Struggling ticket sales for the International Rules?

i'll go to the melbourne game and i am looking forward to it.

Draw announced this friday
IR rules the next week
A small break for cup week
Draft.

All just little steps to the footy comes back.

That's the spirit.

What people don't realise is that the Irish game is a part of the International expansion of our code.

How long until there are 22 players born overseas getting a game for an AFL club?

How long until there are 22 irish born players getting a game for an AFL club?

I'll be seeing Australian Rules Test Matches: Australia v The World and Australia v Ireland at the MCG before 2025...

That's the spirit.

What people don't realise is that the Irish game is a part of the International expansion of our code.

How long until there are 22 players born overseas getting a game for an AFL club?

I'll be seeing Australian Rules Test Matches: Australia v The World and Australia v Ireland at the MCG before 2025...

Do you realise how much Australia will dominate?

It will be Judd,Franklin and Ablett against Setanta O'Hairpin

:eek::eek::eek:

No promotion what so ever in Perth, ill be suprised if it doesnt sell out

They said in Tuesday's paper that over 25k tickets have been sold, which m eans there's heaps available.

But when 80% of the seats are $45, it's going to struggle to sell. Previous years it's been $20-$25. Typical AFL greed, just like the finals. They could have guaranteed a full house if they kept the prices low.

That's the spirit.

If you are awaiting a competitive team of Irish origined players I'd say somewhere between 100 years and never at the current rate. Of course the AFL could apply the grand patriality rules that are applied in cricket, soccer and other international sports so that players born here could represent the countries whence came their grand parents. You might get teams, then, from Italy, United Kingdom, perhaps Greece but otherwise there is no forseeable likelihood of any country being able to produce a competitive Australian Rules team, ever. It's too late, now. That opportunity was lost in the late 19th century.

Jays really lookin forward til meeting the convicts again. Always great to see our lads bring out the neanderthal in our cast-offs. Volcano-face Arkemanis never really recovered from getting battered around the bake by a 5 foot 1 teacher of Home Economics. So what did yer tube Sheedy do, bring out the brawlers. Play football and we win.

Got to say I am loving the advertising campaign for the series. All this talk about playing by the rules and how no one is going to be suspended from the Australian camp and all the ads talk up the brutality from past series. Brilliant.

But I still won't be going anywhere near it.

Got to say I am loving the advertising campaign for the series. All this talk about playing by the rules and how no one is going to be suspended from the Australian camp and all the ads talk up the brutality from past series. Brilliant.

But I still won't be going anywhere near it.

Haha yer the media are almost talking this out to be a boxing match. The only footage they are showing is of punch-ons.

Think it will be a pretty tame match in all honesty.

That said, anything is better than no footy, and I've always enjoyed this hybrid game as a bit of a novelty. I think I'll go to the MCG game.

Thought about boring but IMHO it'll be boring.

I mean I don't take anything from beating a bunch of amateurs. In fact if I'm going to support one team it'd be Ireland.

Some of you people are taking this way to seriously! It's an EXHIBITION match fer crying out loud, a bit of fun and a chance to see some of our guys running around with players from other teams. Thats all, no need to over analyze the thing. It's some fun in the off season and as a footy junkie I will take whatever I can get. The price difference in Subi and MCG does give me the s%#ts though.

Thought about boring but IMHO it'll be boring.

I mean I don't take anything from beating a bunch of amateurs. In fact if I'm going to support one team it'd be Ireland.

Reckon the Irish are a go this year considering we will not be allowed to really intimidate them this year if we want this annual match to continue

Jays really lookin forward til meeting the convicts again. Always great to see our lads bring out the neanderthal in our cast-offs. Volcano-face Arkemanis never really recovered from getting battered around the bake by a 5 foot 1 teacher of Home Economics. So what did yer tube Sheedy do, bring out the brawlers. Play football and we win.

No, play football and you guys bring out the cheap shots. 90% of the trouble started with an Irishman doing something untoward or unethical.

Hi all,

First off, apologies if this is in the complete wrong thread/board but I cant seem to find any other one and cant start a new thread.

Im currently in NZ but want to see the IR games tomorrw and next Friday, but I dont know of any TV channels or Radio stations that will be broadcasting live. Can anyone give me any pointers as to what TV channels/Radio Stations/Online feeds I can get over here that will be broadcasting the matches live?

Thanks

All's I know is that there was a very peaceful first test in Galway last time - when the Aussies were on their best behaviour - but something about the Aussie comments in the press about getting one of our players, the coach's pointed refusal to answer any questions about what level of physicality he'd employ and the singling out of one player even before throw in, well somehow it just changed things, you know? The Irish players acted disgracefully in Dublin every bit as much as the Aussies but only after being provoked.

What's more and what's most noteworthy is that there were largely incident free series in previous years when Brereton and Lyon were coaches, no violence or 'untoward or unethical behaviour' :D (rich coming from the country that brought Jasson Akermanis over and deliberately injured our best player in a warm up game some years ago as well) from Ireland then either, and even when we lost we just shook hands and said well done, no worries. A far cry from the blood-thirsty bad losers and whingers you'd all like to paint us as, to cover up your own part in what went on.

It's part of a very selective memory on here that ensures all that is forgotten, while the blinkers ensure that the role Sheedy's appointment and methods played in the whole thing turning farcical two years ago, is totally ignored.

Any idea if AFL full members get in for free or is it just discounted tickets?

Even a silver AFL Membership gets you in for free :thumbsu:
I got email from Collingwood offering half price tickets, but I have AFL Memberships.
I actually reserved seats for the game a couple of weeks ago.
It's only $5.50 for adults and $2.20 for kids on an AFL Membership.
It cost me $17.60 for me, my wife and 3 kids.
That is cheap and I have seats in N23.
I have never been particularly interested in the IR, but thought why not at that price.

Do you realise how much Australia will dominate?

It will be Judd,Franklin and Ablett against Setanta O'Hairpin

:eek::eek::eek:

Simple, you only allow blokes with names like Jones, Smith, Brown to play for Australia, and all 'dem blokes with the big choco names like Giansira....you get the idea, play for the rest of the world.

I know a local Gaelic football club which was given 20 free tickets by the AFL (obviously they want all the players to go).

I am totally not interested this year. The game is gaelic football with the mark. The longer this series continues, the more ******** GAA rules KB and his bunch of merry clowns will bring across to our game and ruin it forever.

Up until 2006, I'd been to every series since 2002.

But the most entertaining international footy game I've ever been to was this one ...

[youtube]PU5kYj0pcpw[/youtube]

There was no biff and Australia wasn't involved, but it was our own unique code and a fantastic match to watch. Not some pansy round ball crap from the northern hemisphere. That is the future. Not this Mickey Mouse IR bullshiesen

Pansy?

Let me guess you've played for 10 years and know all about Gaelic Football.

So tell me, what team did you play for?

Struggling ticket sales for the International Rules?