Sunraysia Football league

Spives. Your bias is a little too obvious. Anyway you're entitled to your opinions, whether they're aimed at stirring or not.

One thing you may want to do in the near future is pop into the local library and borrow an introductory maths text book. In the modern world of football the number of wins all teams have combined should probably match the number of losses all teams have combined.

Not sure how there can be 69 winners and 75 losers.

I know that Yaabs but I have put the maximum wins and losses for the sides. I thought some of the games were a 50/50 so I have given each team a win or a loss for those. Hence, the uneven number. I'm unsure what you mean by being bias, if you mean cause I put Red Cliffs in the Four then that is a bit short sighted of you. They sit a game clear in the four now and you have to admit you guys have not played consistant footy all year. You had a good win over Wenty on the weekend but you need to do that consistently to get enough wins on the board. It will be a battle for fourth between Irymple and Red Cliffs and you guys if you can get more consistant. I can't see you making it at this point. Perhaps there in lies the challenge to prove people wrong. You have probably the best list in the league and in alot of peoples opinions you guys have underachieved this year.

I couldn't care less who makes it in the four and I haven't tried to provoke any responses. I simply put forward my view of the rest of the season.

Mildura in 4th spot.
Mildura has already got over WW, Red Cliffs won't.

Disagree with you there Rabbito. Red Cliffs are a game clear and play Irymple this weekend. They must win this game and can push two games clear of Irymple. In a sense this game is worth two games to Red Cliffs.

Mildura you would imagine shoud defeat South and go ahead of Irymple on the ladder. The following week will then be crucial for Red Cliffs but if they defeat Irymple they will still be on the same points as Mildura if they are defeated. They each have a solid run home and I think the game between Wenty and Red Cliffs being the decider.

I will stay with Red Cliffs because I know what is happening internally and what the guys are doing and I don't with Mildura. From the outside it looks like Mildura are having some problems on the field and this has swayed my decision.

It will be close and it is fantastic to see more competitiveness on the field this year. When was the last time we had 3 teams battling it out for a spot in the finals with the result hinging on the last couple of rounds.

Disagree with you there Rabbito. Red Cliffs are a game clear and play Irymple this weekend. They must win this game and can push two games clear of Irymple. In a sense this game is worth two games to Red Cliffs.

Mildura you would imagine shoud defeat South and go ahead of Irymple on the ladder. The following week will then be crucial for Red Cliffs but if they defeat Irymple they will still be on the same points as Mildura if they are defeated. They each have a solid run home and I think the game between Wenty and Red Cliffs being the decider.

I will stay with Red Cliffs because I know what is happening internally and what the guys are doing and I don't with Mildura. From the outside it looks like Mildura are having some problems on the field and this has swayed my decision.

It will be close and it is fantastic to see more competitiveness on the field this year. When was the last time we had 3 teams battling it out for a spot in the finals with the result hinging on the last couple of rounds.

Either way, I think local footy is better for it! (the eveness of the league)
Alot of people are quick to jump on and knock local footy, I personally believe footy hasn't been as interesting (good to watch) for years.
I rather go to the footy and watch a game with WW lose by a kick or two than watch them pump another side by 20+ goals.

Your bias is that you obviously don't like the Mildura Footy Club. Read through your past comments if you need proof. If you're going to have a crack at the ladder at the end of the home and away, have a real go, dont sit on the fence.

Pretty well documented we have had more than our share of injury worries, some guys down on form and confidence suffered due to that. All of that is now behind us. 3 point loss at Robinvale, 8 point loss to Imps and an 13 point win at Dareton is evidence of that and all with considerable improvement to come. I'm fairly certain the top few sides hope we dont make it.

Mildura will make the four. Strong percentage.

They are a real chance to make the big one too.

I would say Imps vs Mildura GF. Richardson best on.

Irymple vs Imps in the reserves. Gribble best on.

Mildura vs Imps in the unders. Doering best on.

Atkinson/Curran - McLeod Medal

Gribble - Holcroft Medal

Fenton - Casey Medal

Your bias is that you obviously don't like the Mildura Footy Club. Read through your past comments if you need proof. If you're going to have a crack at the ladder at the end of the home and away, have a real go, dont sit on the fence.

Pretty well documented we have had more than our share of injury worries, some guys down on form and confidence suffered due to that. All of that is now behind us. 3 point loss at Robinvale, 8 point loss to Imps and an 13 point win at Dareton is evidence of that and all with considerable improvement to come. I'm fairly certain the top few sides hope we dont make it.

