Stuart Dew

Re: Stuart Dew, looking sharp!

7xad1y1.jpg

This is a pretty good photo:)

Specially designed 2008 training top to makw Dew look good

It amazes me the amount of know all, know nothings that post on this board. Hawthorn, and Dew copped heaps of crap after he was drafted, about his weight mainly.

I would imagine Clarko and Pelchen may have a bit more of an idea on drafting, and Dew than the vast majority of negative posters here. Maybe it's jealousy, I think so. Stuart Dew will be the bagain pick up of the draft. With around 10 weeks to go till round 1, I'm sure as a professional footy club, they will be monitoring his weight, diet, fitness and strength. The man has not lost his skill. If it was'nt for his weight, he would have gone top 20.

I don't think anyone has claimed to know more than Clarkson. Most of us are just stating the obvious...........the guy is a fridge!

Choco and dew in a bar. Dew says to Choco "you're round". Choco replies "so are you, you fat pig!!!"

People are forgetting A fully fit Stewie Dew in the AFL was crap and barely good enough to get into the Port Adelaide midfield at the height of its injury problems. He has no place in the AFL. Hes just too slow

I dunno, he's looking a little large to be honest. I suppose there are still two and a half months away to the regular season but I don't know how much impact he's going to have at the beginning of the season. Very interesting pick up for the Hawks but I wouldn't be expecting too much out of him. I suppose he'll be an impact player by default.

I don't think anyone has claimed to know more than Clarkson. Most of us are just stating the obvious...........the guy is a fridge!

Choco and dew in a bar. Dew says to Choco "you're round". Choco replies "so are you, you fat pig!!!"

There are some guys that always have size - Plugger, Larkin, Bunger, Dew, etc.

He's obviously not where he needs to be but he has time and his power game suits a big frame.

Oh and he's going to kick the sh_t out of your spineless lot when we play you, as we have since Dermie and Vanders played sand castles together at 1:45pm on 20/05/04.

People are forgetting A fully fit Stewie Dew in the AFL was crap and barely good enough to get into the Port Adelaide midfield at the height of its injury problems. He has no place in the AFL. Hes just too slow

same could be said for ... oh no , we wont go there will we.

Despite the fact that is incorrect, don't you think Clarkson being at Port for a while, says that he may understand what Dew brings to the table more than... well most, and definately bigfooty posters.

I dont think the hawks took that much of a gamble really. They are already teeming with talented youth.

He looks pretty good to me and would push 80% of most clubs weiners off the ball, and will still lose 5 kg before the start of the home and away season.

The obvious and only place to play him would be Half forward flank, play him up the field a bit, drill it into Buddy or Williams. Simple plan i would think.

He's about 5-6 kg over his preferred playing weight, and his program is designed to reduce his weight gradually without reducing his strength. Dew's on track for round 1.

080111_regional430_1a.jpg

Not looking too chunky there in the background! Definitely think he is a handy selection! :)

Nah he's struggling there quite a bit mate.

Overall Dew is a very overrated player, at his best hes a goal kicking HFF, but we literally havent seen anything like his best for 5 to 6 yrs, probably even more.

Good luck with him ;)

I saw Dew and a few of the other hawthorn players at the Lorne Pier to Pub last weekend. I was surprised at how Dew look; he looked fitter than i expected him too. I heard reports that he'd been in a pretty good paddock, but he actually look fairly fit. He didn't have the usual footballer physic - but IIRC he's always been a bit barrel chested.

Dicko got 30-odd goals last year in that role, so can't see why Dewie can't do the same.

If that is your interpritation of a draft pick well used then the whole football fraternity thanks you for not ever getting involved in football decision making.

30 goals a season is nothing to be scoffed at, however let’s do a quick comparison. Nathan Ablett kicked about 30 goals last season and is about 20, Dew is 28. Nathan Ablett was is good physical shape, Dew clearly is not. Nathan Ablett had (has) plenty of time to develop his game and improve, Dew does not. Nathan Ablett had the potential to be a great player, Dew has been a great player but will never reach those same heights again.

Now the reason I used Nathan as an example in this instance is because I think most of you will agree that he was a standard player with potential if given time and he really applied himself. And to be honest there are dozen’s of players nation wide with similar characteristics to Nathan.

So why not picked a young player over an older over weight player? When you can easily get the same input.

Stuart Dew