Terry Wallace

My honest opinion is that Wallace is not as aggressive and nasty to his players as he once was. This may instill a bit more hunger in them, or it could lead to alot of reports(1996 is very different to 2007). The fact remains that his style has changed though. Have any of you guys seen the year of the dog?

He gave the players a spray like i've never seen. The Dogs had just come back from 42 points down in the last quarter to lose by 2 points. When entering the rooms Wallace says, " I saw an old woman patting you guys on the back saying that you tried your best....and it makes me F****** sick!!!!!!"

He proceeded to yell at our captain for 10 minutes, and give everyone a spray. Where has this man gone?( He might still crack it, I just havent seen any public evidence of it) I think the tigers need a bit of mongrel back in their coaching staff. Remember the 70's? Hafey was one of the hardest coaches ever. Think about the abuse players like Sheedy were on the end of - "bloody back pocket plumber".

Wallace needs to show the kids that he doesnt tolerate crap. Simply he needs to show his players that he has the Hafey attitude and not the Frawley attitude. Star players need to be taken down a peg - just so they can go out there and prove him wrong.

What a great post. :thumbsu: Great insight and thinking. It's a definate intangible that has an extra positive effect. In this competition, where there is limited resources to get an edge over the competition; a team who has every, or nealy every facet of the game covered, will undoubtedly be a strong successful team. A great coach both as a tutor of football and a master motivator, who is able to get a reverence type fear & respect from his players, will play to their maximum ability and is one definate area and edge a team can possess.

GO TIGES!!!

What kind of performance next year would warrant Wallace keeping his job?

Im confused:confused: Apart from the ill informed and ignorant on this forum and the odd commentator and print journo, where has it been said that he is in danger of losing his job? He was in charge of a team that won the spoon, so what.

Look at the overall picture of how the club has transformed itself since he has come to the club. Granted its not all his doing, but the huge changes to the list and injection of top notch quality youth, Board and financial stability have put Richmond in a position that i havnt seen in decades.

Its amazing how many stupid ignorant pricks on BF who go on and on about Wallet being a crap coach and how will be sacked within the first 10 rounds. Dreaming. Thats all they are doing, dreaming.

Maybe the Hawthorn Board are dreaming about the same thing, and thats why they are reluctant to resign the Mental Midget, so if Wallace is sacked they will pounce and sign a real coach. Who knows:rolleyes:

Terry Wallace = The right man to take us to long term sustained success:thumbsu:

I think the only way Wallace will be in any sort of trouble is if he leads the club to a similar onfield result as this year, the only exception would be if we were to lose all of our senior players to injury which saw Wallace running out with 22 kids each week.

Wallace is probably the first coach in many a year to come to Punt Rd with a clear long term plan and the guts to actually stick by it despite the rumblings from certain quarters of the media. I really think that a lot of non Richmond people are in for a shock this year. I know we have been written off by most but something tells me that this is going to be the year that people stop laughing at Richmond and start to sit up and take notice.

We may not make the finals but by Round 22 2008 there will be a lot more talk about Richmond being the next most likely to challange for a top 4 spot than there will be talk about them challenging for a spoon.

Im confused:confused: Apart from the ill informed and ignorant on this forum and the odd commentator and print journo, where has it been said that he is in danger of losing his job? He was in charge of a team that won the spoon, so what.

Look at the overall picture of how the club has transformed itself since he has come to the club. Granted its not all his doing, but the huge changes to the list and injection of top notch quality youth, Board and financial stability have put Richmond in a position that i havnt seen in decades.

Its amazing how many stupid ignorant pricks on BF who go on and on about Wallet being a crap coach and how will be sacked within the first 10 rounds. Dreaming. Thats all they are doing, dreaming.
Agree. Sooooo many people in the football public in general are making a very, very big mistake by looking at Richmond's 2007 result in isolation and our ladder position over the last few seasons as a pure statistic. Lets look at how things have gone since Miller, then Wallace, were brought to the club in an effort to turn things around:

Pre Miller/Wallace - the club was a chronic basket case, had been since 1980 (although I believe the seeds were actually sown much earlier - mid 70's - Pitura, Roberts, Jackson, Teasdale etc).

