Tasmanian Football Thread

Can anyone tell me how Adrian Partridge and Jason Anthony ex-East Devonport go? The boys have moved to Melbourne and are next year playing for Nilma Darnum in the Ellinbank League.

Brad McDonald is a great signing for devenport. Rated this kid highly last year. I reckon i no who the clarence player is aswell and he will be an awsome signing for devenport aswell.
you seem to have good contacts at clarence, how will they cover their player losses, eg Cooney Reed, Geappen, Riewoldt and co.

Can anyone tell me how Adrian Partridge and Jason Anthony ex-East Devonport go? The boys have moved to Melbourne and are next year playing for Nilma Darnum in the Ellinbank League.
Patridge used to be a gun but this year had a crook leg after breaking. both would be super players in a good team. great ability. Though patridge isnt all their upstairs!
anthony has been around a while, good footy smarts.

Ben Setchell will help for a start

Reserve's Captain Jared Watkins has put in a massive pre xmas fitness campaign and is looking as fit as Billy Brownless

No Chance. Disco signed up with Glenorchy a few weeks ago. Looks like Dave will finish his career at Glenorchy. Which is great news.

Tell me it's not true Barge. I heard Toddy Lewis is Ressie Coach up at Claremont.
i heard that both ben careless and kamaric are both going to clarmont with ben atkins

you seem to have good contacts at clarence, how will they cover their player losses, eg Cooney Reed, Geappen, Riewoldt and co.

Well we'll have Archer,Setchell,Paine and Triffet playing at clarence all year which will be a big help. We have our eyes on a couple more players aswell so we'll be more than fine.

Just wondering if anyone can give me an update on how Glenorchy will be looking in 2007. Being based in Melbourne there is not a lot of news about my former club I can get my hands on.

Were the best team all year, but failed to win G/F, should be top three again this year, as they have a lot of young players who will step up. They should make G/F again. in 2007

Well boys i can officially tell you jarrod Kleeman was seen at Triabunna training yesterday by a reliable source. Kleeman was looking in great shape wearing his leggins and Collingwood footy club pre season training polo and really looked like a professional footballer. Kleeman is rumoured to be on around $200 a game including petrol money to come from Hobart to training and back. What are peoples thoughts on kleeman would you like to see him at your club?

Same from me. Thanks Kingpin for all the info and scores all year, I've really enjoyed being involved and learnt more about state footy than any other time.
Merry Christmas and drive safe everyone

Noticed in yesterdays Mercury about Cresswell and the fact that he is a West Coaster,

"Meanwhile, the Devils will play a practice game at Cresswell's old stamping ground, the famous Queenstown gravel oval, on March 17 as part of a West Coast football extravaganza with the Queenstown Football Club.
The match, between the northern and southern squads, will be preceded by a legends game between The West Coast Miners led by Cresswell and including Alastair Lynch, and an Invitational All Stars side led by Cresswell's former Sydney teammate and captain, Brownlow medallist Paul Kelly."

Any ex Queenstowners have any more detail on his years down there? Hope they are going for knee and elbow protection, I still have scars from the Queenie gravel.

Also I have heard that Kingston is in some real trouble, apparently
they have lost De Goyer and Kline to North Hobart, Billy Lamprill and Pud
Darcy to Cygnet

You are correct in saying they have lost Kline but he wont be playing in the red and blue next year. Young Josh is on the move to sandgroper country for work.

A few things as I post what may be the final Pre-Christmas post on this thread:

1) Wingnut off to Central Districts, just like was GUARANTEED on here by everybody's favourite poster, The Bargester!

Knew about it well before it came out in the local reputable media! When I guarantee it will happen you can take it for gospel! My guarantees are Vince McMahon like! Just remember, I HAVE SOURCES!

2) To the New Norfolk guy on here who called their new Reserves Coach "Rick" Braslin.......

Is this part of his new, serious persona now he is a Father and a Coach?

He will always be Rikki Braslin - and a clown at that!

