The AFL's Most UNDERRATED player? (Votes)

Yeh Tyson Edwards has to be the most underrated in the comp. Top 5 finishes in the last 9 years of Adelaide B and F's is simply incredible consistency. Only other man to do it in the comp atm is Pav at Freo, but he has been doing it in a pretty shabby team, whereas Edwards has been in a team consistently in the finals, therefore with a lot of other players playing well.

Jarrad Oakley-Nicholls. Has to be. Rated the worst player in the AFL - nobody thinks he can play at all. Including me.

The fact that he can run down the race and through the banner without tripping over will probably come as a surprise to most here. Just getting a kick exceeds most people's opinion of him.

Judging by the number of people who say Tyson Edwards is under-rated shows they rate him - hmmmm, I'm starting to think he could be over-rated, now.

Over the course of their careers:

5. Tyson Edwards - Just gets the job done week-in week-out. How he sneaks under the radar so consistently is beyond me!

5. Max Hudghton - Yes, it's a tie for first. Maxy has been one of the best and most consistent full-backs over the course of this decade. Rarely, if ever gets beaten, and has shown his versatitily by keeping all different types of players to minimal output (Franklin, Lloyd, Fev and NG Brown).

3. Joel Corey - Will continually get 25-30 touches a game, and be at the bottom of everything for the Cats. Would lead the midfield at most other clubs, but many outsiders consider him to be the "4th best" midfielder at the Cats. Amazing, really.

2. Brad Sewell - Has been extremely consistent for a couple of years now, and only now is starting to gain any form of recognition. Terrific team player, disciplined, and sticks to his task every week. Would love him at the Saints.

1. Jude Bolton - Terrific in-and-under midfielder. Tough as nails and has the habit of kicking goals. If he played for a Victorian side, I dare say he'd get more recognition.

Honourable mentions to: Enright, Birchall, Bateman, S Fisher, Black, O'Bree, Watson, Bruce

I thought Tyson Edwards was the most underrated player but after reading this thread I think people do rate him pretty high, which is good. So as stupid as this sounds, he probably is no longer underrated in my opinion.

Corey Enright.

Speaks volumes that every Geelong poster in here has said his name, yet not a single non-Cats fan has mentioned him.

Grant Birchall is the best half back in the comp
and i always thought crawf never really got mentioned in the voss,hird and buckley bracket when he could have been

People cannot call Simon Prestigiacomo underrated.

Thus far, this has been his best season to date and his form has been well documented. The previous two seasons he has essentially not played at all (couldn't break into the side and when he could he looked out of his depth) and prior to that, whilst he was an important cog in Collingwood's structure, he was a solid, dependable defender at best, not someone you classify in the best bracket of defenders.

Too many of you are just suckers for the perceptions the media create.

The guy has not been and is not currently underrated. He is a "quiet achiever," very different to someone who is genuinely underrated. I would classify underrated as someone who has been a very good player for an extended time and never got the recognition he deserved; in terms of defenders Max Hudghton is this.

5. Brad Sewell
4. Dane Swan
3. Joel Corey
2. Max Hudghton
1. Matthew Boyd

People cannot call Simon Prestigiacomo underrated.

Thus far, this has been his best season to date and his form has been well documented. The previous two seasons he has essentially not played at all (couldn't break into the side and when he could he looked out of his depth) and prior to that, whilst he was an important cog in Collingwood's structure, he was a solid, dependable defender at best, not someone you classify in the best bracket of defenders.

Sir, you know not what you speak.

Scott West. Yes i know he is now a past player but really, none of the current players would be more underated than he ever was.

Some current players, Boyd, Ryder, Edwards, Presti, Dale Morris, Craig Bolton, Enright, Bradshaw, Jolly.

Sir, you know not what you speak.

I know exactly of what I speak Clementine. I've seen an abundance of Prestigiacomo over the course of his career, more than some Collingwood fans I'm sure, and he is not and should not be considered amongst the most underrated footballers.

