brucetiki

Guest of Her Majesty
Nov 7, 2002
Wentworth Detention Ctr
Adelaide, Centrals
Given all the hoo-haa about this show, thought I would check it out tonight.

Very interesting, very eye opening show. Showed a diverse range of residents from those trying to make the most of a bad situation to those that are pretty much beyond help - I'm amazed Corey escaped prison, then he goes home and is back on the ice!

Apparently blacktown city council has arranged a fleet of garbage trucks to drive to SBS headquarters in protest because they feel it's not an accurate representation, and...they like garbage I guess?

Was interested in this show growing up in a socio-economic world like this one in Rockingham. Wasn't that bad but the subtitles were patronising. It would've been edited to **** too to make dramatic. The bit with the couple trying to break in to the room to get a cone piece was gold. Will watch next week.

Caught a bit of it. Will watch again.

Much like Bogan Hunter and those type of shows I was sitting thinking this cant be real. Sadly it is. The bloke living in the bush deserved his own show.

Missed this so watched it on Youtube, watched most of it with my mouth open in disbelief. Feel for the under aged people suffering as it's not like they've lost a job as they haven't had the chance to get one yet. Have no sympathy for the junkies. Despite all the uproar about Mt Druitt being portrayed as the shit hole it actually is, I can see some good coming from the exposure, such as donations to Graceades Cottage and maybe more support in community events now. Or you might get the opposite and more people staying the **** away from there now

This is Australia....as much as so many people out there are sooking about this show whilst sticking their heads in the sand.

Blacktown mayor plenty happy to lead a bunch of garbo trucks in a convoy....not so happy to spend any money on the mount and surrounding suburbs.

( i say this as someone who lives in Blacktown council area )

Watched the second episode tonight. Have to say that was a sobering experience. Every state has a Mt Druitt.....or several of them. They are just places we dump the unfortunates out of sight and they are doomed to wash, rinse, repeat.

Nearly five years on and you look at the other nights Episode and you have to wonder if things are worse

I can remember back in the 90’s the uproar over a series of Homelessness episodes on the ABC and how it would be changed

Yep.

There a few shows about the homeless.

filthy rich and homeless etc.

Struggle street is better imo.

It's not just the homeless either.

I thought the first series focused too much on 'losers'. Easy to see meth heads and have no sympathy for their predicament.

This one is a bit different with the old guy who lives in a tent and the dairy farmers. Even the household in Wagga they are focusing more on how they are trying to lift themselves up but druggies and criminals are bringing them down etc.

It's not just the homeless either.

I thought the first series focused too much on 'losers'. Easy to see meth heads and have no sympathy for their predicament.

This one is a bit different with the old guy who lives in a tent and the dairy farmers. Even the household in Wagga they are focusing more on how they are trying to lift themselves up but druggies and criminals are bringing them down etc.
Old mate with a cathatar in trying to ride the bike and crying. Good grief.

Those kids in Wagga South, just jeez. Poor bastards just never have a chance.

FTA-TV Struggle Street