Tassie Players in the AFL

May 10, 2006
Thought it was time to start a thread updating the progress of Tassie players in the AFL. I will try and update at the conclusion of each round:

ROUND 13

Grant Birchall (HAW)
10 kicks
10 handballs
2 marks
53 DT points

Brady Rawlings (NM)
6 kicks
15 handballs
5 marks
60 DT points

Matthew Richardson (RIC)

13 kicks
4 handballs
10 marks
3 goals
93 DT points

Jack Riewoldt (RIC)
6 kicks
2 handballs
5 marks
1 goal
45 DT points

Tom Collier (BRI)
8 kicks
9 handballs
3 marks
64 DT points

Brad Green (MEL)
12 kicks
12 handballs
5 marks
92 DT points

Colin Garland (MEL)
8 kicks
7 handballs
8 marks
64 DT points

Simon Wiggins (CAR)
5 kicks
11 handballs
6 marks
65 DT points

Sam Lonergan (ESS)
4 kicks
6 handballs
1 mark
43 DT points

Jason Laycock (ESS)
2 kicks
1 handball
1 mark
1 goal
13 hitouts
25 DT points

In total we had 10 players take to the field on the weekend. Good to see Tom Collier play well in his debut and live up to his pre-draft expectations.

The following AFL-listed players either didn't make their respective squads, are out injured or have retired in the current season:
Andrew Lee (ESS)
Sam Isles (COL)
Mitch Thorp (HAW)
Justin Sherman (BRI)
Brodie Holland (COL)
Russell Robertson (MEL)
Simon Taylor (HAW)
Peter Street (WB)
Tom Hislop (ESS)
Angus Graham (RIC)
Aaron Joseph (CAR)
Brodie Moles (GEE)
Tom Bellchambers (ESS)
Alex Grima (HAW)

Further to the above post:

Injured

Brodie Holland (COL)- Listed as being out until Round 15 with achilles tendonitis doubtful that he would make the starting 22 at the moment even if fully fit.

Tom Hislop (ESS)- listed as available despite not playing for Bendigo on the weekend. Has had shoulder problems all season, and could squeeze into the starting 22 if fully fit

Andrew Lee (ESS)- most likely out for the rest of the season with a shoulder injury. Will be lucky not to be cut from the list at the conclusion of the season.

Simon Taylor (HAW)- has missed the last two weekes with a knee injury and will be a test again this weekend. Once fit, should return to the starting line-up in place of Renouf.

Russell Robertson (MEL)- will miss the remainder of this season as well as a fair chunk of 2009 after rupturing his achilles tendon in Round 10.

Played in the VFL

Sam Isles (COL)
- Been playing well in the VFL recently, however it will be hard to break into a strong (even though losing) senior side. Got this from the Optimax on the Pies board from the weekend vs Williamstown " Iles same as cook get alot of the ball, makes some shit decisions and has very up and undre kicks that put players under pressure, his stats lie yes he gets alot not always fantastic quality though"

Mitch Thorp (HAW)- Big wraps on the lad, but hard to break into a Hawks forward line with the Buddy-Roughy show. Has been touted to play back and has done so for Box Hill this season. Names 2nd best for Box Hill on the weekend vs Frankston. Got this from Matsta1975 on the Hawks board "Thorp - Played very well , seems to demand the ball across half forward and one thing you could not doubt is his courage looked a class above BUT can not run out a quarter hard yet so physically he seems to be a way off but will make it". Calls for Thorp in for Boyle this weekend may see him play.

Justin Sherman (BRI)- Slow start to the season after an indifferent 2007. Back to playing some better footy the past month or so (correct me if I'm wrong Brisbane fans), with his natural attacking instincts coming through. Injured himself on Thursday in a routine weights session, hurt his back I think, and doesn't appear on any injury lists. Hopefully just the 1 week out and will get back in the seniors this week.

Peter Street (WB)- Have absolutely no idea how he is going in the VFL. Starting ruck for Williamstown and was reported on the weekend for charging. Will find it tough to get a spot in front of seniors starting ruck duo of Hudson and Minson. Injury to one of those two his only chance.

Angus Graham (RIC)- Needs to get in front of seniors ruck duo of Simmonds and Pattison. Was in the best for Coburg again on the weekend and is pushing for selection should a position open up for him.

