Suns in the Media - Part II

I found the lid ;)

Jed Walter 19 Yrs 14 Games 11 Goals
Ethan Read 19 Yrs 4 Games 3 Goals
Jake Rogers 19 Yrs 9 Games 2 Goals
Leo Lombard 18 Years 0 Games 0 Goals

They’re all still babies.
You can add Will Graham to that list as well. Just remember they've all been playing/training together since U12s when they joined the academy and some since U9s if they share the same junior club. The cohesion and shared winning experiences already exists for these boys and they all did preseason training with our senior list before they were drafted. It's going to click quicker than it would at another club where the draftees are starting from scratch.

I found the lid ;)

Jed Walter 19 Yrs 14 Games 11 Goals
Ethan Read 19 Yrs 4 Games 3 Goals
Jake Rogers 19 Yrs 9 Games 2 Goals
Leo Lombard 18 Years 0 Games 0 Goals

They’re all still babies.

But I still want some of that sativa Kingy has been smoking.
Jed Walter is 28yo with three kids and you know it.

Don't even get me started on Lombard

On Pixel 9 Pro XL using BigFooty.com mobile app

Jed Walter is 28yo with three kids and you know it.

Don't even get me started on Lombard
Does that look like a teenager? There's some absolute genetic freaks coming out of the Gold Coast right now with Walter and Lombard leading the charge. Will Graham deserves a mention too.

0AH9zY9.jpg

Does that look like a teenager? There's some absolute genetic freaks coming out of the Gold Coast right now with Walter and Lombard leading the charge. Will Graham deserves a mention too.

0AH9zY9.jpg
As the custodian of teenage boys they have a gym culture.I reckon my 17yo has spent more time in the gym already than I did in my entire football career

Yeah and I would add that being based on the Gold Coast intensifies that desire even more. It is very much in the local culture (at least in the central/southern suburbs) for young people to work out regularly and head to the beach on the weekend. I remember Walter and Graham both saying they participated in the nippers surf life saving programs when they were younger and I'm sure guys like Read, Rogers and Lombard have also spent plenty of time at the beach. It's just ingrained in the culture here to go to the beach and obviously everyone wants to look good when they go to the beach so they end up working out to achieve that. It's great for us because it means these academy graduates coming through have already spent years in the gym building muscles well before they join our list and the need to build muscle isn't as great as it would be for someone like Mac Andrew when he first joined our list.

I'm always acutely aware when I travel to Brisbane Sydney Melbourne how fat and ugly people are

0AH9zY9.jpg
Man out here looking like Prime Brock Lesnar or Current GUNTHER.

I'm always acutely aware when I travel to Brisbane Sydney Melbourne how fat and ugly people are
Dunno mate, I speak on behalf of my fellow Coasters that do a fine job at being a potato too. Bringing balance to the community, one BBQ at a time.

I'm doing a pretty good job of it in Thailand as well......never ate as well....don't know what I'm eating half the time, but jeez it's yummy......;)

AFL 2025: Matt Rowell on his Suns future, overcoming injury struggles to find consistency​

2025 is the final year on Rowell’s Suns deal and he is set to hold off contract talks until early next season.

“Not at this point, I don’t think, I’m happy here (on the Gold Coast) at the moment,” Rowell said when asked whether he sees himself returning to Melbourne.

“Even though our first year as a whole was inconsistent, I enjoyed it and not much changed for me,” Rowell said.

“Despite coaches changing I was still in the same role which I enjoyed, I was able to play every game, I enjoyed the year and playing under him and looking forward to this year and getting better.”

“I think the whole playing group really brought into it and worked hard on it in the first pre-season that he came,” Rowell said.

“It was a bit up and down and a bit too inconsistent but I think this year we’re really excited.

“Second year under him and we’ve had a year with him so I think we can look to try and take that next step with him.

Rowell also lauded the Gold Coast as a prime destination for an elite athlete.

“It’s a good place to live, especially for an athlete, in terms of the weather, it’s pretty hot in the summer so you get pretty fit through that,” Rowell said.

“Then the winters here are even better, sunny and not much rain, you’re getting up early because the sun’s up so you’re getting into a good routine.

“You’ve got the beach, for an athlete it’s a good place to live and I enjoy it.”

“He brings good energy to everyday, he’s fun, and we like to have fun while working hard. That’s a strength of his, his energy and positivity.”
“I want to be able to play every game every year, I feel like that’s made me work out how to get through a full year of footy,” Rowell said.

“It can get a bit sore at times, just because of the way I play it’s a pretty contested style, as each year goes past you get to know your body more and how to recover after games and through full seasons.

“I think every year, I’m just getting better at being able to do that. It’s a lot of emphasis on recovery throughout the year and making sure you’re ready to go again for the next week.

“I think a lot of what I’ve learnt, especially recently, is you can do all the right things with your body and getting it right but you’ve also got to make sure you spend a bit of time getting mentally prepared as well, if you don’t have that then it won’t work.

“I’ve been doing some more journaling and a bit of mindfulness, those little things help a lot.”

“I haven’t been doing any forward work,” Rowell said.

“I don’t think much will change to be honest, but we’ll see moving forward.”

Rowell is an ambassador for Sherrin, who have released their new ‘Beachy’ footy, a neoprene kids ball which can be purchased from Sherrin.com.au.

Suns in the Media - Part II