Everyone is on the Prestigiacomo bandwagon this season, as is the case every year, when the media highlights someone so as to have some competition with Matthew Scarlett as to who is the best FB, but you all need to just think about what it means to be amongst the most underrated players in our game.

The past two seasons for him have been written off by injuries, however he did spend time plying his trade at Williamstown because the Collingwood coaching staff could see no place for him ahead of Wakelin, Brown, O' Brien etc. When he came back for finals, he appeared slow, unconfident and reactionary, as if the game had moved past him). He was on the verge of leaving the game come the end of last year, as admitted by himself, because he questioned whether or not he had anything more to give.

Prior to that, during his prime years as a player, he was (as I stated) a solid, dependable defender at best. Never, in terms of form, could he be regarded amongst the likes of Scarlett, Fletcher, Hudghton, Clement, Michael, Rutten, Glass, Leppitsch etc. Presti, has never enjoyed a stronger or more extended patch of great form as he has so far this year, and everyone has heard about it. He has played in better teams but never played better himself.

The past two seasons for him have been written off by injuries, however he did spend time plying his trade at Williamstown because the Collingwood coaching staff could see no place for him ahead of Wakelin, Brown, O' Brien etc. When he came back for finals, he appeared slow, unconfident and reactionary, as if the game had moved past him). He was on the verge of leaving the game come the end of last year, as admitted by himself, because he questioned whether or not he had anything more to give.

No mate. He was plying his trade at Williamstown trying to get over injury. It was never a question of form.

Wakelin has never been half the defender that Presti was, and would never, ever have kept him out of the side. Brown was in shocking form in the second half of the year as well, and wouldn't have kept anyone out either. Presti was simply injured.

Prior to that, during his prime years as a player, he was (as I stated) a solid, dependable defender at best. Never, in terms of form, could he be regarded amongst the likes of Scarlett, Fletcher, Hudghton, Clement, Michael, Rutten, Glass, Leppitsch etc. Presti, has never enjoyed a stronger or more extended patch of great form as he has so far this year, and everyone has heard about it. He has played in better teams but never played better himself.

I don't really care for comparisons with other defenders because he's pretty unique as a one way player, but this is just false.

He's playing very well this year, but he's been Top 5 in the B&F twice before, he was unlucky to miss AA a couple of times in the early part of this decade, and he's only getting the attention this year because he's come back from injury - not dissimilar to the attention Hudgton received last year.

Can people stop listing Brad Sewell - this is nothing against him, but to say he is underrated or unnoticed is crap - the guy even gets a gig on that bogan variety show on Thursday nights, and certain media pump up his tyres no end. Might have been the case a year or 2 ago, but not any more.

Daniel Jackson - takes the oppositions key playmaker and hasn't been beaten since Rd 1 against Judd, but even that was a decent effort despite his teammates lying down and surrendering 12mins in to the 1st. Get's plenty of possesions himself, does the hard stuff and is not shy when it comes to physical contact.

I guess the idea is that you shouldn't get unanimous agreement that a bloke is underrated. If everyone agrees with your choice, well then that bloke isn't underrated then, is he? We were probably at that stage with Daniel Cross two years ago and I reckon we're there with Boyd and Enright now.

As a rule of thumb, I'd say that if a commentator has finally cottoned on about how underrated a player is, that's the time when they are no longer underrated. Enright will get referred to as underrated at least three times a game by the commentators. I think Boyd is in the same category.

Does anyone remember how every commentator would say that Darren Milburn was the most underrated player in the comp. Went for about 4 years.
Which is just stupid because it was probably the same commentators that were the journos that kept him out of the All-Australian side in that whole time.

Daniel Jackson - takes the oppositions key playmaker and hasn't been beaten since Rd 1 against Judd, but even that was a decent effort despite his teammates lying down and surrendering 12mins in to the 1st. Get's plenty of possesions himself, does the hard stuff and is not shy when it comes to physical contact.

Taggers should never be rated. If players who tag were actually good footballers then they would be the ones getting a tag.