Aaron Joseph (CAR)- Kicked a goal on the weekend for the Northern Bullants, however wasn't named in the best. Rookie-listed atm so would need a long-term injury in the seniors to be any chance.

Brodie Moles (GEE)- Kicked a goal and was named in the best players on the weekend vs Northern Bullants. Rookie listed (see Aaron Joseph).

Alex Grima (HAW)- Have no idea how he is going in the VFL. Rookie listed (see Aaron Joseph).

Tom Bellchambers (ESS)- Has been playing consistently well in the VFL, an made his debut for the senior team this year. If he can hold his form he may get a game over fellow Tasmanian Jason Laycock, who has struggled at the top level. Kicked a goal on the weekend vs North Ballarat, and it was suggested on the Bombers board that he was in their best players despite not getting a mention in the official list. Should get more senior games this year.

Add Nathan Grima, is he out for the season but unlikely to have been in seniors anyway?

Sorry mate, I overlooked adding him as I knew he had done his ACL at the start of the season. Here is an article on him that should get everyone up to speed on his predicament.

Nathan faces Grima outlook
Mark Robinson | February 29, 2008 12:00am

FOOTY fans won't know Nathan Grima, yet his AFL career might be over before it began. The 22-year-old late bloomer was into his fifth week as a North Melbourne rookie when, after a regular lead and mark exercise at Trinity Grammar, he hyper-extended his knee on landing.

0,,5913059,00.jpg

Tough break: Kangaroos rookie Nathan Grima rests at home in Evandale, Tasmania, after a season-ending knee reconstruction.
Picture: Ross Marsden

In the time it takes to snap an anterior cruciate ligament, a 15-year journey that began at junior club Longford, then took him to the Tassie Mariners, South Launceston, the Tassie Devils, Central Districts and finally to the Kangaroos, came to a painful, soul-shattering halt.

Drafted in December, he was on crutches by mid-January and in rehab by February.

Come September, he might never be heard of again.

"I knew straight away," Grima said yesterday. "I heard it go, and it was heartbreaking when I heard the noise."

For the first two minutes, all he felt was the throbbing discomfort of a wrecked knee. Then came the calm.

"The pain went away and I thought, maybe it's not as bad as I thought, but when the doc came out to check, he knew straight away. It was a pretty bad feeling."

Sydney's Nick Malceski and Fremantle's Paul Hasleby might get all the headlines, and more than likely get back to the highest level, but for Grima, the road is far more daunting.

He is 22 and has a one-year contract with the Kangaroos.

AFL rules won't allow Grima to be put back on the rookie list next year. Although the Roos will investigate Grima's position, it is possible his career might read: five weeks training, 0 games, 0 goals.

"The first initial heartbreak was I've worked so hard to get here and I've done my knee and it's all over," Grima said.

"Like, I'm 22 and I haven't played any AFL footy.

"It's not like the bloke who's done his knee, and who has played 100 games and he knows he can also play at the level and he knows he's a required player. I'm still at the bottom of the pecking order.

"So, yeah, my initial thought was I'm never going to play AFL footy."

Rookie is the buzz word in the Grima family. Nathan is the older brother of Todd, 21, who was delisted by Geelong at the end of last year, and Alex, 18, who was put on Hawthorn's rookie list in December. Indeed, his is a strong sporting family.

His dad, Monty, played at representative level in the competitive north v south contests and his older sister, Holly, plays basketball for the Opals. She is currently playing in Italy and has her sights on Beijing.

Grima grew up at Evandale, home to a 1000 people and 15 minutes from Launceston.

Like most footy-mad Tassie kids, he wanted to make it on the mainland. Overlooked for consecutive national drafts, and not over-enthused about a potential AFL career, Grima left the state with Liston Medallist Ian Cullinan and joined South Australia's Central Districts.

He played every game in 2007, which culminated in a premiership and SANFL Team of the Year selection at full-back.

In many ways, 2007 was his final shot at glory.

And so, when Kangaroos recruiting manager Neville Stibbard rang him before the December draft, Grima got the shivers again -- the AFL dream was upon him.

He flew to Melbourne the night of the rookie draft and trained at Arden St the next morning.

"I thought it was the start," he said. "And because I was 22, and had played at state level, it wasn't as daunting or intimidating as it would have been if I'd got picked a few years earlier."

The Kangaroos will ask the AFL at the end of the year to change the rules on mature-age eligibility. Grima will be 23 in August and too old for 2009.

