Expansion Tasmanian AFL team bid website: tassiefootyteam.com.au

Footy in Tassie is dead as an AFL breeding ground and has been for a long time.. FFS their Tassie Devils side in the VFL with the whole state to recruit from are getting their arses kicked.

Stupid statements. Really stupid.

Care to base this on any logic other than one VFL match?

Footy in Tassie is dead as an AFL breeding ground and has been for a long time.. FFS their Tassie Devils side in the VFL with the whole state to recruit from are getting their arses kicked.

Last sat at York Park in the curtain raiser

Sandringham 3.6.24 10.12.72 18.14.122 31.17.203

Tasmania 4.4.28 4.6.30 5.9.39 7.9.51

Goals

Sandringham Sautner 10 Holland 4 Poyas 3 Dunn Johnson Maric Waller Yze 2 Gilchrist Meesen Spencer Tregear

Tasmania Shackleton 4 Bongetti 2 Smith

The AFL should pump some money into Tasmania. Join the two local leagues together in Tasmania.

Rid of the Tasmanian VFL team, and I suggest a team join the SANFL along with the NT team(may sound bizzare, but its a stronger competition).

Atleast that way Tasmanians will have a local league that is united and will have a state team that will compete with the second best.

Last sat at York Park in the curtain raiser

Sandringham 3.6.24 10.12.72 18.14.122 31.17.203

Tasmania 4.4.28 4.6.30 5.9.39 7.9.51

Goals

Sandringham Sautner 10 Holland 4 Poyas 3 Dunn Johnson Maric Waller Yze 2 Gilchrist Meesen Spencer Tregear

Tasmania Shackleton 4 Bongetti 2 Smith

There's more to it than that...

For a start, the team has been centralised. Unlike any other state flagship team, though, they don't play in the million dollar professional AFL - they play as part-timers in the VFL. This year, two of last year's most important players opted to play in their local league instead because they didn't want to travel 200km to training, and couldn't get work in Hobart that made a move worth it. But unlike the cricket side, or a pro AFL side, there's no money and no avenue to make a non-Hobart player pack up and move south, unless he arranges work himself. No AFL player has to worry about such things, so the notion that this team has the whole of the state to draw from is wrong.

Also, AFL Tasmania has declared that this team's function is to provide a strong platform for AFL drafting from Tasmania, all part of a larger plan involving a new Statewide League. The arguments for and against are numerous, but show me any other state flagship side who is there for others to pick the bones of, as proudly stated by the head of its controlling body? Imagine the Eagles or Crows happily watching their players head off to other sides (we won't count Freo in this scenario, they've done it for years!)...

The scoreline is embarrassing, but the basically teenage Devils played the team that's been the VFL's best in the last decade, regardless of the current ladder position...Sautner has been an embarassment to many opposition sides all by himself over the years, and he's the all-time leading goalscorer against Tassie by a mile...

Heres another KingsCrow grand idea.

May sound insane. But perhaps the Tassie government should bid for an NRL team? Maybe even an A league team?

The AFL wouldn't allow it, and would be almost forced to set up an AFL team. The AFL team almost at once would gain all the sponsership and the NRL or A league bid would be quashed.

Heres another KingsCrow grand idea.

May sound insane. But perhaps the Tassie government should bid for an NRL team? Maybe even an A league team?

The AFL wouldn't allow it, and would be almost forced to set up an AFL team. The AFL team almost at once would gain all the sponsership and the NRL or A league bid would be quashed.

An A-League team might have legs. Cheaper to set-up, cheaper to run, and seemingly in a growing market.

Some wags, including myself, have been spruiking the idea semi tongue-in-cheek, on The Muercury's blog pages whenever we read about Tassie being kicked in the balls, which is frequently, by Vlad and the Gestapo at Mainland Football League HQ.

If you read the on-line Mockery, get on the bandwagon! :thumbsu:

An A-League team might have legs. Cheaper to set-up, cheaper to run, and seemingly in a growing market.

Some wags, including myself, have been spruiking the idea semi tongue-in-cheek, on The Muercury's blog pages whenever we read about Tassie being kicked in the balls, which is frequently, by Vlad and the Gestapo at Mainland Football League HQ.

If you read the on-line Mockery, get on the bandwagon! :thumbsu:

lol Maybe someone should tell them (The Mercury) to start hitting their head against a Soccer ball instead of a brickwall, it might be more constructive

Is it any more difficult than offering a price and
somebody accepting ?
I don't think so .

Well then you are wrong.

The shares are valueless and the AFL offered the current shareholders $3 million for the shares. Which they knocked back. Truth is, the majority of shareholders in the NMFC are not in it for the money. You could buy some of them out, but you will not acquire control of the club in this manner, which is what the original comment was about.

It amazes me that you are so sure of Tasmania's 'incapacity' to generate income, and yet the ANZ's Chief Economist Saul Eastlake says that it's viable. Geez. Who to believe? :confused:

I believe Tassie wins on the viability argument, but fails on the more argument strategic importance argument. A Tassie team will not add sufficient strategic value to the AFL and its future direction and therefore the reward for significant investment and risk is negligible.

A support the idea as a pretty good one because it unites Taswegians behind a common cause and builds some state pride. However, its doomed to failre on the criteria of strategic value.

