• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Swans aim for LA visit every year

cos789 said:
Well if you actually were a regular on this forum you'd realise were the funding was coming from and you'd realise it was an opportunity to join the Roos in their exercise and NOT a question of using any mainstream monies .
Rather you chose to jump in and embarass yourself by showing your complete lack of understanding for the situation by assuming the AFL or the Swans were funding the promotion . So , my friend , YOU are the idiot !

Who cares about the funding... I'm talking about the promotional side mate! THE SWANS should be IN SYDNEY Promoting AFL!!! Take two Melbourne sides to America... AFL in Melbourne doesn't need much promotion ;)

A fair point. But one drawback for the AFL in Sydney is the lack of international exposure. At least that is what Sydney media have said at times. The Swans getting a good reception in the USA and a strong USAFL returning the trip to Sydney in years to come will be good exposure to fill that gap. Plus the trip is partly a business venture - not only Rugby helps the corporate types link sport with trade, or Soccer as the FFA is now saying will with Asia, but AFL can do this too.

Also, you've got a couple of things at work here. Paul Roos has spent a fair amount of time in LA. He has links to the USAFL - former American Revolution head coach. California has a somewhat decent juniors program going, although I do think that is in the Bay Area and not LA - some Cali boys can correct me if I'm wrong.

LebaneseForces said:
Who cares about the funding... I'm talking about the promotional side mate! THE SWANS should be IN SYDNEY Promoting AFL!!!

You're right , with the GF win the Sydney Swans are getting huge media attention swamping the other codes and gaining market share .
Unfortunately the Sydney swans are easily the most recognised AFL team in North America so that's one good reason why they were probably invited .

people in the USA are familiar with the international city Sydney, whereas if you send St Kilda over there, noone would know what you're talking about.

I think that if the Sydney media gets on to it, it will be great for exposure of aussie rules as an international game and get some exposure for US Footy, which is one of the fastest growing leagues going around.

cos789 said:
You're right , with the GF win the Sydney Swans are getting huge media attention swamping the other codes and gaining market share .
Unfortunately the Sydney swans are easily the most recognised AFL team in North America so that's one good reason why they were probably invited .

Did the Swans win the GF??? I can't remember and nothing has been said about the AFL GF in so long! All the news has been about the Wallabies and Kangaroos (In the FOoty Codes)

LebaneseForces said:
Did the Swans win the GF??? I can't remember and nothing has been said about the AFL GF in so long! All the news has been about the Wallabies and Kangaroos (In the FOoty Codes)

Good grief man
:thumbsdown:

LebaneseForces,

It's time to give it a rest mate. In case you had not noticed, this is a forum for international Aussie Rules. We post here because we are all fans of Aussie Rules.

Like many here I have never visited the rugby league forum. I am simply not interested in the game and never will be.

Further, I am not so insecure about my own code as to regularly visit another code's forum to denigrate its international success.

You are right to be concerned of course. Aussie Rules is a far superior game and continues to make great strides internationally.

The rugby league forum is the most appropriate forum for comments regarding rugby league - good luck with that.

clarkey said:
LebaneseForces,

It's time to give it a rest mate. In case you had not noticed, this is a forum for international Aussie Rules. We post here because we are all fans of Aussie Rules.

Like many here I have never visited the rugby league forum. I am simply not interested in the game and never will be.

Further, I am not so insecure about my own code as to regularly visit another code's forum to denigrate its international success.

You are right to be concerned of course. Aussie Rules is a far superior game and continues to make great strides internationally.

The rugby league forum is the most appropriate forum for comments regarding rugby league - good luck with that.

Good for you mate!!! I'm not concerned one bit... Rugby League is played at a professional level in England, Australia, New Zealand and soon to be France in one way or the other... We have competitions played by locals (Not expats) in PNG, Lebanon, America, Russia, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, to many Islands to name shall i go on? The NRL has just had it's most successful season ever breaking all records and we are recovering and making the lost ground from the Super League - ARL war. I have nothing to be concerned about... i would love nothing more then AFL to take over Union (I hate Union to the bone) and soccer as the second code in NSW... Hence the reason why i think Sydney should not promote International AFL and should concentrate fully in NSW!!!!!!!! They just won the GF (Apparently :p) and should capatilise on it as much as they can!

LebaneseForces said:
I'm not concerned one bit...
I have nothing to be concerned about...
They just won the GF (Apparently :p)

Sure your not concerned...... if you want to make a difference then concentrate your energies on RL and not running other codes down, i think we all know how you feel......stop lying would be a start.

