roorat

May 10, 2006
Roo Country
Tuesday, 11 December 2007
Second lease of life for State premiership - Three decades on, regional grudge match to return
By MARTIN AGATYN

NEXT year's NTFL premier will have the opportunity to play for State premiership glory with the revival of the regional grudge match.
Last played 29 years ago, the State flag was considered the ultimate prize in Tasmanian football.
The NTFL and SFL are hoping to recapture some of that excitement with a State grand final, to be played on September 20 or 21, a week after both regional grand finals.
The last State premiership, in 1978, was played at West Park in Burnie, in which NWFU premiers Cooee defeated TFL premiers Sandy Bay, 19.25 (139) to 16.17 (113).
Next year's State grand final will be played in Hobart, with the SFL representative side to travel north to play the NTFL on June 28.
State grand finals were played in Tasmania from 1909 to 1978, with the most famous, or infamous, being the 1967 clash between Wynyard and North Hobart, in which a goal post was removed when Wynyard was in front at the end of the match, which was declared a "no game."
The 1970s was a golden era for Coastal clubs, with Latrobe (1970) and Ulverstone (1976) also winning State flags.
NTFL general manager Ian Wotherspoon said he was delighted the SFL had agreed to the concept.
"We've been working on this for three years now, and it's probably quite appropriate the State premiership is revived on the 30th anniversary of the last one," Wotherspoon said.
He said the NTFL had adjusted its roster - due to be released today - to accommodate the fixture.
"We're finishing a week earlier than normal to allow the State grand final to be played after ours and before the AFL," he said.
"This will certainly strengthen regional football in Tasmania."
Adam Sanders, coach of reigning NTFL premier Launceston, said he believed his team would be keen to play for a State flag.
However, he said the fixture could affect post-NTFL grand final celebrations.
"Some of the boys might not be too keen on training during a week of celebrations, but I reckon once they took to the field for the (State premiership) game, they would be fair dinkum," he said.
Next year's NTFL season will start at Easter with two matches on Good Friday (April 13) and three on Easter Saturday and run for 22 weeks, including two representative games and the final round of roster games on August 16.
The representative game against the SFL will most likely be played at Latrobe.

The only two sides up here that will be capable of beating side in the south will be Ltn and Ulv. These two will probably loose 3 games between them in 2008 thats how far ahead of the others they are.

Big call since season has'nt started yet Burnie & Dev new coach and players same with Bombers, Ulv have lost some good players!

Yeah i'm with inch2short, Launy and Ulvy will still be strong, but both have lost players from the grand final sides, devonport will be there again, Burnie and NOrth have new look teams so they will be up there as well.

here we go lets rank the teams of both the NTFL and SFL

1.Launceston
2.Glenorchy
3.Ulverstone
4.Devonport
5.Clarence
6.North Hobart
7.North Launceston
8.New Norfolk
9.Burnie
10.Latrobe
11.Lauderdale
12.Penguin
13.Hobart
14.South Launceston
15.Smithton
16.Kingborough
17.Wynyard
18.Brighton
19.East Devonport

please submit alternate rankings and discuss
this could be a great debate.

The only two sides up here that will be capable of beating side in the south will be Ltn and Ulv.

That comment surprises me as I find the standard of NTFL footy better than SFL.

That's just how I see it from behind the camera but I only ever shoot NTFL Grand finals and the odd roster game and are maybe just seeing the best at those times.

I just find NTFL footy cleaner and play more consistent so therefore better to film.

Maybe outside the top 5 the NTFL drops off more. Gee based on the ladder and %'s the comp is in a bit of trouble.

No doubt the SFL has picked up and is now pretty healthy.

Go the state Premiership!

here we go lets rank the teams of both the NTFL and SFL

1.Launceston
2.Glenorchy
3.Ulverstone
4.Devonport
5.Clarence
6.North Hobart
7.North Launceston
8.New Norfolk
9.Burnie
10.Latrobe
11.Lauderdale
12.Penguin
13.Hobart
14.South Launceston
15.Smithton
16.Kingborough
17.Wynyard
18.Brighton
19.East Devonport

please submit alternate rankings and discuss
this could be a great debate.

Top eight
Ulverstone
Glenorchy
Launceston
Clarence
North Hobart
New Norfolk
Burnie
Devonport

Forget the rest

Top eight
Ulverstone
Glenorchy
Launceston
Clarence
North Hobart
New Norfolk
Burnie
Devonport

Forget the rest

there is no way ulverstone can be placed ahead of launceston. thats rubbish losing whish and crawf big blow. northern bombers would be better than NN too. and devonport they have lost massive numbers

You have to remember Ulverstone only had Wish for 4 games last year Crawford missed 8 plus games through injury and the Bombers have lost some good players like Wager Smith Rooza Grima and Ryan.

how the hell could you put ulverstone up their. who cares how many games they didnt play the fact is they were their for the grand final and they got beat!

in fact after months on this thread that would have to be the dumbest thing ive seen read by putting ulverstone on top! who have they gained? no one. they have lost three good players...... just dumb!

