Sunraysia Football league

Eaton, Ransome, Walder & Lee to face the tribunal on friday night. And who said investigations prove nothing

The investigation hasn't PROVEN anything yet Delray. It has recommended further action and that is what has happened. It is now up to the tribunal to PROVE what happened.

Walder and Eaton charged for wrestling (A joke if ever I heard one). Both if found guilty will face a reprimand at worse. Both never been reported in their entire careers and both with a League Best and Fairest to their names which goes a long way when sentencing is considered. I believe both will get off the charge anyway.

Ransome and Lee for striking and I would imagine Red Cliffs will fight Lee pretty hard. Ransome will probably get a few and I believe he will plead guilty to the charge.

Why would the League hold this hearing on the night before a game? It leaves both teams unsure about thier sides for the game and particularly when both coaches are involved. Surely they could have put it off until next week as they did for Deckert due to his unavailability. You really have to wonder about the League sometimes.

Hey Nakkers, hope you got all the items on your list the other night. Was good to see you and say g'day mate. I agree with you about the chairman. He should not be involved seeing the family link and team link.

i think the players had a better relationship with shannon whom i believe was a great coach but the relationship between the players and moncur is different his got a more professional approach and although i havent had much to do with him i think his been a great asset to the club. playing with shan in his first year missing his 2nd and then coming back to the club i think its a better place to be this time around with the club heading in a new direction with some good young blood in the like of neyland, smythe and zaffina.

Yeah i was really amazed that they would even bother with the wrestling charge.

Well the one thing we have learnt is that an investigation covers all actions invovled as my imformant told me. Wish that had have been known prior would have saved me 500 bucks.

Lee Could not possible get off the striking charge its like saying sam could get off his there is no chance.

Hear is my tips

Walder & Eaton - Reprimand

Lee - 1 to 3

Sam - 2 to 4

The investigation hasn't PROVEN anything yet Delray. It has recommended further action and that is what has happened. It is now up to the tribunal to PROVE what happened.

Walder and Eaton charged for wrestling (A joke if ever I heard one). Both if found guilty will face a reprimand at worse. Both never been reported in their entire careers and both with a League Best and Fairest to their names which goes a long way when sentencing is considered. I believe both will get off the charge anyway.

Ransome and Lee for striking and I would imagine Red Cliffs will fight Lee pretty hard. Ransome will probably get a few and I believe he will plead guilty to the charge.

Why would the League hold this hearing on the night before a game? It leaves both teams unsure about thier sides for the game and particularly when both coaches are involved. Surely they could have put it off until next week as they did for Deckert due to his unavailability. You really have to wonder about the League sometimes.

Hey Nakkers, hope you got all the items on your list the other night. Was good to see you and say g'day mate. I agree with you about the chairman. He should not be involved seeing the family link and team link.

Good to catch up mate, need notes these days got the memory retention of a gold fish unless I'm the bottle shop

last five rounds and a good battle for fourth spot. Red Cliffs play mildura at home, (loss), merbein at home (win), rob away (loss), imps at home (loss) and w/w away (loss). mildura have r/c away (win) iry at home (win) merbein away (win) rob at home (? possible win) and imps (?). I see mildura getting in. good percentage and a full list. just my opinion of course. any thoughts?

Yeah i was really amazed that they would even bother with the wrestling charge.

Well the one thing we have learnt is that an investigation covers all actions invovled as my imformant told me. Wish that had have been known prior would have saved me 500 bucks.

Lee Could not possible get off the striking charge its like saying sam could get off his there is no chance.

Hear is my tips

Walder & Eaton - Reprimand

Lee - 1 to 3

Sam - 2 to 4

Surely considering the timing the suspensions (if any) would come into affect next week?

Paper stated that Peter Demetriou Congress wanted it dealt with before tomorrow. Why? Well god only knows.

Perhaps he could explain why the League will also have Eaton and Walder found guilty of Bringing the game in to disripute if found guilty of wrestling just because they were charged as a result of investigation.

If wrestling brings the game in to disrepute, surely more serious charges would result in Life Long bans to players. If that is truly a rule within the SFL, they need to have a good look and perhaps repeal that rule. How does wrestling compare to the Ben Cousins matter. Surely big bad Barry Hall has done worse and had a profoundly more detrimental effect on the game that Walder and Eaton having a bit of a push and shove on Henshilwood Oval. He wasn't found guilty of Bringing the game in to disripute by knocking out Staker in the fashion he did. I am hoping it was JOKE that Congo was having with the Sunny Daily, SURELY it was, cause I laughed my **** off when I read it.

