Autopsy SUNS V Geelong.

Because they’re surrounded by below average the moment they step into the team.
That’s the really sad thing about following this club. We annually look forward to the trade / draft period with more confidence and joy than the actual football season.

That's because there is more hope in the unknown than what the team continually serves up

For 9 years I've watched men against boys
And I'm still watching it
Kudos to the Club and Mark Evans' team though
They pulled out all stops and did everything to let the players know this was a special night
I understand Dew is learning, but I said once before that I reckon I know more about this Club than anyone you care to name- and I know that in a game like tonight we needed old heads like Barlow and Lyons.
Expecting immature talent like Ballard and Willis to have impact is just wishful thinking
Yes he wants to blood players-but tonight wasn't the night for that
Dew has that coach's mentality of - I'll show them a new trick or two.
Drop Lyons, ignore Barlow-play hacks like Young and Holman
Tonight was the "new beginning" and meant a lot to us as a Club and supporters
I've mentioned "Deer in the Headlights" in big games.
Look no further than tonight for exhibit A
None of our players have composure or hardness- Ainsworth looks the most likely
I have hope for the Club and the list, but it needs to be nurtured.
Nights like tonight set's us back in so many ways
Just gut wrenching

All the long timers and many of the new will stick fat.

There is something missing, I have said before that maybe it’s the lack of on the in the street bagging of the players that they get in Footy’s heartland after such a loss. Who knows but they should be ashamed of that effort and please spare me the big heart to heart player talk as clearly it delivers nothing

Okay, I think Geelong being pushed to the end by Carlton last week was the kick in the ass it needed, but I think it's evidently clear we are not going to be competitive with the side we have. If Lynch wants to go, force a trade and get 2 x First round picks. We need to go full blown rebuild.

Negative:

Ballard showed a bit more tonight but he's nowhere near ready to compete at AFL level
Bowes needs to played in a role similar to McCluggage - Half forward with stints on ball. He's not suited as a defender and he's just taking the place of someone who can actually defend at this point.
Heron is just not up to it yet, and shouldnt be in the team.
Young should not be playing after how poor he's been since about round 3.
Holman wasn't our worst but if we had a competitive team he wouldn't be playing.
Rischitelli is cooked.
Sam Day, I love as a bloke and as a team player but doesn't do anywhere near enough to be a best 22 player. doesn't kick enough goals and rarely provides a contest.
Sexton is too inconsistent and frankly shouldnt be getting games. 1 good game out of every 5 shouldn't cut it
Hall and May's injuries are gonna hurt us.
Weller for pick 2 has genuinely hurt our chances of rebuilding. If he was playing like this for Fremantle we'd be getting him this year for a 2nd rounder
We needed Lyons
Disposals were the worst i'd ever seen.

Positive:

Ainsworth at least looks like he'll be an A grade midfielder
Touk deserves to be captain. Only guy on the team who I have never seen give up in a game.
Ah Chee looked really dangerous when it was there for him. It's not his fault he had F*** all delivery.
Imagine how good Witts would be if he had a good midfield
Swallow got on with it, he just didn't happen to have any help.

Neutral:

Persist with Brodie

i don't think i've ever felt as low watching a game of footy as i did in those last three quarters.

it's just the same thing year after year. they can inspire such hope and yet the simple fundamental footy skills let them down time and time again. geelong couldn't even give the ball away if they tried during that second quarter. the amount of times we managed to get a turnover and then turn it back over again was countless.

was a great effort attracting 17000 fans, we'd be lucky to get half that in two weeks against the saints.

Okay, I think Geelong being pushed to the end by Carlton last week was the kick in the ass it needed, but I think it's evidently clear we are not going to be competitive with the side we have. If Lynch wants to go, force a trade and get 2 x First round picks. We need to go full blown rebuild.