The Change (2004) - Miller is brought into the club (the one and only good thing Casey did for the club) and is given a very strong charter (and power) to change what Blind Freddie could see. The football dept was a rudderless ship, controlled by a clique of players with a history of under performance that was tolerated and excused. Miller started making the changes very early on - players were publicly put on notice and the first cull of the list took place (in his first year he made approximately 13 changes).

The Coach (2005) - Wallace is recruited after successfully presenting his 5 year blueprint to the board. This blueprint recognizes the state of our list, the history of poor culture and the attitude of our rabid supporter base who demand instant results and gratification. His blueprint maps out a prolonged but realistic path to long term competitiveness and success. The blueprint is put into action, another large cull of the list takes place, and the first semblance of a change to the gameplan shows. Results are what could realistically be expected of a club that has already undergone a major list reconstruction.

The Hard Work (2006) - Miller and Wallace continue to exert a strong influence in the area of culture. Infractions are no longer tolerated or excused, players are made accept responsibility for their actions. The remainder of the 'deadwood' is culled from the list making it almost unrecognizable from the one Miller began with only 3 years previous. Results continued to be inconsistent and frustrating, exactly what could be expected from the now much younger list learning all about being a part of the AFL scene.

The Fallout (2007) - With almost a complete list turnover and the subsequent dearth of experience and 'core' (22-27 year olds) players, the ground had been stripped bare and foundations laid for a long, slow but sustainable climb to power and success. Unfortunately there was only possible outcome for the season when this all finally came to being and we had that in 2007. There was very little chance, given the path we had come down, of finishing anywhere else but where we did this season. Too many kids with bodies not yet capable of mixing it in strength or stamina with the other teams. But look through the trees for the wood - the team was very, very competitive in most games for large periods, often deep into the last quarter, before the bodies of children gave out.

The Future - Our list is now very well structured in terms of height and pace. Skill is being addressed, age will come with.....age. The game plan has been in place for a couple of years to match the capabilities of the list. The coaching staff (and football dept) have got control and the players have developed a strong sense of team and positive culture. Look at the total lack of internal fallout from the result of 2007 for proof of that. Wallace is entering the 4th year of his 5 year contract and we are exactly where he (and Miller) said we would be in terms of change and development.

As I See It - I have stated in posts previously that in the past 25 years of the s**tfight our club has been, I have never been more convinced that the path we are on and the people we have in control are the best for the club. I am genuinely excited about our prospects, not for 2008 but for our future, which to me is far more important than risk our existence by continuing to struggle after such a long period of failure. So, regarding Wallace, he is under absolutely no threat to his position and I believe that you might even see him offered a 2 year extension to his contract during the latter part of the next season as we start to show tangible, positive signs of on-field success. And regarding 2008, so many 'experts' will register surprise at the apparent sudden 'turnaround' of our fortunes, but if they took the time and effort to look at the whole picture then they would see that just as there was no other possble outcome in 2007 than to finish near the bottom, then there is no other possible outcome in 2008 than to finish quite significantly higher (with more to come in 2009).

My honest opinion is that Wallace is not as aggressive and nasty to his players as he once was. This may instill a bit more hunger in them, or it could lead to alot of reports(1996 is very different to 2007). The fact remains that his style has changed though. Have any of you guys seen the year of the dog?

He gave the players a spray like i've never seen. The Dogs had just come back from 42 points down in the last quarter to lose by 2 points. When entering the rooms Wallace says, " I saw an old woman patting you guys on the back saying that you tried your best....and it makes me F****** sick!!!!!!"

He proceeded to yell at our captain for 10 minutes, and give everyone a spray. Where has this man gone?( He might still crack it, I just havent seen any public evidence of it) I think the tigers need a bit of mongrel back in their coaching staff. Remember the 70's? Hafey was one of the hardest coaches ever. Think about the abuse players like Sheedy were on the end of - "bloody back pocket plumber".

