Tassie crowd support

Ross Lyon doesn't help. Who (as a neutral supporter) would pay to see one of his teams play?

Anyway. Nice idea to bring these games to Melb but I'd suggest a bunch of them would end up at Etihad.

The MCG isn't exactly under utilised at the moment, and teams like Carlton are pushing for more MCG games currently, and they're not alone.

We're not exactly the AFL's darlings at the moment. Do you seriously expect they'd just schedule games against Freo, GWS, Lions & Bulldogs at the G coz we ask them to?

How many of the 8000 Tassie members are from Melbourne? Out of our 65K members 8k from Tasmania (2k prob from melbourne), with a maximum 3k from other states leaves around 55k Melbourne members. Our side is full of stars and is traveling as well as we have since late eighties early 90's and we get 12k on a Saturday afternoon. Time to bring a couple of Hawthorn games home.
Where do you get these figures from?

I can tell you for a start that there are more than 3000 members from "other states".

Where do you get these figures from?

I can tell you for a start that there are more than 3000 members from "other states".
I know the Tasmanian number is around 8k, but I'm not sure on the numbers from all other states outside of Vic. Granted it may be more than 3k but Id be staggered if it topped 5k. If anyone has the exact breakdown that'd be great. Your thoughts on how many Vic members would also have a Tas membership? There are a lot of fans that make the trip.

North played in Hobart last week.
Freo- ugly footy, few local fans & Perth fans unlikely to make the journey.
Local footy on at the same time.
High unemployment in Tassie- wallets tightened.
Locals getting bored of same teams.
Novelty factor for Hawks fans declining.
MEL-LST airfares more expensive than previous years.

I was there on Sat must say I noticed many less people in Launceston before the game compared to previous years.

Hawthorn vs Fremantle
Round 11, 2011
Crowd: 31,925

It's time to end the MCG deal. It's a disgrace when there are 8,000 paid up Hawthorn members in Tassie that would have loved to go to watch the Hawks play Fremantle yet were denied the opportunity to go because of this ridiculous deal with the MCG. Yet we had to watch the game on tv while there were thousands of empty seats in the stands.

:rolleyes:

Yeah moving the Fremantle game back to Victoria is a proven winner. :thumbsu:

Point taken.

That said 32,000 is a very good crowd against Fremantle

I've been a bit of an unabashed fan of the Tasmanian games for years but if the AFL truly wants us removed from the picture, and are actively pushing for a greater North presence, I fear were going to be pushed out anyway...from this thread it appears the AFL are using the fixture and scheduling to undermine our presence. If this is the case were probably better to negotiate our own exit strategy on our terms whilst were in a position of strength.

Agree with many posters above; the issue is less Launceston and more fremantle being unattractive; particularly when missing 3 of their best/ highest rated players, may have been seen as a formality.

I will be going (from Melb) to the game against Brisbane though.

Freo are a boring, uncharismatic team to watch. Probably only 100 Purple lovers in tassie. Obviously not many flew in.

Most loca, neutral supporters have now done the 'watch AFL live' thing here in Tassie. I've noticed Aurora crowds are on the decline generally.

Population here is small and scattered, why bother travelling 1-2 hrs to watch boring Freo? Could be watching the game on TV or going to a local match instead.

I wouldn't mind if we wound it back to 2 games a year, a few more neutrals might come because not so many opportunities to see a live game.

Sure victorian teams would draw a higher crowd, but how much money would hawthorn lose (by lose, I mean less than we make now) by playing a Victorian team at Aurora and then playing Freo at Etihad?

Depending on the team, we could lose a packet.

I was there on Sat must say I noticed many less people in Launceston before the game compared to previous years.

Good post.

Could also add that the Richmond/Collingwood game might have drawn a few away. Tigers have a decent following in Tassie.

Ross Lyon doesn't help. Who (as a neutral supporter) would pay to see one of his teams play?

To be honest, I almost turned the TV off at 3/4 time because it was boring (and I was a little depressed about Shoey). I think if I was one of the 12,000 who turned up I would have made a decision to not bother going next time the Dockers are in town.

And we all know there is a good chance one of our games there next year with be Freo - so expect about 10,000 to that one.

