Southern Football League (Tas) Thread

Hold on, Hobart’s plight is the league’s fault? 🤷🏼‍♂️😳
They have their own inadequacies, everyone does, but they were utterly shafted by the TFL more than once...that's who I was referring too, not the SFL...might not have been clear. Having said that, the eight years of the SFL before the TSL could have been run a lot better...here's hoping a longer time to get ready with an AFL side sitting on top of it all sees the whole state's footy galvanising...

Couldn’t disagree more. Works in VIC.
So Huonville stuck in Div two smacking teams is ok?
Or Brighton stuck in Div 1 getting smacked is ok?
what happens if Nrighton never get good? Or Glenorchy? Or Huonville and Cygnet play for the next 10 flags?

Anyways can agree to disagree?
The problem from my POV, was always how it was discussed.

When it was raised a decade ago, it was talked about having Div 1 as Seniors, Reserves, Colts, and Div 2 as Seniors and Reserves only. Div 2 team had a valid argument that stripping away colts, took away any talent pipeline they had.

The other discussion was Div 1 as Under 19's and Div 2 as Under 17's, which obviously made it hard for any of those teams to step up to Div 1 with underage players.

The other issue was clubs didn't want to lose traditional rivalries. Sorell/Dodges, Huonville/Cygnet.

There were too many competing interests.

I'm hearing that Hobarts training numbers are not that great. Anyone know if there is a cut off date for them to confirm they will field both seniors and reserves?
I believe December was the cut off but it’s been extended to mid Jan.

I could see them getting one team but I don’t see how they get two 😔

About 40 on the books but only about 15-20 training is the word getting about.
Got until about the second week in Jan to get approval from the SFL or they'll go into recess apparently.

Having only 40 odd interested and half not showing you would think that has to be unviable.

You need at a minimum 60 players for two teams. Yes 44 only play a week, but injuries and unavailability are common at this level.

They have no juniors or a community area to call their own. I think it’s going to be the end.

The worrying part is that there are still too many clubs even without Hobart for the amount of people that play. Hence you don’t have to show up to training as you know you will get a game once they come around.

Having only 40 odd interested and half not showing you would think that has to be unviable.

You need at a minimum 60 players for two teams. Yes 44 only play a week, but injuries and unavailability are common at this level.

They have no juniors or a community area to call their own. I think it’s going to be the end.

The worrying part is that there are still too many clubs even without Hobart for the amount of people that play. Hence you don’t have to show up to training as you know you will get a game once they come around.

They have announced two new signings tonight on their FB page, don’t know anything about them, they said one comes from a rugby background, both look young.

Has anyone heard how Claremont’s & New Norfolk are going this pre season, they where the two others along with Hobart who struggled last year ?

Nathan Brown has stepped down as Claremont coach

A bloke told me at work today that Claremont are in more trouble than the early settlers.
Both their senior and ressies coaches have apparently tossed it in and they had about five at training???
Any news on Hobart? I heard before Xmas that the SFL were giving them until mid-Jan to show they had enough signed players training to make up two teams. That deadline must be pretty close.
If those two go there won't be enough teams to have seperate div's in the SFL they way it's going!!

A bloke told me at work today that Claremont are in more trouble than the early settlers.
Both their senior and ressies coaches have apparently tossed it in and they had about five at training???
Any news on Hobart? I heard before Xmas that the SFL were giving them until mid-Jan to show they had enough signed players training to make up two teams. That deadline must be pretty close.
If those two go there won't be enough teams to have seperate div's in the SFL they way it's going!!

Hobart have got 40-45 players signed for 2024. Not sure if that'll be enough though.

I’m hearing Hobart will go ahead but Claremont won’t?

Was there a condition on Hobart only Feilding one side last year that this season it has to be two ??

My Claremont mate said they are looking at Feilding a side and if they do it will be a ones side….. could be a long year if that’s the case

Was there a condition on Hobart only Feilding one side last year that this season it has to be two ??

My Claremont mate said they are looking at Feilding a side and if they do it will be a ones side….. could be a long year if that’s the case

The standard of the competition will be at an all time low this year.

There will be some enormous hidings handed out by the Huon clubs especially.

The standard of the competition will be at an all time low this year.

There will be some enormous hidings handed out by the Huon clubs especially.

Why do you think so many clubs, especially in the Northern suburbs are struggling so much. New Norfolk, Claremont, & also Glenorchy for that matter. Even add Hobart & North Hobart to that lot.

• IPads, PS5s, phones
  • Drugs, Alcohol, Vapes.
  • High- multicultural community (Glenorchy).
  • Low-Socio economic areas that prevent starting the game (Parents can’t get you to games/afford boots, rego, travel and ultimately staying in the game (weekend work, shift work).
  • Connection to senior clubs being strained or even different identities ( I’d personally become the bulldogs if I was Claremont seniors to align with juniors)
  • Not many families can afford to live in North Hobart, Hobart, West Hobart hence the clubs have a diminishing community.

This is just me thinking.

• IPads, PS5s, phones
  • Drugs, Alcohol, Vapes.
  • High- multicultural community (Glenorchy).
  • Low-Socio economic areas that prevent starting the game (Parents can’t get you to games/afford boots, rego, travel and ultimately staying in the game (weekend work, shift work).
  • Connection to senior clubs being strained or even different identities ( I’d personally become the bulldogs if I was Claremont seniors to align with juniors)
  • Not many families can afford to live in North Hobart, Hobart, West Hobart hence the clubs have a diminishing community.

This is just me thinking.
Pretty well covers it I guess. I might add the Glenorchy knights soccer are awash with kids. So cost is perhaps a secondary issue. Maybe getting into schools is an issue too. Maybe a job for AFLTas, rather than just focusing on their elite streams & private schools. They might actually create some more elite kids for their export market. ;)

Junior Clubs need way more help from AFLTAS that’s for sure.

Staggering to think Claremont and New Norfolk won the SFL flag as recently as 2016 & 2017 and Glenorchy won the TSL in 2016 and now all three clubs are struggling.

Southern Football League (Tas) Thread