Suspended
Jul 3, 2007
Tasmania
All Football teams
Accountability

Also true to form, the incompetent nincompoops at AFL Tas still have Mr D. Cresswell listed as State Head Coach!!![/quote]

I was just hearing on ABC TV an interview with a guy going on about how Corporate Australia is incredibly unaccountable.

Its also the same culture in the public service and the culture in any organization where the thinking is often "our jobs are safe, lets just look as though we are doing some work and as long as we don't upset the boss all will be alright".:thumbsu:

So when it comes to AFL TAS this is what is going on. Sure some work hard and then some don't.

The shareholders (footy public)have limited say so really what goes on is par for the course don't you think.

G'day Duff, I am going to get hold of the AFL Tas Constitution and once I do, I'll scan and send to you. Hopefully in the next couple of weeks. We'll see what it says.

Why'd they close down the other thread for? I was hoping we'd get it to 10,000 posts!
Oh and this is Part 3 three actually, the first one got badly stuffed up when Bigfooty crashed a couple of years ago ;)

Steele by name and nature
BRETT STUBBS
November 17, 2008 09:31am
"AS good as any Tasmanian footballer not to play in the AFL" is how Roger Steele was described Tasmanian State-of-Origin coach Robert Shaw.
Steele, winner of the 1969 and 1970 William Leitch Medals, died on Saturday morning aged 63 after complaining of chest pain the previous night.
"They talk about players who never went to the mainland, it is really hard for me to find someone that was as good as him," said Shaw, who played with Steele in 1971 and 1972 at Sandy Bay.
"All through the 1960s he was my idol as a player because in Tassie then, kids didn't have the TV and the scale of AFL football as it is today, kids growing up had their VFL idols, and he was mine.
"I just thought he was a sensational player and really good to me when I came to Sandy Bay. He was a very humble person, very quietly spoken, but just an unbelievable player."
Steele played 178 games for the Bay, including three flags.
Premiership teammate Graeme Mackey said he won five Sandy Bay best and fairests and got sick of collecting the prize; a Gladstone bag.
"He was a very skilful player. For his height, he was a very, very good mark, and a magnificent kick," Mackey said.
Former teammate Michael Elliott said the centreman stood out in all conditions.
"He was extremely skilled in the wet, and revelled in the muddy centre at Queenborough Oval," Elliott said.
Shaw said Steele was the complete package.
"I remember his toughness against really tough sides, North Hobart, New Norfolk and Clarence," Shaw said.
"He played in the Tassie team that beat Western Australia at North Hobart [in 1970].
"You had the names of [Darrel] Baldock and [John] Bingley and these sort of big names, but Roger Steele in the centre was just unbelievable."
http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2008/11/17/38821_sport.html

Tasmania’s bid for a state-based AFL team is gathering steam and I really do ‘believe’ that the state is ready to take on the football world.

All us Victorians joke and laugh about Tasmanians but in all seriousness what most football lovers in Victoria want is a truly national competition with a Tasmanian team the next to be included, surely the AFL needs to stand up and take notice of what not just the state of Tasmania wants but also what the general football fan wants, a Tasmanian based AFL side rather then a western based Sydney team.

Tasmanian Sports Minister Michelle O’Byrne announced a couple of weeks ago that cabinet in Tasmania had approved a submission and would forward it to the AFL for consideration next month however, the AFL remains dedicated to awarding the two fresh licences to teams from the Gold Coast and western Sydney.

In last years finals series we saw 19,000 people turn up at a knockout final in western Sydney (Sydney vs. Kangaroos), at Aurora stadium the Hawks are pulling regular decent crowds, at the Hawthorn vs. Bulldogs game during the year (2008) there was a turnout of 19,378 at Aurora Stadium, how this does not do enough to convince the heavy hitters at the league of the potential in Tasmania only Andrew Demetriou and his party posse know, "We believe the Gold Coast and western Sydney provide us with great opportunities to grow our game and that's what we are focusing on going forward," Demetriou said but surely the numbers speak loud to him.

