• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Sydney Football League

UTS- successful club,play in Grades 2 thru 5, based at Paddington as Shotties mentioned.
Sydney Uni- play at campus grounds in Camperdown, play in grades 1,2,3 and 5.
Macquarie Uni- only a short drive from Balmain up Lane Cove Rd, based at Epping or thereabouts on Mac Uni grounds,play in Grades 3,4 and 5.
Western Suburbs- grand old club, based at Ashfield, probably the closest in proximity to Balmain, top two grades.
Check www.sydneyafl.com.au for details of clubs and pre-season venues.
Hope this helps.

Parramatta and Moorebank are the worst for derros trying to start fights and being dropkicks generally.

I cant speak for Parra but I keep my players on a tight leash and have shown the door to a few individuals in the past two seasons who arnt worth the trouble. Each player who we have had suspended and there were only two mind you had already been imposed club suspensions prior to anything from the league and they more than double that of the suspensions imposed by the league.

If someone wants to play football for us then that is what we want, I have trained to box and have fought and believe their is only one play for fighting and that is in a ring not on a football field.

I have witnessed every club start fights and there are generally a few undesirables at each club that make the rest look bad.

Perhaps you should know more about each club before you make sweeping generalisations.

Dont hide from it Magpie, you're still an instigator and an antagoniser....
Merry xmas by the way!!!

Antagoniser yes instigator no but definately was a retaliator on occacsion - usually against Manly.

Merry Christmas to you and Disco but what happened to having beers?

UTS- successful club,play in Grades 2 thru 5, based at Paddington as Shotties mentioned.
Sydney Uni- play at campus grounds in Camperdown, play in grades 1,2,3 and 5.
Macquarie Uni- only a short drive from Balmain up Lane Cove Rd, based at Epping or thereabouts on Mac Uni grounds,play in Grades 3,4 and 5.
Western Suburbs- grand old club, based at Ashfield, probably the closest in proximity to Balmain, top two grades.
Check www.sydneyafl.com.au for details of clubs and pre-season venues.
Hope this helps.

Thanks mate, thinking about having a kick next year but live in Balmain and have heard average things about the dockers.

n1808778_36089936_4969.jpg

Clearly. How long did you suspend him for? Or the bloke in the background dropping a knee into a player on the grounds head?

For the season.

Strewth, thats a decent chicken wing from Pete there!!
A few drinks in the new year perhaps champ,i go back on the 6th.
Actually,after last nights effort, just the thought of drinking again is making me sick.

Time to move away from the thuggery issues of the Sydney AFL competition which in my opinion is very isolated. Have seen a lot of footy in recent times across all grades and the number of incidents I have seen are very few and far between.

The first of prominent player movements is on the Sydney AFL site;

UNSW/ES have made the first significant signing of the 2009 season with AFL Sydney Representative player Jason Coulloupas agreeing to join the club.

Coulloupas has spent the past three seasons with East Coast Eagles and his strength and experience will be a significant inclusion for UNSW/ES.

The 29 year old midfielder represented AFL Sydney in their narrow loss to the Victorian Amateurs in 2008.

UNSW/ES Coach Terry Mudge would be excited to get a player of the calibre of Coulloupas as they strive to improve on their 2008 performance which saw the club fail to make the Grand Final after finishing the season as minor premiers.

Thanks mate, thinking about having a kick next year but live in Balmain and have heard average things about the dockers.

The Dockers are trying hard to improve their image and did make some strides in 2008. My choice if living in the Balmain area would be Sydney Uni - good club with great facilities and lots of young guys that enjoy the social scene too.

From what I understand, Campbelltown have picked up Dale Chivas and Jay Edwards from Penrith, along with Stuart McKinley from Parramatta.

Three of the better players out of First Division who should add some good depth to the Blues.

From what I understand, Campbelltown have picked up Dale Chivas and Jay Edwards from Penrith, along with Stuart McKinley from Parramatta.

Three of the better players out of First Division who should add some good depth to the Blues.

Have heard the same (Leesy tried to take our captain from this year as well- unsuccessful) but is it officail yet?Cant really be official til clearances go through, unless its contracted,and a good source at Greygums says there is a slight chance that the two will stay there (although you may have better idea than Tubs)

As you say Pekay, it's not done and dusted until clearances go through, although I'm told that the three of them are training there at the moment.

I guess in the next couple of months they'll decide if the extra travel and commitment is something that they want to take on.

