Sunraysia Football league

Ibis100 said:
Some information has come to hand that Robinvale are in a bit of trouble. Having a meeting with the League over their current situation? Is it true they are on the brink of folding cause they have no committee and no support from the town????

I hope this is incorrect cause they could be a real show in the second half of the season. They aren't too far off the top sides and with a bit of luck they could be pushing for fourth spot. Does anyone know anything?????

This is an extremely big call Ibis, I couldnt imagine Robinvale would fold, they have been one of the more successful clubs throughout the 90's and early 00's. It is true there is not as much support as the did say fives years ago, but i guess this happends when clubs are winning games of football.
It will be interesting to hear what the meeting is all about and the outcome.

Looking forward to the biggest game so far this year this weekend. Any early predictions? I'd like Mildura to win but Irymple seem to be in great form.

Russ74 said:
Looking forward to the biggest game so far this year this weekend. Any early predictions? I'd like Mildura to win but Irymple seem to be in great form.

Russ i can tell u that this week will be an absoulute cracker. a couple a big names will return for the swallows in Carn & Curran which will help no end. And after the sturn words that were exchanged with ex Irymple on baller T. Hosking on Saturday night u can expect an extremely hard contest. Key Match ups: DeAngelis V Cardew, Carn V Connick, Eagle V Leng, Simms V Anderson, Eaton V Gonzo and the list could go on. Big day at No1 u would suspect.

Ibis100 said:
Some information has come to hand that Robinvale are in a bit of trouble. Having a meeting with the League over their current situation? Is it true they are on the brink of folding cause they have no committee and no support from the town????

I hope this is incorrect cause they could be a real show in the second half of the season. They aren't too far off the top sides and with a bit of luck they could be pushing for fourth spot. Does anyone know anything?????

I agree with Pangu that this an extremely big call. There would be too much pride to see them fold and though they might be going through a lean patch at the moment both on and off the field, I'm sure it'll turn around fairly quickly. Unless you've heard more that you're not willing to indulge that is.

In the case of youngsters coming through I was in Robinvale on Sunday and they can only field the 3 sides (U/11,U/13,U/15) with not enough players for colts games. This may be an issue in the future for them.

It was good to see my youngsters get off the mark for season 2006. Sammy Smythe, you wrote my boys off. You didn't give us a chance heading up the highway. Sammy ... You Were Wrong! ;) Keep up the good work though mate if you read this. There's a lot of people that read your article and it is very enjoyable. :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Delray said:
Russ i can tell u that this week will be an absoulute cracker. a couple a big names will return for the swallows in Carn & Curran which will help no end. And after the sturn words that were exchanged with ex Irymple on baller T. Hosking on Saturday night u can expect an extremely hard contest. Key Match ups: DeAngelis V Cardew, Carn V Connick, Eagle V Leng, Simms V Anderson, Eaton V Gonzo and the list could go on. Big day at No1 u would suspect.

What were these stern words Delray?

I also very highly doubt Simms will get Anderson purely on a fitness level. The Dees might rotate him onto Simms at some stage but I whether he goes with him the whole day is another thing. Would be good to see Connick play on his old Wenty mate though. Who's going to match up on the third big man Hall? Or the little big man "Motor" Russell? You also left out "Bluey" Anstey. You are right that it should be a cracker ...

chalkie said:
Kelvin 69, as you would be aware, to prove someone is guilty (or innocent) you need to have some accurate facts, so I encourage you make sure yours are correct before naming someone on the post (owning a clothes shop isn't very subtle).
To the defence of the 2 blokes being accussed for being Gutsy, both ibis and the 'Wide Winger' (owns the clothes shop) were both at the footy game and in the rooms till 7:30pm.

I spoke to badds on saturday and I can understand why he's :D:D:D:Ded off, however he did mention that he intends to move on (however I image not forget):thumbsu:
Can I suggest that we also do the same and use this forum to to post topics related to football only and if people have a personal issue keep it off the post!

