State Association 2011

Cant say I enjoy playing Robina at their terrible ground with powerlines over it, or some of their blokes in that club (racism the other week). Really puts a bad rep on them because some of them are actually alright.

Has the ball been kicked high enough to touch the powerlines during your games yet? :D If you go underneath it, you can actually kick it high enough to hit the lines.

In regards to the goal umpiring accusations, might have to make sure I charge up the video camera just in case they want to try it on us.

What good will that do RUL? Not sure anyone will stop the game to look at a video. Maybe a better stance would be for a Robina person decide that he doesn't want to be associated with cheats and relieve the bloke of his duties. Is an absolute blight on that football club if the accusations are indeed true.

Good luck to you though.

Has the ball been kicked high enough to touch the powerlines during your games yet? :D If you go underneath it, you can actually kick it high enough to hit the lines.

ump reckons we set the record a few weeks back against robina...hit the powerlines 5 or 6 times during play....bloody ridiculous!

Don't like hearing bad stories about any club, but racism is bloody ordinary if true. I haven't been able to see it myself in this division, I certainly didn't see any as team manager for UQ Div 2 last year.

It's first time I seen this post so that's why the delay. We did unfortunately have a racial incident spoken about after the game and the club was told that racism will not b tolerated by anyone. The person who the complaint was made about said he said it after being insulted by the opposing player. It doesn't make it right at all but robina won't tolerate racism at all. However the goal umpiring decisions at caloundra i will defend. The goal umpire In question is one of the most genuine and honest players I've played with. He told coach he won't play anymore so the young guys in the reserves can play instead. I played down back that day and can say there were 2 clear behinds kicked, 1 was given a goal by the goal umpire which I questioned and asked him to b in right position next time and field umpire came in said it was a goal. (which it wasn't). The other missed by 2ft. I think no 13 from caloundra celebrated as if they were goals but he knew they missed. I think Clarke might b the coach too which is a little disappointing to see him act that way. U might want to ask him about those 2 kicks cause I asked him after the game to honestly tell me what he thought of those incidents and he smiled and said they were close but prob behinds. Oh well no point worrying about past games but just thought I would defender the roos on that 1. I can't stick up for the power lines though!

Thanks for the post mate :) Its always good to have two sides of a story before any real opinion can be made. And its also good to see action was taken on the complaint.

You are right though, no point worrying about past games. Can only worry about the future and the task at hand. Big game against the Kings on Saturday for UQ. Should be a ripper

Some interesting results on the weekend and all year for that matter.

As a neutral observer from the gold coast have been to a couple of Robina games and thought might ask a few questions - would love some insight from anyone.

1. How does the standard of the comp compare to last year - the two teams that came up from div 2 seem to be experiencing mixed fortunes if the weekend's game is anything to go on.

2. Robina have beaten Coorparoo twice, yet Coorparoo drew with the competiton leaders UQ on the weekend... is the comp very even this year or do different teams just match up differently against each others strengths and weaknesses?

look forward to some responses..

Rocktheboat2011, I reckon it has been an incredibly close season.

In terms of results alone, a couple of clubs have had outstanding seasons and deserve to be ranked favorites over the weeks ahead. Yet, teams ebb & flow, and the “upsets” keep happening regularly.

A quick look over the records for 2011:

• Of the 80 games played so far this year, 30 have been decided by 3 goals or less.
• There will always be some blowouts late in the season when clubs realize their seasons are coming to an end. However, if you only look at the first 9 rounds of the season: 45 games played, with 21 decided by 3 goals or less. Getting close to 50%.
• And after the draw last weekend, there have been 11 games with a margin of 1 goal or less. On average, almost 1 each week.

Robina may have handed out the biggest hiding of the year last Saturday (151 points) - but the last time Kedron played Robina, they won by 109 points. That’s a massive turnaround.

And to think, after Round 14, Robina was sitting bottom of the ladder, but with an amazing percentage of approx 96%. Two weeks later, they’re still a mathematical chance of making the finals (and I bet they know it!).

In the meantime, everyone's kept guessing. Great to comment on the positive aspects of our competition.

Rocktheboat2011, I reckon it has been an incredibly close season.

