Jan 15, 2004
SFL Premier League
Glenorchy 14.8.92 - Hobart Lions 9.5.59 at TCA Ground
North Hobart 27.13.175 - Kingborough 11.13.79 at Kingston Beach Oval
New Norfolk 29.16.190 - Brighton 5.3.33 at Pontville Oval
Clarence 28.21.189 - Lauderdale 10.12.72 at Lauderdale Oval (N)

SFL Regional League
Sorell 21.10.136 - Claremont 12.11.83 at Abbotsfield Park
Dodges Ferry 18.16.124 - Huonville Lions 18.12.120 at Shark Park
Kermandie 13.10.88 - Channel 8.8.56 at Geeveston Oval
Cygnet 26.11.167 - Lindisfarne 13.8.86 at Cygnet Rec. Ground

NTFL
Devonport 27.16.178 - Smithton 16.12.108 Att: 750 at Smithton Football Ground
Burnie 20.20.140 - East Devonport 8.8.56 Att: 288 at West Park
South Launceston 13.10.88 - Ulverstone 8.7.55 Att: 475 at Ulverstone Rec. Ground
Wynyard 19.11.125 - Launceston 14.11.95 Att: 700 at Wynyard Oval
North Launceston 19.12.126 - Latrobe 17.5.107 Att: 521 at Aurora Stadium

NTFA - Division One
George Town 26.14.170 - Deloraine 5.2.32 at Blue Gum Park
Bridgenorth 16.14.110 - Hillwood 16.13.109 at Parrot Park
Scottsdale Magpies 16.9.105 - Rocherlea 9.11.65 at Rocherlea Oval
Longford 16.18.114 - Bracknell 8.8.56 Bracknell Rec. Ground

NTFA - Division Two
Tamar Cats 20.8.128 - Old Launcestonians 12.7.79 at Beauty Point Oval
University-Mowbray 22.12.144 - Perth 18.12.120 at University of Tasmania Ground
Fingal Valley 14.22.106 - Old Scotch 9.5.59 at Fingal Rec. Ground
St Patrick's 14.9.93 - Campbell Town 13.13.91 at St Patrick's Oval

ODFA
Bothwell 15.15.105 - Triabunna 8.8.56 at Triabunna Rec. Ground
Mt Pleasant 24.8.152 - Swansea 7.6.48 at Pawtella Football Ground

OSFA
Richmond 19.6.120 - Hutchins 13.12.90 at Queenborough Oval
DOSA 38.18.246 - Friends' 2.9.21 at Dominic Oval
University 20.11.131 - OHA 11.15.81 at University Ground

NEFU
Lilydale 22.14.146 - Bridport 15.5.95 Lilydale Oval
Scottsdale Crows 16.12.108 - Branxholm 13.7.85 at Scottsdale Rec. Ground
St Helens 28.24.192 - Ringarooma 3.5.23 at St Helens Rec. Ground

Darwin FA
Natone 18.12.120 - Somerset 9.16.70 at Somerset Rec. Ground
Queenstown 34.22.226 - Ridgley 4.7.31 at Queenstown Oval
South Burnie 27.23.185 - Cuprona 3.5.23 at Cuprona Rec. Ground
Yeoman 25.15.165 - Myalla 15.19.109 at Myalla Football Ground

NWFA
Sheffield 15.12.102 - East Ulverstone 14.10.94 at East Ulverstone Football Ground
Forth 22.24.156 - Wesley Vale 13.9.87 at Forth Rec. Ground
Spreyton 19.16.130 - Turners Beach 13.16.94 at Maidstone Park
Motton Preston 14.13.97 - Rosebery Toorak 6.8.44 at Rosebery Park

Leven FA
Railton 21.9.135 - Castra 11.11.77 at Railton Football Ground
Mole Creek 23.12.150 - Latrobe Saints 10.6.66 at Mole Creek Rec. Ground