Major companies are already backing the move with chocolate bar ‘mars’ changing its name to ‘believe’ in a show of support that this can happen whilst also pledging $4 million to the cause.

Tasmania is a proud football state with a rich history that has produced some of the all-time greats of VFL/AFL football - legends like Darrell Baldock, Peter Hudson and a three time Brownlow medalist Ian Stewart and in more recent times triple premiership player Alastair Lynch and tigers superstar Matthew Richardson.

Tasmania has a high participation rate and with a state football team the development of these players would be huge as they have something to strive for.

It's time for Tasmania to have its own AFL team, It's not a truly national competition without a Tasmanian team.

from http://www.contestedfooty.com

Sounds like North Hobart could be losing another player...

Win News tonight reported that Brett Geappen is a certainty for the Clarence coaching job... Pretty logical I guess...

North can't really afford to lose many more players you would think?

Been thinking about the whole Tassie AFL team issue

Got a few points I want to get off my chest.

1) No one has explained how a team in Tasmania would be good for the AFL economically.
No one has made a business case showing why it would be a good idea for the AFL to put a team here.
No one has shown the AFL why expanding in Tasmania would be better in the long run than expanding in the massive Sydney market.

2) The AFL is a business. The case for a Tasmanian side is based mostly on sentiment. Those two things hardly ever mix.

3) All the advice the AFL is getting is "spread your wings", "find new markets and audiences", and "give Sydney and Brisbane some help with the heavy lifting". Tasmania fits one of those three categories. We are at saturation point as an audience, and we're not going to do much to help Sydney or Brisbane.

4) Saying Tasmania "deserves" a team isn't helpful. Showing the AFL we can run one, support one, and make it successful? Is. Sadly, that still probably won't get us a team.

5) Our state body has shown two things in the past decade:
It cannot effectively run a state league
It cannot effectively run a VFL team
What are the odds on running a multi-million dollar AFL side?
- - - - -

Look, I'd love to have an AFL team playing in Tassie every second week. I'd go along. I'd become a member. But unless there are some big changes in the AFL's priorities, then I can't see it happening.

Just had to get that off my chest! Can't wait to see the launch of the new state league and see who has signed where!

Been thinking about the whole Tassie AFL team issue

Got a few points I want to get off my chest.

1) No one has explained how a team in Tasmania would be good for the AFL economically.
No one has made a business case showing why it would be a good idea for the AFL to put a team here.
No one has shown the AFL why expanding in Tasmania would be better in the long run than expanding in the massive Sydney market.

2) The AFL is a business. The case for a Tasmanian side is based mostly on sentiment. Those two things hardly ever mix.

3) All the advice the AFL is getting is "spread your wings", "find new markets and audiences", and "give Sydney and Brisbane some help with the heavy lifting". Tasmania fits one of those three categories. We are at saturation point as an audience, and we're not going to do much to help Sydney or Brisbane.

4) Saying Tasmania "deserves" a team isn't helpful. Showing the AFL we can run one, support one, and make it successful? Is. Sadly, that still probably won't get us a team.

5) Our state body has shown two things in the past decade:
It cannot effectively run a state league
It cannot effectively run a VFL team
What are the odds on running a multi-million dollar AFL side?
- - - - -

Look, I'd love to have an AFL team playing in Tassie every second week. I'd go along. I'd become a member. But unless there are some big changes in the AFL's priorities, then I can't see it happening.

Just had to get that off my chest! Can't wait to see the launch of the new state league and see who has signed where!

I completely agree with everything said. I'd still be a Cats fan first and would struggle to buy a Tassie membership ahead of a Cats membership. That is why a Tassie side would struggle. Too many people would be forced to jump ship which would never happen.

Footy channel is a scam

.hmmessage P { margin:0px; padding:0px } body.hmmessage { font-size: 10pt; font-family:Verdana } Footy friends beware

The TFL footy Channel person is a scam & seeking money so if he/she emails you ignore the source.

