Tasmania

It is a disgrace, it's like having half a birthday cake instead of a full wedding cake.

Collingwood are sponsored by Emirates. Emirates is not an Australian company, let alone a Victorian one. WCE were sponsored by Hungry Jacks etc. The crowds are meaningless because Tasmania would have a very good stadium deal. Besides Victorian crowds are inflated by opposition fans.

Given the stadium deal they would have plus stadium name rights, plus one would assume Tasmanian government funding their just as likely as GWS to be profitable in the future. Hell of a lot more likely than North or Footscray.

[quotes]
Funny how Tasmania's continually turn this into an attack on Victorians, when all victorians want a Tasmanian team, however most are realistic and see its not financially viable currently.
Victorians generally don't care or at best are apathetic to football outside Victoria.[/quote]

There stadium deal would be around the 4th best(not counting GWS/GC), so how on earth are crowds meaningless? They would only average crowds in the medium 20's wouldnt they? a good stadium deal still doesnt make up for that.

Also the Victorian and West australian markets are SO much bigger than Tasmania's, not only population wise as WA and VIC people are richer on average than Tasmanian's.. meaning more $$ for the business so i dunno how a comparason to WCE and Collingwood is relevent, doesnt help Tassy. The main problem is their are very few big business looking to expand their market in Tasmania as it is seen rightly as the least lucritive of all the states in Australia, short and long term, which is why they would get WAY WAY less money than GC/GWS get from SKODA ect ect.

Tasmania's asked for AFL football, and when its their they call it disgraceful for going there? How does that make sense?

It is a disgrace, it's like having half a birthday cake instead of a full wedding cake.

Collingwood are sponsored by Emirates. Emirates is not an Australian company, let alone a Victorian one. WCE were sponsored by Hungry Jacks etc. The crowds are meaningless because Tasmania would have a very good stadium deal. Besides Victorian crowds are inflated by opposition fans.

Given the stadium deal they would have plus stadium name rights, plus one would assume Tasmanian government funding their just as likely as GWS to be profitable in the future. Hell of a lot more likely than North or Footscray.

[quotes]
Funny how Tasmania's continually turn this into an attack on Victorians, when all victorians want a Tasmanian team, however most are realistic and see its not financially viable currently.

There stadium deal would be around the 4th best(not counting GWS/GC), so how on earth are crowds meaningless? They would only average crowds in the medium 20's wouldnt they? a good stadium deal still doesnt make up for that.

Also the Victorian and West australian markets are SO much bigger than Tasmania's, not only population wise as WA and VIC people are richer on average than Tasmanian's.. meaning more $$ for the business so i dunno how a comparason to WCE and Collingwood is relevent, doesnt help Tassy. The main problem is their are very few big business looking to expand their market in Tasmania as it is seen rightly as the least lucritive of all the states in Australia, short and long term, which is why they would get WAY WAY less money than GC/GWS get from SKODA ect ect.

Tasmania's asked for AFL football, and when its their they call it disgraceful for going there? How does that make sense?

Also the Victorian and West australian markets are SO much bigger than Tasmania's, not only population wise as WA and VIC people are richer on average than Tasmanian's.. meaning more $$ for the business

A sponsor of a Tasmanian team is not just looking for exposure to the Tasmanian market, it is a national competition with national exposure. When hungry jacks sponsor the WCE are they only looking for exposure in WA. I think not.

The Victorian market is saturated by not only AFL teams also Rugby League and union, soccer, basketball, netball and so on.

A Tasmanian team would have almost no competition for sponsorship dollars from within the state.

I would love to have the job of selling sponsorship for a Tasmanian team in the AFL. Easiest job in the world.

Given all that I have read & written on BF I have always believed that Tassie has been poorly treated by the very Arrogant VFL/AFL. Many BF people keep chanting that Tassie couldnt possibly support a team. Given how much we have & do put into Australian rules football I know we could support a passionate & successful team. Many of us have had a fair idea just what Hawthorn & others pull out of this state. & now we have another starving rat that has come to suck on the local financial teat.
Both Hawthorn & North Melbourne will do NOTHING for local football of any lasting consequence. Its all take take take.
Its a bloody disgrace & you all know it.
yea part of my point actually.

As I said many times, Tassie Way overdue for a team but no going back from mismanagement now from the so called AFL. Would rather North go VFL than relocate. Would not have supported the gc kangaroos at all.

Victorians generally don't care or at best are apathetic to football outside Victoria.