Circular Head FA
Scotchtown 16.11.107 - Irishtown 12.11.83 at Irishtown Rec. Ground
Forest-Stanley 22.9.141 - Trowutta-City 7.3.45 at Trowutta Rec. Ground

King Island FA
Currie 19.31.145 - North 8.13.61 at Currie Rec. Ground

The Saturday Mercury 14/5/05 - Play it again Tigers, for old time's sake
By James Bresnehan

The TCA Ground will be Tiger country again today when Hobart wears its "outlawed" black and gold striped guernsey in a Premier League "flashback" match against Glenorchy.
Hobart's supporters, young and old, will see their lads revive the stripe and tackle Glenorchy with the eye of the Tiger.
The celebration will mark the 60th anniversary of Hobart's first match.
"We'd love to wear the stripe all the time," said Hobart big-man Brent Dickson yesterday as he tried one on for size.
It will be the first time Hobart has worn the stripe since 1997 when the club was unceremoniously dumped from the Statewide League.
"I remember playing our final game against North Hobart, we all thought it was the last game for the club," Dickson said.
"We joined the SFL in 1998 and lost our right to wear the stripe, but importantly we've still got the club."
In an ironic twist, the Hobart Football Club lives on but the competition that dumped it has been dead and buried since 2000.
Hobart was admitted to the SFL on the condition it changed its jumper design and mascot to avoid a clash with Kingston.
After seven years in a hybrid gold guernsey with black trim, Hobart this season decided to pin its future on the same strip as the Brisbane Lions.
For most of the Hobart players, it will be the first time they have pulled on a Richmond-style Tigers jumper.
"We'd love to have a big crowd, and we'd love to see a lot of old faces there," Dickson said.
"Hopefully we can get a big win for the club."
Hobart president Philip Baker said it would be a golden moment.
"This will be last opportunity to witness the club taking to the TCA Ground in their former beloved Tiger strip that is now consigned to the annals of our history," he said.

The Saturday Mercury 14/5/05 - We call it hate, says fired-up Kingborough
By James Bresnehan

Kingborough coach Adrian Goodwin pulled the pin on a verbal hand grenade yesterday and lobbed it straight at today's Premier League opponent, North Hobart.
Goodwin's oral assault gave added spice to the clash between North Hobart (third) and Kingborough (fourth) at Kingston.
He claimed the country clubs got the short end of the stick from their city cousins.
"We know North Hobart don't respect us," Goodwin said. "There's a fair bit of arrogance towards to country clubs at the moment.
"I couldn't go into it without causing World War III, but we have to fight for every bit of respect we get and the city clubs don't respect us.
"No one's been game to say it, but it's there."
Goodwin stressed that Kingborough was not seeking sympathy.
"We just get on with business, we don't expect any favours," he said.
"It just drives us harder. But sometimes we hate the opposition so much that we forget what we're doing on the field.
"We've got to make sure we play brain footy, not bush footy."
Kingborough has worked its way to fourth on the ladder, and a win over the Demons would help secure its place in the top five.
If it can down the Dees, the city clubs would automatically boost their level of respect for the Tigers.
After a 28-point loss to New Norfolk in round three, North Hobart has hit top form with impressive wins over Lauderdale and Glenorchy.
If it claims the hat-trick today by beating the Tigers, the Demons would keep the pressure on Clarence, which holds down second spot.
The Roos make their first appearance under lights this season when they travel to Lauderdale to play the Bombers in a night match, starting at 5.15pm.
With only percentage keeping Lauderdale out of the top five, the home team needs the win to increase its chances of playing finals footy.
But it needs to cause a boilover to stop Clarence in its tracks.
The Roos smashed Brighton by 235 points at Bellerive last Saturday when 17 players kicked goals for Clarence.
Playing under lights with a dewy track could make the Roos vulnerable.
Hobart celebrates the 60th anniversary of its debut match in the TFL when it plays Glenorchy at the TCA Ground in the Richmond-style black and gold strip.
Cellar-dweller Brighton can expect to be ravaged by undefeated New Norfolk at Pontville.

