• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Sunraysia Football league

ECHUCABOY said:
user_online.gif

You nuffy, have u posted this on every country footy thread?[/quote]

Echucaboy you normally have good mail but the other day you put down Sunraysia. We have as good players as G.V & O.M but some sides lack depth. Any comments?? Also I don't want to upset you as Echuca had great players & was a very tough side in the 80's and 90's. Sholl a couple of years ago was a treat to watch.
Back to Sunraysia- South is my tip but time will tell!!!
Good players-Fox- Medallist, Cam Leehane CHF ex Ballarat. Tough but injured last year, Spivey. Haase 75 goals in 2005 at full forward. Johnson ex WAFL, Cook tall winger. Good kids- won thirds flag- Ghaddad, Polkinghorne & others
Recruits see below. Money spent- heaps & heaps

CLARKE, Aaron Ballarat FL > Sebastopol FNC2005 >
HAMDORF, Matthew Central Murray FL > Balranald2004 >
RIORDAN, Leigh Central Murray FL > Balranald2004 >
BIDDLE, Bradley From EXT.: Great Southern Football League > Yankalilla
FITZGERALD, Brock Central Murray FL > Balranald2003 >
WINTLE, Rodney From EXT.: Essendon DFL > Glenroy
O'SHANNESSY, Kieran Western Border FL > Casterton FC2004 >
GATHERCOLE, Leigh From EXT.: Essendon DFL > Duotta Stars

monkey33 said:
Anyone know how Timmy Leng is travelling? Is he back from injury? Will he play this year?

Was down at Mildura training on Wednesday nite, where they had a full on intraclub match. Lengy looked to be moving pretty well and played the whole game. Young bloke called Daniel Carmicheal was the standout, Jake Anstey looked pretty good also and Ash Connick kicked a few goals up forward. Toby Cardew didn't play, I asked him whether he was injured he just said he had abit of General Soreness

I hope it isnt gonna be another season where South talk themselves up early. From those recruits Sonny it looks as though you will definitely be stronger than last year. What about Dalla Santa? he is underrated if you ask me, and you have the best crop of juniors in the league.

Do you have any mail on Robinvale, havent heard much from down that way?

Are all the O'callaghans playing for Mildura this year? I heard that 2 of the brothers could possibly be heading to the magpies. Any truth in this?

Don't think so, they all played in intraclub on Wednesday nite.

I did hear Merbein were chasing Troy Moncur, ruckman who played with Mildura a couple of seasons ago, burnt mildura and shifted back to QLD i think, not sure where he is playing now. Played against his old man a few times, toughest bloke in the league back then.

Sonny said:
You nuffy, have u posted this on every country footy thread?

Echucaboy you normally have good mail but the other day you put down Sunraysia. We have as good players as G.V & O.M but some sides lack depth. Any comments?? Also I don't want to upset you as Echuca had great players & was a very tough side in the 80's and 90's. Sholl a couple of years ago was a treat to watch.
Back to Sunraysia- South is my tip but time will tell!!!
Good players-Fox- Medallist, Cam Leehane CHF ex Ballarat. Tough but injured last year, Spivey. Haase 75 goals in 2005 at full forward. Johnson ex WAFL, Cook tall winger. Good kids- won thirds flag- Ghaddad, Polkinghorne & others
Recruits see below. Money spent- heaps & heaps

CLARKE, Aaron Ballarat FL > Sebastopol FNC2005 >
HAMDORF, Matthew Central Murray FL > Balranald2004 >
RIORDAN, Leigh Central Murray FL > Balranald2004 >
BIDDLE, Bradley From EXT.: Great Southern Football League > Yankalilla
FITZGERALD, Brock Central Murray FL > Balranald2003 >
WINTLE, Rodney From EXT.: Essendon DFL > Glenroy
O'SHANNESSY, Kieran Western Border FL > Casterton FC2004 >
GATHERCOLE, Leigh From EXT.: Essendon DFL > Duotta Stars[/quote]

O'shannessy won't be much....a battler at best,struggled mostly when he was at casterton in the wbfl last 2 seasons (and he was senior p/coach) don't rate him at all !!

monkey33 said:
Are all the O'callaghans playing for Mildura this year? I heard that 2 of the brothers could possibly be heading to the magpies. Any truth in this?

How many O'callaghans play there?

I know Ryan and Corey do, are there more?

The Nest said:
I hope it isnt gonna be another season where South talk themselves up early. From those recruits Sonny it looks as though you will definitely be stronger than last year. What about Dalla Santa? he is underrated if you ask me, and you have the best crop of juniors in the league.

Do you have any mail on Robinvale, havent heard much from down that way?
Dalla Santa & John Brothers will provide play flanks & provide depth. Spivey better manage injuries better & get them fit.
Robinvale no named recruits except coach Shannon Keams from Horsham. Koorie boys not fit & would not train. May lose 6 or 7 to Euston including Jackson & Beriman.
Ryan O' callaghan very fit. Saw him train last night with triathletes.