"They have been fantastic to me," Grima said.

"Even though I'm only contracted for one year, they told me not to think about next year and get the knee right."

At the end of the year his fortunes lie with luck and a considerate AFL.

"I'd give my left leg to play a game," he said. "To come this far now and not get the opportunity would be very disappointing.

"If you get to the level and you've given it your all and you are not good enough to make it, you could probably hack that. But to not get an opportunity . . . you'd feel pretty empty.

"I guess if it doesn't work out you just move on, I'll have to accept I'm never going to play.

"But I'm going to work hard and we'll see what happens."

Level-headed and family-loving, he said the spotlight would fall on younger brother Alex.

"The funny thing is we all got to the rookie list, but Toddy didn't get a game and he was looking at me, so hopefully Alex can put his hand up and get a kick for all of us."

Have seen some good write-ups on Tom Collier's debut over the past couple of days. Appears Leigh Matthews was very impressed and it should ensure Tom is able to string at least 2-3 more games together. On the Brisbane board they are talking him up as the best debut game since Jarred Brennan.

Link

The options facing coach Leigh Matthews are sticking with what he knows and selecting a safe side each week that should earn a position between sixth and eighth, or rolling the dice with some kids who just may take the club to the next level? There's no better time than now to take a gamble.

Tom Collier is a good example of a young player who may improve this side with an extended run in the seniors.
The 18-year-old Tasmanian made his debut on Saturday night and his 17 possessions were on the sixth line of ball winners, impressive without being spectacular.
But it was the glimpses of how he will approach his football that was most encouraging, his instinct to break the lines and attack from defence.
"I thought he set it up well, he is a good kick of the footy, a good precise kick," Matthews said.
"It was certainly an encouraging first game, no doubt about that.
"Jason Roe wasn't available, and probably if he was Tom wouldn't have played, but you have got to take your half chances as a young player and if you do you get a second chance.
"You always want to give a young player a couple of games, we try to do that no matter how badly they go in their first game.
"But if you show early glimpses you'll get more than a couple."

collierke0.jpg

Thought I would have a look at the 3 young Tasmanians who were rookie-listed last year and what there chances are of getting on the senior list.

Aaron Joseph (CAR)

2008-joseph-profile-med.jpg

DOB: 04-07-1989
Height: 180cm
Weight: 76kg
Club: Tassie Mariners, Glenorchy

Hard running player who has an outstanding NAB AFL U18 Championships averaging 29 possessions and winning All-Australian honours. A 20m Sprint time of 2.91sec at the NAB AFL Draft Camp highlighted his speed, as well as recording a time of 7.91sec for the Agility Test - the quickest of all participants tested at the 2007 Camp. From Glenorchy F.C.

Draft History
2007 NAB Rookie Draft 1st round selection (Carlton) No. 2 overall

My Thoughts
It's hard to fiind details on possible elevation to the senior list (and team LT injuries for that matter), but it appears AJ is at least behind 2 others on the current rookie list in David Ellard (elevated for Andrew Walker who is listed out with a shoulder injury until Rd 14) & Michael Jamison (elevated for possibly Hadley or Houlihan???) who have both made their debuts.
Therefore you would assume he won't debut this year, unless Carlton have a string of LT injuries. On the Carlton board, they see to think he is thereabouts and comparisons have been drawn with a Nathan Foley-type player. Good Luck to the kid.

27-20thFeb2008.jpg

Brodie Moles (GEE)

2008_BrodieMoles_med_v2.jpg

DOB: 07-11-1985
Height: 183cm
Weight: 84kg
Club: Tasmanian Devils, Glenorchy

Medium midfielder who impressed at VFL level in 2007 with the Tasmanian Devils.Has good skills and is well balanced. Can play as a forward or midfielder.

Draft History
2007 NAB Rookie Draft No. 16 overall (Geelong)

My Thoughts

Drafted as a mature age player, and has performed well for Geelong in the VFL recently after being out for a month or so in May. Geelong have had a pretty good run with injuries, and Matthew Egan is the only LT injury and he has been replaced on the senior list by Shane Mumford, I think. The vibe on the Cats board seems pretty positive towards him, although he needs to work on his engine, and the feeling is that he can be a very good VFL player, but maybe isn't up to it at the next level. Will find it tough to break into the senior squad and it looks doubtful he will get a game unless he gets one or two lucky breaks along the way.

