• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

South West District Football League 2020

Anyone keen to put forward what they think the 2011 ladder will look at season's end.
I don't think the top three will change much from last year, with Tyrendarra, Coleraine and Westerns to finish in that order followed by Branxholme and Cavendish, then Dartmoor, Heathmere and Sandford.
Losing Sam Anson will open up the league b anf F, with Josh Marnell, from the Roos, Dan Andrews from the Darras and Jarryd Lewis from Coleraine all being early candidates.

Anyone keen to put forward what they think the 2011 ladder will look at season's end.
I don't think the top three will change much from last year, with Tyrendarra, Coleraine and Westerns to finish in that order followed by Branxholme and Cavendish, then Dartmoor, Heathmere and Sandford.
Losing Sam Anson will open up the league b anf F, with Josh Marnell, from the Roos, Dan Andrews from the Darras and Jarryd Lewis from Coleraine all being early candidates.

I think the top three will be pretty much how you have put it.

I reckon the last 2 spots will be hotly contested between Branx, Dartmoor, Heathmere and Cavendish. Believe Sandford will be cellar dwellars.

Might have a good idea after the first round with games like Cavendish vs Dartmoor, Tyrenndarra vs Heathmere and Branx vs Coleriane to kick things off.

Tyrendarra had their intra club practice match tonight with 46 players in attendance , 39 of them playing and umpired by 3 of the Portland association umpires. Interesting to see a Portland Observer photographer taking photos of the game but mainly Charlie Woodford. Was also interested to see a carload of senior Heywood footballers watching and having a quiet beer on the sidelines.

Outsiderlooking in please add Scott Clark from VAFA amateur 4th devision side Eltham Old Collegians to your list of early favourites as he was outstanding tonight. Also don,t overlook usual suspect Lance Lucas from Cavendish to be in the mix as well.

Tyrendarra had their intra club practice match tonight with 46 players in attendance , 39 of them playing and umpired by 3 of the Portland association umpires. Interesting to see a Portland Observer photographer taking photos of the game but mainly Charlie Woodford. Was also interested to see a carload of senior Heywood footballers watching and having a quiet beer on the sidelines.

Outsiderlooking in please add Scott Clark from VAFA amateur 4th devision side Eltham Old Collegians to your list of early favourites as he was outstanding tonight. Also don,t overlook usual suspect Lance Lucas from Cavendish to be in the mix as well.

Sounds good, just a question, when did the Darras begin training?

The Darras started their pre-season from the start of November with a one night a week run building up into the new year with training three times a week. Fortnightly time trialls and weight recordings to rate progress. March sees them revert to Tuesdays and Thursday nights at Tyrendarra. One drawback from starting too early is the possibility of peaking early too soon and being burnt out come finals time , which some people suggested could of happened last year. With 24 new players ,so far , into our list , it has caused some veterans to make an early appearance. Noted 11 of our new recruits are straight out of the Portland Junior under 16 and a half comp , they all will not make an immediate impact. Signs are good for the future though with so much new talent to develop.

Looks like Tyrandarra have been the big winners in recruiting over the off season. Can anybody tell me about the major recruits in Scott Clarke, Charlie Woodford and Rowan Clark?

Clarke and Clark should both play on the ball or around the middle area and could be very handy. Woodford is probably more of a long term project and I don't know what impact he'll have this year. Can play a bit, but is probably suited more to the bigger grounds of the Western Border. The big pick up for the Darras of those young lads from the district is Tim Holland. What he does will translate very nicely to South West footy either up forward or in the centre. Natural ball winner with a great footy brain.
How many of these other billion recruits will actually get a game do you reckon? The Darras had pretty impressive numbers already last season and it looks like there has been a completely full side added to that.

Rowan Clark is the Assistant coach at Tyrendarra for 2011. He is from Inverloch in the Alberton League and was in the Gippsland Power squad teams as a junior. He went to university in Ballarat where he played for Redan. He travelled back to play at Inverloch in 2010.