You are well off the mark there big fella. I have no grudge against the Mildura Footy club or anyone at the footy club. I picked you guys to finish top of the ladder before the season started and have even praised you guys for the way in which you developed the club under Ryan O'Callaghan for a number of years to get your success instead of just buying a Premiership. Your recruitment over the past 3-4 years is second to none and your improvement was seen over a number of years. Other clubs should look and take a leaf out of your book.

I have made comments about individual players or their playing styles but I don't believe I have ever stated I don't like the Mildura Footy Club. But I have also made comments on other clubs and players and I would say my bias shows I am extremely dissapointed with the South Footy Club more than anyone.

I find it quite perplexing you take such offence to me picking Mildura to finish low on the ladder considering I don't even play the game anymore. You of all people are one that I wouldn't have thought would take comments on this forum so personal.

Anyway I hope I have cleared up your incorrect perception of my thoughts on your club.

And I haven't sat on the fence with regard to the ladder. I have put them in the order I think they will finish. If I sat on the ladder I would have put each team finishing in a number of places. I think stating where each team will finish is pretty cut and dry. Win/Loss means nothing in the end so you can disregard the win/loss ration if that makes you feel a bit better.

Either way, I think local footy is better for it! (the eveness of the league)
Alot of people are quick to jump on and knock local footy, I personally believe footy hasn't been as interesting (good to watch) for years.
I rather go to the footy and watch a game with WW lose by a kick or two than watch them pump another side by 20+ goals.

Totally agree with you Rabitto, here's hoping the two bottom clubs can lift thier game next season to make it even better again.

You are well off the mark there big fella. I have no grudge against the Mildura Footy club or anyone at the footy club. I picked you guys to finish top of the ladder before the season started and have even praised you guys for the way in which you developed the club under Ryan O'Callaghan for a number of years to get your success instead of just buying a Premiership. Your recruitment over the past 3-4 years is second to none and your improvement was seen over a number of years. Other clubs should look and take a leaf out of your book.

I have made comments about individual players or their playing styles but I don't believe I have ever stated I don't like the Mildura Footy Club. But I have also made comments on other clubs and players and I would say my bias shows I am extremely dissapointed with the South Footy Club more than anyone.

I find it quite perplexing you take such offence to me picking Mildura to finish low on the ladder considering I don't even play the game anymore. You of all people are one that I wouldn't have thought would take comments on this forum so personal.

Anyway I hope I have cleared up your incorrect perception of my thoughts on your club.

And I haven't sat on the fence with regard to the ladder. I have put them in the order I think they will finish. If I sat on the ladder I would have put each team finishing in a number of places. I think stating where each team will finish is pretty cut and dry. Win/Loss means nothing in the end so you can disregard the win/loss ration if that makes you feel a bit better.

Not sure that me saying you obviously dont like Mildura leads you to believe that I have taken any offence at all. What others think has no bearing on us or me at all. I think you'll find we were written off many times last year and not given much chance pre finals at all. And as you know if the crap we all put up with from nobodies over the fence doesnt affect us nothing will! Heard a ripper at Wenty last saturday!

Apart from Hocko, who will always get sucked in by the crowd, I agree.
What was said?

Yes, I have certainly been on the recieving end of a few good verbal sprays from the crowd. Adds a bit of humour to your day most of the time.

couldnt agree more ibis...

Well here goes.

Seven rounds left and lets look at the draw and hopes of each side leading up to finals.

Current Ladder

Robinvale 10 1
Imps 9 2
Wenty 8 3
Irymple 5 6
Red Cliffs 5 6
Mildura 4 7
South 3 8
Merbein 0 11

Robinvale

Sitting nicely at the top of the ladder with just one loss. Without Moncur they lose alot of drive but they have South, Red Cliffs, Mildura and Merbein in their last four games so almost a certaintly to finish top and go in favourites for the flag. This weekend could be the difference between top and second but have a solid few weeks with Irymple, Imps and Wenty

Finish 1 15w 3L

Imps

Travelling better than this time last year and have a very strong core of experienced players mixed with some excellent youngsters. Like I said at the start of the year, never write off the green and whites. Have a fairly good run home and with the round 13 game against Robinvale which will decide one and two at Robinvale, I am tipping them to finish second

Finish 2 14w 4L

Wenty

Have surprised everyone with their consistency this year. They are well placed to battle it out for a spot in the GF but still very susceptible if they get an injury or two to thier top players. They have had an excellent run with injury this year compared to past years and will need to nurse Belly through the rest of the year to make sure he is up and firing come finals. Rounds 14-16 will be thier test with Robinvale, Imps and Mildura. Should finish in third without any problems but can't see them pushing top two unless they win at least 2 of those three games. If they lose all three, they will be bundled out of finals in first round with lack of confidence.