75410399dp7.jpg

Alex Grima (HAW)

2008_GrimaAlex_med.jpg

DOB: 20-09-1989
Height: 184cm
Weight: 77kg
Club: Tassie Marniers, North Launceston

Speedy midfielder or half-back with neat skills. Identified as a good decision-maker and solid in one-on-one situations. Strong overhead and reads the play well. Represented Tasmania at under-18 level last year.

Draft History
2007 NAB Rookie Draft No. 16 overall (Hawthorn)

My Thoughts
Cameron Stokes (elevated due to hawks only having one veteran on the list) is well ahead of him as he has played a fair bit already this year. Season ending injuries to Max Bailey and Beau Muston leaves a couple of spots on the senior list, however it appears the Hawks are reluctant to elevate any of their rookies just yet. Feeling on the Hawks board is he won't make it and will be cut at year end, which will be dissapointing for the most promising of the Grima boys.

Link
Link

I noticed some discussion had started up on the future of Andrew Lee with the Dons and whether he would secure a place on the senior list come next year. Apparently he is due for a return to footy in 3-4 weeks after a long lay off with injury.

Link

Andrew Lee

2008_LEE_Andrew_Profile_medium.jpg

DOB: 01-07-1986
Height: 196cm
Weight: 93kg
Club: Tas U/18, Burnie Dockers

Failed to play a senior game in 2007 after making his debut in 2006. Had been troubled by osteitis pubis and last year had shoulder problems. The young Tasmanian could develop into a handy key-position player and looks best suited to centre half-back.

Draft history
2005 NAB AFL Draft 2nd round selection (Essendon) No. 30 overall.

My Thoughts
Managed 5 games in the 1's last year and never quite found his feet. Injury hasn't helped as well as possibly being played out of position. If he can get fit, he may get a couple of games toward the end of the year (assuming the Bombers are well out of the finals race) to prove he deserves a spot. Still developing and is a big unit.

Sam Isles (COL)

2008_profile_iles.jpg

DOB: 19-06-1987
Height: 185cm
Weight: 83kg
Club: Tas U/18/Clarence

After impressing during four games late in his first season at the club in 2006, Iles managed a further three appearances throughout 2007, including an excellent 19-possession performance in the round 14 win over the Saints in the wet at the MCG, where he showed poise and precision in the difficult conditions. Unluckily couldn't cement a spot in the Collingwood side, despite regularly being among Williamstown's best players and racking up big numbers in the midfield at VFL level. Possesses excellent endurance and speed, and neatly disposes of the football, Iles is one of the emerging young Collingwood midfielders pushing hard for a more permanent senior position.

Draft History

2006 AFL Pre-Season Draft 1st round selection (Collingwood) No. 2 overall

My Thoughts
Has managed 7 senior games, so obviously the Pies believe he is still thereabouts. Will battle to gain a senior spot, with a host of promising youngsters on the Pies list. Probably will make a very good VFL footballer, but is not quite up to the next level. I wish the boy well, and hope he keeps giving it his all.

Link

Angus Graham (RIC)

2008_GrahamA_Profile_med.jpg

DOB: 16-04-1987
Height: 200cm
Weight: 93kg
Club: Currie (Tas)/Assumption College/Calder U18

The retirement of ruckmen Trent Knobel and Ray Hall has opened the door for Graham, who has spent the past two years developing on Richmond’s rookie list. The former Assumption College student broke through for his AFL debut against Geelong in round 18 last year, playing one further match before injuring his ankle. Will be given time to mature and could become a valuable big man.

Draft History
2007 rookie elevation (Richmond).

My Thoughts
Has 2 senior games to his credit from last season. Definately has potential, and as we all know, big men take longer to develop. Still 2 relatively young ruckmen ahead of him at this stage in Simmonds and Patterson, so it will be difficult to gain opportunities without injury playing a part. Served his apprenticeship on the rookie list for 2 years, and Richmond obviously see enough potential in him to elevate Angus to the senior list. Has had good form in the VFL and I feel he may make it as a 2nd ruckman to Simmonds next year.

Link

Tom Bellchambers (ESS)

2008_BELLCHAMBERS_Tom_Profile_medium.jpg

DOB: 09-07-1989
Height: 200cm
Weight: 99kg
Club: Tassie Mariners/Northern Bombers

A young Launceston ruckman, he will be given plenty of time to develop. Had a solid 2007 season with the Tassie Mariners and also played in the VFL with the Devils. Averaged 31 hit-outs a game with the Mariners.