Tim Holland is brother to Greg and will inherit the number 7 jumper as Greg has retired , as he does not wan,t to stand in the way of all the young recruits joining the Darras. Greg is a life member at Tyrendarra , so is their father David and his father Ab. We would expect Tim to play at full forward.

Anyone from Hamilton know much about David Tier or Adam Cameron? Heard they've been training pretty good with the Saints...

Seen this last year and thought I'd chuck it out there:
Premiers:
Wooden Spooners:
League Medal:
Biggest Improver from 10:
Biggest Slider from 10:
Goal Kicker:
Most expensive team:
Most under-rated player:
Most over-rated player:
Most loyal player in the league:
Toughest bloke in the league:
Biggest Sook in the league:

Anyone from Hamilton know much about David Tier or Adam Cameron? Heard they've been training pretty good with the Saints...

Seen this last year and thought I'd chuck it out there:
Premiers:
Wooden Spooners:
League Medal:
Biggest Improver from 10:
Biggest Slider from 10:
Goal Kicker:
Most expensive team:
Most under-rated player:
Most over-rated player:
Most loyal player in the league:
Toughest bloke in the league:

Ill have a go at a few of these.... not really the player ones , because as of yet I dont know many players at all.

Premiers: Tyrendarra
Wooden Spooners: Sandford
Biggest Improver from 10: Branxholme/Wallacedale
Biggest Slider from 10: Not sure there will be any real big sliders this year.. Ill go Cavendish to miss the finals.

Premiers: Tyrendarra
Wooden Spooners: Sandford
League Medal: Lenny Cooper
Biggest Improver from 10: Branxholme/Wallacedale
Biggest Slider from 10: Westerns

i take it your one of the aboriginal boys that has gone out to branxholme from heywood showtime?

Premiers: hard to go past colraine
Wooden Spooners: sanford
League Medal: josh marnell or ben dunn
Biggest Improver from 10: saints
Biggest Slider from 10: cavendish
Goal Kicker: cameron
Most expensive team: dartmoor
Most under-rated player: john faure
Most over-rated player:
Most loyal player in the league: matt peters
Toughest bloke in the league: above

Josh Marnell and Lenny Cooper for S/W League Medal

Westerns won,t be the sliders , will still be top 3

Johnny Fwoar is very underated , mainly by John Fwoar

Matt Peters , born and bred at Tyrendarra and bleeds green and gold. Junior vice president at the Darras. As loyal and passionate as the day is long.

Andrew Morton , toughest player in the S/W. Also Gareth Egan if he plays for Coleraine in 2011. These 2 players are second cousins ironicly.

i take it your one of the aboriginal boys that has gone out to branxholme from heywood showtime?

Premiers: hard to go past colraine
Wooden Spooners: sanford
League Medal: josh marnell or ben dunn
Biggest Improver from 10: saints
Biggest Slider from 10: cavendish
Goal Kicker: cameron
Most expensive team: dartmoor
Most under-rated player: john faure
Most over-rated player:
Most loyal player in the league: matt peters
Toughest bloke in the league: above

Ben Dunn will do what sam anson did to this leauge

Premiers: Coleraine
Wooden Spooners: Sanford
League Medal: Josh Marnell or Scott Clarke (from all reports VERY impressive at intraclub match)
Biggest Improver from 10: Branxholme
Biggest Slider from 10: Dartmoor
Goal Kicker: McCrae again?
Most expensive team: Branxholme
Most under-rated player:
Most over-rated player:
Most loyal player in the league: Brendan Paterson
Toughest bloke in the league: Gareth Egan

why are people putting gareth egan in toughest bloke in the league?
i would have thought the toughest bloke in the league would have to be in it for starters. i mean he didnt play for coleraine last season did he? or are people suggesting that he is returning? buckleys hope i would think

why are people putting gareth egan in toughest bloke in the league?
i would have thought the toughest bloke in the league would have to be in it for starters. i mean he didnt play for coleraine last season did he? or are people suggesting that he is returning? buckleys hope i would think

According to the Horsham and District thread several weeks ago Gareth Egan and Josh Vickery were both presumed to be leaving Harrow / Balmoral to return to Coleraine. Yes , it is only rumour and there are no clearances in as yet from them so it may be just rumour and may never happen. In my opinion he was the toughest player in our league as he ran in straight lines and physically intimidated any one who got in his way. A real old fashioned crash and bash type of player. Why is it Buckleys hope of him not returning to the South / West B.P.?

