• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Statewide League News Archive

Great work The Majestic. Christ Clarence have lost a few!!!!!
I spoke with a couple of Clarence Players at the TRI ATHLON today and they both felt they would cover their losses quite well, "the return of Setchell, and the gains in Thurley, Blight,and Geappen as well as afew really good young players woul see them stronger", as they loose afew players each year.

Clarence top 3?

the gains in Setchell, Thurley, Blight,and Geappen

Yes, those 4 wise old heads will be reasonably handy at this level. Clarence to make the top 3 perhaps. Must say I don't know much about the northern sides.

Blighty will be keen to play in a winning team after stints with kids @ Kingborough & Smithton.

Crisis meeting tonight to sought out who's coaching.[/quote]

So no body has posted the result of last nights meeting out at Glenorchy. I know the truth and all I will say is its pretty sad the way things have been handled.

Down grading Glenorchy's 2009 ladder position from 2nd to 5th.

Crisis meeting tonight to sought out who's coaching.

So no body has posted the result of last nights meeting out at Glenorchy. I know the truth and all I will say is its pretty sad the way things have been handled.

Down grading Glenorchy's 2009 ladder position from 2nd to 5th.[/quote]

Down grading Glenorchy's 2009 ladder position from 2nd to 5th.
[/quote]

I hope they don't appoint someone just for an emergency!!! They need to scroll through a list of footy people in Tasmania who might be interested!

Names to consider (people with credibility and human decency, plus obvious footy nous) : Andy Bennett, Max Brown, Grant Fagan, Dale Perry, Scott McCallum, Steve Woods, Darren Perry, Lance Spaulding, Ben Reid, Ben Careless, Trent Bartlett etc. Ok some of these people may be unavailable but the search for a coach must be lateral..............who knows what might be available.

I also noticed that Glenorchy are no longer playing a curtain raiser against Launceston..............?????? Why is this?????

The truth is Duff, the players need to pull their heads in and realise they are there to play under the coach that the board see's fit to employ. Not go to the board and tell them who they want to coach.

Atkin's came down and the board could'nt even have a contract ready for him to sign, so he didn't feel comfortable addressing the players and they spat it. Big problems....

Pretty dissapointing the way things have been handled.... And if the rumours are true - That the players had a say in the decision then thats disgraceful.

Ben Reid is coaching Glenorchy in 09.

Pretty dissapointing the way things have been handled.... And if the rumours are true - That the players had a say in the decision then thats disgraceful.

Ben Reid is coaching Glenorchy in 09.

Good choice............Ben Reid is highly regarded and had great success coaching.

Don't bag out the players!!! They had every right to have their concerns!!!!!!!!!!

Ben reid will do a good job, and DEFINATELY a better option than Atkins. I haven't heard anyone with any footy credibility say that atkins would be a benefit to the club.

The truth is Duff, the players need to pull their heads in and realise they are there to play under the coach that the board see's fit to employ. Not go to the board and tell them who they want to coach.

Mate the players opinions count just as much as any member of the board. Its there football club aswell remember. Sure the board is there to make decisions but when players make a stand they obviously feel very strong about, the board has no choice but to listen.

Good choice............Ben Reid is highly regarded and had great success coaching.

Don't bag out the players!!! They had every right to have their concerns!!!!!!!!!!

Players are players simple as that. The board need to look at themselves and ask why when Mick Bowden said he would step aside in October they didn't source a suitable replacement then?????

Goodluck to Ben Reid, a big job for a bloke to pull things together so close to the season

Who was the clown that pushed Atkins name forward. You can't balme Axe. He was asked to coach. It's a laugh a minute up on the coast i can tell you

I saw the first mention of the new Statewide League in the Mercury for quite a while, and it was given a whole 2 inches of column space in the 'Sport in Brief' section on Page 36:

"It's on at last. The Statewide League's oldest club Launceston will meet the league's newest club Lauderdale in a curtain-raiser to the Hawthorn-Melbourne NAB Cup (game) at Aurora Stadium on Saturday.
The Launceston Blues have won the past three NTFL premierships and will be led by former Tassie Devils VFL stars Scott Stephens and Adam Derbyshire. Lauderdale finished finished fourth in last year's SFL Premier League and has recruited former Devils players Kane Richter and Cam DeGooyer. The match starts at 1:05pm."