In terms of results alone, a couple of clubs have had outstanding seasons and deserve to be ranked favorites over the weeks ahead. Yet, teams ebb & flow, and the “upsets” keep happening regularly.

A quick look over the records for 2011:

• Of the 80 games played so far this year, 30 have been decided by 3 goals or less.
• There will always be some blowouts late in the season when clubs realize their seasons are coming to an end. However, if you only look at the first 9 rounds of the season: 45 games played, with 21 decided by 3 goals or less. Getting close to 50%.
• And after the draw last weekend, there have been 11 games with a margin of 1 goal or less. On average, almost 1 each week.

Robina may have handed out the biggest hiding of the year last Saturday (151 points) - but the last time Kedron played Robina, they won by 109 points. That’s a massive turnaround.

And to think, after Round 14, Robina was sitting bottom of the ladder, but with an amazing percentage of approx 96%. Two weeks later, they’re still a mathematical chance of making the finals (and I bet they know it!).

In the meantime, everyone's kept guessing. Great to comment on the positive aspects of our competition.

Great reply Toucan - fair bit of work gone into it!!

Just thought I'd ask the question as the results seem to have continued to be a guessing game as the season has continued. Good to see the comp is very even in the seniors and reserves - makes for a good finals series.

For those that have been around this comp for a while how does the standard this year compare to previous years? Roopen i'd say its a fair guess to say you are associated with Robina - did you recruit heavily / has the club been surprised with the way both teams have played?

Great reply Toucan - fair bit of work gone into it!!

Just thought I'd ask the question as the results seem to have continued to be a guessing game as the season has continued. Good to see the comp is very even in the seniors and reserves - makes for a good finals series.

For those that have been around this comp for a while how does the standard this year compare to previous years? Roopen i'd say its a fair guess to say you are associated with Robina - did you recruit heavily / has the club been surprised with the way both teams have played?

Good question. We expected a definite rise in standard to this competition but were surprised how strong the lower teams in comp are and how even the comp in general is. It seems if any team is slightly off then u will get beaten. We had no big recruiting drive this year and not 1 player on the list this year was paid to play. We had 2 guys from palm beach come over in off season but 1 returned to palmy without playing a game and the other never played due to work committments, we also had a small forward from tassie who played in pre season comp but returned home to finish uni this year because he lost his job. A few of u would remember him from pre season for sure. We had a bit of a bad rap from the div 2 thread but the players we got this year came on board after being around the players off field last year. Dissapointing to b playing our last senior game this week but the ressies will get at least another weeks action in finals. All the best for teams in finals. For the record I personally y think uq have been the strongest team we have played(even though we play them again this week) and I think they r the team to beat along with the kings!

Agree totally racism has no place in footy, and robina has put the foot down and any racism will not be tolerated and definitely wont be happening again.

You forgot to mention roopen that robina lost its best player with an ac joint 4 weeks ago that has really hurt them.

Caloundra Vs UQ grand final, UQ to win.

good luck to all the teams with a chance for the flag.

robina 2012 premiers

It's been relatively quiet on here all year – but the final round of fixtures for our comp offer up some important games leading into the Finals.

University & Caloundra have their places sewn up – but a lot of other changes can still occur.

University – V Robina (H) – will finish 1st
Caloundra – V Yeronga (H) – will finish 2nd
Coorparoo – V Aspley (A) – win & they’ll hold 3rd, but lose & they could end up 4th if Yeronga wins
Yeronga – V Caloundra (A) – most likely stay 4th, unless Aspley defeat Coorparoo, then a win will get them to 3rd
Alexandra Hills – V Wynnum (A) – win & they keep 5th – lose & they will be out if Kenmore defeat Kedron
Kenmore – V Kedron (A) – win & they will rely on Wynnum to defeat Alex Hills to claim 5th
Wynnum – V Alex Hills (H) – no ladder impact, but it is a local derby & these games have been huge in the past
Robina – V University (A) – no ladder impact, but can make a strong statement for 2012
Aspley – V Coorparoo (H) – can avoid the Spoon by defeating Coorparoo
Kedron – V Kenmore (H) – must defeat Kenmore to avoid the Spoon

It has been an exciting and excellent season with plenty more still to unfold. The battle to jag 5th spot this week should be great for our comp. My tip for the Premiership: naturally, I will support my own Club – but Coorparoo has impressed me this year.

