Team dilemma

Moti

Mar 4, 2001
We are all going to put our thoughts across for a team for next weekend.

I was going through the side and found that several of my personal favourites would probably not make the team due to it being pretty full.

Likewise, if Archer misses, along with Motlop, then it is also hard to see how those two will be put back in the team. They will be put in, but who goes out?

This is my team, based on the assumption that 2 ruckman will be selected (not quite my preference). This also has no Archer or Motlop. All other player's out don't make the cut.

B: Makepeace Watt Teague
HB: Sinclair Colbert Baird
C: King Simpson Stevens
HF: Harding Morrell Jones
F: Harvey Rocca Petrie
FOLL: Porter Robbins Grant
I/C: Burton Brown Wells Watson

Their are a lot players that deserve to have a chance in this side, but it is just so full. Watson gets the last running spot as I just like him but any one of Clayton (x2), Rawlings, Harris, Stevens and so on could make it. It isn't really the point, the running spot could be either, it isn't a structual change.

It does raise an interesting question of balance, and also how we are going to fit in the two guys out at the moment.

This is one reason why having Petrie as the back up ruckman would be good, to get another running player on the bench, but as that doesn't seem likely, the team structure will probably remain as is.

What are ur thoughts on the team as is, but more importnatly, the structure.

Too top heavy, I think, Moti.

Watt, Colbert and Baird in the Backline
Petrie, Rocca and Morrell in the Forward line.
Porter in the ruck
Burton and Brown on the bench.

One tall too many.

I'd drop Morrell from this group and replace him with Harris or Rawlings (depending on whether you want a ball winning or outside running player). Unfortunately for young Stevo, he'll now have to prove himself in the reserves.

I agree with your round two dilemma, but lets cross that bridge when we come to it. Who knows what may happen by then.

Originally posted by Moti
Likewise, if Archer misses, along with Motlop, then it is also hard to see how those two will be put back in the team. They will be put in, but who goes out?

Can't see ANY situation where Laidley goes up to Archer and says "Sorrry mate, just can't find any room. Have a run around in the scooby doos! (pats him on the cheek)"

They would drop everyone except maybe Stevens to get Arch back in that team! And even then...

Re: Re: Team dilemma

Originally posted by Yianni
Can't see ANY situation where Laidley goes up to Archer and says "Sorrry mate, just can't find any room. Have a run around in the scooby doos! (pats him on the cheek)"

They would drop everyone except maybe Stevens to get Arch back in that team! And even then...
I like Moti. I really do. He often puts these deep thought posts together and obviously puts a bit of time and effort in....

BUT, he must REALLY rate Jones, Watson & Wells just to name 3 blokes who right now should consider themselves lucky to be worthy to even tie Glenn Archer's shoe laces, let alone keep him out of our senior team!!

C'mon Moti, think about it son.

But yes, it is a tough ask selecting this first up team. I dont really disagree with what you've come up with for this first week, although from what we have seen thus far, i think S.Clayton will definately be in there. Watson, who seems to have done everything asked of him, but might still be a little way off debuting IMO and might be the unlucky one to miss out.

I know I wasn't all that eleqoent in my dialogue but I did say that both players WOULD be put back in, but it would be hard to decide which players will be left out.

Think I got a little tongue tied.

Also Hurricane, I too believe we are too top heavy which is why I only want 1 specialist ruckman.

I just am not confident in any of our talls to leave just 3 and I prefer to have some options, options we don't have as much when having a resting ruckman.

RE-TEAM 1ST ROUND

I agree with most of the for mentioned
team but believe Jones must be on
half forward flank!Also Petrie to centre half forward
with Morrell in pocket or bench!Morrell not
big enough for key post IMO better suited
to flank/forward pocket.The position the
Fridge made famous

Over + out
Digby

B: Makepeace Watt Teague
HB: Sinclair Colbert Baird
C: Grant Simpson Stevens
HF: S. Clayton Petrie King
F: Jones Rocca Harding
FOLL: Porter Robbins Harvey
I/C: Burton Brown Wells Harris

I think basically the same team, but Clayton and Harris in for Digby and Watson. Digby has been disappointing all preseason. Im not counting the saints game. So i think Clayton has deserved his chance above him, despite playing different roles, but if Petrie struggles at CHF Brown can play there.