Wallace needs to show the kids that he doesnt tolerate crap. Simply he needs to show his players that he has the Hafey attitude and not the Frawley attitude. Star players need to be taken down a peg - just so they can go out there and prove him wrong.

Coaching today is not fire and brimstone .....look at pagan at carlton

only time will tell if TW is the right man, look in your own backyard before you start preaching here last flag 1954?????

I think the only way Wallace will be in any sort of trouble is if he leads the club to a similar onfield result as this year, the only exception would be if we were to lose all of our senior players to injury which saw Wallace running out with 22 kids each week.

Wallace is probably the first coach in many a year to come to Punt Rd with a clear long term plan and the guts to actually stick by it despite the rumblings from certain quarters of the media. I really think that a lot of non Richmond people are in for a shock this year. I know we have been written off by most but something tells me that this is going to be the year that people stop laughing at Richmond and start to sit up and take notice.

We may not make the finals but by Round 22 2008 there will be a lot more talk about Richmond being the next most likely to challange for a top 4 spot than there will be talk about them challenging for a spoon.

Great post pppl say melbourne were decimated by injuries, last year we will suprise a lot of ppl in 08

Every expert, every tipster and most people on this forum bar Richmond supporters will pick Richmond to finish last next year, that is a fact!
If Richmond improve on this season and inject more young players which will happen, he is the safest coach in the comp!!!!!!!! and unless Sheedy, Matthews,Malthouse or Roos put up thier hands for the Tiges coaching spot. I am very happy to see Wallace stay on as coach.
Why would you want Sheedy to coach?
Look at the recent results and players he brought into Richmond.
No thanks

Agree. Sooooo many people in the football public in general are making a very, very big mistake by looking at Richmond's 2007 result in isolation and our ladder position over the last few seasons as a pure statistic. Lets look at how things have gone since Miller, then Wallace, were brought to the club in an effort to turn things around:

Pre Miller/Wallace - the club was a chronic basket case, had been since 1980 (although I believe the seeds were actually sown much earlier - mid 70's - Pitura, Roberts, Jackson, Teasdale etc).

The Change (2004) - Miller is brought into the club (the one and only good thing Casey did for the club) and is given a very strong charter (and power) to change what Blind Freddie could see. The football dept was a rudderless ship, controlled by a clique of players with a history of under performance that was tolerated and excused. Miller started making the changes very early on - players were publicly put on notice and the first cull of the list took place (in his first year he made approximately 13 changes).

The Coach (2005) - Wallace is recruited after successfully presenting his 5 year blueprint to the board. This blueprint recognizes the state of our list, the history of poor culture and the attitude of our rabid supporter base who demand instant results and gratification. His blueprint maps out a prolonged but realistic path to long term competitiveness and success. The blueprint is put into action, another large cull of the list takes place, and the first semblance of a change to the gameplan shows. Results are what could realistically be expected of a club that has already undergone a major list reconstruction.

The Hard Work (2006) - Miller and Wallace continue to exert a strong influence in the area of culture. Infractions are no longer tolerated or excused, players are made accept responsibility for their actions. The remainder of the 'deadwood' is culled from the list making it almost unrecognizable from the one Miller began with only 3 years previous. Results continued to be inconsistent and frustrating, exactly what could be expected from the now much younger list learning all about being a part of the AFL scene.

The Fallout (2007) - With almost a complete list turnover and the subsequent dearth of experience and 'core' (22-27 year olds) players, the ground had been stripped bare and foundations laid for a long, slow but sustainable climb to power and success. Unfortunately there was only possible outcome for the season when this all finally came to being and we had that in 2007. There was very little chance, given the path we had come down, of finishing anywhere else but where we did this season. Too many kids with bodies not yet capable of mixing it in strength or stamina with the other teams. But look through the trees for the wood - the team was very, very competitive in most games for large periods, often deep into the last quarter, before the bodies of children gave out.