Nathen Howard will play again. They got nothing out of Wish or Crawford. They have retained everyone else and have a good crop of big bodied u/19s coming through. Ltn will loose to the VFL Sav Derby Scooter Sox Odonohugh and so on because they have a very good list. Its been said before that without Derby this year and last they would not have won the flags. Thats taking nothing away from the rest.He is just that good in big games. Dport have lost a lot of experienced players again and will rebuild,Burnie need Plappy up and going and the bombers have gained a few but at the same time lost some very good players. The rest are and were that far behind they won't catch up next year. Robins in 08.

State Premierships from 1909-1978:

○ North Hobart: (12) - 1914-'20-'23-'29-'36-'39-'40-'41-'45-'61-'62-'69
○ Cananore: (10) - 1909-'10-'11-'13-'21-'22-'25-'26-'27-'31
○ City/City-South: (7) - 1928-'30-'32-'54-'60-'66-'72
○ New Town/Glenorchy: (5) - 1948-'56-'58-'65-'75
Launceston: (5) - 1933-'34-'35-'37-'38
North Launceston: (3) - 1947-'49-'50
○ Lefroy: (2) - 1912-'24
○ Sandy Bay: (2) - 1946-'71
Ulverstone: (2) - 1955-'76
○ Cooee: (2) - 1964-'78
Longford: (1) - 1957
Hobart: (1) - 1959
○ Burnie Tigers: (1) - 1963
New Norfolk: (1) - 1968
Latrobe: (1) - 1970
Scottsdale: (1) - 1973

○ - Notes:
Cananore Canaries and the Lefroy Blues both went out of existence in March 1944 after the TANFL held a meeting to rationalise the league into a district based competition. Hobart and Sandy Bay were their replacements for the recommencement of the TANFL in 1945.

City changed its name to City-South in the 1960's and later merged with East Launceston in 1986 to become the South Launceston Bulldogs.

New Town Magpies merged with the Glenorchy Rovers in 1957 to be known as the Glenorchy Magpies.

Cooee Bulldogs changed their name to the Burnie Hawks upon entering the TFL Statewide League in 1987, later merging with the Burnie Tigers at the end of the 1994 Season to be known as the Burnie Dockers.

Sandy Bay Seagulls were wound up by their directors and folded in 1997.

All of North Hobart's State premierships were won as The Robins, they changed their emblem to The Demons in 1970.

I still think they should chase a major sponsor hard and put up a heap of cash for the winner. Nothing like the lure of some big dollars to delay your end of year celebrations for an extra week!

Plus the lure of extra money for both club and players would also maybe allow some creative accounting to bring in some bigger name ex afl players. Tassie footy has really lacked this over the last few years.

Mergers a good thing

Kingpin said "New Town Magpies merged with the Glenorchy Rovers
in 1957 to be known as the Glenorchy Magpies".

So Kingpin, 2 clubs located in the same area merge creating a stronger club that is now the powerhouse of footy in Southern Tas and you sit there on your tired old Phar Lap telling us all that Hobart should never merge with Sandy Bay Juniors.

Crazy talk mate.

Juniors play & train @ Queenborough, Under 17's>Seniors @ TCA all under the Hobart/Sandy Bay banner and in the Lions Seagull jumper. Kids then have an obvious path way to seniors and the winner is Football.

I mean Sandy Bay/Sth Hobart in the cricket did it, Burnie and Cooee the same and a little business called BHP and RIO are talking of doing so.

If there is anyone out there that can tell me why Hobart should not merge with Sandy Bay juniors then I will close case on this one.

Gunna make a great first up topic for the footy show. Mr Baker, Mr Wade and Mr Hay all together being drilled by the panel. Don't ya just love it!

ps Well done Kingpin on all the stats. I could be calling on your assistance as the footy show takes shape. (that's if you still talk to me)

The Big "H" is on the money there. There needs to be a sponsor found who will throw in around $20k and back this event for it to succeed. No doubt with the publicity this will recieve there is a business out there willing to jump onboard.

The travel costs, medical costs, $200 per player and a carrot of at least $5-7k for the winner and a kick for the loser will see this work. I honestly believe if we just roll along with it - within 12months this project will roll over like most things that occur in Tasmanian Football. Let's hope the SFL and NTFL can agree to make sure if anything that we make this event and spectacle the best it can be - at the home of Tasmanian Football - North Hobart. Only time will tell.

at the home of Tasmanian Football - North Hobart.

