St Kilda v North Review

Reread the post you quoted

Mate you threw it out their with your glib line about calling him a whinger etc.

The reactions on here have been pretty ordinary from some.

Stop playing the victim, like people are ganging up on you because of your views.

Stop sooking and move on.

I don't think there is a single supporter on here that isn't pissed off with the free kick... not one.

If you don't get the point try re-reading my response & if you still don't get it well I can't help you.

Umm, where did I say that people say different things in private? So you quoted me without understanding the context of my comment.

So I will repeat it again, just for you and with explanatory notes...

We can learn a lot from Richo about how to react.

In other words: He is a class act who knows how to deal with a situation in a calm and measured way.

But that's just my opinion.

Conversationally trying to blur the lines between the two scenarios, in order to nullify the opposing through 'lack of definition'.

That's what I'm commenting on. It's a nothing stance, whether you're aware of it or not.

That stance asks for one of two outcomes;

1. nothing is paid at all because of some arbitrary similarity between the terms used, or

2. everything is paid because of some arbitrary similarity between the terms used.
3. Nothing is paid because the terms are way too generalised for consistent interpretation by any combination of umpires. IMO

Mate you threw it out their with your glib line about calling him a whinger etc.

Stop playing the victim, like people are ganging up on you because of your views.

I don't think there is a single supporter on here that isn't pissed off with the free kick... not one.
Why didn't you say that at the start. I thought you were rejoicing in the free.

Umm, where did I say that people say different things in private? So you quoted me without understanding the context of my comment.

So I will repeat it again, just for you and with explanatory notes...

We can learn a lot from Richo about how to react.

In other words: He is a class act who knows how to deal with a situation in a calm and measured way.

But that's just my opinion.

Put simply, I wouldn't be surprised in the slightest if he's as livid as some here, obviously he isn't going to display that publicly. So, supporters being livid on BF is cool cos IMO Richo is livid too. I just don't understand why some ppl get so defensive about what others say on a fan forum....especially about umpires when ragging on them is part of the fun.

Soooo the Goldstein free is whatever... Probably there although very technical and I wouldn't call it in that context of the game.

But are we going to hear from the AFL about the free kicks Ziebell received, and the ones that Savage and Hickey should have received?

For what it's worth, I'm pissed with Hickey for giving away such a bonehead free at such a crucial time.

I know he was sore etc, but he didn't even look for a teammate when he tapped it.

Put simply, I wouldn't be surprised in the slightest if he's as livid as some here, obviously he isn't going to display that publicly. So, supporters being livid on BF is cool cos IMO Richo is livid too. I just don't understand why some ppl get so defensive about what others say on a fan forum....especially about umpires when ragging on them is part of the fun.
Of course Richo would be livid the you see that happen 40 times a game in ruck contests and that flog ump makes it all about himself and pulls a free kick that hadn't been payed all day with 1.30 on the board with scores level, the over umpiring is disgusting

It was called on two other occasions at the minimum

Interesting discussion on 360 degrees tonight where ONE umpire gave 17 frees to the Dogs and 1 to the Crows!
Would love to know how that stacks up against other Dogs games he has officiated in....but interestingly enough no one will release the stats....
Statistically, that should happen once every 80 years, apparently.

I'll tell you the only difference between this instance and every other ruck contest that's play on.. It's that Goldstein jumped.. Hickey went to engage body, goldy left the ground and it's called a block.. They both keep there feet and engage it's play on

In the centre square if one jumps the other stays down and there's contact it's nearly always called a block against the player who stays down... It's rubbish.. The rule needs a review

In the Coll game, Hickey was called for a block when Cloke deputised in the ruck.
Hickey jumped and Cloke stayed on the ground.
Ump called it because Hickey looked at the non ruckman who was out of place, not because he blocked at all.
The rule is bunkum and is in place for 3rd man up situations, not 1 on 1 contests.
Other than that, there's a pic of Tom at ump HQ with a caption saying 'serial offender'
Hrmph.

For what it's worth, I'm pissed with Hickey for giving away such a bonehead free at such a crucial time.

I know he was sore etc, but he didn't even look for a teammate when he tapped it.
So now its Hickeys fault!!!!