I saw Ryan O'Callaghan play a game for the Bendigo Diggers and was amazed how fit he was. He played a great game against a much stronger opposition. How things may have been different with his carrer if he was not so small. I was later told that he was with St Kilda at some stage. Can anyone back this up?

Sly Dog said:
I saw Ryan O'Callaghan play a game for the Bendigo Diggers and was amazed how fit he was. He played a great game against a much stronger opposition. How things may have been different with his carrer if he was not so small. I was later told that he was with St Kilda at some stage. Can anyone back this up?

Yes I can, 2 seasons with St Kilda reserves as a suplementry list player. Never made it onto the senior list.

1 game I saw him play at VFL park against North Melb he was going pretty good playing in the forward pocket, he had kicked a couple of goals and was going well until the Roo's put a young Aboriginal by the name of Byron Pickett on him.

I don't think he got a kick after that, Pickett made his senior debut the following week for the Roo's against Geelong and as you know O'callagahan went onto play for Bendigo, then Mildura.

deano1 said:
Yes I can, 2 seasons with St Kilda reserves as a suplementry list player. Never made it onto the senior list.

1 game I saw him play at VFL park against North Melb he was going pretty good playing in the forward pocket, he had kicked a couple of goals and was going well until the Roo's put a young Aboriginal by the name of Byron Pickett on him.

I don't think he got a kick after that, Pickett made his senior debut the following week for the Roo's against Geelong and as you know O'callagahan went onto play for Bendigo, then Mildura.

O'Callaghan is a gun. Always give 150% even when side is getting beaten. Last year when Mildura had 6-7 good players missing, a mate said undefeated Irymple would win by 100 points. Mildura won as O'Callaghan is one of the smartest coaches I have seen in Bendido & G.V in the last 30 years. People talk about David Williams record at Rochester. I would not have played in his side. Always putting down his own players on the ground and mouthing off to the opposition. O'Callaghan is all class. Last year tagged every week. This year with Anstey & Carmichael will not be tagged as much.

Sonny said:
Dalla Santa & John Brothers will provide play flanks & provide depth. Spivey better manage injuries better & get them fit.
Robinvale no named recruits except coach Shannon Keams from Horsham. Koorie boys not fit & would not train. May lose 6 or 7 to Euston including Jackson & Beriman.
Ryan O' callaghan very fit. Saw him train last night with triathletes.

Shannon Keam coached Dimboola last year in the Wimmera FL. He led them into their first Grand Final since 1985 where they were beaten by the powerful Horsham side that has won three flags in a row.
Coincidentally, Dimboola today announced the loss of their new coach, Robert 'Sonny' Lindsey, who is moving to Melbourne to try and alleviate some family issues. Sonny was recruited to the Wimmera by Nhill from Red Cliffs in the Sunraysia FL. He also had a brief stint with Horsham United before ending up at Dimmy.
There is a story posted in the Wimmera FL thread from the paper today about Sonny's departure.
I'd be interested in hearing if anybody in the Sunraysia area remembers him being at Red Cliffs.

Grimmett said:
Shannon Keam coached Dimboola last year in the Wimmera FL. He led them into their first Grand Final since 1985 where they were beaten by the powerful Horsham side that has won three flags in a row.
Coincidentally, Dimboola today announced the loss of their new coach, Robert 'Sonny' Lindsey, who is moving to Melbourne to try and alleviate some family issues. Sonny was recruited to the Wimmera by Nhill from Red Cliffs in the Sunraysia FL. He also had a brief stint with Horsham United before ending up at Dimmy.
There is a story posted in the Wimmera FL thread from the paper today about Sonny's departure.
I'd be interested in hearing if anybody in the Sunraysia area remembers him being at Red Cliffs.

Must have been 2002 or before. Can Keams play and can he pull people into line because he will need to play a few in the 2's until they get the message about training and it being a team game.

A bit of information about Keams from Dimboola

Former Dimboola coach Shannon Keam, 26, has signed with Sunraysia Football League club Robinvale.
Keam who stood down as the Roos coach after leading the side into last year’s Wimmera League grand final, told the Mail-Times he would be playing coach of the Eagles.
“I’m pretty happy about it, I wasn’t looking to coach again but this came up, it’s something new and should be a good challenge for me,” he said.
Keam said he contemplated offers from across the state including Shepparton and Hamilton.
“We went and had a look at Robinvale and decided we wanted to be by the river. Employment was always going to be a factor in where I went as well,” he said. “Plus my partner Brooke and I are expecting our second child in March and we’ve got our young son Raphael to consider. Robinvale seemed right for us.”
Keam is playing footy with St Marys in the Northern Territory League in Darwin until March.
His brother and wingman Jade, who also played with Dimboola last year, is on an overseas trip but will play for the Roos in 2006.

Sonny Lindsay is a brilliant footballer but an absolute idiot. Played a couple seasons with Red Cliffs and should have won a Mcleod medal. (SFL equivalent of the Brownlow). Somehow Richmond gave him a chance and picked him up I think in a rookie draft a few years back, but after about 2 weeks couldn't be bothered going to training and they rightly dumped him.