Draft History
2008 NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft 2nd round selection (Essendon) No. 8 overall.

My Thoughts
Was fortunate enough to see his debut senior game vs Hawks a few weeks ago, and while it wasn't a game to remember, it did show that he can get a spot if you take fellow Tasmanian Jason Laycock out of the equation. Has been performing well for Bendigo so far this year and may see more senior games this season. Still developing as per Angus Graham, and the vibe amongst Bombers supporters is that he will make it.

Link

Good to see a small write-up on Nathan Grima's future with the North Melbourne Football Club. The Roos have made an application to the AFL to change the rookie rules to allow a player who is yet to play an AFL game to remain on the rookie list regardless of age. They seem pretty confident in getting this rule change, and given the lengths the Roos have gone to, they seem pretty keen to have him as a rookie next season. Hopefully then he can get his body right and prove himself good enough to be elevated to the senior list. Good Luck to him.

Following the teams being named yesterday, it appears we might add to the list of Tasmanians playing in the AFL this weekend.

Justin Sherman has made his way back into the team after a weigh training mishap, and has been named on the ground ensuring he should get a run against the Dees.

Link

__Justin_Sherman_001.jpg

ROUND 14

Grant Birchall (HAW)
10 kicks
17 handballs
10 marks
1 goal
98 DT points

Brady Rawlings (NM)
6 kicks
17 handballs
3 marks
70 DT points

Matthew Richardson (RIC)

5 kicks
7 handballs
4 marks
1 goals
48 DT points

Jack Riewoldt (RIC)
9 kicks
3 handballs
2 marks
1 goal
58 DT points

Justin Sherman (BRI)
9 kicks
8 handballs
6 marks
70 DT points

Tom Collier (BRI)
7 kicks
5 handballs
1 marks
39 DT points

Brad Green (MEL)
20 kicks
10 handballs
15 marks
1 goal
145 DT points

Colin Garland (MEL)
6 kicks
7 handballs
5 marks
46 DT points

Simon Wiggins (CAR)
7 kicks
6 handballs
9 marks
1 goal
68 DT points

Sam Lonergan (ESS)
7 kicks
7 handballs
1 mark
1 goal
54 DT points

Jason Laycock (ESS)
4 kicks
4 handball
2 mark
6 hitouts
37 DT points

In Summary:
11 played
Richo did a hammy
Brad Green was close to BOG in Dees win

KRW - that photo of Alex Grima above:

1) It that Brett Geappen next to him?

2) Is that the Box Hill win last year?

3) Can I use this photo on my site?

KRW - that photo of Alex Grima above:

1) It that Brett Geappen next to him?

2) Is that the Box Hill win last year?

3) Can I use this photo on my site?

Gibbke

1) It's actually Brodie Moles, not Alex Grima, and I'm pretty sure it is Brett Geappen next to him

2) No idea I'm afraid, but since we won hardly any games last year, and one of our wins was against Box Hill then its a fair chance (2 wins- Bendigo in Rd 1 and Box Hill in Rd 14)

3) I pinched it from rizzo on the Cats board- need to ask him I guess
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=402100

Gibbke

1) It's actually Brodie Moles, not Alex Grima, and I'm pretty sure it is Brett Geappen next to him

2) No idea I'm afraid, but since we won hardly any games last year, and one of our wins was against Box Hill then its a fair chance (2 wins- Bendigo in Rd 1 and Box Hill in Rd 14)

3) I pinched it from rizzo on the Cats board- need to ask him I guess
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=402100

Brodie Moles. Sweet. My gut feeling is that it is the R14 match because 1) they are covered in mud (City Oval at Box Hill), and 2) they are happy!

Former Devil celebrates

0,,6132416,00.jpg

Article from:
TIM MacDONALD
July 07, 2008 12:00am

FORMER Tasmanian Devil Aaron Joseph returned home yesterday for his first game of football at Bellerive Oval since Carlton snared him as its top rookie in last year's draft.

The 19-year-old had been eyeing off the round 13 clash between VFL side Northern Bullants and the Tasmanian Devils, after his best on ground effort in last week's loss to Port Melbourne.

Although he had a relatively quiet day in front of friends and family, there was still reason to celebrate.

