Sunraysia Football league

I for one have been pretty harsh lately on the Merbein Footy Club, but I guess I shouldn't kick em while they're down so ...

Here's an idea for all you Merbein players/supporters that may be of assistance with your fundraising. It'll be the easiest cash you may ever make. Get someone with a video camera at the club and get them to solely follow Keatchy round for the entire game. With the highlights reel you'd have at the end of the year, send it in to Almost Footy Legends. With the sheer quantity and quality of grabs he'd take he'd have to give the prize a shake. When you boys rolled us at Kenny Park I reckon he took around 3 or 4 genuine screamers that day. What do you boys reckon?
remember that day, if we didnt have him we probably wouldnt have won... yea i know we suggested tht heaps of times dunno why someone hasnt done it, wil have to get on to it i reckon..

not much has been said regarding the two headed hill out at quandong! Very short on quality i hear, the only bloke whos back at the cliffs is oldy, can play, but can he compensate for treloar, ford, cox, wethers, and stevens who are all leaving....

Harry its great to hear from u. im sure u have some humor tucked away in there bring some to the forum. What are your thoughts on the happenings at the moment mate and your tips for the top 4 would be much appriciated also.

There is not much talk about South on the site at the moment, but it must be disappointing to see a lot of transfer activity moving away from the club. On the plus side, Trevor Johnson is reportedly training the house down whilst the club is in negotiation with a gun recruit, however there appears to be only a small window of opportunity to gain his signature.
Anyone down at No. 3 got any more on this one?

this will mess with a few heads......but i am new to the merbien footy club this year. I have done pre seasons with both imps and south. And one in the millewa league. granted im a little underdone, but i can safely say this is the toughest pre season i have seen. I am new to this club and i cant see the things that people talk about. I have been the joke of a lot of parties since i told people that i was playing there this year and its been hard to cope with, especially with seeing the club and the way they operate. granted its only early. But i think there some quality in people that stay loyal when the backs are to the walls. Im looking forward to this season. Looking forward to he challenge. I think that there are some that are underestmating the people comming into the club which is fine (There are more than there is being mentioned). I dont expect that we will win the flag this year. But i do think that the merbein footy club will be a lot more competitive. And i hope that the other clubs and the bagers here continue to under estimate us.

Welcome Mr.Deale:) :thumbsu: :) :D

You are talking about Milny aren't you? Will be interesting to see if he goes with you guys, I know for a fact he is in negotiations with at least 1 Millewa club and would be surprised if he put himself in for what promises to be a very tough year for the club.
What league did you come from GOR, would be interested to know.
As for south's gun recruit on the radar, could it be Walder?????

Just a few things that are worth noting though and you might be able to verify this Tugga

1st night of training did a 3k run, possibly 6 ran in bare feet, Bath and Keenan came in the last 4 apparently a long way behind, Keenan looks as good as he did last year and moving just as well.
Most training nights circuit work and apparently pretty hopeless

Were you watching training Sunny? you do live in Merbein dont you?

r u serious tugga,,,who the fu.k is jenkins?,,,,,,,,
19 year old with blistering speed, kicks goals on both feet from 50 metres(generally on the run)Is a good grab for his size. Will be sorely missed if cleared by us. I really think he is as good as anyone his age in the league currently. Has been put on to players such as falvo and haase when they have been playing well against us. He would run out with them on a lead and beat them to it or even speccie them, then run off, as i mentioned a great turn of foot. Dedictation isn't always his strong suit though. I really think he could be a great player for many years for us but wants to go play in the millewa with his brother. Against wenty last year took 4 or 5 bounces from defence to nail a 50 metre goal from near the boundary. Definately has talent.

well congres is the only player so far to try and clear out of merbein. And his clearance has been rejected.

(there is also at least 7 players with clearances logged comming into the team.) Not all approved yet of course

well congres is the only player so far to try and clear out of merbein. And his clearance has been rejected.

(there is also at least 7 players with clearances logged comming into the team.) Not all approved yet of course
Yeah just running through them most of those guys would be training with us already. Some returning to the club after playing elsewhere and away. I think there would be only around 4 clearances for new guys who have never played with us before

this is for the Dee's who is Jay Savage?? have not heard a thing about him keepet that 1 very quite is he a goer or what.

Haven't been able to find much out on Jay Savage. Did not feature once in the seniors best players or goal kickers with Waikerie last season.
Got a bit a mail on new Magpie recruit Glen Cole. The former Riverina League player appears to be a very aggressive unit by all reports.
Will be interesting to follow his fortunes throughout 2007.

Haven't been able to find much out on Jay Savage. Did not feature once in the seniors best players or goal kickers with Waikerie last season.
Got a bit a mail on new Magpie recruit Glen Cole. The former Riverina League player appears to be a very aggressive unit by all reports.
Will be interesting to follow his fortunes throughout 2007.
Yes looks like he has a silky left foot too. Although most left footers look this way a lot of the time. Fairly solid build. He definately wasn't fit when he got here. Hasn't missed a session in his 2 weeks here to date. Will be interesting. As far as Savage goes, haven't heard a peep as yet, how does the riverina league compare to the SFL anyone?

Not bathy did not come in the last 4 as he completed a pre season challenge program, and if Crackers didn't finish in the last 4 being the biggest bloke we have i would think he is taking something. Crackers actually is training the house down and i expect him to be miles ahead of where he was last year. You know what you are going to get from bathy, a tough defender who gives nothing away.
We ran 3 km on the first night and reidy ran it in bare feet because its not uncommon for him to train that way through summer. I think you have got the run around a little there with who ever you are getting your info off.

A whole 3km's!!!!!! You guys must be crazy that's almost unheard of, carefull you don't burn yourself out to early. Next thing we know you'll be doing 20 push ups and 20 sit ups.

Just replying to another post mate. Didn't say it was anything massive just what it was

. As far as Savage goes, haven't heard a peep as yet, how does the riverina league compare to the SFL anyone?

i played a few years in the rfl, and grew up in the sfl. i think it would compare pretty well, maybe a touch under. the good players are just as good, rfl may lack a bit of depth.

i heard cole is a bit of psycho, but he wasn't around when i was, so not positive.

Everyone seems to be implying that South are going to have a pretty bad side this year, which might be the case. But isn't there some hope with there back to back premiership winning U18 side coming through. That side had some pretty dam good in players as in the John's, Raiti, Cohrs just to name a few. Plus they had two of the best ready made young big blokes going round in Jacob Avery and Akesh Trevidi, or it seemed that way in the GF atleast. Whats hapened to all these kids this year???