Preview Swans v Waalitj Marawar Saturday 3.05 pm @ Henson Park

Callipygian

Team Player
May 18, 2021
Well, we play our final match of the season this weekend at Henson. The weather is slightly iffy but should be alright according to my weather app - possible showers in the morning but fining up in the arvo. Good conditions for footy.

We will be playing Waalitj Marawar aka West Coast who have had a good first season under Daisy Pearce as coach. They have registered 4 wins to our 2 wins. Nevertheless, they will have to travel and we will have a fighting chance of prevailing. We will be wearing our Indigenous guernsey for the second week in a row, first time for a home game.

Personally, between the mass of injuries and consequent form slump, plus not having recovered from 28 September, I have not been a good supporter this season and I have not been following as closely as I expected I would or as I did last season. Nevertheless I am planning to go and cheer on our women on Saturday.

There will be at least 2 changes to the team that took on the Lions on the weekend: Maddy Collier has been suspended for rough conduct; and Giselle Davies sustained an ankle injury that will keep her out. On the other hand, Ruby Sergeant-Wilson has recovered from illness and will be available for selection. Bullas, Cooper and Szigeti are others that might be recalled to the team. I can see Bullas being called in to fill the hole left by Collier but there are plenty of other possibilities. McEvoy could be shifted back and Szigeti plugged into the midfield, for instance.

For some players this will be their last game as Swans and even as AFLW players. The post-season list review and downsizing is yet to come but it is inevitable that a number of players will depart the club and some of them will surely be playing this weekend. So it's a great opportunity to cheer and thank them for their contributions.

Regardless of whether we win this week we can finish the season no higher than 15th. If we lose there's a possibility that GWS could leapfrog us. (Theoretically, so could the Suns and Collingwood - but there seems no real risk of that happening.)

Putting a positive spin on this, we have every reason to pursue the win and no risk of slipping an important position at the pointy end of the draft.

And here's the club's take on why you should go to the match: https://www.sydneyswans.com.au/news/1685752/10-reasons-to-attend-round-10-this-saturday.

Cheer! Cheer!

On the young side finding confidence
“There's been some real strength in the performances. We don't focus on the score itself in review. We basically take the lessons from what the opposition threw at us. I think we've got a lot of growth this year. It's been positive from a perspective that you learn different things of what sides do to you, how they stop your momentum and what they do when they get momentum.”
On how the group is feeling after the condensed fixture
“It was more just the lack of access to them from a training perspective, because we couldn't train and you're basically playing three games. Particularly in our situation, we're in a learning phase that we didn't get time to review properly and then go out and train it, so we found that we were making the same mistakes for three games in a row.

"That fourth game, when you come out of the condensed fixture, there's a little bit of fatigue there, so you're sort of sitting in that world of not training even post-condensed fixture, which makes it hard. I think it really hampered us from a learning perspective… probably more the lesson than the fatigue side of it.”

Was out but have caught the second and third quarters. Away from home so using my phone.

Girls have played smart footy in the wet. Playing on when they can, long balls with the wind, controlled balls against it. Ball handling when slippery has been pretty good and knocking it to advantage when they can’t get a grip on it.

Tackling has been sensational. Not enough of it rewarded. Seems the oppo have different rules for incorrect disposal / htb. Hope they can finish strong.

Well, I was supposed to be out today but I'm crook so I'm watching my first home game on TV.
Real energy getting the ball out, forward and into space. Everyone having a crack.
Tackling and pressure off the chart. Need to give the boys lessons. Sticking the tackles best I've seen this season.
Bit of barney at the third sticking it up them.
Missed 4 simple goals.
Sadly neither the umps or commentators have improved. Rubbish.

They played with more energy and freedom today and it made such a difference.
Hurley, Gardiner and Kennedy are a very tenacious midfield. One more of that quality will be fantastic, especially if she's a bit bigger.
I assume Mitchell must have been injured because we were a little undersized down back.
Lovely to see Smith get on the end of it. It's easy to forget how young she is.
Privitelli has such good hands but I wish she'd take her time.
Davies has been a good pick-up and it will be interesting what roles she and Lexi play when Morphett is fit next year.
So nice to finish on a high note and clearly Lochland is well liked and respected.

Good to finish on a positive note. Some positive ball movement and run. I love Kennedy's determination, never gives up and good to see the forwards scoring a few. Bella Smith starting to find her feet and Privitelli worked hard but some composure might help her cause.
Wishing Brooke a happy retirement and good they could see her off with a win. All in all after a tough year there is some hope for next year.

Bit quiet in here 😆

The Eagles are obvioulsy on the build but it is a lot more enjoyable watching us move the ball well and attack like we were last season.

I may have been quiet in the chat - but that's because I was busy being the loudest fan at the game!

Great way to finish the season. Awesome to see Bella kick 5! Agree with you Kiama Chris that Priv needed to take her time more with some of her shots at goal. Marked pretty well though. And still kicked 3.3. Gardiner, Kennedy and Hurley were brilliant, as usual.

Did Lochland get asked what the future holds for her in any of those post-game interviews, does anyone know?

Preview Swans v Waalitj Marawar Saturday 3.05 pm @ Henson Park