"My birthday was two days ago, so I was hoping to take home a few pressies from the family" he said.

The speedy midfielder is relishing his experience at Carlton, training with Brownlow Medalist Chris Judd.

"He is a great role model. He does all the right things so I try and model myself on him a bit, and follow the way he goes about it," Joseph said.

After an indifferent start to the season with his new club, Joseph sat down for a chat with Bullants' coach David Teague.

"He told me I just needed to get some consistency in my game," he said.

"So I've been working on that, trying to get into the best players."

Nailing down a role that hopefully takes him to the next level is an exciting challenge for Joseph.

Normally a free-running midfielder, Teague has tried him in a mix of roles this season, including the run with role that earned him last week's honours.

"He's tried me everywhere pretty much," Joseph said.

"I was playing forward and kicked a few goals, but I've also been down back and tagged a few blokes."

The former Mariner and Devil said the hardest thing about returning home was adjusting to the cold Hobart weather, but also admitted he received an icy reception on the field.

"They got into me a fair bit, but its all fun and we shook hands after the game."

* Tim MacDonald is on work experience from the Tasmanian Cricket Association.

http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,23980088-3462,00.html

NAB AFL Rising Star: round 14

By Jennifer Witham 9:17 AM Tue 08 July, 2008
colgarsd246.jpg

Colin Garland is the NAB AFL Rising Star nominee for round 14

MELBOURNE'S thrilling one-point win over the Brisbane Lions has come with an additional bonus, with promising defender Colin Garland winning the round 14 NAB AFL Rising Star nomination.
Garland, 20, has been holding down a key defensive role this season and has played on some of the league's most dangerous forwards including Lance Franklin, Alan Didak, Nick Riewoldt, Nathan Brown and most recently, Daniel Bradshaw.
"I guess I've been pretty consistent with my form, but I think I did alright on Bradshaw, although I didn't think it was my best game for the year," he told afl.com.au.
"I just tried not to wrestle with Bradshaw because he's a pretty big bloke, so I just tried to stay behind him and be in the contest the whole time."
Garland believes his most effective weapon is his middle-of-the-road size of 191cm, 85kg that allows him to play both big and small and face off with forwards of virtually any shape.
"I've been consistently getting better. I played alright on Franklin and on Riewoldt and I did well on Didak, and my Richmond game was pretty good," he said,
"I've had a few solid performances over time, I think.
"I'm sort of in between heights. I'm not overly as big as some players like Riewoldt and Franklin, but I'm a little bit taller than the small guys.
"It's a good mix because I can reach the tall guys and still do alright on the ground because I'm quick, so I can keep up with the small Aboriginal types or Didak or [Stephen] Milne or someone like that."
The young Tasmanian, who played just two senior games last year after being drafted with pick No.46 overall in the 2006 NAB AFL Draft, said his expanded responsibility this year has increased his confidence.
"Because I've been playing on some of the better players in the competition, you have to step up," he said.
"It's good that they've been giving me that type of opportunity because you can earn the respect of the group when you do well."
Garland grew up in North Hobart and is one of eight children, and had only 18 months of football under his belt before becoming a Demon almost two years ago.
"I started playing when I was 16, 17," he said.
"I didn't play for a period of time because I come from a single-parent family and it was hard to get to training and stuff, and then a few mates were playing and I turned up a week before pre-season and it flowed on from there.
"It was insane. I went from playing under-17s, my first game, to playing AFL in under a year."
Looking ahead, Garland hopes he can continue to fulfil a role in either defence or attack for the Demons – basically, wherever they need him to play.
"In the future, hopefully I can be a swingman and play both ends, wherever they need me to play," he said.
"At the moment, I'm just enjoying my footy down back and forming a good partnership with Matty Warnock and a few other blokes down there."

Garland joins Bachar Houli (Essendon), Josh Hill (Western Bulldogs), Rhys Palmer (Fremantle), Kieren Jack (Sydney), Ben McKinley (West Coast), Cyril Rioli (Hawthorn), Austin Wonaeamirri (Melbourne), Kurt Tippett (Adelaide), Garrick Ibbotson (Fremantle), Nathan Brown (Collingwood), Matthew Kreuzer (Carlton), Trent Cotchin (Richmond) and Jarryd Morton (Hawthorn) as contenders for this year's prize.