Harris must be played, simple as that. He played well in adelaide and although Watson arguably deserves his spot to, i just think in terms of giving Harris a game will boost his confidence and help him turn the corner and be the player everyone thinks he can. Leaving him out of the rd.1 side would be a big kick in the guts and he would be very disappointed.

Originally posted by Moti

:p

You arse!!

How can you POSSIBLY say that Archer will struggle to get back in the team?

That is the SINGLE most stupid thing I have EVER read!!

:p You idiot.:p

Its getting boring Rewboy.

The only time you post is to hook into Moti these days. You've made your point, you dont like the kid. Now how about moving on?

Try something constructive, like starting a conversation topic instead of exclusively reacting predictably to his attempts to discuss our team, rightly or wrongly, all the time hey?

I love these lineup threads! :p

B:---Makepeace----Watt----Teague

HB:-Baird----Brown----Sinclair

C:---King----AStevens----Grant

HF:-SClayton----Morrell----Harding

F:--Jones----Rocca----Harvey

R:--Burton----Simpson----Robbins

Int:porter----Colbert----Wells----Harris

It's more or less my first XXII minus DMotlop and Archer.

Whatever team the JYD picks Thursday night will be a good one...but as StKilda have a weakness in the ruck and a real lack of talls I'd play Porter as sole specialist ruckman and give Spider another run in the twos (ease him into the season - don't want him tearing another hammy). Play Petrie off the bench as a back up to Porter...and I'd give Baird 1st crack at full back..he has a big form advantage over Watt (altough he's worth persevering with - but wouldn't start him on the ground this week).

Would like to see the club give Arch another week to recover - after all it's only St Kilda we're playing.

Go Roo Boys!

Originally posted by Carlos
Its getting boring Rewboy.

The only time you post is to hook into Moti these days. You've made your point, you dont like the kid. Now how about moving on?

Try something constructive, like starting a conversation topic instead of exclusively reacting predictably to his attempts to discuss our team, rightly or wrongly, all the time hey?

Well said. You beat me to it.

Here is my Round 1 Team, assuming that Arch misses out

B Baird Watt Makepeace
HB Teague Brown A Stevens
C King Robbins Sinclair
HF Jones Petrie Morrell
FF Harvey Rocca Harding
R Porter Simpson Grant
Int S Clayton, Colbert, Burton, Rawlings
Emg. Harris, Watson, Wells

Rewboy, stop annoying people on here and go and abuse yourself!

With Archer and Motlop not playing...

Teague Watt Stevens
Sinclair Colbert Baird
King Grant Makepeace
Harding Petrie Brown
Wells Rocca Jones
Burton Simpson Harvey
Porter Harris Morrell Watson

Damn Shannon Motlop shpould be in that side but his form over the preseason hasn't warranted it. He is the type we need off half back, in tandem with sinclair.
Anyway, Robbins and Clayton probably deserve a go but this team is based on the now, with an eye to the future. Their replacements in this team - Harris (Robbins) and Watson (Clayton) - aren't that far behind them to cost us too much in the short term, and I reckon will be better in the long term.
Only concern is a slow backline, hence the need to have stevo in the BP.

Originally posted by windsock
Anyway, Robbins and Clayton probably deserve a go but this team is based on the now, with an eye to the future. Their replacements in this team - Harris (Robbins) and Watson (Clayton) - aren't that far behind them to cost us too much in the short term, and I reckon will be better in the long term.

I'd be amazed if Robbins isn't in the 22, I don't know what more he would have to do to get some credit form some North fans.

My team is:

Baird Watt Stevens
Teague Colbert Sinclair
King Robbins Makepeace
Harvey Brown Petrie
Harding Rocca Jones
Porter Simpson Harvey

Int: Burton S.Clayton Wells Rawlings
Emerg: Harris Watson Morrell

Bit harder than I thought, I am sure I have left out someone.

Moomba

Originally posted by moomba
I'd be amazed if Robbins isn't in the 22, I don't know what more he would have to do to get some credit form some North fans.
Absolutely. He`s got a few years experience too. Can`t just play the rookies!

Teague Brown Stevo
Sinkers Colby Baird
Robbins Grant King
Makey Petrie Morrell
Jones Rocca Harding
Spider Simmo Harves
Porter, Wells, Harro, Watt

Grant changes with Makey. Both are equally dangerous up forward. Need two marking options across half forward at the G and Diggers will justify his spot with a stirling performance!