Paper stated that Peter Demetriou Congress wanted it dealt with before tomorrow. Why? Well god only knows.

Perhaps he could explain why the League will also have Eaton and Walder found guilty of Bringing the game in to disripute if found guilty of wrestling just because they were charged as a result of investigation.

If wrestling brings the game in to disrepute, surely more serious charges would result in Life Long bans to players. If that is truly a rule within the SFL, they need to have a good look and perhaps repeal that rule. How does wrestling compare to the Ben Cousins matter. Surely big bad Barry Hall has done worse and had a profoundly more detrimental effect on the game that Walder and Eaton having a bit of a push and shove on Henshilwood Oval. He wasn't found guilty of Bringing the game in to disripute by knocking out Staker in the fashion he did. I am hoping it was JOKE that Congo was having with the Sunny Daily, SURELY it was, cause I laughed my **** off when I read it.

Ibis, its pretty easy to take pot shots at blokes who give countless hours of their time so thousands of people get the opportunity to play footy every week in our area. They are constantly bagged week in week out by people, like you, with no idea how much time and effort is involved in running a football league. If you don't like the way they do things either put up or shut up. But then again, when people question what your doing or disagree with you opinons, you just quit !!

His the news boys:

Walder Eaton = Guilty both Reprimands

Sam / devil/ thug = Guitly - Striking 10 weeks - 4 out 6 suspended

Lee / Innocent/ 100% ball player/ Angel - Not guilty of striking.

who would have thought :rolleyes:

Well here goes.

Mildura

The big dissapointment of 2008. They lost very few of the all dominating team of 2007 and recruited well to cover where they believe they lacked last year. Struggled to get a win on the board early and have been inconsistent of late. Can only see them winning 3 of their last 7 rounds so won't have enough wins to even scrape in. They will need to turn things around very quickly to make it in to the top four and from here it wouldn't seem possible.

Finish 6 7w 11L

So IBIS with 4 games to go, and having notched up 7 wins already do you still think Mildura won't win a game from now? Surely not!

I don't know why you bother with your opinons IBIS they are generally shit

Just a thought.
Who do you reckon would make a good SFL coach from the current playing ranks? Someone that hasn't coached in Sunraysia previously. Not after one, just curious as to who may have what it takes.

Best Coach in the Player Ranks...

Petrie from Imps

Outside the SFL
Jade Sheedy if ever came home would be a lock
Simon Peucker would also be a decent candiate did coach a team that got relegated in Adelaide but is a great recruiter and eye for talent

Ibis, its pretty easy to take pot shots at blokes who give countless hours of their time so thousands of people get the opportunity to play footy every week in our area. They are constantly bagged week in week out by people, like you, with no idea how much time and effort is involved in running a football league. If you don't like the way they do things either put up or shut up. But then again, when people question what your doing or disagree with you opinons, you just quit !!

I'm unsure what potshots you are talking about. Is it that I referred to Congo as Demetriou. It was because he is the president of the League as Demetriou is of the AFL or did you not realise the correlation.

I questioned the League and thier rules and stated if it was a rule that a player be found guilty of Bringing the game in to disrepute simply for the reason that it was a result of an investigation, then they need to look at it. Read the post for what it is and not as a personal attack on anyone. Secondly, I quit for reasons you have no idea about and if you care to know the full story you are more than welcome to Private Message me so I can give you the full reasons why I quit coaching. They didn't simply disagree with my opinions or what I was doing, there were things behind the scenes that once I inform you of, you will probably agree with my decision to leave.

So IBIS with 4 games to go, and having notched up 7 wins already do you still think Mildura won't win a game from now? Surely not!

I don't know why you bother with your opinons IBIS they are generally shit

At the stage I wrote that post Bigmouth, sorry bigfoot, they had four wins and didn't look to be travelling very well. In three weeks they have turned it around and if you read the post it stated, They need to turn things around quickly. It would appear that things have now turned around and we are seeing a different side to what we did earlier in the year. they have worked their way back in to the four on percentage and looking at the draw they have probably snuck ahead of Red Cliffs for favourtism in fourth spot.

