10k Posts Armchair Endzone Minor Comp Winner Armchair Endzone Participant
Oct 27, 2007
Swan Districts, Everton
South Freo released their Indigenous Team of the Century at the beginning of NAIDOC week, this week.

Mal Brown was the influence behind it and was selected as the coach.

There are some fantastic names in this team, including my favourite non Swans player from the 80's, Benny Vigona. :thumbsu:

Here's the team:

B A McGrath S.Cox R.Hayden
HB W.Roe B.Campbell T.McGrath
C P.Matera M.Rioli N.Winmar
HF D.Rioli S.Jackson B.Vigona
F J.Farmer M.Williams Ph.Matera
R S.Michael B.Collard W.Matera
I B.Hayward C.Collard S.Rioli C.Michael

Fantastic team, well done Souths. Be interesting if other team's supporters could come up with one from their team?

What a side and interestingly contain various sets of brothers(Ash and Toby McGrath, Brad and Cliff Collard, Peter, Phil and Wally Matera) and father/sons/nephews (Stephen and Clem Michael, Sebastian, Maurice and Dean Rioli)

I had no idea of Stevan Jackson's aboriginality.

Basil Campbell is probably my favourite. So under rated as a footballer because everyone focused on his aggression and would forget just what a good footballer he was. Imagine him running around today in his famous red and white helmet!

Nothing can surpass the days of Stephen Michael, Maurice Rioli, Big Bad Basil and Benny Vigona as far as I am concerned. If I had to pick a favourite I'd have to say Stephen Michael, just - from Maurice Rioli. Such sublimely talented players. I still love Stephen Michael to this day, and get a little thrill of excitement on the rare occasions I see him out and about. :thumbsu:

Ha ha I know what you mean. I was lucky enough as an 11 yr old to meet them in 1980 and I was completely awestruck.....29 years later at the Derby earlier this year when I saw TI I was still awestruck by the great man.

Haha - that is so my story!! I was also 11 in 1980, and my cousin was engaged to one of the guys who played in the premiership (gave me heaps of kudos in primary school... ;) and they're still married 28 years later), so I also got to meet some of the players... :thumbsu:

Then this year at the Foundation Day derby, when TI was on the back of that ute doing the lap of EF Oval, I ran down to the fence like a teenybopper to see him! I dragged my Sharks supporting son with me and told him to look respectful and reverent cos he was in the presence of a footballing GOD!! I gave TI the thumbs up as he passed, and he looked me right in the eye and nodded... I felt like I was 11 years old again, and I bloody got tears in my eyes! Even the bloody gummies winning by a point 3 hours later couldn't dirty the moment for me. :D

I nearly forgot just how good Willie Roe was, he was another who could do anything on the field either standing on someones shoulders taking screamers or kicking goals from impossible positions.

Haha - that is so my story!! I was also 11 in 1980, and my cousin was engaged to one of the guys who played in the premiership (gave me heaps of kudos in primary school... ;) and they're still married 28 years later), so I also got to meet some of the players... :thumbsu:

Then this year at the Foundation Day derby, when TI was on the back of that ute doing the lap of EF Oval, I ran down to the fence like a teenybopper to see him! I dragged my Sharks supporting son with me and told him to look respectful and reverent cos he was in the presence of a footballing GOD!! I gave TI the thumbs up as he passed, and he looked me right in the eye and nodded... I felt like I was 11 years old again, and I bloody got tears in my eyes! Even the bloody gummies winning by a point 3 hours later couldn't dirty the moment for me. :D

I met Stephen Michael in 2005 and he was as humble and as gracious as you could ever imagine. I understand what you mean, when I shook his hand I felt like a school kid too.
It was so refreshing to meet an absolute legend of the game and find him so approachable and humble. Many of the players of today could learn a thing or two from men like TI.

About 5 hours later I met Basil Campbell and he/we managed to drop my camera and totally bugger it. I blame the emotion of the event...and the 12 beers.

Great day :thumbsu:

I met Stephen Michael in 2005 and he was as humble and as gracious as you could ever imagine. I understand what you mean, when I shook his hand I felt like a school kid too.
It was so refreshing to meet an absolute legend of the game and find him so approachable and humble. Many of the players of today could learn a thing or two from men like TI.

About 5 hours later I met Basil Campbell and he/we managed to drop my camera and totally bugger it. I blame the emotion of the event...and the 12 beers.

Great day :thumbsu:

You must have red and white, Southern blood pumping through your veins:thumbsu:

South Freo released their Indigenous Team of the Century at the beginning of NAIDOC week, this week.

Mal Brown was the influence behind it and was selected as the coach.

There are some fantastic names in this team, including my favourite non Swans player from the 80's, Benny Vigona. :thumbsu:

Here's the team:

B A McGrath S.Cox R.Hayden
HB W.Roe B.Campbell T.McGrath
C P.Matera M.Rioli N.Winmar
HF D.Rioli S.Jackson B.Vigona
F J.Farmer M.Williams Ph.Matera
R S.Michael B.Collard W.Matera
I B.Hayward C.Collard S.Rioli C.Michael

Fantastic team, well done Souths. Be interesting if other team's supporters could come up with one from their team?

Good team but surely C.Collard isn't Clayton:eek:??? must be someone else related to him with another first name starting with C as i believe someone else may have been a bit stiff not to get a spot on the bench. Dont believe Clayton did enough to make the all Aboriginal team. Surely someone else:cool:

It's Cliff, younger brother of Brad and Derek.....he was a chunky little back pocket player.

I had no idea of Stevan Jackson's aboriginality.
Me either. Yeah, it's an amazing team and it certainly brings back some memories. I reckon Claremont could produce a pretty decent aboriginal team also, but I'll have to rack my brains for that one.

You must have red and white, Southern blood pumping through your veins:thumbsu:

The funny thing is that I'm from Far North Queensland but I've always supported Souths even when I was over there. TI was the guy that I always heard about and anyone with half a brain knows that he would have walked into any side in the VFL back then or if he was playing today. Absolute legend.

I moved to Freo and on the first day walked past Fremantle Oval and thought 'Yep, thats for me'. I used to love going down and watching the boys play and especially loved going to Moss st and watching South belt Fremantle's Second team.

:)

The funny thing is that I'm from Far North Queensland but I've always supported Souths even when I was over there. TI was the guy that I always heard about and anyone with half a brain knows that he would have walked into any side in the VFL back then or if he was playing today. Absolute legend.

I moved to Freo and on the first day walked past Fremantle Oval and thought 'Yep, thats for me'. I used to love going down and watching the boys play and especially loved going to Moss st and watching South belt Fremantle's Second team.

:)

Ha ha the bolded part proves you are a Southerner!!!:D:thumbsu:

Go the Bullies in the finals:thumbsu:

South Freo Indigenous Team of the Century