He/she has just sent me an email requesting Western Union money transfer. They claim they are in the UK & will fix you up on the way back.

I have never met this person yet here are some emails sent to me only last night.

Person is a Jeremy Ware.

From: TFL Footy Channel [mailto:seriouslytfl@hotmail.com]
Sent: Friday, 12 December 2008 5:26 PM
To: dufftv@bigpond.net.au
Subject: HELLO..............VERY URGENT

G'day Duff,

Thanks very much i will be very happy if you can assist me as well,this is not virus really i lost my wallet right here in London ,meanwhile as soon as i get back home i will refund the money back to you as well,kindly send the money to me right here in London via western union money transfer,details below:

For the instruction on how you get the money to me,you just locate any western union outlet near and have the money send with this details below and once you have it sent,send me the money transfer control number (mtcn) with details of the transfer.

Here are the details below........

Name:Jeremy Ware
Address :31 Leicester Square,
Zipcode: WC2H 7LA.
State:London

Kindly let me know if you can be of help?

Cheers from the TFL Footy Channel.
YouTube contact: http://au.youtube.com/TFLFOOTYCHANNEL

.ExternalClass .EC_shape {;} .ExternalClass p.EC_MsoNormal, .ExternalClass li.EC_MsoNormal, .ExternalClass div.EC_MsoNormal {margin-bottom:.0001pt;font-size:12.0pt;font-family:'Times New Roman';} .ExternalClass a:link, .ExternalClass span.EC_MsoHyperlink {color:blue;text-decoration:underline;} .ExternalClass a:visited, .ExternalClass span.EC_MsoHyperlinkFollowed {color:blue;text-decoration:underline;} .ExternalClass p {margin-right:0cm;margin-left:0cm;font-size:12.0pt;font-family:'Times New Roman';} .ExternalClass p.EC_ecmsonormal, .ExternalClass li.EC_ecmsonormal, .ExternalClass div.EC_ecmsonormal {margin-right:0cm;margin-left:0cm;font-size:12.0pt;font-family:'Times New Roman';} .ExternalClass p.EC_ecmsonormal1, .ExternalClass li.EC_ecmsonormal1, .ExternalClass div.EC_ecmsonormal1 {margin-right:0cm;margin-bottom:0cm;margin-left:0cm;margin-bottom:.0001pt;font-size:12.0pt;font-family:'Times New Roman';} .ExternalClass span.EC_ecmsohyperlink1 {color:blue;text-decoration:underline;} .ExternalClass span.EC_ecmsohyperlinkfollowed1 {color:purple;text-decoration:underline;} .ExternalClass span.EC_ecemailstyle171 {font-family:Arial;color:windowtext;} .ExternalClass span.EC_EmailStyle26 {font-family:Arial;color:navy;} @page Section1 {size:612.0pt 792.0pt;} .ExternalClass div.EC_Section1 {page:Section1;} Duff's reply: How much do you need mate?

G'day Duff,

Thanks all i need right now to pay my hotel bills is (970GBP) as soon as i get back home i will refund your money back to you as well,kindly help me to wire the money via western union money transfer to this details below................

Here are the details below........

Name:Jeremy Ware
Address :31 Leicester Square,
Zipcode: WC2H 7LA.
State:London

As soon as you make the transfer kindly get back to me with the details you use to send the money such as .........

Senders Name?
Senders address?
MTCN# Control(10Digt)?

So that there will not be any mistake right at the western unoin office ,hope to read from you soon.

