The AFL wants 22 teams. Name your next four.

22k TV viewers isn't a good sign.
Your proposal is never going to happen.

The 20th team will come from either ACT, the NT, or a 3rd in WA.

Given Gill's comments about the AFL feeling "complete" with the addition of Tassie, I'm not sure they see teams in the ACT or NT as ever being needed.

That could change in the future.

I really think it'll come down to ACT or WA3, but NT could shoot right to the top of favourtism if it gets funded and propped up for decades because a) it's popular; and b) none of the major public voices calling for it seem to think the weather would be an issue.

Personally, I really like the idea of the ACT and NT being represented, but the latter is way too damn small at the moment. Even with big financial backing, the crowds would be minute compared to Canberra's.

But I'm all for NT being next in line after ACT, and am not particularly bothered who the 22nd team would be if it gets to that.

We can’t really be a national competition if we don’t have a team in the nation’s 7th biggest city.
Newcastle people would get behind a team very quickly but the ground, No 1 Sports Ground, would need an upgrade.

We can’t really be a national competition if we don’t have a team in the nation’s 7th biggest city.
Newcastle people would get behind a team very quickly but the ground, No 1 Sports Ground, would need an upgrade.
Not before Canberra, who's population is similar to Newcastle, has footy history, and has hosted many AFL games there compared to Newcastle's 0.

If 2-3 games per year can be played at an upgraded Newcastle sports ground, with promising results, then they can be in the conversation as an expansion side in the future.

we need the capital city, every American sport has Washington and the only most of the wasington teams are shit at the moment, regardless of small things and opposition the capital city needs to be represented in all our leagues, hell they even have a baseball team that has good support if a baseball team gets good support then a footy team definitely will, to make it truly national you must have the capital

we need the capital city, every American sport has Washington and the only most of the wasington teams are s**t at the moment, regardless of small things and opposition the capital city needs to be represented in all our leagues, hell they even have a baseball team that has good support if a baseball team gets good support then a footy team definitely will, to make it truly national you must have the capital
No, apparently all you need is Tassie and the NT according to many of the idiots in footy media.

Mate! Newcastle and the Hunter have a population of just on 800,000 and over 1.1 Million if you inlude the Central Coast. This compares to 450,000 in the ACT.
The Black Diamond competition is one of the oldest in the country dating from 1888 and there is strong support for our game but the corrupt NSW media never mention it

Mate! Newcastle and the Hunter have a population of just on 800,000 and over 1.1 Million if you inlude the Central Coast. This compares to 450,000 in the ACT.
The Black Diamond competition is one of the oldest in the country dating from 1888 and there is strong support for our game but the corrupt NSW media never mention it
Then why aren't the Giants playing 3 games a year in Newcastle instead of Canberra?

Apparently they didn't get the memo about the benefits of playing there?

It takes years to build growth and support. We don't even know if Newcastle will be hosting any AFL games after team 20 enters the competition, let alone before.

As an untested market, they really can't be in the equation yet, it's the same thing with New Zealand.

You can't count all of the Hunter, but only include the ACT.

At the 2021 cenus, the Hunter Region vs ACT had 680k v 454k. But the NSW suburbs bring us to over 550k. And about 750k in the Capital Region.

In the day No. 1 Sports Ground had a capacity of 20000+ but the grandstands were damaged beyond repair by the earthquake. The state and feds really need to spend some money to give the 7th city an AFL standard oval.

They just did. They reshaped the field to make it AFL standard, increased grandstand capacity and improved facilities.

Still not high enough standard for a full-time AFL team, but good enough for a few games a year.

32k watching at the ground is.

That's more than they'd get in Melbourne.

Melbourne folks are going to watch regardless, might as well play it where the crowds are bigger.
Will the Swans continue to draw 32k when they go through a losing patch?

Lions crowds and memberships tanked when they went from winning three premierships to cellar-dwellers.

GWS moving their secondary market to Newcastle, allowing a Canberra team to enter and own everything south down to the border (playing a home game in Wagga and Albury every year) makes way too much sense to me.

After that I have no idea, because I don't see the Northern Territory as a genuine option due to population, climate and location.

Isn’t this a chicken and egg argument?
Put it on and they will come
The Tassie team was years in the making, with the revival bid beginning around 2018/19, and confirmation of the team over 22/23. Tassie still won't come in tilll 2028 at the earliest, so you can bet that the location of team 20 will be decided by around 2028, even if the AFL don't say anything publicly.

Newcastle is no chance for team 20, they'd have to get someone playing 2-3 games there as early as 2025 and averaging crowds of around 20k per game to have any chance of bolting ahead of ACT, NT, and WA3.

GWS moving their secondary market to Newcastle, allowing a Canberra team to enter and own everything south down to the border (playing a home game in Wagga and Albury every year) makes way too much sense to me.

After that I have no idea, because I don't see the Northern Territory as a genuine option due to population, climate and location.
If NT and NQ are out, and say Newcastle was the go for team 21, then anyone of New Zealand, Brisbane 2/Sunshine Coast, or WA3 could be candidates for team 22.

NZ like Newcastle needs secondary market representation though to have any chance, but a second team in Brisbane or a third in Perth could be done without testing the waters.

They just did. They reshaped the field to make it AFL standard, increased grandstand capacity and improved facilities.

Still not high enough standard for a full-time AFL team, but good enough for a few games a year.

The Grandstand capacity was doubled from 400 to 800, the ground isn't close to ready to host Home and Away matches on a regular basis in the near future. If it hosted a Home and Away match it would look like Mount Barker and have a similar capacity.

To host a team on a regular basis it needs major works done seating wise to bring the seating capacity up around 4-5000.

The AFL wants 22 teams. Name your next four.