AFLSthTasmaniaToyota.jpg

Sunday Tasmanian 15/5/05 - Roos hand Bombers hiding
By James Bresnehan

Clarence and Lauderdale are Eastern Shore cousins, but last night they proved their rivalry was as strong as any other in the Premier League.
In the first match played under lights this season, Clarence stormed to a 117-point win - 28.21 (189) to 10.12 (72) - not once taking its foot off the accelerator.
And not once did the Bombers stop hitting the packs at full speedand trying to patch the bleeding artery that was its backline, alas to no avail.
Clarence's intensity bordered on intimidation.
The Roos rolled out their hard-running game and snuffed out the lights on the local lads.
"I thought tonight was a bit of a danger game for us," Roos coach Nick Davey said.
"There's a lot of ex-Clarence players playing for Lauderdale, and we really put emphasis on coming here and showing them the difference between our club and their club."
After leading by 26 points at quarter-time, Clarence took the game by the scruff of the neck in the second term when it blew out the lead to 63 points at the long break.
With veteran left-footer Gavin Cooney on fire up forward, where he kicked six goals, and ruck-rover Simon Tamlyn contributing five, the Roos raced away in the second half.
Scott McCallum and Trent Whitelaw were prolific ball-winners in the middle, ruckman Justin Elliss dominated the tap-outs and Stuart Provert was impassable at centre half-back.
The Roos, second on the ladder, will need to take last night's form into next Saturday's clash with third-placed North Hobart.
Meanwhile, a return to the "Tigers of old" was not enough to inspire Hobart to victory against Glenorchy at the TCA yesterday.
Playing in its original black and yellow stripes to mark its 60th anniversary, Hobart was gallant in defeat, going down by 33 points, 9.5 (59) to 14.8 (92).
The Magpies did most of the damage in the second term, and went into the half-time break 24 points in front.
After Kingborough coach Adrian Goodwin stated pre-match that city clubs did not respect his side, Kingborough did little to redress it with a shocker against North Hobart at Kingston Beach Oval.
The Demons kicked 10 goals to three in the opening term and little changed from there as North romped home by 96 points, 27.13 (175) to 11.13 (79).
North's Ben Clark had a day out with seven goals in a best-on-ground performance.
As expected, it was one-way traffic at Pontville as unbeaten New Norfolk belted winless Brighton by 157 points, 29.16 (190) to 5.3 (33).
All the big Eagles forwards got in on the thrashing, Michael Thompson, Adrian Burdon and Sean Salter kicking five goals each.

