Supporting Zones?

The Watsonia - Greensborugh areas have quite a lot of supporters, but me being new the area i don't know any of them other than family. I live in Williamstown on the weekends and the following there is huge.

We have a new supporter base developing in the Caulfield and Elsternwick area, and another in the Doncaster/Templestowe area. I have personally converted a few new in laws who were former Hawthorn and Melbourne supporters.

We did have a very small supporter base in Anaheim, California a few years back when I was living there too - but then I moved back down under. :D

Im from Blackburn. Got 4 memberships out of my dad, another 4 out of my mum. Done pretty well i think.

Not many at my school, got 1 teacher who helps me with recruitment.

At my brothers Auskick, the numbers of Bulldogs guernseys never fails to please me! Not a huge percentage, but at least 4-5 per year level. Good effort.

I think the Eastern suburbs are a big supporter base, as shown by the East meets West days, and the trains home from games. Belgrave Lilydale and Glen Waverley are always fairly packed. Although, i dont have anything to compare it with.

Im from Blackburn. Got 4 memberships out of my dad, another 4 out of my mum. Done pretty well i think.

Not many at my school, got 1 teacher who helps me with recruitment.

At my brothers Auskick, the numbers of Bulldogs guernseys never fails to please me! Not a huge percentage, but at least 4-5 per year level. Good effort.

I think the Eastern suburbs are a big supporter base, as shown by the East meets West days, and the trains home from games. Belgrave Lilydale and Glen Waverley are always fairly packed. Although, i dont have anything to compare it with.

I'm from the Vermont South area and I reckon there are quite a few Dogs fans out here like you say the Dogs come out each year to the Eastern Suburbs. It will be interesting as a first year member going to games on the trains to see how many Dogs fans there are.

In terms of people I know who go for the Dogs

1 I used to go to school with in Wantirna South
1 in Blackburn
A Cousin who lives in Mill Park

I can give her a bit more time. When we have kids and I am taking them to games I am sure she will join us and over time she will be turned to the side of goodness and niceness. All I have to do is keep the father in law away from the future kids and success will be within my grasp.

Its easy mate, before the said kids arrive, you tell the wife that you are having the first born as a bulldogs supporter and after that, they can choose who they support. The Wife is so wrung out and exhausted from dealing with bulldog supporting child number 1, that you offer to take them to games (you aren't missing much on field at the moment anyway) so she can have a well deserved rest and some "me" time. Wife gets used to this and thinks its wonderful.

When second said child is on the way, start dropping hints like - "think of how much spare time you will have to yourself if this one also barracks for the Bulldogs - I can take them both to the footy." After all it isn't very fair having one kid go to the footy by themselves is it? And slowly it morphs.

One day she will realize all the family fun she is missing out on and will come to the footy with the family and by that time we should be good again and enjoyable to watch, she will convert and Voila, there you have it.

My family out here at Baysie North. See a few doggies window stickers on Canterbury Rd occasionally.
My brothers family at Hastings.
Went to Frankston Tech in the late 60's and only had one other doggies supporter there. Still mates today. Both still waiting for a premiership.

I also have spotted a Bulldogs sticker on car at a local child care centre in Vermont South. Haven't seen it lately.

There's a couple of members in the CQ region and a small number of supporters, same with Essendon and Collingwood. It's not really an attractive proposition to casual punters living up here to buy a membership for any code given the nearest games are at least 1 or 2 hours plane ride away.

Live in Point Cook and there are quite a few doggies supporters but not a lot are members though. Same goes for Werribee, I used to work there and I would say more than half of the people I knew were Dogs supporters and majority were not members..

I wonder what our support is like in the Northern suburbs of Melbourne? There seems to be from what people say quite a few Dogs fans in the North-West suburbs.

I worked in Yarram a few years ago and there were quite a few Dogs fans down that way, including Leongatha and Korumburra. Fair numbers in the Latrobe Valley too. Gippsland - east of Warragul - was the Dogs rural zone from the late 60s until the draft became a reality in the mid 80s (think Quinlan, Templeton, Royal and Jennings...).

Not sure about it now, but at least 3 bus loads used to come to Melbourne games from the Valley. Could be more now!

Probably relevant to this thread;

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2013-02-25/win-the-west-blitz.workstation

The Western Bulldogs have more members than any other AFL club in Local Government Area (LGAs) of Maribyrnong, Hobsons Bay, Brimbank and the key growth corridor encompassing Melton and Wyndham being one of only three AFL clubs to rank #1 in five or more LGA’s.
The Bulldogs also dominate Auskick in the West – with almost 25 per cent of junior participants indicating the Western Bulldogs are their team.

Given those numbers and where we sit in terms of membership it's pretty safe to say that outside those areas we have very few members in comparison to other clubs

I'm glad to be in that minority, though no wonder our membership campaigns are geared towards the west.

It's encouraging that we're dominating the suburbs that are growing exponentially.
good to see, we will def have a bigger impact next year with the vfl side coming into affect.
since we are playing home games around the western areas, so that will boost our membership, i wonder how they will create the VFL membership. (mix the two together etc, or could just have one vfl one)

I'm glad to be in that minority, though no wonder our membership campaigns are geared towards the west.
I'm also part of that group, I live in the City of Manningham, the Doncaster/Templestowe area. Hardly any supporters out here.

Supporting Zones?