Cheers from the TFL Footy Channel.
YouTube contact: http://au.youtube.com/TFLFOOTYCHANNEL
MySpace contact: http://au.myspace.com/tflfootychannel
Email address: seriouslytfl@hotmail.com

To: seriouslytfl@hotmail.com
Subject: RE: HELLO..............VERY URGENT
Date: Fri, 12 Dec 2008 20:16:51 +1100

MySpace contact: http://au.myspace.com/tflfootychannel
Email address: seriouslytfl@hotmail.com

Hmmm thanks for the heads up there Duff! :thumbsu:

I always thought something didn't seem right there somewhere.
Might've been the time I got sent a PM and was addressed as Mad Ryan - who coincedently used to post of BF a few years ago, was residing in Melbourne and his old man used to play for the North Launceston Robins in the Statewide League.

It's one reason I never sent any tapes off to Launceston, one, because to get them all up there would cost a fortune in postage and I wasn't entirely sure I'd get them all back.

I would hope this is all a huge misunderstanding - if it's not - refer it to Chief for deliberation.

Hmmm thanks for the heads up there Duff! :thumbsu:

I always thought something didn't seem right there somewhere.
Might've been the time I got sent a PM and was addressed as Mad Ryan - who coincedently used to post of BF a few years ago, was residing in Melbourne and his old man used to play for the North Launceston Robins in the Statewide League.

It's one reason I never sent any tapes off to Launceston, one, because to get them all up there would cost a fortune in postage and I wasn't entirely sure I'd get them all back.

I would hope this is all a huge misunderstanding - if it's not - refer it to Chief for deliberation.
Looks like the Mods have sorted this one.

Happy Christmas to everyone on the Tassie footy thread and a great New year.:D

New Year's Resolution: To tolerate fools more gladly, provided this does not encourage them to take up more of my time.

:thumbsu: Same back to you Roorat, although I dO MiSs tAkInG tHe Pis$ oUt oF oUr OlD FrIeNd ZiPpYBuNnY!:rolleyes:

For those in the know, ZippyBunny has a facebook of his own in his real name, check it out.

Same to you Roorat and the rest of our readers and posters :thumbsu:
Have a great Christmas and a fabulous 2009!

My New Year's Resolution: Not to make New Year's Resolutions.

That's all very well and good Fish Boy, but the fact of the matter remains that nobody on this website actually KNOWS young Jeremy.

That is the problem. I'm sure you can see what I'm getting at here.

While Jeremy may be completely innocent, as you say, and it has all be indeed one complete misunderstanding, the posters on here aren't to know that and are being careful.

Honest question, are you saying that the info posted there by Duff is a complete fabrication?
Or that hackers took over his account and emailed that request of £970 to Duffy?
This would be why the moderators of Bigfooty would've looked seriously at it, because it is against the site's policy.
I can remember another prominent poster on this site from several years ago from Melbourne who was also banned from Bigfooty for trying to gain donations out of fellow Bigfooty posters in order to fund his grass roots football project, not to mention the absolute shitcanning he got from the general populace on here for attempting to do so.

In regard to Jeremy's account being locked, the account was closed by the moderators of this website.
They will be able to tell you the reasons (if they wish too) for the account being locked as they are privy to all of the information.

As for why I was reticent to send tapes away, if you read what I said earlier, you will note in part, that one of the biggest reasons is the cost of sending them away in the post, if he was down here it wouldn't have been a problem.

As far as it being a problem that someone is trying to start a channel on Youtube promoting match footage and cross promoting it here, I think it's really good and wish him well on his project :thumbsu:

However, this whole situation needs to be straightened out as you'd be aware.

Looks like Cressa has worn out his welcome in England..

Cresswell hunted down by Wolves
Michael Cowley | January 14, 2009
DARYN CRESSWELL, a member of the Swans' team of the century, will return to Sydney and pull on the boots to play this season. But the 37-year-old will not be back in the red and white. Instead, he will make his comeback for the Manly Warringah Wolves in division one of the Sydney AFL competition.
http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/cresswell-hunted-down-by-wolves/2009/01/13/1231608706954.html

Just goes to show how isolated Sydney is when it comes to footy. D Cresswell is a great story teller if nothing else.
West Sydney Job ha ha ha ha

Tasmanian Football Thread Part 2