Finish 3 11w 7L

Irymple

Irymple have slipped down the ladder as everyone would have imagined with the loss of key personell at the start of the year. Thier old and trusted players and holding them up but need more consistency. They need to beat all the sides above them to hold Fourth spot but with South and Merbein in thier last two games, they could manage to hold fourth spot.

Finish 5 8w 10L

Red Cliffs

Red Cliffs have certainly improved and become more competitive this year which is great for the competition. The last month has been one to forget and they need to start beating teams above them like Wenty and Imps who both defeated them comfortably. If all goes well this weekend with a win over South and Wenty defeating Mildura and Irymple getting done by Robinvale they will slip back in to the four. They have a very hard run home with Mildura, Imps and Wenty for their last three and if they can get up over two of these sides can guarantee a spot in the four. They could be a game clear after today and two clear of Mildura. Irymple and Red Cliffs to battle it out over fourth spot and the game against Wentworth will be the decider. A hard choice but I think they can slip in to Fourth.

Finish 4 9w 9L

Mildura

The big dissapointment of 2008. They lost very few of the all dominating team of 2007 and recruited well to cover where they believe they lacked last year. Struggled to get a win on the board early and have been inconsistent of late. Can only see them winning 3 of their last 7 rounds so won't have enough wins to even scrape in. They will need to turn things around very quickly to make it in to the top four and from here it wouldn't seem possible.

Finish 6 7w 11L

South

Have struggled to put things together on the field again this year. Again they have thier off field looking good but cant produce come game day. They have pushed sides but continually fallen away at the end. Probably surprised a few with playing players on permit to the detriment of the other juniors and players at the club but seem to be looking for a quick fix to thier problems. Will continue to push teams but will struggle to win against anyone else other than Merbein if they don't defeat Red Cliffs today. Extemely difficult run home with all the top 6 teams to play. Can't make finals.

Finish 7 4w 14L

Merbein

With the return of Neagle and past players, the pies thought things would turn around quickly. Unfortunately they haven't had the success they wanted and were only competitive for four quarters for the first time last week. Neagle has show his intentions of staying the term of his contract and hopefully with some smart recruiting can plan for next year. They will push a couple of sides and possible pull out thier first win of the year but it wouldn't be surprising to see them go winless for the year. I will tip them to get up one win toward the end of year. (Probably against Mildura)

Finish 8 1w 17L

I will do finals tips when final 4 has been decided.

Will there be an investigation in to the week as piss king hit from Sam Ransom on Chris Lee? Should be front, back and middle pages I imagine come Monday.

And thats coming from the biggest pathetic snipper of them all in you spivey cheap shots galore should have been your middle name, lets hope Red Cliffs are paying you to be runner so that the high school are getting some of there money back cause you are a dead set w..ker...

Well its pretty simple if red cliffs are willing to lose there coach and chris lee for 2 weeks as 1. it was Walder who started the the biff with eaton and 2. Chris Lee who managed to stand over eaton and punch him in the head i think they have alot more to lose from an investigation. Especially with the probablility that red cliffs could be in the finals.

Ibis i didnt see u running were u at the game??????????? if not maybe get the all the facts before passing comment

Well its pretty simple if red cliffs are willing to lose there coach and chris lee for 2 weeks as 1. it was Walder who started the the biff with eaton and 2. Chris Lee who managed to stand over eaton and punch him in the head i think they have alot more to lose from an investigation. Especially with the probablility that red cliffs could be in the finals.

Ibis i didnt see u running were u at the game??????????? if not maybe get the all the facts before passing comment

Didn't that finally stir things up. :D:D Not there too busy working. I'm all for a good fight but not in to King Hits. If you want to get in to fight and come from behind then grab the bloke and get him in a head lock, not belt him to the head hard enough to knock him out. If he turns and grabs you, then fine, throw a good one, at least he should see it coming.

I simply asked the question if there would be an investigation and made a comment that I believe a KING hit is weak as piss. If that means others get roped in to any investigation then so be it. Im just so sick of the League blowing hot air. They give blokes four weeks for abusing an umpire yet the umpires turn a blind eye to what is obvioulsy a pretty good Donny brook with one player being completely KO'd from a king hit and two others belting each other. They send one of them off with the blood rule but do nothing about the incident. If this league was serious then they would do something about it. Doesn't bother me who gets what, I don't play the game anymore.