Tasmania's asked for AFL football, and when its their they call it disgraceful for going there? How does that make sense?[/QUOTE]

I think at the very least it is sad if you don't understand my argument.
At worst it is sad reflection on your jaundiced & selfish & ignorant Victorian view of the football world that you ignore my argument & just waffle unjustified crap to discount my views.

Where a sponsor is based is totally irrelevant to sponsorship decisions.

Hungry Jacks for the uninitiated:
Jack Cowin bought the right to open ten KFC franchises in Western Australia, raised $10,000 from each of thirty people to launch the business in December 1969, having moved with his wife and young child. Those who invested $10,000 then, had an investment worth around $8.9 million as at March 2006.
After opening eight KFC outlets, he bought the rights to Burger King. They both later discovered someone else had the rights to the Burger King trademark in Australia, so Cowin instead called the outlets Hungry Jack's. Many years later he had a falling out with Burger King over the name and other issues related to their franchise agreement which was eventually resolved in his favour.
The business Competitive Foods Australia continues to be privately held by his family, with an estimated value of $350 million. It owns 50 KFC outlets in Western Australia and the Northern Territory in addition to the 340 Hungry Jack's outlets throughout Australia, only 100 franchised.
His family trust is also the majority shareholder in Domino's Pizza, one of the country's biggest pizza franchises.

Then there is that mob that wanted to sponsor a Tassie team but are stuck with 2nd best:
Mars, Incorporated is a worldwide manufacturer of confectionery, pet food, and other food products with US$30 billion in annual sales in 2010, and is ranked as the 5th largest privately held company in the United States.

Funny how Tasmania's continually turn this into an attack on Victorians

Most of what I've seen for 16+ is pages is Victorians trying to discuss issues with Tasmanians and a couple of Tasmanians with obvious chips on their shoulders attacking Victoria, Victorians, and Victorian clubs. Not exactly the best way to rally people around what I believe is a worthy cause of an AFL club in Tasmania.

If a lot passion & a bit of 'colour' upsets a few people who have enjoyed the benefits of VFL/AFL footy for their whole lives, from some people who have been deliberately excluded from the national game, then I am sorry for that. At least as sorry on BF as one could be:D

But really, we've all seen a lot changes in the national game. However at every stage Tasmania was left out or ignored. I've seen every pathetic jaundice argument put forward as fact. Even now the ignorant discussion that gets put down as fact is very dissapointing & indeed upsetting.

Tassie footy has been ripped apart for 30 years. It has no direction & no future. Local league footy has a place as the development level, closely engaged with the AFL in every other state & territory via the Wafl, Sanfl, VFL, NEafl.

Our football has been torn to shreds because it has no AFL team to give it purpose & direction. It is a pale shadow of where it was 30 or even 20 years ago

Platitudes & rent-a-clubs for Tassie just dont cut it.

Them's the facts ma'am

Have a nice day:)

If a lot passion & a bit of 'colour' upsets a few people who have enjoyed the benefits of VFL/AFL footy for their whole lives, from some people who have been deliberately excluded from the national game, then I am sorry for that. At least as sorry on BF as one could be:D

But really, we've all seen a lot changes in the national game. However at every stage Tasmania was left out or ignored. I've seen every pathetic jaundice argument put forward as fact. Even now the ignorant discussion that gets put down as fact is very dissapointing & indeed upsetting.

Tassie footy has been ripped apart for 30 years. It has no direction & no future. Local league footy has a place as the development level, closely engaged with the AFL in every other state & territory via the Wafl, Sanfl, VFL, NEafl.

Our football has been torn to shreds because it has no AFL team to give it purpose & direction. It is a pale shadow of where it was 30 or even 20 years ago

Platitudes & rent-a-clubs for Tassie just dont cut it.

Them's the facts ma'am

Have a nice day:)

You say the "other sides" arguments are all ignorant and jaundice, without for a second stopping to think maybe were wrong? Of course, everyone one of ur points has been 100% right, the other sides are just simpley wrong because they are different to yours!

And um 20-30 years ago wasnt the league disbanded due to horrible management and financial issues? and the Tasmanian football league only started again in 2000?...

The direction the TSL has it so get as many AFL players as possible, and facilitate a great footy league, the same as every other state league in Australia. How on Earth is the TSL's direction different to the VFL's?

The only reason your "football has been torn to shreds" is terrible administration, and a team ignored because there were better options.