Given a bit more in the Examiner and accompanied by a photo....bet ZippyBunny brought a heap of papers.

State league preview for fans
BY ROB SHAW
17/02/2009
TASMANIAN footy fans will get an early taste of the Statewide league this weekend.
The AFL's NAB Cup clash between Hawthorn and Melbourne will feature a curtain- raiser practice game between Tasmania's oldest first-tier club, Launceston, and the youngest, Lauderdale.
http://www.examiner.com.au/news/local/sport/general/state-league-preview-for-fans/1435379.aspx

Great work Duff. I appreciate your efforts given how little support you have for this project for those in the upper echelons. Hopefully they can see it in their hearts (an best interests) to provide you with some funding to get the PR machine working. I'd hate to see how their January YTD actuals are going against budget in the marketing department. I'm hoping not a cent has been spent yet as that is how much value they have received so far.

Look forward to your next installment.

THE MAP (details)

Look forward to your next installment.[/quote]

Good on you Ken. We were really just having a beer and then suddenly I had the mic and camera in place and Wiggo turned on the lights.

I am developing a proposal for the clubs with details on how they can get exposure for their clubs and connecting sponsors and will go from there.

Plan would be for me to be on the other side of the camera and perhaps people like Wiggo & the Master Anderson could be on the panel. Each week we would get a guest in and basically review the previous weekends games.

Spend about 5-6 mins on each game plus goal/mark of the day and "Club corner", throw in a 30 second add for the major sponsor and before you know it we are up to a 35 minute weekly segment just on Statewide.

But for it to work I am going to need club support, AFL TAS onside & a major sponsor.

It wouldn't break anyone's bank, it's not rocket science and very doable.

Re: THE MAP (details)

Look forward to your next installment.

Good on you Ken. We were really just having a beer and then suddenly I had the mic and camera in place and Wiggo turned on the lights.

I am developing a proposal for the clubs with details on how they can get exposure for their clubs and connecting sponsors and will go from there.

Plan would be for me to be on the other side of the camera and perhaps people like Wiggo & the Master Anderson could be on the panel. Each week we would get a guest in and basically review the previous weekends games.

Spend about 5-6 mins on each game plus goal/mark of the day and "Club corner", throw in a 30 second add for the major sponsor and before you know it we are up to a 35 minute weekly segment just on Statewide.

But for it to work I am going to need club support, AFL TAS onside & a major sponsor.

It wouldn't break anyone's bank, it's not rocket science and very doable.[/quote]

Wiggo? You have got to be joking. Whats his fame to claim. Gee whiz. His record is pretty dam ordinary.

Wiggo? You have got to be joking. Whats his fame to claim. Gee whiz. His record is pretty dam ordinary.[/quote]

Docker5, how about we do a phone hook up with you and you get the opportunity to have your say.

Better still get on Skype and then all can see who you are.

All we were doing was having a bit of fun. And fun it was.

Thanks for the positive input.

It wouldn't break anyone's bank, it's not rocket science and very doable.

Wiggo? You have got to be joking. Whats his fame to claim. Gee whiz. His record is pretty dam ordinary.[/quote]

Dont bag Jaimes mate? His record at Burnie and Werribee has been terriffic, wouldn't find anyone more passionate or knowledgable person to talk about Tasmanian Footy. He doesn't profess to be perfect but i guess we can't all be like you...

Wiggo? You have got to be joking. Whats his fame to claim. Gee whiz. His record is pretty dam ordinary.

Dont bag Jaimes mate? His record at Burnie and Werribee has been terriffic, wouldn't find anyone more passionate or knowledgable person to talk about Tasmanian Footy. He doesn't profess to be perfect but i guess we can't all be like you...[/quote]

No not bagging Wiggo. Just his record. Burnie????? He only professes to be passionate and knowledgeable.

A 5 minute panel discussion about the new State League can be seen on line here.

http://dufftv.com.au/

Part one in a 5 part series.

Good work Duff!
Hopefully you can see your way clear to continue this little episode.
With luck someone might come on board to defray the costs.
Good initiative and like the footy highlights package you and the Master did last season it will be something to look forward to each week. Pity the local radio can't see their way clear to have a show.
But if you get this up and running who needs radio.... stuff the MacQuarie bank et al.

Statewide League News Archive