They had want to hope they don't slip up against merbein who have probably had their measure a couple of times over the last couple of years with shock wins.

Red Cliffs will need to defeat Robinvale this week and again I think it will be if Red Cliffs can defeat Wenty in the last round that will decide if they or Mildura will finish in fourth. Very tight finish. But if you think my opinions are shit, just don't read em or ignore em. EASY Answer for you.

At the stage I wrote that post Bigmouth, sorry bigfoot, they had four wins and didn't look to be travelling very well. In three weeks they have turned it around and if you read the post it stated, They need to turn things around quickly. It would appear that things have now turned around and we are seeing a different side to what we did earlier in the year. they have worked their way back in to the four on percentage and looking at the draw they have probably snuck ahead of Red Cliffs for favourtism in fourth spot.

They had want to hope they don't slip up against merbein who have probably had their measure a couple of times over the last couple of years with shock wins.

Red Cliffs will need to defeat Robinvale this week and again I think it will be if Red Cliffs can defeat Wenty in the last round that will decide if they or Mildura will finish in fourth. Very tight finish. But if you think my opinions are shit, just don't read em or ignore em. EASY Answer for you.

Traveling well and just keeping a lid on it (sounds familiar) I'm tipping a few sides in the four don't want us there

Yes Nakkers, If you make the finals you will be difficult to beat. You have the experience that is for sure. Good win by Wenty, but looking at the score board they didn't have it thier own way. The green and whites will no doubt be spending some quality time in front of goal this week.

Just a thought.
Who do you reckon would make a good SFL coach from the current playing ranks? Someone that hasn't coached in Sunraysia previously. Not after one, just curious as to who may have what it takes.

Nath Gowers from redcliffs
Leigh Riordan from Merbein
Sam Curran from Irymple
Col Keatch from Merbein
Austin Rigby from Wenty
Brett Oldham from Redcliffs...

Just a few that have great leadership skills on and off the field that could coach...

Yes Nakkers, If you make the finals you will be difficult to beat. You have the experience that is for sure. Good win by Wenty, but looking at the score board they didn't have it thier own way. The green and whites will no doubt be spending some quality time in front of goal this week.

Wenty deserved to win and were the better team on the day.
After the last week or 2 of footy I think its possible for any of the top 4 to win the flag. No real clear cut favourite, maybe Imps just. Red Cliffs won't make finals, you are kidding yourself Ibis.

The Joel Bowden rushed behind issue has been discussed at length, but no-one has considered the following with regard to the second rushed behind where he handballed the ball through after being called to play on by the umpire.

According to the rules, in order to play on from a kick out, the kicker must first kick the ball to themself before the ball, or they run out of the square. The only other option is to kick the ball out of the square, you simply cannot handball the ball directly from a kick out or step across the line. (The rules do not stipulate the front, side or rear line that I know of.) The result of failing to kick the ball to yourself even after the umpire calls play on, or stepping over the line results in a ball up at the top of the square. This action makes any further actions outside the square nul and void.

I would say we all agree on this.

So how is it that this is different if rushing a behind. The rear line of the square isn't there just for good looks. The behind isn't registered until the entire ball has gone over the line, thus it must be either kicked through or the player must kick to himself prior to handballing it through or stepping through otherwise the above rule would take effect and the point would not count.

Joel Bowden handballed the ball through from a kick out without kicking to himself and therefore he should have been pulled up for failing to play on correctly and a bounce should have been called by the Umpire.

My take on this matter is that the Umpire had made an error.

Please, someone tell me if I am correct or if there is a specific rule that allows for handballing and playing on without kicking to yourself when rushing a behind from a kickout.

Wenty deserved to win and were the better team on the day.
After the last week or 2 of footy I think its possible for any of the top 4 to win the flag. No real clear cut favourite, maybe Imps just. Red Cliffs won't make finals, you are kidding yourself Ibis.

I don't think so. They have spent the best part of the year in the top four, only slipping out on two occasions. They are out only on percentage at the moment with very few games to go. They need only win one more game than Mildura and they make the finals. The season with the top 5 is very even and any one of them can win on a given day at the moment. I said in my last post that Mildura have firmed as favourite for fourth spot, but I am far from dismissing Red Cliffs until it is mathematically impossible.

From what we witnessed of Redcliffs 2 weeks ago against Mildura, it would be a shame if they (Redcliffs) made it...