Tassie State team 2009

Bit disappointed Leigh Harding isn't in the squad, no disrespect to Shane Wager and Sam Whish-Wilson, who are both fine players, but i think "Spreader" has been North's best midfielder this year.

Hope Brad McDonald from Devonport gets a run, very exciting footballer and a super work ethic.

I think you might find Sin City that Shane Wager gets the number one tag each week followed by O'sign then WIsh. Which frees spreader up, to so say he is better than Wage, your kidding yourself. Compared to Wish, two completely different players, wish is in and under and works hard but is not very good by foot, on the other hand spreader is highly skilled and a fleet footed receiver so it would depend on what your looking for. Wage for me.

Looks like we wont know the team until the final run on saturday arvo. I suppose the conditions may have some bearing on the teams make up. BRO is in great nick & takes the rains well, the middle would be covered. Any wet conditions would suit the pineapple boys seeing how much of it they have had lately:eek: LRF shows the odd shower only, hope so as we want a good game. Looks as if Miar will miss out, that will be a bit sad as he is pretty exiting to watch. Should have lots of midfield rotations to keep the pressure on. Sav down back & Dutts up forward make two pretty bookends:D. It will a full on game. At the EOTD I hope we will be too tough for the bannana benders.:D Go TSL

Errrrm....... No.

Long Range Weather Forecast: Hobart
Thursday 4/6/09: Rain - 9-13° (90% chance of 10-20mm)
Friday 5/6/09: Rain - 9-14° (90% chance of 10-20mm)
Saturday 6/6/09: Rain - 10-14° (90% chance of 40-80mm)
Sunday 7/6/09: Showers - 9-14° - (90% chance of 5-10mm)
Monday 8/6/09: Showers - 6-13° (80% chance of 1-5mm)

Should be a cool, damp and sloshy weekend of football, the good drainage of Bellerive will be tested and with that filthy forecast for Saturday, you can bet that centre wicket will be very much a gluepot on Sunday.
Just glad it's not being played at the TCA Ground ;)
About 17mm has already fallen since yesterday afternoon.

Sorry my Kingpinness:D, I looked at the weather forecaste on abc 936 which said the odd shower on saturday & noted only some rain mainly in the west by sunday. I will consult the BOM for any future weather prognostications:D Anyway, rain, snow, sleet:eek: or whatever, it will be a tough ask for both sides.

Tassie win restores state pride
BY PHIL EDWARDS
8/06/2009
TASMANIA'S football pride was restored and the ghosts of 2007 erased as the state team recorded a resounding 49-point victory against Queensland in the representative match at Bellerive Oval yesterday.
A raucous rendition of the state's victory song was belted out in the changerooms after the game as Tasmanian players, coaching staff and supporters relished the 20.9 (129) to 11.14 (80) victory against the Maroons.

Full storyhttp://www.examiner.com.au/news/loc...restores-state-pride/1534238.aspx?storypage=0

So the beat a rugby league state.
BIG DEAL!!!

A 'rugby league state' that gets funded by the AFL to the tune of about 10 times the amount we do.
A 'rugby league state' that has one successful AFL team, soon to be home to a second one.
A 'rugby league state' that has about 10 times the population we do.
A 'rugby league state' that nailed our passionless, supposed elitist squad of blow-in's arses at York Park last time.

Yeah that team :thumbsu:

By the sounds of it, if you had your way we would back to country football all over again watching Smallville v Woop Woop playing in front of 38-people, 26-dogs, 89-seagulls and 41-cars at Shitheapville Recreation Memorial Ground.

No thanks :thumbsdown:

Great win by the team!

So the beat a rugby league state.
BIG DEAL!!!

You must be a wealth of football knowledge stupid. If you look at all the results over the years, you will find the tassie teams that played in the carnivals lost on most occassions to qld sides or they were very close, both teams were always situated in Div 2, i suggest you go down to belerieve and look at the photos on the wall and read the results,and that was before the QLD had two AFL teams.

A 'rugby league state' that gets funded by the AFL to the tune of about 10 times the amount we do.
A 'rugby league state' that has one successful AFL team, soon to be home to a second one.
A 'rugby league state' that has about 10 times the population we do.
A 'rugby league state' that nailed our passionless, supposed elitist squad of blow-in's arses at York Park last time.

Yeah that team :thumbsu:

By the sounds of it, if you had your way we would back to country football all over again watching Smallville v Woop Woop playing in front of 38-people, 26-dogs, 89-seagulls and 41-cars at Shitheapville Recreation Memorial Ground.

No thanks :thumbsdown:

Great win by the team!
Sounds like the State Wide crap we got now!

I'm picking you either couldn't make the devils or you weren't good enough for one of the those statewide clubs. Sour grapes mate, they get you know where :thumbsdown:. Chin up and keep battling, it's worked for some :)
Don't remember stating that i played??!!??
Your comment makes no sense at all!
Just like the Scott Wade League (Mark II)

Don't remember stating that i played??!!??
Your comment makes no sense at all!
Just like the Scott Wade League (Mark II)

Well looks like we both have made comments that made no sense. Cause yours about beating a league state is totally wrong, and you have no facts to back it up.

Mat Armstrong & the boys did a good job in what (thankfully) turned out to be good conditions. The ground was excellent. For a bunch of guys, most of whom have hardly even met before, they did well. I liked the game of big Sav. He nailed their star FF. It was great to see them drag Eagle. It may have been Tassies first win since 1998 But we've only played WA at Kalgoorlie in 1999 & then Crezza's circus in 2007. Comments about Qld rugby state are silly. They have a very good footy history. Some good locals + a lot of expat southern staters have helped their game. Now they have huge AFL resources which we dont. Sunday showed that some passion & self repect is back.

More rep games likely
BRETT STUBBS
June 09, 2009
TASMANIA is looking to make state games a permanent fixture after Sunday's 49-point win over Queensland.
AFL Tasmania held informal discussions with AFL Queensland chairman Daryl Bray after the win and it is likely the Tasmanian team will travel north to take on the Maroons next season.
But AFL Tasmania GM Scott Wade said it was also eyeing off the big boys -- the VFL, SANFL and WAFL.
"Certainly we'd like to have a crack at one of the big states soon, but whether that is next year or whether it is a little way down the track, we'll just have to wait and see," Wade said.

Full story
http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2009/06/09/78255_afl.html

Tassie State team 2009