Grant could be in for a big year, so I want him in the middle and back to 2001 form. Like Moomba`s idea of Stevo in the back pocket to start with, esp in the absence of Arch. Put him on Milne to shut the yapper up. If things become pear shaped in the midfield, he`s back though!

Options on the bench can cover all positions on the ground.

Originally posted by Dingster
Like Moomba`s idea of Stevo in the back pocket to start with, esp in the absence of Arch. Put him on Milne to shut the yapper up. If things become pear shaped in the midfield, he`s back though!

I think Milne will be way to quick for Stevo. Makey should get first crack there. Stevo should be where he plays his best footy, in the middle, under the packs feeding the ball out to players like Grant, King, Wells, basically our runners.

I'd put Sinclair on Milne. He'll beat him one out then run off him all day. As most specialist FP are not the best chasers and tacklers in the world this may be one way to expose them and create alot of drive from the backline.

My line up for Rd 1 would be:

Sinclair Watt Baird
Teague Brown Makepeace
King Robbins Simpson
Jones Petrie Grant
Harding Rocca Morrell
Porter Stevens: Harvey
Burton Colbert S Clayton Wells/Watson

Originally posted by Dingster
Absolutely. He`s got a few years experience too. Can`t just play the rookies!

Teague Brown Stevo
Sinkers Colby Baird
Robbins Grant King
Makey Petrie Morrell
Jones Rocca Harding
Spider Simmo Harves
Porter, Wells, Harro, Watt

Grant changes with Makey. Both are equally dangerous up forward. Need two marking options across half forward at the G and Diggers will justify his spot with a stirling performance!

Grant could be in for a big year, so I want him in the middle and back to 2001 form. Like Moomba`s idea of Stevo in the back pocket to start with, esp in the absence of Arch. Put him on Milne to shut the yapper up. If things become pear shaped in the
midfield, he`s back though!

Options on the bench can cover all positions on the ground.

Hey just cos you agree with Moomba and disagree with me re Robbins, doesn't mean you have to ignore my team. I had stevo in a BP too! Bloody thief!
Credit where it's due, please!!

With CHF being a problem area (with the great man now in the fabulous tri-colours), any thought to Colbert playing CHF? You have Watt & Brown who can hold down the key defensive posts & hopefully McCartney will come back too.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
With CHF being a problem area (with the great man now in the fabulous tri-colours), any thought to Colbert playing CHF? You have Watt & Brown who can hold down the key defensive posts & hopefully McCartney will come back too.

Colbert played a half at CHF today so I think he will be an option. I don't see Colbert and Brown playing a lot in the same backline together, I would guess that when both are fit, one will be forward, the other down back. Who is who will depend on the game situation at the time, but I think they could get some benefit by rotating at times during the game.

Moomba

Originally posted by moomba
Colbert played a half at CHF today so I think he will be an option. I don't see Colbert and Brown playing a lot in the same backline together, I would guess that when both are fit, one will be forward, the other down back. Who is who will depend on the game situation at the time, but I think they could get some benefit by rotating at times during the game.
Colbert comes across as a smart footballer & as he has got back to some decent form IMO would be your best option for CHF. Colbert with his experience can then then help groom Morrell or Petrie as the 3rd tall forward. Not convinced yet about Watt, but I reckon McCartney (when fit) & Brown can cover your key defensive key postions.

Originally posted by windsock
Hey just cos you agree with Moomba and disagree with me re Robbins, doesn't mean you have to ignore my team. I had stevo in a BP too! Bloody thief!
Credit where it's due, please!!
..and you had Morrell in your 22. Moomba only had him as an emergency. What does he know and what can you expect from a City supporter?;)

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Colbert comes across as a smart footballer & as he has got back to some decent form IMO would be your best option for CHF. Colbert with his experience can then then help groom Morrell or Petrie as the 3rd tall forward. Not convinced yet about Watt, but I reckon McCartney (when fit) & Brown can cover your key defensive key postions.
Colby played his best footy in defence last year. Prefer Petrie and Morrell as the marking options across half forward. Both showed promise last year and will get better with experience. Also, we no longer need a dominant CHF, with young players like Harding, Jones, D Motlop and Wells buzzing around. The "vets" Kingy, Grant and Harves don`t mind a goal either.

Team dilemma