Chill out Chalkie and get back to your correction.:thumbsu:

Heard a story that Sonny Lindsay may have celebrated his 11 goals a bit to hard down in Ouyen on Sat. Smashed a few windows in the main street and wanted to take on everyone. Just your regulation Sonny stuff.

Tommy V. may not have kicked the goals that Sonny has but I bet he wasn't the hassle that Sonny 's going to be.
I see that Tom V has been cleared back to Irymple. He will kick a bag if plays in the twos against Mildura this week.

Santoz said:
I agree with Pangu that this an extremely big call. There would be too much pride to see them fold and though they might be going through a lean patch at the moment both on and off the field, I'm sure it'll turn around fairly quickly. Unless you've heard more that you're not willing to indulge that is.

My understanding is that the league were going there last night for a meeting to discuss their future and how they could assist them. Chalkie might be able to assist a little futher here, he would have more info about Robinvale than myself. But my understanding is that they are close to folding. I hope not cause this League needs them.

Santoz said:
What were these stern words Delray?

I also very highly doubt Simms will get Anderson purely on a fitness level. The Dees might rotate him onto Simms at some stage but I whether he goes with him the whole day is another thing. Would be good to see Connick play on his old Wenty mate though. Who's going to match up on the third big man Hall? Or the little big man "Motor" Russell? You also left out "Bluey" Anstey. You are right that it should be a cracker ...

Surely Mildura wouldnt play all four talls in the forward line at the same time? Once the ball hit the deck there would be a lot of reliance on the 2 smalls. But I suppose they are getting the job done at the moment.
Forget the big name players, what about the kids. Thats where the game will be won. Vining, Carmichael, Russell, Spencer, Heley, Dawson, Martin vs Calvi, Hammence, Condodorio, Turnbull, Mentiplay, Dowdy, Ransome, Pappagorgiou.

What about the Wenty Roos, big game against Imps this week, a loss could see them 2 games out of the four with a trip to Robinvale to come. I think they are a good side that have some unfortunate injuries.

The Nest said:
Surely Mildura wouldnt play all four talls in the forward line at the same time? Once the ball hit the deck there would be a lot of reliance on the 2 smalls. But I suppose they are getting the job done at the moment.
Forget the big name players, what about the kids. Thats where the game will be won. Vining, Carmichael, Russell, Spencer, Heley, Dawson, Martin vs Calvi, Hammence, Condodorio, Turnbull, Mentiplay, Dowdy, Ransome, Pappagorgiou.

What about the Wenty Roos, big game against Imps this week, a loss could see them 2 games out of the four with a trip to Robinvale to come. I think they are a good side that have some unfortunate injuries.

Rusty off Chevy Chases Vegas Vacation?

Ibis100 said:
My understanding is that the league were going there last night for a meeting to discuss their future and how they could assist them. Chalkie might be able to assist a little futher here, he would have more info about Robinvale than myself. But my understanding is that they are close to folding. I hope not cause this League needs them.

I heard that they have little help off the ground. Player registrations were/are a mess. The mail is that if they had won a game in the first few rounds the points would have been taken off them anyway. If they had 2 or 3 more talls they would be finals material.

Anyone seen today's Herald Sun? On page 14 there is a picture of Mildura forward Ash Connick. The caption says -At the zoo:Noel sr. But they must have gotten mixed up because it's definetly him.

VERA HICKEY said:
Anyone seen today's Herald Sun? On page 14 there is a picture of Mildura forward Ash Connick. The caption says -At the zoo:Noel sr. But they must have gotten mixed up because it's definetly him.

That's actually not bad. I have no comeback........yet!

Quote=Ibis100]NESTY,

You asked for my interleague squad but I don't think I could give you one. I think there will be several changes in each game as there are a number of players that should be in the team but wouldn't mix well or for team balance couldn't be included in the same games. I will give you my squad of 28 that I think should go away going on current form and injury free.