AFLSthTasmaniaToyota.jpg

Sunday Tasmanian 15/5/05 - Inconsistency hurts Lions
By Brett Stubbs

The inconsistency of youth has Huonville coach Michael McGregor excited and exasperated at the same time.
Yesterday, it was another mixture of both against Dodges Ferry at Shark Park in the Southern Regional League.
The young Lions bounded to a 37-point second-quarter lead, fell 17 points behind halfway through the final term, hit the lead with less than three minutes to play, and still managed to lose by four points, 18.12 (120) to 18.16 (124).
The win leaves Dodges a game clear in second place, with Huonville still a victory outside the top five.
McGregor said yesterday's match was a mirror image of the Lions' loss to undefeated, three-time reigning premier Cygnet, where they also led by six goals only to go on and lose.
"I just wish these kids had the faith in themselves that I had in them," McGregor said.
"When they get six goals in front, they can't believe it.
"They get a little bit defensive and they don't keep playing the way they have been playing. They dwell on mistakes a little bit and it is just experience."
With Huonville centreman Jarrod Collis on top early, the Lions' tall forward trio of McGregor (five goals), Brad Lovell (five) and Darren Garth (four), who had played in the under-age game in the morning, helped the visitors to a commanding lead.
But eventually the Sharks got on top, superbly lead by their captain, ruckman Jamie Curran.
Curran dominated the hitouts and was more than handy around the ground, finishing with four goals and earning the praise of coach Danny Ling.
"That was one of the best captain's games I have seen in a long, long time," Ling said. "He was super."
With the Sharks' Craig McLeod and Jamie Ling winning the centre clearances, and Jy Wiggins kicking four goals, the home side not only got back into the game, but appeared to be well in control.
Down by almost three goals, another late surge from the Lions brought them within a goal. When Lovell kicked his fifth after roving the pack to give Huonville the lead, it appeared to be pinching the game.
But again the Sharks rallied, this time with the previously well-held Adrian Close taking a strong pack mark and kicking the final, match-winning goal.
Kermandie confirmed it is back in form and a top-three threat with a 32-point win over Channel at Geeveston, 13.10 (88) to 8.8 (56).
The Robins' Andy Lovell was best afield, with Rhys Felmingham kicking four goals for the victors.
Cygnet and its spearhead Michael Darcy kept their control on the competition with an 81-point win over Lindisfarne at Cygnet, 26.11 (167) to 13.8 (86).
Darcy was his usual dominant self from the goalsquare, adding another 10 goals to take his season tally to 48.
Sorell rounded out the perfect day for the top four teams with a comfortable 53-point victory over Claremont at Abbotsfield Park, 21.10 (136) to 12.11 (83).
Former Devil Allan Haw booted five goals for Sorell.

"NTFL
Devonport 27.16.178 - Smithton 16.12.108 Att: 749 at Smithton Football Ground
Burnie 20.20.140 - East Devonport 8.8.56 Att: 350 at West Park
South Launceston 13.10.88 - Ulverstone 8.7.55 Att: 475 at Ulverstone Rec. Ground
Wynyard 19.11.125 - Launceston 14.11.95 Att: 600 at Wynyard Oval
North Launceston 19.12.126 - Latrobe 17.5.107 Att: 400 at Aurora Stadium
"

HMMM

greetings post no. 1

Where do you get you firgures?
There were 700 persons at Wynyards amazing win
Gee they are going great this year. It was huge game as there was a bloke breaking the all times games record for the Cats, 244 i think so 700 is a big crowd.
And just to prove how much Burnie (where i live) own the NTFL there were only 288 persons there :confused: i never go, no one cares about footy anymore here, the main leagues i mean anyway

But good on the Wynyard

Tigers 1945 said:
NTFL
Devonport 27.16.178 - Smithton 16.12.108 Att: 749 at Smithton Football Ground
Burnie 20.20.140 - East Devonport 8.8.56 Att: 350 at West Park
Wynyard 19.11.125 - Launceston 14.11.95 Att: 600 at Wynyard Oval
North Launceston 19.12.126 - Latrobe 17.5.107 Att: 400 at Aurora Stadium

CAMEL said:
greetings post no. 1
Greetings!!

CAMEL said:
Where do you get you firgures?
Launceston Sunday Examiner - however I just looked through the NTFL site, and the crowd figures have all bar one, been changed

CAMEL said:
There were 700 persons at Wynyards amazing win
Gee they are going great this year. It was huge game as there was a bloke breaking the all times games record for the Cats, 244 i think so 700 is a big crowd.
That was a good win for them, the Lonnie Blues have been in good form this year.

