Team of the Week....Round Six

Jun 29, 2006
Nthn Beaches
BBGFC and LRGC
Matches this week went as predicted making tipsters happy, apart from a second draw at the Dome in just 7 days. Most clubs now settling into their 08 gameplans and true form starting to become more obvious. Some very poor finishing work in front of goals by Sydney and Hawthorn only affected 2 premiership points. Overall the footy was a little less spectacular after the hectic and high standard start to the season we've enjoyed.

Game of the week was at Subiaco where the reigning premiers ground out a win after being 7 goals down. The annual marquee Anzac Day clash turned out to be a lopsided affair and the draw at TD left players and fans from both clubs disappointed.

A relatively average start to the season by ruckmen was blown away this week by a best on ground performance by Aaron Sandilands at Subi. Matthew Richardson capped off a superb April by confirming his status as the most mobile and influential KPP of the 08 season.

Step up games from established youngsters Scott Pendlebury, Nathan Jones, Josh Kennedy, Richard Tambling, Jordan Russell, Jonathan Griffin...all deserve special mentions.

Its a big wing this week.

FB: M Firrito..........B Lake.........J King
HB: J Selwood........N Bock........B Harvey
.C: M Richardson...S Black(c)....A Goodes
HF: N Jones..........M Pavlich......R Murphy
FF: P Medhurst....J Roughead....B Burton

Foll: A Sandilands(vc)...L Hodge...S Pendlebury

Int: J Griffin...D Cross...D Petrie...K Cornes

Good Games: T Cloke, S Thompson, Joel MacDonald, M Osborne, S Tuck, L Power, N Foley, R Crowley, J Griffin, S OBree, A Corrie, S Salopek, K Johnson M Murphy, D Cassisi, P Bell, J White, R Tambling, J Kelly, C Rioli, C Enright, T Chaplin, N Stevens, D Wirrpanda, M Rischitelli, L Hayes, J Russell, J Akermanis, D Bradshaw, A Cooney, B Kirk, J Brennan, D Hale, T Edwards, S Mitchell, R Hooper, G Johncock, A Didak, J Watson, B Deledio, C Bruce, N Thompson, J McVeigh, G Ibbotsen, J King, J Corey, H Shaw, S Crawford

Captain of the Week: Simon Black

Coach of the Week: Rodney Eade

Kids of the Week: Cyril Rioli was the standout this week and should pick up the gong...Garrick Ibbotsen also had a damn good game.

Sandilands played the best ruck game i have ever seen. Maybe because it was on a dud in Mark Blake, but he still was brilliant.
I thought Joel Corey should have at least got on the interchange Bollox.
Apart from that it's a good team.

Sandilands played the best ruck game i have ever seen. Maybe because it was on a dud in Mark Blake, but he still was brilliant.
I thought Joel Corey should have at least got on the interchange Bollox.
Apart from that it's a good team.

Lots of rovers to choose from this week and whilst Corey had a good game (on the list) i really didnt think it was good enough to make it this week when comparing to others. Thought Joel Selwood got u the win and found a slot for him in the run on. Not much thru the middle of geelong of much note this week...they just looked FLAT after a big game last week.

Guys like Cross, Thompson, Hayes, Pendlebury, Harvey, KJohnson, Power, Mitchell, Cooney, Kirk, MMurphy and more i reckon were all about as good as Corey. Just no room for him this week.

HAD to find a slot in the 18 for nathan Jones from the Dees...thought he had a blinder in a losing team.

Lots of rovers to choose from this week and whilst Corey had a good game (on the list) i really didnt think it was good enough to make it this week when comparing to others. Thought Joel Selwood got u the win and found a slot for him in the run on. Not much thru the middle of geelong of much note this week.

Guys like Cross, Thompson, Hayes, Pendlebury, Harvey, KJohnson, Power, Mitchell, Cooney, Kirk, MMurphy and more i reckon were all about as good as Corey. Just no room for him this week.

HAD to find a slot in the 18 for nathan Jones from the Dees...thought he had a blinder in a losing team.
Fair enough mate.

Woohoo, we finally got a player in the team of the week.

/sigh

Good effort by Jones, he and McLean are basically our midfield this year with very little support from the older players.

I personally didn't think too much of Kane Cornes' game. Turned it over a fair bit, and didn't have a big impact with the ball. His tagging job on Dal Santo was top notch though.