Hickey gets hurt in a marking contest, is then left by his teammates to tend the mark whilst his opponent runs forward and you reckon he then needs to magically be all ready and in position standing next to Todd Goldstein when the next ruck contest occurs 15 seconds later but 50 metres away.

Have you ever played the game??

My two bobs' worth (without review of other's thoughts):

I thought the main difference was men versus nearly men. A year bigger and tougher and we win that game. We don't give up the late scores in quarters.

We missed Sinclair's composure, but Lonie did add something. We got a win with going in the backline with Dempster, Fisher and Gilbert, who all won their match ups.

While we are talking about Seb Ross' importance to us, I love how much he has improved but I feel there is a couple of areas which he can improve more to become a terrific player.

I was watching the last qtr again today and Seb received a handball running toward goal, he ran about 5 or 10 metres before kicking it from 50 on a slight angle. He had a really good chance to grab the game by the nuts and nail a good goal but instead he just popped the ball up (I think it ended up with a 1 on 1 with Minchington).

Seb has kicked 5 goals in his whole career. He has good balance and really neat skills, I'd like to see him become more damaging going forward.
Very fair criticism i feel. I think he will round out that side of his game overtime. His kicking has improved out of sight. Hes now one of our more reliable kicks. Credit to him and the coaches

My two bobs' worth (without review of other's thoughts):

I thought the main difference was men versus nearly men. A year bigger and tougher and we win that game. We don't give up the late scores in quarters.

We missed Sinclair's composure, but Lonie did add something. We got a win with going in the backline with Dempster, Fisher and Gilbert, who all won their match ups.
Other than a 4 minute spell at the end of the first quarter when they went through us like butter we matched if not bettered them.

Would love to know who was on the bench in that period as that was the only time it was men v boys.

I'm more frustrated with frustrated posters than I am the team tbh. Those suggesting we played badly and positive posters are accepting mediocrity are wide of the mark. You never play in a vacuum and the other team impacts what you can do. Other than one small period of the game we matched a top 4 and vastly more experienced side. I'm not saying we were perfect and we never will be but nobody should expect perfection either so give the lads a break.

North Melbourne's average age on Sunday was 10 days short of 28 years old. I wouldn't mind knowing exactly where that ranks in the oldest teams ever put out.

On the other hand, until we win those games, we don't progress.

We got beaten by the top team (a better team) by 7 points. So let's move onto the next game, and if we don't put a massive effort in against WCE for our next victory, then I would be very, very ,very disappointed with Richo and co. not the bloody umpires.

The scoreboard says it was a 7 point victory. But I would say it was more like 1 or 2 points. The shot which Mason Wood (again not in the spirit of the game) took after the siren was inconsequential and if there was pressure on him, I doubt he would made such a difficult shot.

It seems StKilda have to THRASH their opponent in order to win a game against the bias.
Any time we lose by a little bit, because of the umpiring, its our fault for not being further in front? Nahh.

Anyone remember when James Hird called the umpiring disgraceful on the footy show. He paid a hefty penalty for it..... BUT ....that does not mean the umpiring was not disgraceful. Which is precisely why comments by Richo or the club do not mean the comments here are OK.

The trouble with statistics is that umpiring decisions are not meant to be equal. However, when you review the decisions and they are mostly 50:50 going the wrong way there is a statistical discrepancy.

I think we can definitely suggest to them that the Hickey ones missed were played in a different spirit to the one against him which was over the top considering they let play go on. We need to ask why we are losing the free kick count nearly every week year after year. Even if you just make them aware of it they might start behaving themselves. You admit they are petty and vindictive at times like the anti Schneider stuff, if we can make them come out to training and coach us in keeping out of trouble maybe we can get them biased our way for a change. I have heard most clubs use the method of asking what the club can do (to stop your corrupt dogs pinging us).

A good move would be after a particularly bad game, inviting the umpires to come to the club and help train the players in not giving away free kicks. Then ask them to explain why the particular kicks paid were paid, and why similar ones to the opposition were not.
If everything is above board its constructive. If its not , its embarrassing to the umpires.

St Kilda v North Review