Colin Garland is the 1st Tasmanian player to be awarded a Rising Star nomination since Grant Birchall in Rd 14, 2006. Congratulations Colin.

ROUND 15

Grant Birchall (HAW)
9 kicks
6 handballs
4 marks
65 DT points

Simon Taylor (HAW)
4 kicks
2 handballs
1 mark
1 goal
13 hitouts
37 DT points

Brady Rawlings (NM)
8 kicks
16 handballs
4 marks
81 DT points

Jack Riewoldt (RIC)
12 kicks
5 handballs
8 marks
5 goals
105 DT points

Tom Collier (BRI)
4 kicks
5 handballs
1 marks
1 goal
32 DT points

Brad Green (MEL)
14 kicks
5 handballs
4 marks
2 goal
6 tackles
100 DT points

Colin Garland (MEL)
12 kicks
9 handballs
7 marks
78 DT points

Simon Wiggins (CAR)
5 kicks
5 handballs
4 marks
46 DT points

Sam Lonergan (ESS)
10 kicks
7 handballs
5 mark
2 goals
78 DT points

Jason Laycock (ESS)
7 kicks
1 handball
5 mark
1 goal
7 hitouts
50 DT points

In Summary:
10 played
Richo out with a hammy injury
Sherman dropped
Simon Taylor back from injury
Colin Garland continued impressive form
Jack Riewoldt kicked 5 goals
Sam Lonergan knocked out but returned later in the game

NAB AFL Rising Star: round 15

By Jennifer Witham 9:09 AM Tue 15 July, 2008

wbRICHriewoldt.jpg

RICHMOND forward Jack Riewoldt has the unique opportunity of emulating his cousin Nick's feat of claiming the NAB AFL Rising Star award in his second season, following the young Tiger's round 15 nomination.
Riewoldt, 19, booted five goals in the Tigers' 77-point win over West Coast at Subiaco on Sunday, which was his biggest bag as an AFL player.
Riewoldt said he enjoyed the role he played during the weekend's match, and praised the team for giving him consistent delivery.
"I had a good time out there, a lot of fun, and I just enjoyed playing with all of the guys," he told afl.com.au.
"I was against Adam Hunter for most of the day, but our midfield dominance really helped us out, and it led to me kicking five and Nathan Brown kicking four and Mitch Morton three.
"Our clearance work really helped out the whole side, and it helped us out having more inside 50s than them."
Riewoldt has played 19 senior games in total – 11 of which have come this year – and credits Coburg coach Jade Rawlings as the biggest influence on his improvement so far.
He also said gaining a sense of solidity as a senior player has helped his form, as he doesn't worry as much about getting a run in the firsts.
"This year, I've had two stints in the seniors where I've played eight games in the first stint, and then I went back to Coburg for a week and then came back in," he said.
"It's a bit more settling to know, coming into the weekend, that I'm going to be playing in the seniors and not being hesitant about it.
"It's good that have that stability."
Cousin Nick won the NAB AFL Rising Star in 2002 in what was his second season after being drafted in 2000.
Riewoldt, who found his way to Punt Road via the 2006 NAB AFL Draft, now has an opportunity to do the same following his nomination, although he doesn't rate his chances.
"I'm not really too fussed on individual recognition. It's nice to be rewarded, but you'd do anything for the team to win," he said.
"I'm just happy that we're winning games at the moment, and I'm really enjoying playing footy with the younger guys at the club."
The cousins see each other more outside the season than during, but the younger Riewoldt maintains their lack of socialising during the home-and-away calendar does not indicate a heavy competition.
"I don't think there's any rivalry between us," he said.
"We're pretty individual people, and we get along pretty well and are pretty close.
"During the season we don't talk a lot, but out of season we generally catch up and talk a fair bit on the phone.
"When we get together, we don't talk about footy – we just talk about life, really."
Riewoldt moved from his family home in Tasmania to take up his role at Richmond, and is enjoying the opportunity to live on the "mainland" where he believes he has made a comfortable base.
"I'm pretty well adjusted. I've got a house over here now and I'm enjoying living here," he said.
"The first six months was hard, but I've settled and I'm really enjoying my time here. My girlfriend has moved over from Tassie as well.
"I've got a lot of things going for me here. Nick lives down the road and it's an easy flight for mum and dad to come over and see us."
Riewoldt joins Bachar Houli (Essendon), Josh Hill (Western Bulldogs), Rhys Palmer (Fremantle), Kieren Jack (Sydney), Ben McKinley (West Coast), Cyril Rioli (Hawthorn), Austin Wonaeamirri (Melbourne), Kurt Tippett (Adelaide), Garrick Ibbotson (Fremantle), Nathan Brown (Collingwood), Matthew Kreuzer (Carlton), Trent Cotchin (Richmond), Jarryd Morton (Hawthorn) and Colin Garland (Melbourne) as contenders for this year's prize.

