• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Tasmanian Football League - Name A Player

Yes, Smith would be one of the best full forwards of his era. Not sure that he played all of his career with North Hobart in that position.

After that played with Beaconsfield (Tamar F Assn), and then made important contribution to Launceston's side which won the 1976 NTFA flag. That year (incl. finals and rep games) he kicked over 100 goals.

Stoward's "Football in Tasmania" has R Smith kicking 100 for Channel in 1983. Presume that too is Bob.

Dunno if it was him as it was before my time at Channel, but I can find out.

The only other R. Smith that could have been playing around that time was Roger "Fred" Smith, but he was a pygmy sized footballer so can't see him kicking 100 goals!

Bob has done a very good job down Channel, pretty much turned the club around socially and financially. Fresh paint around the clubrooms and changerooms, new carpet in the clubrooms, Negotiated a new long term major sponsor in Tassal, and a good sprinkling of several other new minor sponsors, installed two new heat pumps inside the clubrooms, re installed the flag pennants, photos, trophies and other memorabilia that have been accumulated over the years but had been in storage for a few years, new gameday jumpers for all three grades, organising live band functions that have been very well attended.

This is all despite him jumping on board a few weeks before the start of the season when the club had no senior coach and only about 15 players, mostly colts doing pre season and looked like folding at one stage!

Wouldn't be surprised if things turn around in the next few years, it won't happen this year of course :rolleyes: but hey, there is only one way to go from rock bottom, that is upwards.

I'll take a punt on a northern reader, does this jog the memory banks?

From Pre NTFA two division days, when it was called Northern Amateurs, back in 1996

Old Launcestonians - Rod Dickens, Michael Manson, Justin Rigby, James Proverbs, Michael and David Bennett, Colin Foon, Alistair Waterhouse.

Old Scotch - Rob Dixon, Nick Duigan (yes, the hook line and sinker felcher) Angus Kidd, Jason Samec.

St Pats - David Drysdale, Glenn Doherty, Matthew Young.

Northern Districts - the team that no one wanted to play! Peter Franklin, Jamie Atto, Someone Bielski - his son Allen plays for the current bunch of Devils. Bernie Fraser.

Rocherlea - Craig Webb, Jason Cadman, Tony Brand, Paul Digney.

Tamar Cats - Junior Tahiri, Andrew Mitchell, Danny Peet.

That will do for now.

I think Billy Dunne played for Sandy Bay not North, and also had a run at DOSA (?) - no idea where he is now.

Billy Dunne played for Glenorchy I thought but rr yes maybe Sandy Bay as well! Very good hard at it type from the great Glenorchy teams of the 80's.

the_insider said:
Re: Ricky Hanlon: "Ran around with North Hobart as well in the mid 90's I think...?"
Yes, coached them in 1995-1996. Down the bottom half of the ladder both years, had no decent cattle to work with and the club was broke or pretty close to it.
Duff - Re: Billy Dunne: Correct! Played for the Pies. I seem to remember he was down the Bay as well there for a bit.

Ok, another name to toss into the ring, not sure of this one has come up yet, big Rene Peters.
Burly ruckman for New Norfolk who was recruited from the Geelong Football League and won the William Leitch Medal in '93 or '94.

From Pre NTFA two division days, when it was called Northern Amateurs, back in 1996

Old Launcestonians - Rod Dickens, Michael Manson, Justin Rigby, James Proverbs, Michael and David Bennett, Colin Foon, Alistair Waterhouse.

Old Scotch - Rob Dixon, Nick Duigan (yes, the hook line and sinker felcher) Angus Kidd, Jason Samec.

Northern Districts - the team that no one wanted to play! Peter Franklin, Jamie Atto, Someone Bielski - his son Allen plays for the current bunch of Devils. Bernie Fraser.

That will do for now.
I reckon but could be wrong would that be jason samec that played with hutchins very good player

mate how good is this thread:thumbsu: I will throw a few names out there Rudy Gilliam Scott Lamont David Pierce Kyle Wilson

Peter Hudson kicked 18 goals up the TCA one day. On World of Sport the next day Adrian Bowden (ex Clarence premiership player) gave Danny Ling the 3 votes saying well someone had to kick it to him. Huddo got two votes.
:)

The panel just cracked up and I reckon everyone watching did too! It still makes me laugh reminiscing about it.

I think Billy Dunne played for Sandy Bay not North, and also had a run at DOSA (?) - no idea where he is now.

Billy Dunne played for Glenorchy I thought but rr yes maybe Sandy Bay as well! Very good hard at it type from the great Glenorchy teams of the 80's.

Dunne also played at least one year for a club in NW Tas. Not sure which one.
He was in the Greater Northern League rep team which beat VFA at Devonport in June 1981.

That will do for now.

OLs - Colin Foon also played a few games for Scottsdale in the original NTFA.

Nthn Dist. - Peter Franklin played with Karoola in Tamar Assn.

Tamar Cats - Danny Peet played with Hillwood in Tamar Assn during early 80s when that club was re-started after few years in limbo.

OLs - Colin Foon also played a few games for Scottsdale in the original NTFA.

Nthn Dist. - Peter Franklin played with Karoola in Tamar Assn.

Tamar Cats - Danny Peet played with Hillwood in Tamar Assn during early 80s when that club was re-started after few years in limbo.

Fair dinkum I tried to get the A>Z of Tasmanian footballers thread happening and everyone bagged it.

No matter what your ability, the moment you set foot across that line you are a super star in my eyes. Here's one.

Jason Broughton - Country full Forward goal kicking machine.

Fair dinkum I tried to get the A>Z of Tasmanian footballers thread happening and everyone bagged it.