Negative:

Ballard showed a bit more tonight but he's nowhere near ready to compete at AFL level
Bowes needs to played in a role similar to McCluggage - Half forward with stints on ball. He's not suited as a defender and he's just taking the place of someone who can actually defend at this point.
Heron is just not up to it yet, and shouldnt be in the team.
Young should not be playing after how poor he's been since about round 3.
Holman wasn't our worst but if we had a competitive team he wouldn't be playing.
Rischitelli is cooked.
Sam Day, I love as a bloke and as a team player but doesn't do anywhere near enough to be a best 22 player. doesn't kick enough goals and rarely provides a contest.
Sexton is too inconsistent and frankly shouldnt be getting games. 1 good game out of every 5 shouldn't cut it
Hall and May's injuries are gonna hurt us.
Weller for pick 2 has genuinely hurt our chances of rebuilding. If he was playing like this for Fremantle we'd be getting him this year for a 2nd rounder
We needed Lyons
Disposals were the worst i'd ever seen.

Positive:

Ainsworth at least looks like he'll be an A grade midfielder
Touk deserves to be captain. Only guy on the team who I have never seen give up in a game.
Ah Chee looked really dangerous when it was there for him. It's not his fault he had F*** all delivery.
Imagine how good Witts would be if he had a good midfield
Swallow got on with it, he just didn't happen to have any help.

Neutral:

Persist with Brodie
You're being far too negative. Hall, then Young, then May were injured, which meant the Suns could only make 73 out of 90 interchanges.

Ballard played his best game yet with good disposal, marks and tackles.
Bowes is playing like a 20 yo 19 gamer - who Dew is persisting with.
Heron is a 2nd gamer with a lot of upside - probably won't play next week, but will benefit from the exposure.
Young got injured, but was doing his role until then.
Holman was in the top 6 for disposals, effective disposals, marks, clearances, rebound 50s, inside 50s, 1%ers, contested possessions, uncontested possessions and effort, so you are just wrong.
Rischitelli had maybe 5 minutes on the bench, so again too judgemental.
Day exceeded Lynch and contested more marking contests than any other Suns player, with 3 of the team's 14 contest marks - don't know what game you watched?
Sexton took 7 marks and had 5 inside 50s, 2nd in both stats.
Weller was one of our better players and has been all year.

Brodie was rubbish.
Lynch was rubbish.
Ah Chee was rubbish.

Lyons had 22 touches in the NEAFL and would have struggled tonight in the form he's been in.
Barlow, Lemmens and Scheer named in the best for NEAFL.

Insipid performance , as someone said we shouldn’t be accepting these performances still after 8 years , only good to come out of today was Touk , Ainsworth , watching Fitzroy Greenwood and Will Powell tear it up.

You're being far too negative. Hall, then Young, then May were injured, which meant the Suns could only make 73 out of 90 interchanges.

Heron is a 2nd gamer with a lot of upside - probably won't play next week, but will benefit from the exposure.
Holman was in the top 6 for disposals, effective disposals, marks, clearances, rebound 50s, inside 50s, 1%ers, contested possessions, uncontested possessions and effort, so you are just wrong.
Day exceeded Lynch and contested more marking contests than any other Suns player, with 3 of the team's 14 contest marks - don't know what game you watched?

Brodie was rubbish.
Lynch was rubbish.
Ah Chee was rubbish.

Lyons had 22 touches in the NEAFL and would have struggled tonight in the form he's been in.
it's not negativity to objectively say that half of our team isn't up to it yet.
Ballard played his best game but was still beaten by a second gamer and could only notch up 13 disposals
You're right, Bowes is playing like a 20 yo 19 gamer who is being played in a position he's not right for.
Young got injured in the 3rd. If his role was 2 disposals a quarter at 50% efficiency, then he needs a new role
Holman was top 6 for the SUNS for disposals which is what I mean. If we were a good team, he wouldn't be playing - 19 disposals as a midfielder is not very good and should not be top 6
Rischitelli has been cooked all year.
He can take all the contested marks he wants, but he's kicked 9 goals in 9 games, 4 of those games he went goalless. he's not providing enough
Sexton was largely ineffectual and goes missing in games all the time
You're overcorrecting with Weller, other people are being too hard on him but you're being way too lenient. 4th year player for pick 2 averaging 19 disposals with questionable efficiency (averaging 5 turnovers a game) is not being one of our better players

Brodie was a fourth game player but showed he could get clearances = persist
Had he kicked straight Lynches game would have been acceptable. but I agree he was sub-par
Ah Chee was very good in the first and had almost nothing delivered to him after that.