I would have Bradshaw instead at FF
Nothing in the first qtr...none or one in the 2nd qtr maybe ?

Got his haul after the game was already dusted against the weakest defence in the game...and they werent tuff goals.

Roughead just kept on killing off any fightback the Tiges made.

Nathan Thompson was also good...Burton was closer to FF than Bradshaw for mine this week.

I personally didn't think too much of Kane Cornes' game. Turned it over a fair bit, and didn't have a big impact with the ball. His tagging job on Dal Santo was top notch though.

Wasnt a bloke on that ground that didnt turn it over. Looked like they were playing with a bar of soap. Slippery opponent on a slippery deck and got plenty of it.

Were plenty of rovers loose on dry decks...who would u suggest is more deserving of ruck rover slot this week ? To me RR has a solid opponent each week.

Nothing in the first qtr...none or one in the 2nd qtr maybe ?

Got his haul after the game was already dusted against the weakest defence in the game...and they werent tuff goals.

Roughead just kept on killing off any fightback the Tiges made.

Nathan Thompson was also good...Burton was closer to FF than Bradshaw for mine this week.

/agree

Only watched the first 2 quarters of the Lions game, didn't see anything from Bradshaw at all.

Trav Cloke a bit shafted, but you can't fit 'em all in.

A special mention for Jordan Russell? Did you watch the game? Tries hard, but he's a turnover merchant.

Wasnt a bloke on that ground that didnt turn it over. Looked like they were playing with a bar of soap. Slippery opponent on a slippery deck and got plenty of it.

Were plenty of rovers loose on dry decks...who would u suggest is more deserving of ruck rover slot this week ? To me RR has a solid opponent each week.

Joel Selwood. He had a massive impact compared to Kornes IMO.

I agree totally, slippery or not.....24 players operated at a higher efficiency rate than Cornes in that game. As for Dal Santo he tags himself out of it when its wet.

Pendlebury in for Cornes imo!:thumbsu:

Good team, hard to fit 22 in when multiple players play well, especially in the midfield, where each game will have several standouts.

Posters saying "player A should get in", need to realise that just because a player played well, doesn't mean another player didn't play better.

Pendlebury was sensational on Anzac Day from start to finish.....stiff not to make the starting line-up!:)
Everyone has their opinion...i wanted Pendlebury in but i cant even think of an opponent he had...and the opposition was about as pitiful as u get. Sure it wasnt a little easier for him to get the ball ?

So which big name/difficult opponent did Pendlebury have on Anzac Day and what were the conditions like ?...or was he largely playing loose and simply attracted mountains of ball to him ?

Everyone has their opinion...i wanted Pendlebury in but i cant even think of an opponent he had...and the opposition was about as pitiful as u get. Sure it wasnt a little easier for him to get the ball ?

So which big name/difficult opponent did Pendlebury have on Anzac Day and what were the conditions like ?...or was he largely playing loose and simply attracted mountains of ball to him ?

Not suggesting you need to include him, but he did have 10 contested possessions.

agree about Russell. He's lucky to be in the Blues 22 let alone the team of the week! Nothing good happens when he gets the ball.

heyy..he isnt even in the team of the week. He went hard didnt he ?..he was always in the game wasnt he ?

The guy cops more shit than just about any other Carlton player since Livingston and u want to pile more on him ?

Think of it as an encouragment award :D...all he needs to do is fix his knack for butchering it.

last week all the talk was who is the best player goin around....ablett,buddy or judd.this week not one of em made your players of the week.........a week is a long time in footy

Big change isnt it. Been some hard tags dished out on the big names so far and they usually manage them easier as the season goes on.
Shirley on Judd...Ablett copped it...Boyd on Kerr...Kornes on Dal Santo etc.

This week i think Goodes worked more to a plan and decided to run a LOT more and Rawlings had to be rotated with a weaker tagger...whenever the rotation was on Goodes managed to have a lot of influence.

Hard to look good when you're wearing a saddle. The big names are a week to week proposition.

Glad to see Jono Griffin getting a spot on the pine and some recognition for his game on the weekend.

Some Carlton supporters were talking up Cloke and Kreuzer saying that they would hold a clear advantage in teh ruck department against the Crows. Not sure of the exact hitout advantage, but fair to say, the young Blues ruckmen were torn a new one by the young Crows rucking brigade.

Just need to back it up again, and again.

Cheers,

Team of the Week....Round Six