CAMEL said:
And just to prove how much Burnie (where i live) own the NTFL there were only 288 persons there :confused: i never go, no one cares about footy anymore here, the main leagues i mean anyway
The Clarence syndrome. One league dominates a league for too long, it decimates interest - See TFL Statewide League and the current SFL for proof.
Also beginning to happen to the SFL Regional League with Cygnet dominating.
Crowds are generally woeful across the State now, but they are still a lot better in the North.
Crowds like Burnie's 288 are common place in the South, I can remember Hobart drawing numerous crowds lower than that in the last eight years.
The lowest would be 139 against Claremont in 1998.
I kinda though that the North West Coast seemed to be dwindling a lot in football terms, I have taken note of Burnie's crowds in recent years, and it seems to me that the initial excitement and bandwagon support the Dockers got when the Hawks and Tigers merged 11 years ago seems to have completely dissipated - even with thier success

The Mercury: 19/5/05 - A night at the footy
By James Bresnehen
While its team was getting thumped on the field last Saturday night, Lauderdale Football Club's cash register copped a similar beating inside the bar.
The punters were lined up four-deep at the watering hole, and at times the bar staff couldn't punch the buttons fast enough.
The club barbecue was flat-chat sizzling snags and burgers, so much so that its smoke formed a thin veil over the oval.
And the bright stars and still trees evidenced the perfect evening for footy under lights. Night football was a smash hit at Lauderdale.
One punter, who did not support either Lauderdale or Clarence, summed it up: "I wouldn't have come if it wasn't a night game.''
Lauderdale is the only club in southern Tasmania hosting night football. That is a pity because, if the night is right, football under lights has an atmosphere above and beyond footy under the sun. "The people love it because it's such a novelty,'' said Lauderdale president Arthur Johnstone.
"It's the fact they can see football live under lights instead of just on TV, and we're one of the few venues in the whole state playing night footy.''
Saturday night's bash was a one-off for the 2005 season, but Lauderdale is interested in hosting multiple night games next season.
"It's probably our best game in financial terms, better than any other home game,'' Johnstone said.
"We'd like to have more, but as we move into June and July it's a bit too cold, so it will be the only one this season.''
Until Lauderdale joined the Premier League in 2004, the club had hosted up to four night games per season since 1998.
"When we came into this competition we decided not to have night games in our first year, we just wanted to focus on getting ourselves established,'' Johnstone said.
Night football has many things in its favour. That is probably why no one can put their finger on exactly what gives it such appeal.
"I've been to a few and I loved it,'' said league general manager Noel Morrison.
"I loved the atmosphere, the interaction of the crowd, and the social ambience.''
Not long after the sun disappeared behind Mt Wellington, the Bombers and Roos appeared on the field for their round-six Southern Premier League match. Around the ground the atmosphere had already reached party pitch among the 2500 spectators.
Being a Saturday night, it was probably the best-dressed crowd you'll find at regional football.
The scoreboard, which can be seen clearly in daylight hours, caused one of the few issues at night. It was lit by the sort of halogen work light you can pick up at the hardware store for about $20.
And the scoreboard housing itself teemed literally from top to bottom with boys who either wanted to help put up the score or were simply attracted by the light.
Not far away a bunch of old-timers had set up a 44-gallon drum with a roaring fire and held court on deck chairs.
Teenage girls gathered in small, chattering clans, and the young lads kept one eye on the off-field action and the other eye on the footy.
The field umpires reckoned they could see the play all right, though the throng in front of the clubrooms seemed to have a different opinion.
The goal umpires, who stressed they were not complaining, had to look hard as the ball flew overhead.
With the closest lights 40m away on either side, it was a bit dim behind the goals.
The Lauderdale Superules team chipped in for the light upgrade this season to make them brighter than ever.
"That was a great contribution to the club, and they benefit everybody, from the juniors to the seniors,'' Johnstone said.
When the new sports ground development at Kingston goes ahead, southern football will have a new option for night football.Night finals may even come into the equation.
"Up North you've got York Park [in Launceston] and West Park [in Burnie] hosting night football, and the ovals with cycling tracks around them, like Devonport and Latrobe, also have very good lighting,'' Johnstone said.
"When the new Kingston ground comes online it will have good-quality lighting.
"The opportunity to play more night games, and even a night final, will then be available to us on the basis that two clubs consent to play under lights, and that will also help us attract bigger crowds.''
Lauderdale has shown the rest of the competition that there is light at the end of the tunnel.
"That's how we are going to get people back to the footy, by doing things that are a bit different and exciting,'' Johnstone said.