No matter what your ability, the moment you set foot across that line you are a super star in my eyes. Here's one.

Jason Broughton - Country full Forward goal kicking machine.

Bit overrated, might have been a good full forward in the Tasman league but when he went up to Woodsdale in the ODFA, didn't do much for all the expectations they had for him up there.

Peter Hudson kicked 18 goals up the TCA one day. On World of Sport the next day Adrian Bowden (ex Clarence premiership player) gave Danny Ling the 3 votes saying well someone had to kick it to him. Huddo got two votes.
:)

The panel just cracked up and I reckon everyone watching did too! It still makes me laugh reminiscing about it.
That was the all-time TANFL/TFL record that one, 18.2 in 1979.
I was there at that match, perched up in the old Western (Powell-Pascoe-Payne) Stand with my nan and great grandma, I was a bit young to remember it though.
The two players Hudson had on him that day were Peter Gray and I'm pretty sure the other was a very young Wayne Petterd.
Club legend was that apparently Gray had 12 kicked on him then rolled his ankle (all the oldies stirred the piss out of him for years after about taking the soft option LOL) and poor old Pedro couldn't stop him either.
Hobart were a young inexperienced side in 1979 under Mal Pascoe, they had a big clearout of players from their various finals sides of 1972-1977 - and only won the one match that year. Makes the achievements of 1980 even more incredible.
The Pies were a juggernaut that only lost twice all season, both to Clarence at Bellerive before that fateful grand final classic on September.
Hudson booted 179 goals for the season - 57 in 4 games against Hobart alone!
He retired after that Grand Final, only to come back and destroy Hobart again two years later in the 1981 1st Semi Final.
Hadn't played all season, the Pies were the underdogs in that first semi, Hudson was named on the bench in a shock selection.
Hobart were on top early, Hudson sat on the bench for the first quarter, went to full forward at the start of the second quarter and kicked 14 goals for the match!
Needless to say the Pies won, not by much either, but were bundled out in the Prelim Final the following week.
I can still remember that #26 in the Black & White hunched over the football kicking flat punt goals to the Argyle Street Stand end during that match.
What a player! :thumbsu:

How about Kain Moore - Former clarence underage legend, reserves legend, tehen transferred to Richmond where he graced the pine on numerous occasions... Kicked 9 at clarence high against geilston bay 1 day also.....

Then he discovered alcohol

anybody know of a bloke called matty cocker who played tfl with launceston in the statewide league....little forward pocket kicked 7 against somebody one day down at north hobart.....?? just seem to disappear...

handy cricketer for trevallyn also now.
looks asif he has been in a good paddock.

had a day out that day, only played about 10 senior games.

How about the Newton family at Sandy Bay. Bob Snr a very good footballer from all accounts (in the same era as Michael Elliott, Murray Steele, Graeme Mackey, Michael Seddon etc), Robert was very serviceable at TFL level, and Adam was too, when he could/can keep his cool (noticed he is still playing the odd game for Hutchins 2's). Adam coached our under 13 side in 1996, along with Craig Roberts, there were several occasions where they turned up very close to game time, if not a few minutes into the first quarter, depending on what time our game was... I think Fred might have played a bit too, ,mainly at Kingston I think.

I also remember the mid 90's going to Kingston games, with Gordon Shaw, Clagga Hoyer, Peter Crowe, Scott Wade, and even Jock McGregor etc tearing it up.

How about Kain Moore - Former clarence underage legend, reserves legend, tehen transferred to Richmond where he graced the pine on numerous occasions... Kicked 9 at clarence high against geilston bay 1 day also.....

Then he discovered alcohol

Also a punishing right hand batsman and fast left arm bowler with New Town.

Excellent keeper as well.

Destined for bigger things!

Adam Newton I think you'll find was Captain of Kingston at a young age, roughly 22, then went to Southern Districts, then when the Cats folded went to arch rival Channel as he wasn't welcome back at Kingston as he'd been engaging in some Wayne Carey-like behaviour with then and still to this day Kingston President Rod Herweynen's Wife!

Jeez Barge, you sure do know how to stir the pot up big time :eek:

Northerners - Does anyone know if Peter "Mo" Blazeley is still pulling the boots on?
Must have played at least 400 games if not more with Old Launcestonians and had a stint up Hillwood as well. Did pretty well for someone so slightly built.

he played more games than that i'm sure,he played back in the days of the raiders when they were getting flogged....
still in launnie i think?

actually found out...he played over 100 seniors games at launceston..still wielding the willow at trevallyn....and did play when chisnall was coach..could play but very lazy

I can remember he played a final for Channel against Kingston at Huonville, and he and Craig Roberts (best mates a couple of years earlier) came to blows at FF/FB. As a kid, I was quite shocked to see my 2 former coaches belting the living suitcase out of each other, but in hindsight it was a great moment.

I don't think he is the only bloke to get up to shenanigans around a football club, and I would probably watch the name dropping when it comes to those things big fella...

a few players i want to know what ever happened to are

Billy Dunne - Glenorchy, Nth Hobart (i think) and Subiaco

Jamie Grace - OHA

Darren Perry - North Hobart & Dosa (tagged him one day for Friends)

Scott Pursell - Claremont (i heard he share the canteen duties with one of the Grace boys)

and the hardest footballer there ever was or will be Goose McConnon

I read Perry is umpiring and helping the mid field at Sorell. He was a gun for North...I remember watching him play against my beloved magpies many times, use to slay us! Very strong, tough small man. He landed a few on Gourlay one day at KGV, could dish it out

Tasmanian Football League - Name A Player