Tasmania

If i were AD for a day I would transform tasmania into a western bulldogs and North Melbourne home away from home. Both these clubs could really use the extra support and finances it gaurentees, and tasmania really wants more football. Set up rivalries and stuff and it really helps out the two of the smallest clubs in the AFL. Sorry to Hawthorn, just think others need the money and support more. A few home games a year there each, upgrade the stadiums (if there not already planning on doing so, and the demand is there) including a north V south tasmania derby or something.

Just a thought, sadly i dont think it will even happen as Hawthorn is entrenched there and made many loyal supporters

tasmania should of happened already stupid da-meat-tray
either gold coast or GWS will fail bad - financial crap hole

Tasmanian doesn't need to be in it for it to be a national league.

Yemen wasnt in the world cup.. guess we cant call it the world cup?

Yes they were. They were in WC qualifying because you couldn't have a tournament with 100 countries as it would take all year!!

Tasmania should be in the league because as a footy state they deserve to be. The contribution Tasmanian footballers and supporters have made to the game over the years is probably second to Vic and close to being on par with WA.

tasmania should of happened already stupid da-meat-tray
either gold coast or GWS will fail bad - financial crap hole

Fail like the claimant clubs in Melbourne surviving on AFL handouts, & they can be called anything BUT they are just handouts.

We havent seen anything compared to the handouts that will be needed whren the pokies legislation hits the bottom line of clubs that chase the dollars from the purses of pensioners ... financial crap hole .... few clubs can write off $8mil like Collingwood on this sort of venture .... financial crap hole.

If i were AD for a day I would transform tasmania into a western bulldogs and North Melbourne home away from home. Both these clubs could really use the extra support and finances it gaurentees, and tasmania really wants more football. Sorry to Hawthorn, just think others need the money and support more.

Lulz.

This after or before you say TAS wont be financialy viable :D

Yeah I particularly took note of your guaranteeing of finance and support regarding TAS. All through this thread your argument has been TAS have no support or money. Funny stuff.

Sigh, my argument has been Tasmania cant support its own decent/competitive team, Doesnt mean North and Bulldogs cant have their 2nd home there. And yes we all know the support is there, its just not that high and its not really growing, so... dont see whats all that funny

Huh?

Makes little, actually no sense. Completely wrong and contradicts your whole argument.

Yes it does if your only interest is for football in Victoria. Its ok for two Victorian teams to suck money out this state, but no we couldnt possibly support our own team.
Its pointless discussing the subject with BF people who have that sort of bigoted, ignorant, blinkered & anti anyone but Victoria attitude.

Yes it does if your only interest is for football in Victoria. Its ok for two Victorian teams to suck money out this state, but no we couldnt possibly support our own team.
Its pointless discussing the subject with BF people who have that sort of bigoted, ignorant, blinkered & anti anyone but Victoria attitude.

Well said, 100%.

some see nothing wrong with bludging (in its truest form), bludging on others for money to support a footy habit & for player numbers of sufficient talent to support clubs that do very little to nurture local talent ... its the same group you've fingered madmug:
BF people who have that sort of bigoted, ignorant, blinkered & anti anyone but Victoria attitude

I have little interest in Victoria, and I'd like to see Tassie have a team for the romance of it, so I like to think my view is pretty neutral. And the way I see it, the financial reasons for not expanding to Tasmania are clear for all to see. Starting a new Tasmanian franchise simply wouldn't produce any great financial gain in the long-term as most footy-supporting Tasmanians already watch footy on TV and contribute to ratings (and that's where the big money lies), and it wouldn't improve player development (Tassie is already performing at just about maximum output in that regard).

Tassie's best chance of getting a side is the relocation of a Victorian club, and having an appreciation of South Melbourne's history, I wouldn't wish that on any club unless it was their absolute only chance of survival.

I have little interest in Victoria,

Tassie's best chance of getting a side is the relocation of a Victorian club, and having an appreciation of South Melbourne's history, I wouldn't wish that on any club unless it was their absolute only chance of survival.