And um 20-30 years ago wasnt the league disbanded due to horrible management and financial issues? and the Tasmanian football league only started again in 2000?...

And 25 years ago, the VFL was dead broke and had to get bailed out by Western Australian money and Christopher Skase.

The direction the TSL has it so get as many AFL players as possible, and facilitate a great footy league, the same as every other state league in Australia. How on Earth is the TSL's direction different to the VFL's?

The governing body for Football in Tasmania is to ensure the best possible results for football in Tasmania. Producing AFL players is a small part of this- similar to the WAFC and the SANFL

The former VFA is a sad disgrace of league where only Port Melbourne maintain any dignity.

The only reason your "football has been torn to shreds" is terrible administration, and a team ignored because there were better options.

There were no better options- it's because of the poor model for a national league- a proper national league would not have had 10 Melbourne based teams at the start.

You say the "other sides" arguments are all ignorant and jaundice, without for a second stopping to think maybe were wrong? Of course, everyone one of ur points has been 100% right, the other sides are just simpley wrong because they are different to yours!

Studies were done to show that Tassie could support a team, we now have 2 rent a teams to pay for. Those are FACTS. No analysis is offered to show why we cant run a team, only 'opinion'.

Local footy clubs continually lose players to those other leagues but get little in return. Most AFL money coming to Tassie goes into running elite footy development & AFLTas administration, nothing into operating costs to help clubs retain or attract player, or even remain viable when much sponsorship, media attention etc goes to Hawthorn & now North are into it as well. Their is no balance. Its all one way traffic in players & money.

Really I dont know why I bother to go through this stuff. I live here & I live through all this. You Dont & obviously value your distant & comfortable opinion. So be it.

And 25 years ago, the VFL was dead broke and had to get bailed out by Western Australian money and Christopher Skase.

The governing body for Football in Tasmania is to ensure the best possible results for football in Tasmania. Producing AFL players is a small part of this- similar to the WAFC and the SANFL

The former VFA is a sad disgrace of league where only Port Melbourne maintain any dignity.

There were no better options- it's because of the poor model for a national league- a proper national league would not have had 10 Melbourne based teams at the start.

Again i see no reason at all why u are turning this into an attack on VFL/VFA and how bad they have been.. it has really no relevence to the point of Tasmanian football being run badly, why are Tasmanian's continaully turning these arguments into Victoria V Tasmania? It looks very poor on ur front, as generally Victorians feel no animosity towards Tasmania's, clearly the feeling is not mutual and will certainly not help the cause. North Tasmania's hate South Tasmanian's, the south hates the north, they both hate victoria.... just toxicness they holds the state back.

And no, there were better options because when you look at Tasmania from a business point of view it makes poor sense to invest their, compared to other places. From a passionionate point of view yes they deserve a team, but if we had people in the AFL deciding their huge business choices on HEART rather than HEAD the AFL would be in huge trouble and not be able to expand, or even keep the current teams afloat.

Studies were done to show that Tassie could support a team, we now have 2 rent a teams to pay for. Those are FACTS. No analysis is offered to show why we cant run a team, only 'opinion'.

This made me laugh a little... care to share the studies? or just state them so we may all assume their truth and reliability.

Plus just because you COULD support a team (maybe of low standard) doesnt mean u should get a license tommorow, as they are places the AFL obviously thought, after a huge amount of research COULD support a team better in the medium-long term

Again i see no reason at all why u are turning this into an attack on VFL/VFA and how bad they have been.. it has really no relevence to the point of Tasmanian football being run badly, why are Tasmanian's continaully turning these arguments into Victoria V Tasmania? It looks very poor on ur front, as generally Victorians feel no animosity towards Tasmania's, clearly the feeling is not mutual and will certainly not help the cause. North Tasmania's hate South Tasmanian's, the south hates the north, they both hate victoria.... just toxicness they holds the state back.

And no, there were better options because when you look at Tasmania from a business point of view it makes poor sense to invest their, compared to other places. From a passionionate point of view yes they deserve a team, but if we had people in the AFL deciding their huge business choices on HEART rather than HEAD the AFL would be in huge trouble and not be able to expand, or even keep the current teams afloat.

I'm not Tasmanian.

And if the AFL made decisions based on just the head- a lot of teams would be sent to the VFL.

There will always be a heart element in the AFL- which is why Tasmania should have a time.
Hell, who is Hawthorns major sponsor?
Hawthorn is a viable club.