They should have been playing night football here twenty years ago.
The night games that have been played have all been well attended.

Night Football is a great initiative and should continue. 2,500 is an unbelievable crowd, would of been a great atmosphere out there, I think that this season has been pretty good for attendances (except Brighton) Hobart must be averaging around 5-600 which is great and lauderdale is doing very well as well (even before last weekend they were averaging about 500). All other clubs are averaging 500 or more except for Brighton and Kingborough. Good signs for footy.

I agree that night football would be fantastic for local football clubs. With so many things now to do on the weekend during the day local football does seem like a pretty low priority for most people. There is still however a perceived lack of things things to do during the evening and night football especially in regions such as Lauderdale and Brighton which are fairley isolated from the city, could be used to fufill this void.

I remember back quite few years when Hobart played Lauderdale under lights and again their was a much bigger crowd than they woul usually get and the atmosphere was very good. Unfortunately there was a bit of a problem with drunk teenagers but unfortunately that is the small price your going to have to pay to get people along to the football for night games.

I have heard that there is going to be a lightening upgrade done to the TCA and the Council has set aside quite a large amount to do this. I reckon this would be great for the club if it went ahead but knowing the council’s continual apathy towards the TCA and the comotion that would be caused from the friends of the domain committee I won’t be holding my breath. The good thing about the TCA is that is very close to the city centre and the club could even do things such as hire few metro buses after the game to take people into the centre of the city so that they can enjoy a night on the fizz afterwards.

"That's how we are going to get people back to the footy, by doing things that are a bit different and exciting,'' Johnstone said.

Great quote by the Lauderdale President - imagine if the SFL board thought like this, we might be able to achieve an actual good competition!

The only major problem I can see is if it becomes too successful for the local clubs then the Devils heirachy will start trying to copy the idea and once again destroy means of revenue for local clubs for their own benefit.

Full props to Lauderdale for getting off their bums and pioneering if you like night footy in the SFL. However, one problem with that report in the Mercury today .......

If they could ever fit 2,500 into that swamp of an oval I'll bare my backside in Myer's window, as they say!

They must have been standing on each others heads three or four high! No way known they could fit them all in!

Yeah I don't know how they fit that many people down at Lauderdale either there really isn't that much room at all for people to watch the football. I'm sure their would have been a lot of people but that might have been one of those inflated numbers.

Also it’s a bit off the point but in a previous thread I was discussing with Tigers1945 about utilising the H C Stand at the TCA and he discussed how he had never been up in the North Hobart Clubrooms at the top of the Stand. Anyway I ran across this website which has some pictures of the inside of the rooms (although they don’t reallly show how big they actually are), a good picture of the stand itself and also a picture of what the view of the ground is like from the balcony.

http://www.northhobartcc.com/ just go to the photo’s section

I must admit Barge & Doc, I too had the same thought when it came to the crowd figure :p
I remember 1999 and they reckoned 3000 there for that night, I said at the time around 1200-1300.
I think it may be the number of people and players that wander in and out of the ground from the time they open up, is how the number is taken.
Besides, it's pretty simple to get in over there without paying, so an accurate crowd number is not really possible, but well done to them, all the same.

Arthur Johnstone is spot on, and he is a very, very good president. He's all for enhancing the game here, not holding it back.
People like him leading the sport here would be the best thing for the sport IMHO - a good old fashioned football person.

Thanks for the pics Doc, yeah it's strange, for all the years I've been at the TCA I've never been in the Smith Pavilion.
It's such a great pity that Hobart FC, North Hobart CC and TFLUA just can't get on very well, that facility could be a real money spinner for all concerned on match days, especially if football comes back again in a big way.

ladies%20stand%201.JPG

I like this pic from the balcony. I've actually worked underneath this stand, in the narrow crawl space.
stand.JPG

It could be a hub of activity if done up and utilised.