I know the Tasmanian number is around 8k, but I'm not sure on the numbers from all other states outside of Vic. Granted it may be more than 3k but Id be staggered if it topped 5k. If anyone has the exact breakdown that'd be great. Your thoughts on how many Vic members would also have a Tas membership? There are a lot of fans that make the trip.
I know there is about 1000 members in SA. I reckon you could almost double that & get the WA members.

Two years ago a couple of mates of mine purchased Tas Gold memberships instead of Interstate Gold. I don't know how they did, but the upshot was that they got better seats for the finals that year. Friends of mine in Brisbane have Tas memberships (purchased through their parents who live in Hobart) & again, it's to ensure finals tickets.

As far as Vic members with Tas memberships - all power to them. That's a financially magnaminous gesture.

OK, so we play 37% of our games where 15% of our members live. Makes no sense to me.
We will thrive with or without Tassie.
I hope the AFL pushes us out and the deal goes to North. I would be happy with two games there V GWS/Gold Coast/port/Freo.
Can't stand sitting in my $400 reserved seat only 7 times a year.

i can buy a tassie membership on top of me gold hawk membership for not much more it would save me upgrading a ga to a seat everytime i go there i got a melbourne based friend that has one i dont think there is a rule for buying a tassie membership though not sure on their gold one

I'd rather be playing in Tasmania than losing money hand over fist at Etihad. Survival of the club is the #1 goal. Simple as that.

Not to mention there is a very significant group of Hawthorn supporters (which I am a part of) that refuse to go to Etihad Stadium on principle.

Of course, if Waverley Park had not been bulldozed, it would be a different story.

If we cut ties with Tassie, we'll be playing those games at Etihad. Higher breakeven costs would need to be offset by higher membership, sponsorship and greater gate sales (good luck against Freo, GC, GWS etc). I'm pleased that we can help Tassie economically, bring footy to Launceston and spread the great gospel of Hawthorn interstate. Not mention we make money playing these games at Aurora Stadium- a fantastic venue for footy with the best surface in the country.

I think the AFL scheduling back 2 back matches in Tassie affected the gate, mutual footy supporters who usually travel from Hobart to Launceston probably didn't as they had footy there last week with NM vs SYD.

Out of the 12,000+ fans there, there would have been max 2,000 Freo supporters as evident by the empty visitors stand behind the goals.

If we cut ties with Tassie, we'll be playing those games at Etihad. Higher breakeven costs would need to be offset by higher membership, sponsorship and greater gate sales (good luck against Freo, GC, GWS etc). I'm pleased that we can help Tassie economically, bring footy to Launceston and spread the great gospel of Hawthorn interstate. Not mention we make money playing these games at Aurora Stadium- a fantastic venue for footy with the best surface in the country.

I travel to Tassie at least once a year and have been since 2007, definitely recommend the trip to anyone who hasn't been..

The atmosphere on match day is awesome, the whole city is brown & gold, supporters, kids all walking the city decked out in their Hawks gear.

Out sponsorship deal is very lucrative, and envied by opposition clubs.

The Tassie government estimate the deal brings at least 20,000 visitors into Launceston each year, restuarants, accomodations are always full.. We have built quite a fortress at Aurora which probably doesn't get the attention it deserves, you can almost pencil it down as 4 wins a season as soon as the fixture is released.

It's a WIN WIN situation :thumbsu:

It's fair to say that if this was not a win-win situation for both Tassie and Hawthorn, both parties would not have agreed to a new deal.

I just wish the flights were cheaper so I could attend them all :D

I'll be down for the GWS game in May.

Also, the Tas games are nearly always scrappy and of a low standard.
Is it the size of the ground? Wind? Or the lack of atmosphere?
Aside from Buddy's 13, even though we usually win there, we rarely play really well there.

Not necessarily. The reality is we still host the lower drawing teams at the MCG and get a commercially raw deal due to renewing the sponsorship against the AFL's wishes. We should have negotiated 9-2 MCG/Etihad at the time we were asked to make way for North to relocate. The club would have easily recouped the costs via membership increases in Vic, increased TV exposure, and a new major sponsor.

I can't see the sponsorship continuing beyond the current deal. The AFL will eventually get their way. I just hope at this time we haven't lost our grip on the MCG tenancy (6 MCG home games is a poor outcome for the melb based fans).

Tassie crowd support