WHY would have to put up with having a weak Victorian club dumped on us that couldnt cut it in the AFL. That team should go back to the VFL surely. We dont want a club that has no history or affiliation with Tasmania.
Once again its all about Victorian teams.
Its supposed to be a national competition. Not a competition for ex Victorian teams that had to move out of Melbourne.
If its good enough for the heartland of Australian rules football in Western Sydney & on the Gold coast :)eek:) to have their own teams represent them, then why should Tasmania have to cop some busted arse Victorian club being dumped on us?

WHY would have to put up with having a weak Victorian club dumped on us that couldnt cut it in the AFL. That team should go back to the VFL surely. We dont want a club that has no history or affiliation with Tasmania.
Once again its all about Victorian teams.
Its supposed to be a national competition. Not a competition for ex Victorian teams that had to move out of Melbourne.
If its good enough for the heartland of Australian rules football in Western Sydney & on the Gold coast :)eek:) to have their own teams represent them, then why should Tasmania have to cop some busted arse Victorian club being dumped on us?

A completely new team wouldnt have any history with Tasmania either? and if they move to Tasmania then they do have an affiliation with Tasmania.

Logistically moving a premade team rather than making a whole new one is 100x easier, plus it already comes with sponsers and support which makes it even better than making a new one (plus the players). So it would be in Tasmania's interest to get a moved club rather than a new club

A completely new team wouldnt have any history with Tasmania either? and if they move to Tasmania then they do have an affiliation with Tasmania.

Logistically moving a premade team rather than making a whole new one is 100x easier, plus it already comes with sponsers and support which makes it even better than making a new one (plus the players). So it would be in Tasmania's interest to get a moved club rather than a new club

Yeah, West Coast and Adelaide sure did struggle to get support:rolleyes:

Nobody wants shitty Victorian clubs that belong in the VFL.

Yeah, West Coast and Adelaide sure did struggle to get support:rolleyes:

Nobody wants shitty Victorian clubs that belong in the VFL.

How about make a new Tasmanian team, then merge it with north melbourne? far far easier than a Tassy team from scratch, and as stated before comes with supports and sponsers and a board ect ect. Or would Tasmania's hate it unless it was completely new

Or piss off North Melbourne (in this example) to the VFL, where it will remain as the North Melbourne football club.

Give Tasmania the license and they will almost certainly pick up several North Melbourne players.
A Tasmanian teams has no need for North melbourne supporters and sponsers and a board.

Or piss off North Melbourne (in this example) to the VFL, where it will remain as the North Melbourne football club.

Give Tasmania the license and they will almost certainly pick up several North Melbourne players.
A Tasmanian teams has no need for North melbourne supporters and sponsers and a board.

On the contrary.... i think they would have a desperate need for sponsers, and more supporters to make them decent sized

They wouldn't be a Tasmanian team then.
They would be a North Melbourne pretending to be a Tasmanian team which will be bad for both groups of supporters.

A Tasmanian team would have the support of an entire state and would get 20,000+ per game.
It would need no more money than North or Footscray do.

They wouldn't be a Tasmanian team then.
They would be a North Melbourne pretending to be a Tasmanian team which will be bad for both groups of supporters.

A Tasmanian team would have the support of an entire state and would get 20,000+ per game.
It would need no more money than North or Footscray do.

The RECORD tasmanian AFL crowd is just below 21k.

North Melbourne average 28k.

It would obviouslly need far more money than north as footscray, for that reason plus they would get way less from sponsership deals (obviously) which is the key.

The GROUNDS ARE SMALLER.

28k at Etihad is not a better result than getting 20k at Aurora stadium, given that one is only slightly more than half full and the other is full.

And lets not forget that the only other place I can recall hosting AFL games was North Hobart Oval, capacity 18000. The most recent games hosted there were a disaster (Fitzroy home games in 91 and 92).

When both teams are neutral.
Doesn't mean shit.