I believe Tassie wins on the viability argument, but fails on the more argument strategic importance argument. A Tassie team will not add sufficient strategic value to the AFL and its future direction and therefore the reward for significant investment and risk is negligible.

A support the idea as a pretty good one because it unites Taswegians behind a common cause and builds some state pride. However, its doomed to failre on the criteria of strategic value.

If you put strategic value at the top of your list you're obviously not a sports fan .First and foremost viability .
You don't realise that the AFL risks nothing in Tasmania .
Tasmanians would have to pay a licence .
Tasmanians would have to take the risk .
Tasmanians would reap the reward .

;)

Haven't had many updates on how the submission to the AFL is going as yet. So far I've heard rumours that Cadbury could be the major sponsor, and today the government released results of a survey showing that 48% of Tasmanians would support a bid to have a Tasmanian team, 23% said they would consider buying a membership. Better numbers than I would have expected. See the full survey results below.

Link

Vic Premier supports Tassie’s AFL bid

By Matt Burgan 4:05 PM Mon 30 June, 2008

Brumby_246.jpg

VICTORIAN premier John Brumby has thrown his support behind a Tasmanian club entering the AFL.
Brumby, speaking at the launch of the International Rules series at the MCG on Monday, said he was aware Tasmania, led by Labor Senator Kerry O'Brien, was taking the Apple Isle's case to Canberra, where the island state is pushing for a senate inquiry.
"Tasmania has been a great supporter of AFL and I think it'd be great if there was a possibility of a Tasmanian AFL team," Brumby said.
"But there is always a lot of work that needs to be done in relation to these matters.
"The senate inquiry might examine some of those issues, but I certainly know that there have been plenty of people who have spoken to me over the last few months that they are keen to see this occur and put in a good word to the AFL, so I've just done that."
AFL football operations manager Adrian Anderson said the AFL was aware of Tasmania's latest bid to join the national competition.
"Tasmania, as we all know has been a fantastic heartland of football for more than 100 years and it's a vital part of the support base of the AFL competition," Anderson said.
"I understand that they are putting together a proposal for a participation of a team in the Australian Football League for some time in the future and we certainly welcome that and I understand it's gathering some momentum."

Link

No growth.......

I have heard this before....when the Eagles were going to be formed. The "true" VFL'ers thought nothing would come of it.

As far as I am concerned....If you brand yourself Australian Football League...make it so.
As far as growth yadda yadda yadda....... If they perform well, win a penant stuff like that. Crowds will flock.
Excuses as Bass straight, its a tiny set of water.....about a quarter the distance of Melbourne - Perth.
Everybody has become so american money grabbing based. Sport is the buisness, and with succes comes money. You can have a market of 7 million...but if your teams lacks the spirit, commitment and passion no one will pay there hard earned money. Only the die hards who love the club come what may.......but the more you franchise the sport...the more you alianate even these hard core fans.
Imagin Manchester United being sold to East London...hahaha. it would be a revolution.

As far as I see it, Tasmania state has a right to the AFL, as does any state with at least one team. The rest of the slots are up for grabs.....
Its called AFL....then make it Australian.

Hell form a second division. Take all the states and their leauges. The number 1's go to a second division AFL, the following year the state champions have a play-off to see who goes to division 1......the wooden spooner religates, the champ goes up to the AFL, the wooden spooner religates. Then you will get the buisness end of things up. There is a goal to achieve for the clubs. If you want growth you have to create it....How can AFL say Tassie is a small market when they have the smallest market of all.

If even Holland can have a second division with 14 million, and still create great international soccerplayers. But it goes further, they have 3 semi-pro divisions, 6 top amature divisions, and 7 lower amature divisions. In essence....if the wooden spooner of the lowest league in division 7 becomes champion 10 years in a row...will be in the top division. Along the way they would become more buisness like, professionilise, organize better and so on.
But you have to make it of interest for the club at the lower end. Regional markets will sponsor and so on. Looking at America as a standard is not on....they work and work and work...they dont sport because if they get injured they cant work. They have thier sport done for them.

But I digress......

Tasmania in the AFL...YES!!!!

Just reading the results of the Herald Sun football survey, and 81% of fans polled wanted a Tasmanian team ahead of a 2nd Sydney team.

Listen to the fans Vlad. Ignore them at your own peril.

Just reading the results of the Herald Sun football survey, and 81% of fans polled wanted a Tasmanian team ahead of a 2nd Sydney team.

Listen to the fans Vlad. Ignore them at your own peril.

81% of a bunch of people that won't be contributing jack shit to either team. Yep, that's who Vlad should be listening to. That's certainly what they teach you when you do an MBA.

It's merely another example Rob.

Feel free to post on here any survey that shows 81% would prefer a team in West Sydney over Tasmania though.

99% of fans polled wanted the Swans to blitz the Maggies as it would be good
for football and they hate Collingwood . It didn't happen .
Vlad should have made it happen !!!!

It's merely another example Rob.

Feel free to post on here any survey that shows 81% would prefer a team in West Sydney over Tasmania though.

And why should such a decision be made paying any attention to such surveys? It's like BHP asking the public where their next mine should be. The public, with all due respect, wouldn't ____ing know. They don't even have anything riding on it.

Irrespective of your own personal views on which area should get a team first, don't you think such decisions should be based on rational thought processes, and not the opinion of a bunch of people that don't matter?

Expansion Tasmanian AFL team bid website: tassiefootyteam.com.au