3) Do Kingston have a coach as yet? If not are there any whispers on who it might be taking on a, from all reports, depleted Tiger outfit next year?

This must really tug at your heart strings Kingpin?!

A Merry Christmas to those of you on here that I do like. You know who you are. There aren't many of you!

Oh and to you Wilbur35 too!

I'll be back in 2007, bigger and better than ever.

But I wouldn't be what I am without some important people ...........

MY VERY, VERY RELIABLE SOURCES!

well doe lads for all the goss especialy kigpin well done mate

go demons in 07 !! oh for a good season !!

merry xmas all tassie footy followers

Will KINGSTON Fold have a year off ?????? not looking good for the club

It isn't even the New Year yet though, they'd have a lot off doing cricket and whatever else I spose.
What are their numbers like at training at the moment?

They won't have as much of an armchair ride and get given everything now ol' 'Stickyfingers' Morrison isn't at the SFL anymore, that biased c**t.

This year might prove that they really aren't that much better than Lauderdale and poor ol' Brighton who got given nothing and didn't pay under the table unhindered by the league.

The way they gob off at former TFL clubs is a huge laugh, because without that armchair ride they got, they'll be back where they belong.
Not fit to grace the grounds of former TFL teams they aren't.

Piss this SFL bullsh*t off and bring back the REAL league!

It isn't even the New Year yet though, they'd have a lot off doing cricket and whatever else I spose.
What are their numbers like at training at the moment?

9 players at most all of them under 19 & 17 not a snr player from this year has trained yet

Piss this SFL bullsh*t off and bring back the REAL league!Yesterday 11:49
if the real league was so good then why did it fold and the clubs come whimpering with their tails between their legs begging to join the SFL. If they were'nt let in they would all be gone idiot. After reading your comments on this site I have decided that you are a moron. Unlike the all knowing BARGE and WILBUR

dickie26 said:
if the real league was so good then why did it fold
It folded because of an number of reasons, namely administrators alienating supporters of all clubs by continuously pissing about with the whole thing, cutting clubs, changeing names etc etc etc.
League administrators using the sport as a vehicle to further their own business and political aspirations - and they forgot all about the people who bought money in - the supporters - and hogged all the media attention by getting their faces in the paper each day by making outlandish statement after outlandish statement, putting the sport and its players into the background.
The clubs themselves prior to the recession spending up big on their playing lists and finding after 1991 that the crowds were falling, dollars were down and debts mounted and were unable to pay them.
People like Michael Kent after 1996 put the final nail in the coffin with gross mismanagement.
The AFL themselves issued the edict (Biggs Report) that the TFL was to be disbanded after 122 years, in favour of three seperate regional leagues and one Tasmanian representative team in the VFL.
dickie26 said:
and the clubs come whimpering with their tails between their legs begging to join the SFL.
No club owns the SFL. This's the sort of attitude why the SFL has such an ordinary public perception and why crowds will never attend the games.
A few country clubs who were content to sit back like big fish in small ponds and do nothing for 40 or more years all of a sudden think they own the league and rule football down South while the clubs that actually did put the game on the map down here are expected to go about being dumbed down heavily so you can feel superior beating one once in a blue moon.
The SFL should be for country and amatuer clubs ONLY - and that's the way it always should've been.
Do you seriously think any of those TFL teams would've voluntarily joined the SFL had TFL administrators not seriously compromised the TFL and all the clubs by continuously muck-arseing around with it?
dickie26 said:
If they were'nt let in they would all be gone idiot.
Most of them'll be gone anyway if they keep playing in the SFL as it currently stands.
Those clubs are really going well now aren't they? Huge memberships, massive crowds, lots of sponsorship.......
dickie26 said:
After reading your comments on this site I have decided that you are a moron.
That's a bit of bad luck then isn't it champ? Unlucky cobber!
dickie26 said:
Unlike the all knowing BARGE and WILBUR
Good blokes who know what they're talkin' about - unlike you of course.