Interesting no one has mentioned the awful performance by the coaching box. They did nothing to stop the momentum in 2nd, Selections ????? and absolutely no method / system to move the ball forward. Running around like headless chooks. Chaotic Rabble

Agree Bazza.There's some goodwill obviously for a first year coach- but I did mention Dew in my initial post match effort that "We're all Family" is not above " Coach's hubris"- which can be the only explanation for playing some of the guys out there today

it's not negativity to objectively say that half of our team isn't up to it yet.
Ballard played his best game but was still beaten by a second gamer and could only notch up 13 disposals
You're right, Bowes is playing like a 20 yo 19 gamer who is being played in a position he's not right for.
Young got injured in the 3rd. If his role was 2 disposals a quarter at 50% efficiency, then he needs a new role
Holman was top 6 for the SUNS for disposals which is what I mean. If we were a good team, he wouldn't be playing - 19 disposals as a midfielder is not very good and should not be top 6
Rischitelli has been cooked all year.
He can take all the contested marks he wants, but he's kicked 9 goals in 9 games, 4 of those games he went goalless. he's not providing enough
Sexton was largely ineffectual and goes missing in games all the time
You're overcorrecting with Weller, other people are being too hard on him but you're being way too lenient. 4th year player for pick 2 averaging 19 disposals with questionable efficiency (averaging 5 turnovers a game) is not being one of our better players

Brodie was a fourth game player but showed he could get clearances = persist
Had he kicked straight Lynches game would have been acceptable. but I agree he was sub-par
Ah Chee was very good in the first and had almost nothing delivered to him after that.
Ho hum - Weller plus Ballard for pick #2 for the millionth time = value

Brodie was rubbish.
Lynch was rubbish.
Ah Chee was rubbish.

Dude, don't go reaching for positives that aren't there. And then for good measure, grind your axe on Brodie — a 4 gamer.

If you're happy to call Ah Chee, Lynch and Brodie rubbish, and then fall in behind Sexton, Rischa, Young, Bowes, Day and Weller, then I'm certain you'll be settling for mediocrity for a good chunk of time. Some of them are very senior players and were abysmal under pressure, and to be honest, often are.

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

Just saw a picture of Dew on TV - he looked embarrassed and stressed

I feel really sorry for him
Paul Roos said during the game he watched the neafl game with Dew and George Stone I hope Dew ask him if he would come up and help him out even part time.
I'm sure the afl have some more money laying around with Roos name on it

If you're happy to call Ah Chee, Lynch and Brodie rubbish, and then fall in behind Sexton, Rischa, Young, Brodie, Day and Weller, then I'm certain you'll be settling for mediocrity for a good chunk of time. Some of them are very senior players and were abysmal under pressure, and to be honest, often are.

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk
Yeah-have to agree
There were no positives in that effort and to say Sexton(I'm a fan but he's stuck at mediocre unfortunately)Riska Young Brodie Sam Day and Weller earned there pay tonight is a bit of a stretch

Dew looked like he was about to burst into tears at the post match presser.... either that or he'd already been crying.

Think reality about the enormity of the task has finally hit....seem to recall something similar with Rocket a while back.

I don't care how slow or "unbalanced" it makes us, Barlow and Lyons must come back into the team against the Giants next week to add some experience and hardness.

I'd go...

B: Joyce / Thompson / Spencer
HB: Rischitelli / Day / Harbrow
C: Weller / Miller / Barlow
HF:Bowes / 2MP / Lemmens
F: Ah Chee / Lynch / Martin
R: Witts / Swallow / Ainsworth
I: Brodie / Holman / Lyons / Ballard
E: Powell / Crossley ....is there anything left?

So tough supporting this club at times I'm gutted. I'm going to watch more Melbourne games to remind me how sticking fat pays dividends.

Glad the first thing Dew said was how devastating it is to deliver that to us members after hyping the game. We did really well promoting this game to get 17k and it's just so saddening that the more casual fans will be put off by that.

Sent from my MHA-L09 using Tapatalk

Autopsy SUNS V Geelong.