What is in that space under the ladies stand? I've never been in there before. I know that it houses the Ladies toilets at the other end does it continue right through or is there another room?

The Doctor '73 said:
What is in that space under the ladies stand? I've never been in there before. I know that it houses the Ladies toilets at the other end does it continue right through or is there another room?

It's all gravel and stone, with bits and pieces stored under there, It kind of goes to about a quarter of the way along the stand.
The Ladies toilets are built into the other end.

I used to get into all sorts of tight little spots up there when I used to be up there.
:)

Thanks for the pics Doc, yeah it's strange, for all the years I've been at the TCA I've never been in the Smith Pavilion.
It's such a great pity that Hobart FC, North Hobart CC and TFLUA just can't get on very well, that facility could be a real money spinner for all concerned on match days, especially if football comes back again in a big way.

It is a shame that the Pavilion isn’t utilised because as it could be of great little asset for things such as past players/sponsorship luncheons. Whilst it is a little tired looking the TCA does have quite a few things going for it in terms of already established infrastructure.

On the positive side
- The four Grandstands would seat around 700-800 people under cover,
- There is a fence seating which extends around the northern end of the ground which would set a further 80 or so people.
- There are 3 sloped banks which provides decent viewing.
- It has a good sized undercover canteen
- Close to the city centre with plenty of parking available
- The ground is totally enclosed by fencing and has the facilities to use turnstiles.
- The ground features a large undercover area for which people can stand out of the elements
- The enclosed drinking/viewing box next to the canteen – although the view is pretty crap due to being to far away from the playing field
- The large but dated looking bar area undernetah the Powell Pascoe Payne stand
- There is good atmosphere at the ground due to the accoustics of the undercover area.

On the negative side
- Need to improve the playing surface
- Need to get better changerooms for the visiting side.
- The grandstands need a little bit of work to them especially the HC Smith stand which needs a genral tidy up and the Powell Pascoe Payne Stand which needs to be enclosed on the side and to the rear of the stand to keep out the elements.
- Ground is too short (the ground was lengthened by about 5 metres this year though which puts the dimensions to roughly about 153 metres by 144 metres)
- Whilst the scoreboard is adequate a bigger easier to see scoreboard would be a lot better.

Things that could be utilised but currently aren’t
- The old greyhouse building (it is utilised by the council but not in regrads to sport on the ground)
- The HC Smith Pavillion which would not only provide another bar, facilities to cater for about 60-80 people but also an outdoor undercover seating section which could seat about 30-40 people. It also has a section on the top righthand corner of the pavilion (see picture below) that is used currently by cricket scorers, which could also be used as a broadcasting booth if there was need in the future.

Proposals that apparently are going to be acted upon
- Improved lighting
- Development of a viewing section on the present Hobart clubrooms

The Doctor '73 said:
It is a shame that the Pavilion isn’t utilised because as it could be of great little asset for things such as past players/sponsorship luncheons. Whilst it is a little tired looking the TCA does have quite a few things going for it in terms of already established infrastructure.
If the TANFL was to resume, if I were involved in the club's decision making, I'd be making very sure that the club's relationship with both the cricket club and the umpires association were strengthened, by a big way.
The cricket club hate the football club and vice-versa, the football club have a very tense relationship with the umpires, as they perceive the umpires to be taking over too much of the ground where the players are trying to train on it.
If we were to resume in the TANFL, that Smith Pavilion could be used for corporate facilities and broadcasting.
Huon-FM had broadcast matches from there before, in the 2000 1st Semi Final when Hobart beat Cygnet by 70-points (the day Wayne Lamb was sent off) and the other being the first home match of 2001 when Hobart defeated Channel by 81-points in front of about 200-people.

