samwise

Mar 14, 2008
MAN U! COLTS! MAVERICKS!
Hi perhaps sorry for starting a new thread but couldn't find anywhere to put it and I thought it was very interesting.

My friend's source from inside Geelong said that Ablett is basically 100% staying at Geelong and the reason that they haven't done the contract and made it public is so they can try and sign up Selwood because if Gold Coast knew they couldn't get Ablett then they would target Selwood massively instead.

Interesting? Surprised? Relieved? Anyone heard anything similar?

Re: The ablett selwood contract reasoning

It's been mentioned a fair bit that this is a possibility.
It's also possible that both are staying and they are keeping quiet so that GC don't go looking through the list to pick out other players.

But I doubt it. I reckon the only reason Selwood hasn't signed is because the club are holding it back until they know what to give selly. I have this feeling that selly would play for geelong for chips.

I was told the same on the weekend.

"Ablett was never going anywhere and the only reason this is being played out in the media is because the longer it goes on the more it drives his price up" .... well, seems kind of obvious but the Selwood theory is spot on as well.

If Ablett came out now and said he's heading north then we all know the next bloke they're after don't we.

Interestingly, the same bloke who told me has business connections to some of the player managers and apparently the whole Ablett thing has never been specifically about trying to match or get close to the Gold Coast dollars .... it's about striking a fair deal for player and club and the big issue for Geelong is not getting caught with a heavily 'back ended contract' as Ablett get's closer to 30.

It's a non issue ....... suggest we just let it all play out and breath a collective sigh of relief when he signs. Do you honestly think he was ever going to tell everyone in June that he's playing out the remainder of the season + finals and then going north ???? Scarlett and Milburn would belt him to within an inch of his life

I was told the same on the weekend.

"Ablett was never going anywhere and the only reason this is being played out in the media is because the longer it goes on the more it drives his price up" .... well, seems kind of obvious but the Selwood theory is spot on as well.

If Ablett came out now and said he's heading north then we all know the next bloke they're after don't we.

Interestingly, the same bloke who told me has business connections to some of the player managers and apparently the whole Ablett thing has never been specifically about trying to match or get close to the Gold Coast dollars .... it's about striking a fair deal for player and club and the big issue for Geelong is not getting caught with a heavily 'back ended contract' as Ablett get's closer to 30.

It's a non issue ....... suggest we just let it all play out and breath a collective sigh of relief when he signs. Do you honestly think he was ever going to tell everyone in June that he's playing out the remainder of the season + finals and then going north ???? Scarlett and Milburn would belt him to within an inch of his life

Ha ha thats enough to make you stay.

Hi perhaps sorry for starting a new thread but couldn't find anywhere to put it and I thought it was very interesting.

My friend's source from inside Geelong said that Ablett is basically 100% staying at Geelong and the reason that they haven't done the contract and made it public is so they can try and sign up Selwood because if Gold Coast knew they couldn't get Ablett then they would target Selwood massively instead.

Um! If Gaz really, truly, hand-on-heart, wanted to stay the deal would have been done ages ago cos Joel has said many times he wants to remain in the Hoops. Go back and read all the stuff about Gaz frustrating Cookie by not wishing to continue talks; Gaz hand-on-heart saying he hasn’t made up his mind and won’t be rushed; Malcolm Blight, when pressed by Stephen Quartermaine via numerous questions as to whether he knows about 2011 uncontracted players already committed to G.C, would only say “I haven’t seen any contracts” ..............

If your proposition was accurate both would be signed sealed and delivered ages ago. My belief is that Selwood is fed up with waiting for the Ablett scenario (nothing personal I hasten to add) to play itself out and wants to get things sorted reasonably quickly.

Malcolm Blight, when pressed by Stephen Quartermaine via numerous questions as to whether he knows about 2011 uncontracted players already committed to G.C, would only say “I haven’t seen any contracts”

Not quite sure how that helps your arguement. Fill me in please.

The optimist in me believes that they could be holding of an announcement until the final stretch of the h&a campaign, to rally the troops in a similar fashion to Bomber putting the acid on the playing group at the 150th celebrations last year. If the Cats are say 13-3 and in the top two by round 16, I think the announcement that Ablett was signing on for another three years would really get the place buzzing for another tilt at a flag.

Having said that, I'm still cherishing every moment of seeing Gaz in the hoops in 2010, as if it's his last year down here.

Not quite sure how that helps your arguement. Fill me in please.

Quartermaine questioned him about whether the G.C had agreements with players out of contract at the end of 2010 at the height of the Ablett saga. Can't recall the precise words but several questions were put and posed in varying ways cos Blight kept giving the same practiced answer. The were along the lines of - whether any players had committed; would he know of the names of any if they had; had the club any assurances from 2011 uncontracted players - along those lines. Quartermaine persisted because he got the same stock standard 'I haven't seen...." response each time. There was some levity in the box after the interview with one of the commentators saying to Quatermaine you got nothing there.

It was just another piece in the jigsaw relating to why Gaz is happy to prolong his negotiations with the club

God I hope you're spot on! Watching the game yesterday, I couldn't help but think Ablett would not get the same protection from team mates at GC as he gets at Geelong. He would be "pulverised" week in week out.

Um! If Gaz really, truly, hand-on-heart, wanted to stay the deal would have been done ages ago cos Joel has said many times he wants to remain in the Hoops. Go back and read all the stuff about Gaz frustrating Cookie by not wishing to continue talks; Gaz hand-on-heart saying he hasn’t made up his mind and won’t be rushed; Malcolm Blight, when pressed by Stephen Quartermaine via numerous questions as to whether he knows about 2011 uncontracted players already committed to G.C, would only say “I haven’t seen any contracts” ..............

If your proposition was accurate both would be signed sealed and delivered ages ago. My belief is that Selwood is fed up with waiting for the Ablett scenario (nothing personal I hasten to add) to play itself out and wants to get things sorted reasonably quickly.

Firstly I don't know how the Blight stuff means anything.
Even though Selwood most likely really wants to stay with Geelong it doesn't necessarily mean he is going to stay if they cant pay him much from salary cap and Gold Coast offer him like 1 mil.
I dont know when Ablett said hand on heart he hasn't made up his mind but players lie all the time, especially when it is for the good of the club.

Just because they both want to stay doesn't mean they should be signed up already. Happens all the time...Lake probably wanted to stay but it still took him ages to sign. Geelong probably don't have much room in the salary cap for Selwood so they just want to spend as much time as they can trying to get the deal done without Gold Coast throwing big numbers at him. Ablett is happy to help them. Plus it diverts media attention / pressure away from getting the dynasty premiership. Just going along quietly at 3-1.

don't you love it when people tell you...a mate of mine who is an insider at Geelong told me......so do you really think that Gazza'a contract negotiations etc are told to anyone who works at Geelong. I mean does the dunny cleaner get a memo as well? What a load of Bollocks really