I was hit in the back of the head two year ago by a player in retaliation to a slap on his face. I didn't give any evidence that would have kept him out of th GF but I along with everyone in the tribunal that night knew otherwise. I can tell you he was sweating on it. Put simply, the league does nothing to kerb such incidents and we all know it. With the reigns being tightened on abusing the umpire, surely these incidents should be looked at in more depth. Its a joke that they don't even look at any video evidence that could prove or disprove a persons guilt.

READ RULE 4 of bigfooty ____
Keep it truthful. You're responsible for material you post. If you value your posessions don't make up rubbish rumours about people.*

Well Ibis the Balls with redcliffs at the moment if they wish wish to take matters futher all 3 players would get a minimum of 2 weeks. What Lee did to Eaton was exactly the same as what Ransome did to Lee. Sams landed on the chin Lees landed around the ear. Hence the difference in the end result.

In defensive of the umps the atercation happened right near the benches when the pack formed the Umps were blind sighted. Both coaching staff had clear sight of it as did i. So taking that all into account i would seriously doubt that redcliffs would kick up a stink as they would practicley be handing there 2 best players 2 weeks. Sitting a game clear in the four losing them 2 would impact there chances greatly.

Just have to wait and there movements i guess.

READ RULE 4 of bigfooty ____
Keep it truthful. You're responsible for material you post. If you value your posessions don't make up rubbish rumours about people.*

No-one, including Delray who saw the incident has denied it was a King Hit. Therefore what was written would appear to be the truth. So what was written is neither rubbish, nor rumour.

Well Ibis the Balls with redcliffs at the moment if they wish wish to take matters futher all 3 players would get a minimum of 2 weeks. What Lee did to Eaton was exactly the same as what Ransome did to Lee. Sams landed on the chin Lees landed around the ear. Hence the difference in the end result.

In defensive of the umps the atercation happened right near the benches when the pack formed the Umps were blind sighted. Both coaching staff had clear sight of it as did i. So taking that all into account i would seriously doubt that redcliffs would kick up a stink as they would practicley be handing there 2 best players 2 weeks. Sitting a game clear in the four losing them 2 would impact there chances greatly.

Just have to wait and there movements i guess.

I am guessing like Interleague footy this year, nothing will happen. Red Cliffs players won't winge cause they take it on the chin as most players do which is what you would expect.

The league needs to get consistent and start treating these incidents seriously, whoever is involved. Mildura copped it over the Alvey incident, I don't see how this is any different with a player being KO'd and taken to hospital.

This is of course only my opinion which accounts for nothing. Hopefully it might stir some responses from others about these matters rather than personal attacks on me and my OPINION. If others have an opinion, say what it is, if its different to mine then say so rather than make a personal attack on me. This is what forums are about isn't it, people with differing views being able to put them down and then discuss them in a civil manner. We all have different views, perhaps others could put thiers down instead of verbally attacking the views of others.

I concur Ibis... Fellas Start speaking up.

Well with Mildura to Meet Redcliffs the final four could just about be set my tip is Mildura to take the place of redcliffs top 3 to remain the same.

On the weekend's footy ive never seen such an open game it was very free flowing. I reckon Milduras skills will be better the reddy thats whats gunna get them in.

R/Vale, Imps 2nd semi. Imps will go straight through.

I concur Ibis... Fellas Start speaking up.

Well with Mildura to Meet Redcliffs the final four could just about be set my tip is Mildura to take the place of redcliffs top 3 to remain the same.

On the weekend's footy ive never seen such an open game it was very free flowing. I reckon Milduras skills will be better the reddy thats whats gunna get them in.

R/Vale, Imps 2nd semi. Imps will go straight through.

I'm tipping Red Cliffs in a close one at home. I reckon by between 5 and 10 points. It looks to be a beauty with Mildura beating south by 60+ and Red Cliffs having defeated them by 90. If Red Cliffs gets up, the top four would almost be finalised with them being two clear of the 5th positioned side. Red Cliffs should go in confident having defeated them the only two times they have met this year, (Including Pre Season). Mildura are now up and going and have had good firepower up forward over the past two weeks. If Connick and Matthews are held to under 5 goals between them, Red Cliffs will get up.

will be interesting to see how jarrod arrentz goes in the legends game tommorow night. hope he does the mallee proud and kicks some goals. I wonder if some of you stat buffs can find out how many senior goals he has kicked in his career. personally i would think he would of cracked the 1000 mark by now.
The question is, is he the best fullforward to come from northern victoria. and not go AFL. I understand he got his spot in the legends game via a comp, but as country footballers go, i dont think he will be too far out of place down there.

Hope you kick butt down there jarrad....even if you are from two headedville :p