Universal Love Thanks Birch

I'm fine we get nothing in return. He owes us nothing and you'd be mad to give anything for him given his age and injury status. In a trade you're threatening to not let someone go unless you get x from a club, whereas the goodwill I'm praising is that we don't stand in his way and risk his retirement to try to grub some very late pick that means nothing.

I think we gain heaps, both as a destination club that players know will actively assist you get superannuated in your old age, and morally in the pleasure we feel at treating our champions like proper gentlemen.

You win flags for us, you go where you like, sir. Let us assist.

Been my favourite Hawks player for as long as I can remember. Absolutely loved the unassuming way he goes about it.
I can remember being a teenager and tuning out of footy just a little bit when we were really going poorly. In 2006 it was obvious we had some super talented young players and I remember seeing this lanky guy streaming out of half back and never missing a target. Birch was the one who I gravitated too long before Buddy, Roughy, Cyril, Lewis, etc.

Fast forward to 2011 and i'm playing local footy in a back pocket. I ventured down to Melbourne to watch us play Fremantle on a Sunday afternoon. We were down most of the day but kicked 8 goals in the final quarter to win comfortably. I watched Birch closely that day and in the last quarter he had 10 effective kicks on his way to 3 Brownlow votes. I monitored his running patterns in chopping off the opposition when they were in transition through the middle, then his positioning to always be in the right spot to receive a handball or the escape kick option. I went back home and proceeded to get in the best players 4 weeks in a row and eventually won the most improved player for the season. I legit owe my own footy career to Grant because even at 29 i'm playing a similar role and have played in multiple senior grand finals, which seemed like a long shot as a struggling reserves back pocket in my early 20's.

Good luck in Brisbane champ. I hope you have passed on all your knowledge to Jack Scrimshaw who is the closest thing I have seen to you.
Forever a Hawk.

Always dependable, always loved the way he played with no frills or fuss... JUST DID THE JOB.
Thanks for providing me with some of the best memories of my life. absolute champion.:heartpulse:

Was Monkey there in 08? Perhaps even as a part time ruck coach? Might be 2. I'm not sure on that... but it'd be close.
The Russian was ruck coach from '06 through '08. I believe it's always been a part time position.

Monkey has been gold.

Birch has been a ****ing legend.

I wish him well.

Hope he looks cooked when we see him next and wishing he'd hung up the boots with us as his last home.

Hahahaha classic.

If it's a joke I get it.

If it's not a joke I get it.

Truly was a hard man old Brichall, something that is missed because we had other hard nuts. Never took a backward step and didn't get pushed around by any opposition player. You don't need to run around being a coward like Bryon Picket to be hard.

Hawthorn legend. And one of the most underrated players in all those premiership years
Hard to see another stalwart leave for another club, but Birchs 'apprentices' in Scrimshaw, Impey and even CJ have shown the future looks strong

All the best Birch, we will never forget all those great moments

Hahahaha classic.

If it's a joke I get it.

If it's not a joke I get it.

Truly was a hard man old Brichall, something that is missed because we had other hard nuts. Never took a backward step and didn't get pushed around by any opposition player. You don't need to run around being a coward like Bryon Picket to be hard.

Fantastic player who was perfectly evolved for the changing nature of our game.
Sooooo skilled by foot it was truly beautiful to watch.

Fantastic player who was perfectly evolved for the changing nature of our game.
Sooooo skilled by foot it was truly beautiful to watch.
He kept it simple. He once told me, all that was in his mind when he had the footy was "see target, hit target". Said it wasn't that hard.

A true gentleman off the field and relentless competitor and professional on the field.

Champions like Birchall are the difference between have a Champion Team (of Champions) or merely a Team of Champions.

A most easy person to get along with. A quietly confident person with a very tempered ego that makes his teammates better.

People like Birchall are the very reason why Hawthorn recruiting place such a premium on character.

Couldn’t find a thread on Birchall so bumping this.

A Hawthorn great. A pity the injuries got him - reckon he’d be 350 plus otherwise.

as sad as it was to lose Birch, those Brisbane fitness staffers are clearly amazing. He was one underrated player

Couldn’t find a thread on Birchall so bumping this.

A Hawthorn great. A pity the injuries got him - reckon he’d be 350 plus otherwise.

Great career. Amazing that he only received one AA. Deserved at least two or three more.

Didn't play for Geelong!

Definitely one of the most underrated players of this era, and so durable up until that PCL injury in 2017. A sentimental favourite of mine across the 4 premierships.

Universal Love Thanks Birch