It will even be a massive week for the Reserves, with the top six teams all capable of shifting position.

The games involving University & Caloundra will determine the Minor Premiership. Robina’s & Coorparoo’s results will decide who takes 3rd. And Yeronga’s and Kenmore’s matches will leave everyone guessing who can retain 5th spot.

Good luck everyone.

Very controversial finish between Robina and UQ reserves yesterday with what was going to be a winning goal for Robina was called touch by both umpires and the UQ goal umpire.

I'm not going to take sides with it, I'm in no position to say if it was right or wrong. The Roos certainly weren't happy and they have every right to be. It may be one of the most controversial calls I've seen, but at the end of the day, what is done, is done.

But next time Robina, feel free to actually buy stuff from our canteen rather than bring your own beers :)

Tye morrison

Been watching Caloundra a bit lately and I'm confident in saying Tye Morrison is the best player in the comp. He is a gun. I think he played at the roos last year. What a recruit for the panthers..

Yeah, he was a very good footballer for the Roos last year, too good for this division, but so be it. Not the first or last bloke to go down a level to play with mates.

Re: Tye morrison

Been watching Caloundra a bit lately and I'm confident in saying Tye Morrison is the best player in the comp. He is a gun. I think he played at the roos last year. What a recruit for the panthers..

He Shane's brother?

Very controversial finish between Robina and UQ reserves yesterday with what was going to be a winning goal for Robina was called touch by both umpires and the UQ goal umpire.

I'm not going to take sides with it, I'm in no position to say if it was right or wrong. The Roos certainly weren't happy and they have every right to be. It may be one of the most controversial calls I've seen, but at the end of the day, what is done, is done.

But next time Robina, feel free to actually buy stuff from our canteen rather than bring your own beers :)

RUL I heard it was a pretty controversial finish - "not going to take sides, but believe the roos had every right to be unhappy" - draw from that you believe they were hard done by?

I have second info but would be interested in having you clarify it as you were obviously there - Robina player took a hanger in the goal square with a minute to go - as he kicked goal uni player on the mark clapped hands - ball sailed through post high and UQ goal umpire over ruled central umpire saying he heard a noise...

Fair point re the canteen - think it is important that all visiting clubs support each other to ensure financial survival.

In regards to the goal umpiring accusations, might have to make sure I charge up the video camera just in case they want to try it on us.

RUL - fairly ironic post as it turns out!!

Robina player here who played in the reserves. Without going overboard and keeping in mind nothing can be done about the result - pretty dissapointing to see a great game spoilt by a decision like that.

How a volunteer umpire can over rule a league official is beyond comprehension.

Did you tape the game? Would be interested in getting a copy as we have filmed a number of the games during the year but didnt on the weekend.

Good atmosphere on the hill - with one of our players even having the lions head on for a bit... Good luck for the rest of the year.

RUL - fairly ironic post as it turns out!!

Robina player here who played in the reserves. Without going overboard and keeping in mind nothing can be done about the result - pretty dissapointing to see a great game spoilt by a decision like that.

How a volunteer umpire can over rule a league official is beyond comprehension.

Did you tape the game? Would be interested in getting a copy as we have filmed a number of the games during the year but didnt on the weekend.

Good atmosphere on the hill - with one of our players even having the lions head on for a bit... Good luck for the rest of the year.

With our season over I went down to Oval 7 and watched. Our Div 1 boys take out 2 minor premierships. The seniors easily accounted for the Robina reserves with the a large number of 1's players dropping down to qualify for finals.l, even with the best forward in the league missing most of the game with concussion after a cowardly late hit.

The reserves had a controversial finish, with the above-mentioned decision.at the end of the day the bloke on the mark is the only one who actually knows if it wad touched, and the scores are locked away now. In any event, the umpire crucified Uni all day, costing them 3 goals and lifting Robina another 3. When you then also look at the scoring shots it's pretty clear our boys deserved the win even with the controversy at the end.