He could have been anything if he had any sort of dedication. Around 6 foot 2-3, with a great leap and mark and strong thumping kick. Extremely mobile and courageous. Won plenty of games off his own boot. He came to Red Cliffs with Adrian Newman and Mark Tasyan in 2000. All three magnificent footballers but none of them could stay out of trouble.

No surprise at all that he's let down another club.

Spogs said:
Sonny Lindsay is a brilliant footballer but an absolute idiot. Played a couple seasons with Red Cliffs and should have won a Mcleod medal. (SFL equivalent of the Brownlow). Somehow Richmond gave him a chance and picked him up I think in a rookie draft a few years back, but after about 2 weeks couldn't be bothered going to training and they rightly dumped him.

He could have been anything if he had any sort of dedication. Around 6 foot 2-3, with a great leap and mark and strong thumping kick. Extremely mobile and courageous. Won plenty of games off his own boot. He came to Red Cliffs with Adrian Newman and Mark Tasyan in 2000. All three magnificent footballers but none of them could stay out of trouble.

No surprise at all that he's let down another club.

Nothing's changed much then. Nhill ran him out of town when he couldn't attend training sober after a few years of other misdemeanours. Horsham United put up with him for half a season before shipping him out. Dimboola were happy to keep him but have been burnt by th einstability that envelopes his whole life.
Pity though, cos as you mention he is a brilliant footballer when switched on.
Just nobody knows where the on/off button is I'm afraid.

Gee, how many of you blokes are rooting Ryan O'Callaghan. He's a good bloke and good footballer but surely there are some other good players in the SFL! It doesnt matter how fit you are, you still need to find the footy. I do think that Mildura will go well this year under O'Callaghan though!

Grimmett said:
Nothing's changed much then. Nhill ran him out of town when he couldn't attend training sober after a few years of other misdemeanours. Horsham United put up with him for half a season before shipping him out. Dimboola were happy to keep him but have been burnt by th einstability that envelopes his whole life.
Pity though, cos as you mention he is a brilliant footballer when switched on.
Just nobody knows where the on/off button is I'm afraid.

My young bloke played against him a few years back and said that the guy would absolutely destroy opposition regularly. He would come from 5 meters behind a pack, sit on it and then take the bit of leather between his troubled hands. Good footballer with no brains! Dont see many of them!

:) I reckon fitness is a huge thing-outrun taggers,get to more contests,create play etc etc. Fitness is a must if you want to be a very good player although the odd full forward may get away with it.

;) You are right Ringo. But the difference between blokes running 15's in a beep test and 13's is irrelevant if they wont put their head over it and get the pill. That is why you still see blokes that dont burn up the track but go out and rack up the possy's whether they have been on the gas the night before or not.

charlie_mcw said:
Are Michael Bilucaglia & Don Falvo still playing up there?

Don falvo took almost the whole year off last year his new born baby was very ill. so depending on the babys wealth he might be forced to hang up the boots. if she recovers he will play.

as for Bilucaglia whispers that he will play a few games for the gol gol hawkes this season. dont really need him considering they won the flag by over 100 points

Grimmett said:
From the Wimmera Mail-Times of February 1.

Former Dimboola coach Shannon Keam, 26, has signed with Sunraysia Football League club Robinvale.
Keam who stood down as the Roos coach after leading the side into last year’s Wimmera League grand final, told the Mail-Times he would be playing coach of the Eagles.
“I’m pretty happy about it, I wasn’t looking to coach again but this came up, it’s something new and should be a good challenge for me,” he said.
Keam said he contemplated offers from across the state including Shepparton and Hamilton.
“We went and had a look at Robinvale and decided we wanted to be by the river. Employment was always going to be a factor in where I went as well,” he said. “Plus my partner Brooke and I are expecting our second child in March and we’ve got our young son Raphael to consider. Robinvale seemed right for us.”
Keam is playing footy with St Marys in the Northern Territory League in Darwin until March.
His brother and wingman Jade, who also played with Dimboola last year, is on an overseas trip but will play for the Roos in 2006.

Is he any good???

Shannon goes OK. Not a flashy type, good driver in heavy traffic to use a popular phrase. Doesn't present as a great footballer which helps him get under the guard of many who judge mainly on appearance. Usually plays in long sleeves although the temp may beat him up there.
His brother Jade has all the flash and dash in the family. He can play and should be a Robinvale recruiting target IMO.

The Nest said:
Gee, how many of you blokes are rooting Ryan O'Callaghan. He's a good bloke and good footballer but surely there are some other good players in the SFL! It doesnt matter how fit you are, you still need to find the footy. I do think that Mildura will go well this year under O'Callaghan though!

Plenty of other good players- Alvey,Fox, Gathercole,Riordan, Anstey, Eaton, Maloney, R Hards, Bell. Faulkhead if he plays in the centre and concentrates on playing and forgets opposition players. Chris Lee, Red Cliffs- very handy left footer- Former pioneers, Peter Zappia, Mal Miller when fit.
Name your top and upset my top 10. Cheers