The Doctor '73 said:
On the positive side
- The four Grandstands would seat around 700-800 people under cover,
- There is a fence seating which extends around the northern end of the ground which would set a further 80 or so people.
- There are 3 sloped banks which provides decent viewing.
- It has a good sized undercover canteen
- Close to the city centre with plenty of parking available
- The ground is totally enclosed by fencing and has the facilities to use turnstiles.
- The ground features a large undercover area for which people can stand out of the elements
- The enclosed drinking/viewing box next to the canteen – although the view is pretty crap due to being to far away from the playing field
- The large but dated looking bar area undernetah the Powell Pascoe Payne stand
- There is good atmosphere at the ground due to the accoustics of the undercover area.
All valid points. Certainly a vast improvement on the TCA Ground of 1998 when we first set foot in the SFL ;)
I would probably lobby for the renovation to the Smith Stand, PPP Stand, have the sides and back filled in on the PPP Stand as well.
The roof above the betting ring should probably be removed due to the asbestos it contains and be re-roofed all the way to the back with no open-to-the-elements areas to shelter spectators (after all the TCA does have a very bad reputation with weather conditions).
I'd also lobby extensively for the rescinding of that rediculous National Trust rule regarding the banning of advertising hoardings within the stadium itself.
This does not help Hobart nor any sporting club who uses the ground for that matter, in advertising and brand promotion.
In my opinion, the ground looks fairly bland without any hoardings.
Done tastefully, it would look very professional within the ground.

The Doctor '73 said:
On the negative side
- Need to improve the playing surface
- Need to get better changerooms for the visiting side.
- The grandstands need a little bit of work to them especially the HC Smith stand which needs a genral tidy up and the Powell Pascoe Payne Stand which needs to be enclosed on the side and to the rear of the stand to keep out the elements.
- Ground is too short (the ground was lengthened by about 5 metres this year though which puts the dimensions to roughly about 153 metres by 144 metres)
- Whilst the scoreboard is adequate a bigger easier to see scoreboard would be a lot better.

Things that could be utilised but currently aren’t
- The old greyhouse building (it is utilised by the council but not in regrads to sport on the ground)
- The HC Smith Pavillion which would not only provide another bar, facilities to cater for about 60-80 people but also an outdoor undercover seating section which could seat about 30-40 people. It also has a section on the top righthand corner of the pavilion (see picture below) that is used currently by cricket scorers, which could also be used as a broadcasting booth if there was need in the future.

Proposals that apparently are going to be acted upon
- Improved lighting
- Development of a viewing section on the present Hobart clubrooms
The playing surface is lamentable after damp weather, be it fog, mist or rain. It has been like that for 80 years.
Short of digging the entire ground up, I don't think that there is much that can be done about it, as there is very little room drainage wise under the surface before you'd hit bedrock - less than a foot from memory.
The massive stage used by AC/DC in thier concert on January 27th 2001 has done enormous damage to the drainage below the surface at the Cottage End, the sheer weight of the stage crushed all the pipes.
Visitors changerooms are dreadful. They were the old Hobart Clubrooms up until the end of 1969, and nothing's changed in there by the looks of it, although it links onto the cricket nets building now.
The scoreboard is too small, too far away from the majority of spectators, and cant been seen at all from the hill behind the goals.
It needs to be up on supports, either at the back of the Cottage End hill, or on the outer wing. It all needs to be an indoor operated one, it is hellishly cold to be stuck out there for three games on a Saturday surrounded by d*ckhead opposition supporters.
Grandstands - see first paragraph.
Ground size was 149m x 143m North to South.
If they added on 5m to one end, the TCA will now be 154m x 143m.
Same length as North Hobart Oval, 31m wider.
Also better provisions for toilet facilities are badly needed up there, they are currently fairly poor.
The one up next to the Cottage is disgusting, having used it on Saturday, it lacks basic maintenace.

Tasmanian Results: May 14th-15th.