The Future - Our list is now very well structured in terms of height and pace. Skill is being addressed, age will come with.....age. The game plan has been in place for a couple of years to match the capabilities of the list. The coaching staff (and football dept) have got control and the players have developed a strong sense of team and positive culture. Look at the total lack of internal fallout from the result of 2007 for proof of that. Wallace is entering the 4th year of his 5 year contract and we are exactly where he (and Miller) said we would be in terms of change and development.

As I See It - I have stated in posts previously that in the past 25 years of the s**tfight our club has been, I have never been more convinced that the path we are on and the people we have in control are the best for the club. I am genuinely excited about our prospects, not for 2008 but for our future, which to me is far more important than risk our existence by continuing to struggle after such a long period of failure. So, regarding Wallace, he is under absolutely no threat to his position and I believe that you might even see him offered a 2 year extension to his contract during the latter part of the next season as we start to show tangible, positive signs of on-field success. And regarding 2008, so many 'experts' will register surprise at the apparent sudden 'turnaround' of our fortunes, but if they took the time and effort to look at the whole picture then they would see that just as there was no other possble outcome in 2007 than to finish near the bottom, then there is no other possible outcome in 2008 than to finish quite significantly higher (with more to come in 2009).

plenty of fluff in that post and not a lot of substance

its funny how you say we were always going to finish last in 07 but correct me if im wrong but wasnt all the talk from the players and coaches about finals this time last year?

they werent expecting a spoon were they :eek:

we are a long way off it and if the club can see this then i will still have patience, but if they beleive that 07 was a "one-off" and that we are actually better than what we are then we are in serious trouble

its funny how you say we were always going to finish last in 07 but correct me if im wrong but wasnt all the talk from the players and coaches about finals this time last year?

we are a long way off it and if the club can see this then i will still have patience, but if they beleive that 07 was a "one-off" and that we are actually better than what we are then we are in serious trouble

IMO smokey_58au is close to being on the money, and any footy enthusiast who is in the know and asked to summarise Richmonds most recent history will tell you the same. Planned, structural changes have been implemented by Miller & co. at grass roots level, and will begin to show scoreboard results over the next couple of seasons..:thumbsu:

These are the facts if we dont make the 8 this year Wallace is gone football is also about winning this is not a BHP or NAB just plode along and the money rolls in its Diche s like you that become a pain in the arse that is why we have been a shit team for years you except it. Stuff your plans Win at all cost,s that,s what is SUCCESS!

I know, from experience, that Wallace can be a capable coach on match day. Is he losing it? are there internal problems at Richmond causing him to not perform to his real standard?

thoughts?

it wasnt so much his coaching that came into question in 2007 it was the list management that had us so exposed thru both injury and retirement ...with only a modicum of experience behimd many of the debutants later in the year , TW showed what he was capable of....I have a simple message...Dont understimate him:eek:

Brilliant post, mate.

No team ever goes into a new season 'expecting' a spoon, especially the players. The football dept likewise, are always optimistic, especially when presenting the team's credentials to the public for the coming season. With memberships sales being such a critical part of every club's revenue stream there is no way they are going to publicly say anything except present a positive and optimistic outlook. Internally however, things are much more realistic. Wallace broached this very, very early on in 2007 at his now famous Tuesday press conference prior to the first game, where he alluded to a possible bleak year due to the age of our squad and the few injuries that were already starting to have an impact. He didn't bring this up until most memberships were already in the bag. Do you think he suddenly changed his mind on the season's outlook before the first ball had even been bounced? The football dept expected/knew we were headed for a down (on paper) year, how far down was (as always) reliant on the intangibles present in every season.
we are a long way off it and if the club can see this then i will still have patience, but if they believe that 07 was a "one-off" and that we are actually better than what we are then we are in serious trouble
Can I ask why you are prepared to show continued patience if the club is prepared to admit it is a long way off? Based on this thinking you should be out of patience with the current regime as on paper/results it is just as far, or further, off than when they took over 3-4 years ago. Or do you think they are on the right track and that improvement is coming around the corner? If that's the case then you agree with my post, and also Wallace and Miller who publicly stated a push in 2009 was a chance with the window fully opening in 2011.

