on Thursday night, unneccessary pressure on Darcy midweek, and a game plan that was designed to run us out of legs.

Originally posted by Chops
Wallace was out coached this week. Poor selections on Thursday night, unneccessary pressure on Darcy midweek, and a game plan that was designed to run us out of legs.

Yep, yep, yep and yep.

No one loves Libba more than me, my daughter's middle name is Liberatore, but I fear the end may be nigh. Its not so much his lack of form-the real killer for him is the fact we have younger guys playing better footy and our game plan has evolved past what he has to offer.

Guys like Birss, Cross and Glibee have to be given a chance to show what they can offer for the rest of this season. This means that they have to be picked and more importantly they have to be given game time. Also to be considered are Picken and Power. For me the obvious guys in the gun are Libba, Dimma and Eagleton.

OK I answer the Hunter thing first. You bagged the Hunter fans cause they are overly defensive of Kinger, than when someone states that Dimma shouldn't be in you reply with roll eyes. I agree that they are biased towards Kinger but don't you think you might be a little biased towards Dimma?

Secondly as I stated before my belief that Dimma shouldn't be in the seniors is based on more than what happened last night. He might be close to being in our top 22, but even if he is just in our best 22 shouldn't we give his spot to a younger player? I mean if he is only going to play a small role shouldn't we just replace him with a youngster?

IMO Gilbee, Birss and Power are all better and obivously younger than Dimma, so why would you have him in the side?

With Hunter, Penny is back now and I would have Bowden in front of him using the same line of thinking that I used with Dimma and the youngsters

I'm not going to turn this into a slanging match with you Rocco, but if this is how your view to the club and the going on's, than you really have to think things through a little bit.

I never bagged the Hunter fan's because they were overly defensive, rather told them to take off the rose coloured glasses, as i didn't think they were seeing the bigger picture. I don't class that as bagging. I didn't degenerate the posts/threads into personal abuse.

And no, i'm not a little biased towards Dimma...

I am a LOT biased towards Dimma

Interesting that the three best players for Werribee this week were Birss, Saunders and Eagleton. Like a previous post, I too was disappointed to see Libba back in the team on the weekend. I have watched him and loved and admired his performances, but I believe that his time has come. Since it would seem that finals are now out of the question for this year, the opportunity is now there to get those other young guys up and running. Just like last year, more of the them have the chance to show what they can do.

Libba

Agree with Chops, they played a crap game plan of chipping the ball around and were not direct. Bandy is in great form yet they never kicked long to him all night. Drifted Darcy too far forward when he should have been exposing them through the middle.

On the Libba topic, it all comes down to club culture. We ecept mediorce far too often. I pose this question. If we let Libba go last year would a club have picked him up. Oh course not!!!

In my opion Libba has hang around for three season too long. Good clubs are constantly turning players over. You just have to look at Essendon. Even their champions were told its time to go, bomber Thompson comes to mind.

A bloke like Matty Robbins is held back because of club culture. Starts off the year in fantastic form. Great time to see a changing of the guard and rove Robbins instead of Libba. No, Matty has to earn his kicks out of a back pocket while Libba gets 4 kicks which don't go anywhere, but he chased a lot of bum for the game, so we all say Libba tired hard.

I appreciate all Libba has down for the club and realise we was a great player but to stay up with the best the club should have moved him on.

He didn't play the whole game but still got more touches than 12 Dog players

He also kicked a nice goal and should have been given another one when Graham r*ped him,

But then again he only got 7 marks which is terrible

Hunter spent some time on the wing/half forward and provided something of a target, but tried to hatch the ball every time he got it.

When played at FF, he seemed to camp in the goal square.

just dont know...

Libba's form may not be great but its not that bad, and i think he brings more to the side than his ability, as we all know. First of all, he is a leader for the young players. Whenever he tackles an opponent he inspires the side. There is no point dropping him now. I'm not sure that to keep him in the side is to do with the so called club's culture of mediocrity. You have to look at the bigger picture. If Libba is dropped we will be lamenting it in the future. I can just imagine years from now reading a post on bigfooty with ppl complaining about how libba was dropped in his last year for the club and players like that should be shown more respect. It will be a sad day when he retires and i hope his last game isn't with Werribee because that certainly would be a disgrace.

Re: Re: Sorry, Lib.....

Originally posted by Dry Rot

Agreed.

The younger players must ge given a chance if their form is good enough. I didnt like our selection last Thursday by bringing in three smalls to replace two smalls and a tall.
Thought we had the mix about right before then.
Lets hope they seriously consider Hahn, Penny, Wiggins, Bowden and Power over the next few weeks.
Would like to see Wiggins in against Adelaide and perhaps run the three rucks against Clarke early so that he knows he is in for a long day. It might also force Adelaide to to move Biglands into the ruck and away from the forward line.

It seems to me that we all get a bit confused between liking a particular player and what he represents, and his actual form at times. Libber has been such an icon, and seems to symbolise our club so much, that is hard for us all to admit that there is no longer a real place for him in the team. When I saw his selection and that of Dimma I winced, realising our skill level, which was there for all to see against Essendon, was about to drop.

I have no doubt, PC28, that Dimma is a top bloke and I really admire his team spirit, enthusiasm and endeavours, but am just not sure if that is any more enough, especially with the class of the kids coming through. The same goes for Libber. The debate about Hunter has a similar theme...liking his eccentricities (and yes, I do too Bulldog1954!!) shouldn't be a substitute for being able to evaluate his form, which has often been disappointing this year.

If being a good bloke was the main criteria for being in the team...lots more of us would be in it (even though I'm not a bloke..but Craig Bradley has set a precedent in those areas anyway:D ). At the moment I'm feeling a bit disillusioned anyway with another of those supposedly "good blokes" that we all loved to see in the team often regardless of form and reality...one Daniel Southern who is not exactly repaying the loyalty the club showed him..maybe we need to be a bit more cold-hearted and clear eyed sometimes about our favourite players...a premiership is what we are all after isn't it.

I can't agree with the drop lobba comments and I am surprised so many do.

For months now on this forum people have been bemoaning our lack of strong bodied in and under players and now the call is to drop the only one we have got. (Soory I forgot about West). What do you propose we do, ask Guide, Murphy, Birss or Cross to put their 65 kilogram bodies into the middle for the whole match and get slaughtered.!

Libba has been great for our club for a decade or more and still has something to offer. We need him to do the hard work for the rest of the year, assist the young blokes and provide them with a degree of protection until they can get in the gym over summer.

When people say his disposal hurts us they are talking about his kicking only. Instruct Libba and the players that he is to handpass only and the players are to run pass to receive when he has the ball. PROBLEM SOLVED.

It frustrates me how we as a club turn on our own champions when they are nearing the end of the road. We don't wait for them to reach the end of the road and give them a hero's send off - we rush out and kick the s**t out of them.

Sorry, Lib.....