If Tasmania can't get a sponsor than they will get Hawthorn current sponsor.

I'm not Tasmanian.

And if the AFL made decisions based on just the head- a lot of teams would be sent to the VFL.

There will always be a heart element in the AFL- which is why Tasmania should have a time.
Hell, who is Hawthorns major sponsor?
Hawthorn is a viable club.

If Tasmania can't get a sponsor than they will get Hawthorn current sponsor.

Correct me if im wrong but isnt the only reason Tasmania sponsers Hawthorn to get more tourism to Tasmania?... Doesn't really work if they sponser a team IN Tasmania.

Im afriad your wrong about teams being sent to the vfl, because nearly all victorian teams are financially sound going forward, the others will be once a better stadium deal is agreed upon and helped by Victoria's swelling population, plus sending 3-4 vic teams to the VFL would massively decrease revenue from TV rights and such, its again a decesion from the HEAD not the HEART

Correct me if im wrong but isnt the only reason Tasmania sponsers Hawthorn to get more tourism to Tasmania?... Doesn't really work if they sponser a team IN Tasmania.

Im afriad your wrong about teams being sent to the vfl, because nearly all victorian teams are financially sound going forward, the others will be once a better stadium deal is agreed upon and helped by Victoria's swelling population, plus sending 3-4 vic teams to the VFL would massively decrease revenue from TV rights and such, its again a decesion from the HEAD not the HEART

Your level of self deception is amazing!. You should read big footy web site & the papers & find out about the struggles some clubs are having just trying to compete. ie Selling games interstate etc etc
It will be even more interesting in the next year when the poker machine gravy train runs out for many of the Victorian clubs who rely on them for a serious amount of their coin, then the financial strain will really be on for them. Good on you Andrew Wilkie.
I dont think Tassie could possibly afford any more handouts for Victorian footy :rolleyes:

A Tasmanian team would play the same teams as Hawthorn does- and arguably give more exposure to Tasmania.

It's not like they only want Hawthorn fans to go to Tasmania on holiday.

Also the Tasmanian government will fork out the cash to support a Tasmanian AFL team if required.

Incorrect. The Victorian market is not evenly split between the clubs. Some of the bigger clubs have much larger share. A lot of Victoria's population growth is from immigration- who may not pick up an AFL team.

It's a pipe dream to think that certain clubs will be financially sound going forward- they are less likely than Tasmania as they won't have a state government willing to pay them out.

Your level of self deception is amazing!. You should read big footy web site & the papers & find out about the struggles some clubs are having just trying to compete. ie Selling games interstate etc etc
It will be even more interesting in the next year when the poker machine gravy train runs out for many of the Victorian clubs who rely on them for a serious amount of their coin, then the financial strain will really be on for them. Good on you Andrew Wilkie.
I dont think Tassie could possibly afford any more handouts for Victorian footy :rolleyes:

Succinct & so correct.

I questioned the Hawks reliance on pokies & the thread was closed by a Hawks supporting mod - lots in denial on pokies.

This made me laugh a little... care to share the studies? or just state them so we may all assume their truth and reliability.

Plus just because you COULD support a team (maybe of low standard) doesnt mean u should get a license tommorow, as they are places the AFL obviously thought, after a huge amount of research COULD support a team better in the medium-long term

Have to chuckle at your continual ignorance and well.... perseverance :)

Check this and maybe contact them for a few FACTS.

Hawthorn get $700,000 from stadium naming rights at York Park

http://www.sportspromedia.com/news/aurora_extend_stadium_naming_rights_deal_with_hawthorn/

One would imagine that a Tasmanian team, with more games at the stadium would get more money for naming rights.

http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2010/11/16/186341_tasmania-news.html

Hawthorn get over a million from the gate for their four games a year at York Park.

I'm led to believe Hawthorn have "pourage rights" on game days at Aurora also. In that respect the deal is constructed somewhat like Geelong's arrangement at Skilled Stadium.

Ive no doubt that Tasmania could get the main sponsors, but would it get the tertiary and seconday sponsors if they were say subject to the same criteria as Gold Coast and GWS.

As GWS and Gold Coast are also showing - massive membership and crowds is not the be all and end all, and crowd averages are second to tv audiences when establishing new teams.

If Tasmania could meet the sponsorship criteria - which is more than say Mars and Tasmania - then theres no reason they couldnt get a team in the near future. If I was the Tasmanian goivernment Id be severely considering our options at the end of the current hawthorn deal.

Tasmania