I think there was more contradictory fluff in your reply than in my post.

These are the facts if we dont make the 8 this year Wallace is gone football is also about winning this is not a BHP or NAB just plode along and the money rolls in its Diche s like you that become a pain in the arse that is why we have been a shi t team and clun for year,s you except it. Stuff your plans Win at all cost,s that,s what is SUCCESS!
??????????

Luckily, we hold elections for our board and conduct an extensive job interview process for placing people in positions of control within our club. Imagine if some supporters were running the show! :eek:

A little bit more in response to my 'fluff' post. I posted this on another site during the finals after Hawthorn had been eliminated. It was in response to the people who seem hell bent on using Hawthorn as our measuring stick, saying that both teams started from the same position in 2004 (Deledio, Roughead, Tambling, Franklin).

"With all the debate about our recruiting and the constant comparisons
between ourselves and Hawthorn (who supposedly started off from the
same place list-wise as us at the same time as us), I thought I would
have a comparitive look at the team they fielded last night vs our
team for the last game vs Saints.

Players 21 and under - Haw 5, Rich 9
Players 22 to 27 - Haw 13, Rich 8
Players 28 and over - Haw 4, Rich 5

Digging a bit deeper, Hawthorn's 13 'mid range' age group average 88
games per player, Richmond's 8 average 69. And of Richmond's 8, 2 of
them are recently promoted rookies (Axel and Kingy)!

Kinda makes folly of the comparison doesn't it. Their kids are fewer
in number and have the support of a much larger core of more
experienced players on the field. I'll bet Lids, McGuane, Thursty,
Bling, Raines et al would look like different players in a side that
offered them this much more protection and support.

Thats why I keep subscribing to the positive outlook and patience
theory. We are getting games into kids that will become our solid
core over the next few years. We musn't make the mistake of judging
our recent draft outcomes based on our performance in the last couple
of years. Our list was a train wreck 4 years ago and it was never
going to be fixed in a year or 2."

Supports my theory of "children playing against men" and why we kept running out of legs. If some/all of Simmonds, Brown, Knobel, Hall, Bowden P, etc stand up then we structure up better and remain more competitive for longer periods in each game and in 2007 that would have resulted a few more wins. Wouldn't have made the 8 but wouldn't have had every man and his ignorant dog screaming for Wallace's head. Still doesn't change the fact that we are where we are by design, not by accident or under-achievement.

Ignore PLSC smokey.He,s got a rep of going against the grain of Threads for the attention;)
:thumbsu: No problems. I welcome it - gives me a chance to back up my case. If someone has facts or can substantiate their opinion by basing it on sound conclusions then I'm very happy to accept their point. If not, then I reckon I'm pretty close to the money. :D

This has been an enlightening experience. Thank you smokey, you've put in more effort than I thought anyone would. Now I understand why, although having a few poor years, Wallace is still looking quite comfortable in his position.

Don't rate his appointment of Steven Wright?

Apart from that statement, really liked the rest of the post a lot. Right down to agreeing with Bazzar. :)
Yep, I do. My mistake. I just hate giving him (Casey) credit for anything. IMHO he was a cancer that threatened our existence until the board spill brought a lot of things into the open and curtailed his arrogant domination. But thats been posted to death in the past, hey! :cool:

:thumbsu: No problems. I welcome it - gives me a chance to back up my case. If someone has facts or can substantiate their opinion by basing it on sound conclusions then I'm very happy to accept their point. If not, then I reckon I'm pretty close to the money. :D

atleast you back up your optimism with well reasoned posts, unlike a few others who just beleive it will happen because we have a young list and someone will wave a magic wand :eek:

i still beleive we are a long way off despite all the "feelgood" stuff thats happening atm as it does every pre season, all its going to take is a few practice matches and rfc supporters will be booking their september holidays again unfortunately

Yeah, hear what you're saying. What's different is that mine is an optimism borne out of a few seasons past for a few seasons hence. It's most definitely not an optimism that next season is "the one".

(Shudders as he hears the words "one small forward from winning a flag"):)

Terry Wallace