Anstey, Cardew, Deckert, Carmichaeld, O'Callaghan, Vining
Brad Hards, D. Hickey, M. Hickey, Thornton (Ridley not included as injured on weekend)
Simms, Eagle, Eaton, Deangilis, Calvi
Zappia, Harley, Falvo, Keam (Added to the squad I think)
Haase, Gathercole, Spivey, Thomas, McDonald, Cook (If available)
Rigby x 2, Jackson, Cumming

I think this squad has a good mix of old and young and majority of these guys are in the best players week in week out or near top of the goal kicking lists.
I agree in principle with most people that younger guys should get a go but tell me how many of the younger guys are honestly up to interleage standard? The league has an obligation to promote us as best they can and the only way to do that is to put the best side on the field and win the championships, no matter how old or young the players are. Last year, I believe Hasse missed selection because he was seen as too old, the same reason given for him missing the Team of the year even though he was the second highest goal scorer in the League. If he is playing football better than anyone else then why shouldn't he be given the opportunity to play the highest level of footy that he can. The young guys that are ready will be selected, but don't punish guys because of their age. The league is better than Pool D and we need to show that by playing our best side.[/quote]

Ibis100 you have a slighlty valid point on Haas. It is a very tough job (picking team of the Year) as you would understand and easy to say he should get in. I would be interested to hear who's spot you think he should take?? Wouldn't be surprised if you dodged that one though.

Speaking of controversial Team of the Year candidates I understand Joffa Bosworth played magoo's on the weekend. Fantastic inclusion for the green and white midfield when he gets a few games under his belt, one of those players that seems to have all the time in the world and makes the right decisions.

Congratulations to Jake Smythe on winning the Gallagher Hollcroft nomination for round 5. Good to see new faces taking the next step.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

VERA HICKEY said:
Gold Vera Hickey ,Gold,dont worry John certainly looks like he swallowed the canary too, noel snr must have just sold a pair of $300 gels

Hillite said:
Tommy V. may not have kicked the goals that Sonny has but I bet he wasn't the hassle that Sonny 's going to be.
I see that Tom V has been cleared back to Irymple. He will kick a bag if plays in the twos against Mildura this week.

The checkbook must be thin down Ouyen way this year if Vadjla is returning. How much are you boys paying him Delray, Nesty? Everyone knows he doesn't play for the love of the jumper. He shat all over Irymple when he left the footy club for coin then quit the cricket club. I bet you boys are welcoming him back with open arms though ... :thumbsdown: :thumbsdown:

You know what I'm on about Delray

VERA HICKEY said:
Heard a story that Sonny Lindsay may have celebrated his 11 goals a bit to hard down in Ouyen on Sat. Smashed a few windows in the main street and wanted to take on everyone. Just your regulation Sonny stuff.
Any more news about the new gun Ouyen forward? The pain is all worth if he can deliver 8+ goals a week. From all reports the club is on a high after a big start to the season. Long time between drinks for Devils fans.

VERA HICKEY said:
Love it VERA, post of the month.:thumbsu:

Just a word on this weeks match between mildura and irymple. I really cant see mildura getting to close to the swallows having played both teams. Eagle is too strong and will probly kick another bag. Irymple also have too much strength in the midfield. I reckon irymple by at least 5 goals.

Uncanny said:
Just a word on this weeks match between mildura and irymple. I really cant see mildura getting to close to the swallows having played both teams. Eagle is too strong and will probly kick another bag. Irymple also have too much strength in the midfield. I reckon irymple by at least 5 goals.
Don't be suprised if Connick heads down back if it's all going pear shaped early. Midfield battle pretty even I reckon with Eaton and Curran only recently returning from time on the sidelines. Should be a beauty on Saturday, get down to No.1 and have a look.

Uncanny said:

Can someone please tell me how many goals Toby Cardew has kicked to date and Mildura's win/loss record

The Nest said:

You underestimate Toby "GS" Cardews roving ability Nesty ;)

If that's where the game will be won I'd be very surprised. They'll no doubt help the cause but the game will be won off either Eagle's boot or Cardew/Connick's I reckon.

Peter Mac said:
Big Tobe has slotted thru 20 majors so far this season steering the Dees to a four and blot record.

Umm, I think you'll find it's 24 goals and a 5-0 record.