If not Gareth Egan , then perhaps Ben Cook from Westerns as the South West hard man. A real gentleman and nice bloke but was born to play a no compromise style of football.

If any one remembers Paul Bosko from Coleraine a few years ago , he was something else too , pretty scary at times.

maybe coz your predictions go towards bw and clearly you know nothing about the league :)

Hhmm yeah what exactly do I 'know nothing' about the league? Got a mate who told me of 70 plus numbers at Tyrendarra, yes I have been out to see branx train so I think they will improve ( no argument there id think) and I'm pretty sure lenny was in the top three in his club for last couple of SW b&fs... What's it matter where I'm from or who I'm predicting for..?

Steady up princess. I never said that it matters where your from. couldnt care less really
Just noticed that you only filled in a couple of the questions, no mention of most expensive team etc.
if the boys from heywood are any good they will be getting a lot more votes than him, and if they dont then bw are in real strife, especially given how many dollars are being handed around.
if ash rose, troy lovett and matthew sailor all dont get a lot more votes as him i would be shocked. And if he does finish even in the top 10 I will publicly apologise on this forum :)

According to the Horsham and District thread several weeks ago Gareth Egan and Josh Vickery were both presumed to be leaving Harrow / Balmoral to return to Coleraine. Yes , it is only rumour and there are no clearances in as yet from them so it may be just rumour and may never happen. In my opinion he was the toughest player in our league as he ran in straight lines and physically intimidated any one who got in his way. A real old fashioned crash and bash type of player. Why is it Buckleys hope of him not returning to the South / West B.P.?

Well we will see about this rumour, i heard, probably 10th hand mind you, that he is more than happy where he is.
couldnt agree more by the way in terms of your explanation of why he is tough.

Steady up princess. I never said that it matters where your from. couldnt care less really
Just noticed that you only filled in a couple of the questions, no mention of most expensive team etc.
if the boys from heywood are any good they will be getting a lot more votes than him, and if they dont then bw are in real strife, especially given how many dollars are being handed around.
if ash rose, troy lovett and matthew sailor all dont get a lot more votes as him i would be shocked. And if he does finish even in the top 10 I will publicly apologise on this forum :)
I was only goin off what the other guy did, leaving out most expensive ect...
And the heywood boys were the reason i mentioned him, they all clicked so well in the aboriginal carnival in ballarat last year so i thought lennys the typre of guy that'd rise to the occasion, and play better with the better quality around him...
And yes i dont know much about the league, which is the second part of my reason for leavin the rest out...

Premiers: Dartmoor
Wooden spoon: Sandford
League medal: Matt Sailor
Biggest improver from '10: Dartmoor, from sixth to first
Biggest slider: Coleraine
Goal kicker: Jason McCrae
Most expensive team: who cares
Most under-rated player: Rick Waldron (Cavendish)
Most over-rated player: Too many to say...
Most loyal player: Andrew Morton, Lance Lucas
SWDFL toughest player: Kane Templeton (Dartmoor)

Thoughts, well, it's obvious you LOVEEEEE Tyrendarra Retired 676, lol, but in all, it should be another good season with the Darras, Swans and Westerns all playing off for the flag.
The rumours surrounding Egan and Vickery aren't true, they have signed with Harrow-Balmoral.
Going to be very interesting to see if Branx-Wallacedale will make the finals. They should be good enough, but they had a ripper side when Capewell was first at the club and finished 6th.