I think its more the heart of Tasmanian football. But you are spot on about getting $$$$$$$ for the players.

Gunna need some type of incentive to keep them off the booz post Mad Monday.

Statewide football will only benifit the big timers who want to climb the ladder off the ground. Players dont want to travel. Get back to regional footy before its to late.

This thread is about the State Premiership, not the statewide league.

Anyway, i hope they work hard at this and get sponsorship of say even $30 or $40K, with the majority going to the winning club and players. You could start promoting it in January, as the hype of reserecting the State final will be huge. Gunns would have that sort of cash falling out of their back pockets.

PS Docker5, hope you have your Roos membership, or if not you join up soon!

Re: Mergers are a load of f*cking horse sh|t

Barge said:
"In the Lions/Seagulls jumper....."

I can see the King coming in off the long run on this one ........

Duff, brace yourself!

I wouldn't bother wasting my time Barge.
I won't bother hijacking another thread with this topic.

My thoughts are pretty well known.
I like real clubs not fake plastic ones.

Carry on gentlemen....

Nathen Howard will play again. They got nothing out of Wish or Crawford. They have retained everyone else and have a good crop of big bodied u/19s coming through. Ltn will loose to the VFL Sav Derby Scooter Sox Odonohugh and so on because they have a very good list. Its been said before that without Derby this year and last they would not have won the flags. Thats taking nothing away from the rest.He is just that good in big games. Dport have lost a lot of experienced players again and will rebuild,Burnie need Plappy up and going and the bombers have gained a few but at the same time lost some very good players. The rest are and were that far behind they won't catch up next year. Robins in 08.

i agree adam derbyshire is a very important cog in the blues quest for a third premiership, but and i will through in a but, he played all year with the devils and still came back to kick 21 goals in the finals for lton.
what makes you think this cannot happen again?
sock okeefe isnt a listed devils player, o donahughe isnt training with the devils, get your facts right docker5.
i agree with hardnut, possibly the worst reply in this forums history.
might i add a briian finch over his OP will be a bonus plus the aquisition of one of the leagues freakish players in Shannon Bakes makes the blues easily top of the rankings, dont dare suggest buzz will go round again, dont do it to the poor old bloke, he has had one greatly decorated career and i would be beside myself if he went around again. one of Tasmanias greatest local and state players off all time. he has got everything out of himself , not sure if he has anything else but a whole lot of heart to give his beloved Ulverstone.
Burnie look to be list wise the biggest improvers over the preseason but there is alot of water yet to go under the bridge before the easter weekend where round one is awaiting!!!!

Sox should be added to the Devils he is a fine player along with Odonoughe. The Ntfl wont allow the debarcle that happened this year with players trying to qualify for games and be eligible for finals. The point i am making and i will stick by it is that Derbyshire has been the difference between winning and loosing grand finals especially this year. Howard has been a Tassy great no doubt about that. He wont take much coaxing when the robins are 6 and 0. and flying.

SOCK -he has been asked but has not tried out, would be a fine VFL player.
the NTFL have rules in place that a player must play x amount of games to qualify, launceston's players qualified within the rules, how is this a debarcle having the best possible team to play in the most important game of the year, if anything its genius.
all devils listed players @ lton have been lton boys for ever and will continue to be, derbyshire is with out a doubt the main reason due to his goal kicking ability, make no mistake Brian Finch kicked i think nearly 60 for the year and had to play finals with a broken hand, so without AD they would of been capapble of kicking a score.
flying without Crawford and Wish Wilson, Good Luck.

SOCK -he has been asked but has not tried out, would be a fine VFL player.
the NTFL have rules in place that a player must play x amount of games to qualify, launceston's players qualified within the rules, how is this a debarcle having the best possible team to play in the most important game of the year, if anything its genius.
all devils listed players @ lton have been lton boys for ever and will continue to be, derbyshire is with out a doubt the main reason due to his goal kicking ability, make no mistake Brian Finch kicked i think nearly 60 for the year and had to play finals with a broken hand, so without AD they would of been capapble of kicking a score.
flying without Crawford and Wish Wilson, Good Luck.

If you think the best comp in Tassy will put up with players sitting on the bench in the two's to qualify is the right way to go then thats your opinion. I agree that clubs should be able to play their best players. The rules have been exploited and it must be cleaned up. Crawford missed 8 game and Wish played 5 all injured except the game v Ltn at Windsor park where he picked up a best on ground. Ltn would not have won the final without Derby. Again this is not trying to under mine the other players in the Ltn team. Just a fact that sticks out like a china man on viagra!.

State Premiership to return in 2008