2 Rising Star Nominations in a row for the young Tasmanians. Fantastic stuff by both Jack and Colin. Personally I think Sam Lonergan was very stiff not to get the nomination this week and it is only a matter of time until he does. Could we go three in a row? Who said the state of Tassie grassroots football has stunted our development?

ROUND 16

Grant Birchall (HAW)
10 kicks
11 handballs
6 marks
72 DT points

Simon Taylor (HAW)
1 kicks
6 handballs
1 mark
15 hitouts
31 DT points

Brady Rawlings (NM)
8 kicks
13 handballs
5 marks
71 DT points

Jack Riewoldt (RIC)
7 kicks
1 handballs
4 marks
37 DT points

Tom Collier (BRI)
4 kicks
7 handballs
4 marks
39 DT points

Colin Garland (MEL)
6 kicks
5 handballs
2 marks
31 DT points

Simon Wiggins (CAR)
4 kicks
9 handballs
4 marks
53 DT points

Sam Lonergan (ESS)
6 kicks
10 handballs
1 mark
1 goal
66 DT points

Jason Laycock (ESS)
11 kicks
2 handball
3 mark
1 goal
7 hitouts
68 DT points

In Summary:
9 played
Brad Green and Richo out with hammy injuries

ROUND 17

Grant Birchall (HAW)
11 kicks
10 handballs
6 marks
71 DT points

Simon Taylor (HAW)
3 kicks
6 handballs
2 mark
8 hitouts
31 DT points

Brady Rawlings (NM)
9 kicks
12 handballs
1 marks
64 DT points

Matthew Richardson (RIC)
16 kicks
6 handballs
17 marks
3 goals
132 DT points

Jack Riewoldt (RIC)
7 kicks
5 handballs
3 marks
2 goals
56 DT points

Justin Sherman (BRI)
10 kicks
7 handballs
7 marks
2 goals
91 DT points

Tom Collier (BRI)
2 kicks
1 handballs
1 marks
6 DT points

Colin Garland (MEL)
8 kicks
1 handballs
5 marks
49 DT points

Simon Wiggins (CAR)
10 kicks
7 handballs
6 marks
4 goals
104 DT points

Sam Lonergan (ESS)
13 kicks
9 handballs
2 mark
86 DT points

Jason Laycock (ESS)
4 kicks
2 handball
1 mark
15 hitouts
36 DT points

In Summary:
11 played
Simon Wiggins played his 100th (and one of his best) games
Brad Green still out with hammy, Sherman returned for the Lions
Richo returned and possibly added 3 brownlow votes
Sam Lonergan continues to push for a Rising Star Nomination

Brownlow Votes- Tasmanian Players

22 Matthew Richardson
12 Nick Riewoldt
08 David Hale
03 Brad Green
02 Brady Rawlings
02 Simon Wiggins
01 Jack Riewoldt

50 Votes (4.7% of all votes) in total- not a bad effort
Richo unlucky

Thanks Saints

" Brodie Holland is hopeful of continuing his AFL career after being delisted by Collingwood. Holland was one of three players culled by the Magpies yesterday."
Link

"Former first-round draft pick Chris Egan and Sam Iles were told last week they would not be kept on the list next year and will be traded or delisted."
Link

There is plenty of talk that Peter Street has been delisted, but the only source I could find (last line in article) suggests that he may look to be traded "It is believed ruckman Peter Street was told yesterday he would be up for trade."
Link

Also, Andrew Lee from Essendon has been delisted.
Link

That leaves 21 Tasmanian players currently on AFL Senior & Rookie lists:

Grant Birchall (HAW)
Mitch Thorp (HAW)
Simon Taylor (HAW)
Alex Grima (HAW)
Brady Rawlings (NM)
Nathan Grima (NM)
Matthew Richardson (RIC)
Jack Riewoldt (RIC)
Angus Graham (RIC)
Tom Collier (BRI)