The North average against non-Victorian games this year was 19k.
Ergo the extra 9k were opposition supporters.

A Tasmanian team could easily get as much sponsorship as Footscray (as the Mars offer showed) and would have a much better stadium deal.

You simply have no understanding of Afl finances. At etihad you need 29k supporters to break-even.

Because the govt own the ground in launceston they make over 400k on a 20k crowd. The kangaroos made 95k last year total out of all their games at etihad. So in simple terms a tassie team is 4 to 5 mill in front on gate takings to start with. Yes sponsorship would be harder, but kangaroo sponsors will not follow them to tassie if they relocate there full time any more than they would sponsor a Tasmanian team. There is no difference in value to a sponsor.

You ignorance of how things are in Tasmania is shown by your wanting to create a rivalry between the north and the south. They don't need a rivalry they have a hatred for each other that is beyond and Carlton v collingwood type hatred. They need 1 team and 1 team only. It needs to be a Tasmanian team and must not under any circumstances be a relocated team if you want tasmanians to support it.

They have every right to an AFL team and deserved one before GWS.

They support Hawthorn but they do not and will not give them their heart and sole. That will only happen when they get a team of their own. And an AFL team can survive in a place like tassie if you give them a team of their own.

Most tasmanians support an afl team now. If you relocate the kangaroos their and call them the kangaroos the tasmanians will go on supporting their original team and the kangas would probably become their second team.

Tasmania is not being done any great favors by the current situation, Victorian teams are the only ones benefiting from this arrangement.

The GROUNDS ARE SMALLER.

28k at Etihad is not a better result than getting 20k at Aurora stadium, given that one is only slightly more than half full and the other is full.

And lets not forget that the only other place I can recall hosting AFL games was North Hobart Oval, capacity 18000. The most recent games hosted there were a disaster (Fitzroy home games in 91 and 92).

The same point applies, Tassy would get smaller crowds than North so it feels folish not to try and grab some victorian supporters as Tasmania's population is going backwards relative to everywhere else in australia, which relates back to the whole point of the argument. Financially Tasmania doesnt work, but nearly every AFL fan would want a tassy team (or at least be neutrel to it).

As i've stated earlier, the most likely chance for Tassy to ever get a team is open the immigration gates and start pooring new australians in, need a stronger economy and bigger population. I dont know if this is possible in Tasmania (is there the space? infastructure?) but it seems the only hope of Tassy getting a team. No victorian team is gonna relocate down there for financial reasons, as it will put them in an even worse position long term.

The same point applies, Tassy would get smaller crowds than North so it feels folish not to try and grab some victorian supporters as Tasmania's population is going backwards relative to everywhere else in australia, which relates back to the whole point of the argument. Financially Tasmania doesnt work, but nearly every AFL fan would want a tassy team (or at least be neutrel to it).

As i've stated earlier, the most likely chance for Tassy to ever get a team is open the immigration gates and start pooring new australians in, need a stronger economy and bigger population. I dont know if this is possible in Tasmania (is there the space? infastructure?) but it seems the only hope of Tassy getting a team. No victorian team is gonna relocate down there for financial reasons, as it will put them in an even worse position long term.

They will make more money from their crowds though.

There are two points here that are just wrong.

Firstly for a club it is not the size of the crowd, but the return that they receive. Tasmanian returns are far better than most.

Secondly the ABS latest data shows tasmanias population at 510,160. Melbournes is just under 4,000,000. And you are telling us that 4 mill can support 10 teams and 510k can't support 1.

The simple facts are that 10 teams can't be supported in Melbourne and many of the teams need handouts. Yet you think that if a Tasmanian team cant stand on it's own two feet then we can't have one.

Well then let's just shut the doors at Brisbane, GC, Swans, GWS, Port, Melbourne, Kangaroos, Bulldogs...... have I missed any.

Tasmania deserves a team.
Not a relocated team.
Not half a team.
Not a northern teamand a southern team.
Just 1 team that is their own that they can give their heart and sole to.

Tasmania