Here we go again. I thought this loser had gotten tired of coming on here and trolling this board long ago... :eek:

Can someone please explain to me what the thrill is in frequenting a board for something that you have no interest in -- just so you can post ridiculous crap and get everyone there all riled up? It must be fun somehow, 'cause people sure like to do it -- but I just don't get it. :confused:

Or maybe other Aussie Rules fans go on the rugby boards a lot and do the same thing to the rugby fans or something (but that would be just as stupid), and this is some kind of retaliation. I wouldn't know -- I NEVER look at the rugby boards, because I have no interest in rugby...

sigh...

Nice publicity:

steve_irwin_piccie.gif

http://www.australia-week.com/page/AFLMatchSteveIrwinShow

Is Steve Irwin even into footy ?
I know he was born in Victoria, but he is living up north now ...

I'd love to see him commentate a game of AFL.

"By Crikey ... that's a goal. Swans rule! Check THIS out. That Barry Hall is Chock-a-block full of talent. The little ripper packs a heck-of-a wallop!".

He'd certainly give Dennis Commetti a run for his money.

Centimetre Perfect said:
Here we go again. I thought this loser had gotten tired of coming on here and trolling this board long ago... :eek:

Can someone please explain to me what the thrill is in frequenting a board for something that you have no interest in -- just so you can post ridiculous crap and get everyone there all riled up? It must be fun somehow, 'cause people sure like to do it -- but I just don't get it. :confused:

Or maybe other Aussie Rules fans go on the rugby boards a lot and do the same thing to the rugby fans or something (but that would be just as stupid), and this is some kind of retaliation. I wouldn't know -- I NEVER look at the rugby boards, because I have no interest in rugby...

sigh...

Block me then dude... Untill then you will be seeing a lot of me mate ;)

cos789 said:
This little arab just reinforces the idea that dropping RL was a good move .
You don't get this clap from any other supporters .

Firstly I am not Arab... The "Arabs" invaded my country...

Secondly what is with you AFL supporters? I was debating in a constructive manner before you guys threw smartarse swipes at me... I honestly believe the SWANS shouldn't be promoting IAR overseas while there market can do with A LOT more promotion!!!!!!!!! What the hell is wrong with that? Why couldn't you guys just keep to a constructive argument about that instead of throwing racial slurs??? And you guys say why Arabs or Middle Eastern people are trouble makers and hangout in gangs with there own race... Maybe its people like you Cos789 who stereotype every Arab and make us fill like second rate citizens... Keep to the topic please, if not send myself a private message and take out all your racial anger on myself and not for anyone else too see.

Maybe it's because everyone on here knows that you're NOT "debating in a constructive manner", but trying to stir sh1t up. And don't get mad at the animals when they attack you, after you've come around poking at them with a stick...
LebaneseForces said:
Block me then dude... Untill then you will be seeing a lot of me mate ;)
First sensible post I've ever seen from you. Ignore list, here I come!:thumbsu:

I dont mind RL and went to a couple of NRL games here in Perth.... but leb boy is making it very ugly, its pretty obvious he is quite immature and possibly a few cans short of a slab.

What a pathetic effort at promotion this is turning out to be ...

Sure, there is an "Australia Week" website which nobody even knows exists, but a quick look at the UCLA site and their Events portal reveals zip about the event:
http://www.ucla.edu/happenings/

The guys at the AFANA are spewing at what is basically a wasted opportunity.

http://www.afana.com/cgi-bin/footybbs/webbbs_config.pl/frames=n/read/2028

I agree with them. A properly promoted game should attract much more than the 7,000 that the AFL is expecting. Given that it is mainly the Swans doing the marketing, it is no wonder why the AFL is cynical about this event. I think they must actually feel threatened by the growth of footy in the US either that or they just don't really care about anything outside of Australia ?

If the AFL was dead serious about growing the game overseas, for this US match, they'd do something like revive the memorable and successful "I'd Like To See That" TV campaign they used in the 1980s when they signed up John McEnroe and other sport stars. That worked a treat in Brisbane (but suffered by the Bears being at the Gold Coast). I still remember people at school quoting the NFL player (not sure who it was) with his line "full body contact - no armour ? I'd like to see that!", and that ordinary yank going "yeah I've seen Aussie Rules - what Rules ?". They were ******** hot promotional material and I've never seen anything else like it from the AFL since.

fishmonger said:
for this US match, they'd do something like revive the memorable and successful "I'd Like To See That" TV campaign .....

Unfortunately any serious media advertising is big bickies .Basically $50k a throw , either newspaper or TV advertisement and we all know you need a series . The only cheap promotion is to get a radio or TV talk program and that you can't predict .

Swans aim for LA visit every year