Interesting that Leesy had a chat with one of your boys as well. I suppose we've got to accept that unfortunately. Good to hear that he's staying, I guess Richmond to Campbelltown is a fair hike!

hey fellas, im interested to know a little about the sydney football league..
do many clubs have interstate recruits?
what are clubs prepared to do for interstate recruits (jobs accom etc)?
could be moving to sydney and just want to get a feel for the local comp..
have played state league in qld and act..
cheers..

Sharks

Best chance the Sharks are gonna have with UTS & Manly leaving to play in the new 1st Division....although you cant discount Parra, had Sharks measure in finals, and during home and away season. And no team wearing Aqua is gonna win anything!
Also, Jets, playing in the bottom two grades, are close to naming their star recruit from another Sydney club, who has been training the house down. This bloke is keen to play for the Jets, as its much easier to spell then his current club. A hit with the ladies, and a social calendar's best friend, this bloke would be a match winner in ANY team in ANY grade, giving creedence to the phrase, boys just wana have fun. Thats all they really wa-an-ant. True story though.

Re: Sharks

Best chance the Sharks are gonna have with UTS & Manly leaving to play in the new 1st Division....although you cant discount Parra, had Sharks measure in finals, and during home and away season. And no team wearing Aqua is gonna win anything!
Also, Jets, playing in the bottom two grades, are close to naming their star recruit from another Sydney club, who has been training the house down. This bloke is keen to play for the Jets, as its much easier to spell then his current club. A hit with the ladies, and a social calendar's best friend, this bloke would be a match winner in ANY team in ANY grade, giving creedence to the phrase, boys just wana have fun. Thats all they really wa-an-ant. True story though.

I must agree that Parra have come along in leaps and bounds of late but speaking to a few of the Sharks boys I know they are keen and apparently a few changes are on there way.

Re: Sharks

I must agree that Parra have come along in leaps and bounds of late but speaking to a few of the Sharks boys I know they are keen and apparently a few changes are on there way.[/quote

From what I have heard you can forget Parra in that comp, most of their best players have either moved interstate or swapped clubs. As for the Sharks, they are absolutely kidding themselves if they dont win it this year. I have never seen a team choke in a GF like they did 2 years ago and well they were thumped by the bats last year 3 times and got touched up in the finals by the goannas. With the two powerhouses from that division moving up there doesnt seem to be a decent team in that comp. I saw the reserve grade grand final between the bats and wolves last year and from what I saw the bats 2nds would beat cronulla 1st grade by 50 with their eyes shut....If the sharks do win it, one would think it would be hollow!!

hey fellas, im interested to know a little about the sydney football league..
do many clubs have interstate recruits?
what are clubs prepared to do for interstate recruits (jobs accom etc)?
could be moving to sydney and just want to get a feel for the local comp..
have played state league in qld and act..
cheers..

DB,

I think you'll find that all clubs in Sydney are happy to take on any recruits that they can get, and would at least try their best to assist with accomodation and employment for guys who can play.

Certainly we would at Penrith, as it's not easy to find quality players out our way at the best of times.

And Pekay, I'm very interested to hear who your star recruit is mate!

cheers for that desie..i have played state league footy in 2 states, who is coaching at penrith? what is the standard like?? i know some people who live out that way, they seem to like living there..
DB,

I think you'll find that all clubs in Sydney are happy to take on any recruits that they can get, and would at least try their best to assist with accomodation and employment for guys who can play.

Certainly we would at Penrith, as it's not easy to find quality players out our way at the best of times.

And Pekay, I'm very interested to hear who your star recruit is mate!

Cant divulge who the recruit is til he takes the field, keep your eye on the clearance boards durning the year though. Dont want to jinx it by naming him, but he has trained with us since November, looks very lean n mean. But he will set the comp alight when he does play. (which i am sure he will)
Hows it looking over at Greygums?
DB, as Desie said, you'll find yourself welcome at most to all clubs in Sydney, just depends what level you wish to play, and if you wish to be paid to play, the top comp (Premier Div) is your best bet, although if you are after a good atmosphere at the closest club to a country club in Sydney, Nor-West Jets will welcome you, i am the Senior Coach.
Conversely, have a look at www.sydneyafl.com.au and browse around the clubs, plenty to choose from, and if you come to Sydney to play, welcome aboard.

Pekay

Good luck with that Pekay, sounds like you might be on to a winner!

We start training next week so I'll have a better idea then how we're travelling. In the past we've started in November, but traditionally had small numbers, so gave it a miss this time around.

Jabba will take things for the minute as we haven't appointed a senior coach as yet. Got a fair way down the track with a couple of blokes, including Pete Free who's ended up at Gosford, but no luck as yet.

Currently having a chat with a recently retired guy you'd know well from another club. We'll see how it goes I guess!