The best and worst moments on field as a crowd member

Tigers41*

Jul 4, 2007
Australia
Just wondering what peoples personal best and worst moments were, when you were in the crowd at a game...(2007)

My best moment was when foley kicked that match winning goal against collingwood....That was an amazing feeling, to actually know we had secured a win..

My worst feeling in the crowd was when richos goal was taken off him against the bombers and we ended up loosing...That was one of the most devastating footballing moments ive ever been involved in...Richo was the hero that night, and we basically had the game won, with his fractured eye socket and broken jaw, the big cho wins us the game, then it was taken off him...it was devastating

Best...Richo lining up D. Kellaway to take a hanger over Primus within 30m from goal, them to go on and kick his first ever career goal after a ton of games.

Worst...anytime we lose to Carlton or Collingwood :)

TheGlove

Best richos 10th against the dogs and the chant of RICHO RICHO going up around the ground was fantastic.

Worst prboably that goal richo kicked and then had it taken off him but what made it great was every richmond supporter getting up and shouting abuse at the ump when he was giving the 50.

Best - Chris Naish goaling on the run from 50 in the semi against the Bombers in 95.

Worst - Don't know why this one stands out, but Fiora giving a free to Fisher from Carlton just before the end for the Blues to beat us just before the siren about 4 - 5 yrs ago. Prob just because I hate Carlton so much.

Best - Dunc's first goal. Richo's 10th against the Dogs. Richo's fall over, get up, fall over, get up goal against the Hawks. Richo's brilliant night but kicking 1.6 against the Roos then clearley pushing a defender in the head, taking the mark and kicking the matchwinner about 3-4 years ago. Knighters 95 semi. The 80 GF. Richo's mark and goal just before 1/2 time in his 200th against Port. Pretty much the existence of the big man - and no-one should underestimate the importance of this.

Worst - there are no worst moments, just blips that make the best even better.

2007: Jackson's goal in the pocket city end was pretty good. Being in a winning position in alot of matches, then losing was bad. But the worst moment was walking out of TD after being spanked by Geelong. Other years, Knighters running goals in '95 semi stand out, then one week later when the moron at the ticket outlet put my 6 year old son and myself with the Geelong members at Waverly. At least we were under the roof. Fool.

THE five moments that stand out for me as a Tiger fan are:

1: Francis Bourke, with blood streaming down his face after a collision with Micky Malthouse, taking a diving mark at Arden Street, going back and calmly slotting a crucial goal.

2. Scotty Turner's shirtfronts on David Grenvold and Gary O'Donnell in the 95 semi final.

3. Greg Dear raising his arms and pumping his fists just moments after the siren after the Tigers defeated Hawthorn in driving rain atVFL Park that same year (95). It was the first time the Tigers had beaten the Hawks in something like 22 games. A large photo of that moment, published in the Age, hangs proudly in my home to this day!

4. Michael Roach's spectacular grab against the Hawks in 1979 (you know the one!)

5. Richo's game v Essendon this season against the odds (more on this below).

Worst:

1. That Richo free kick on Mal Michael....urrrgggghhhhh!!!

2. Richo and Stuart Wigney going down with injury in 95 when both were in outstanding form.

3. That Geelong game from this year.......highly embarrassing having to endure that, though pride will not allow me to leave a game early.

Wayne Campbell's goal against the boundary line against Carlton at VFL Park (as it was still known at the time) to put us in front in a game we narrowly won, circa 1992. (Dorotich fluffed a twenty five meter shot only moments later directly in front).

Knights' first half against the Bombers in first semi final. Maxfield taking out Wanganeen in the same game.

Maxfield's goal against the Bombers to put us in front a couple minutes before the siren (alas Hird received a soft free kick which resulted in O'Connor or some bum tieing it).

Peter Wilson's handstand after we sealed the game against the Blues; our monsquito fleet killing the millionaire Blues, around about '87 or '88.

Too many devastating moments to list.

Best recent memory-Our 3 week purple patch in 2005 where were kicking about 10-15 consecutive unanswered goals during each of the 3 games. I think the first game was against Port on Richo's 200th where we slammed on about 14 straight goals to come from about 6 goals down to get to a 10 goal lead. The next week we blew carlton away and were up by about 14 goals at half time. I can't remember the other game. Was it the hawk game where we came from 9 goals down to get to a 5 goal lead? Maybe that was a different season, but I remember we were in this form for 3 weeks in a row. It may have been Collingwood where we kicked the last 8 or 9 goals of the game :cool:

The thread being re 2007, I'll start with the worst;

Worst: yelling out "get on the mark Pattison you idiot" against Port in Adelaide as Tredrea lined up for goal with a suspect knee from 50, Jake King on the mark, Adam Pattison watching on from 2 metres away. A sure sign Richmond were/are a long way from success.

Best: From the same game, seeing Cam Howatt play the most unaccountable game of football I've ever seen and JON have have a 3:1 clanger to possession ratio. From this, noticing that Richmond has its fewest 'hacks' for some 20 odd years.

in 2007..

Bad. The first kick was nasty, but I'd have to say the Geelong game. Sitting up there in the dome, watching the team get absolutely thumped. I felt sick.

Good. Edwards goal from the pocket at the 'G..ducking, weaving, then bang. More generally, the win against Essendon, partly because it spoiled their party, but also because of the way they played, and the promise that gave for the future.

Worst - that faithful night where Frawley got spat on - i left at half time when i saw to old fella's in their 60's fighting each other - both with richmond scarfs on. One of their daughters was trying to break it up - started over one of them bagging out A.Kellaway - and one defended him.
sitting in front of me was some Irish tourist who could not believe how shit AFL was - i tried to tell them they picked a shit game to go to - we were getting flogged and played much like this years Geelong game.

Best - that Kangaroo's match in 95 still is right up there. in all honesty - i have had so many great times watching richmond it is hard to even remember them all. The great Hawthorn comeback game was pretty awesome. One game we got flogged against collingwood was actually pretty good too because i got smashed with a heap of friends and random ferals - the event over took the result that night.

I cant remember the years too well - but the games i do (except the collingwood one, i got really smashed! )

everything to do with Richmond is extreme 0 the High's are brilliant - and the lows are ugly.

Worst: Choking against Collingwood in Round 3. Was weak as piss.
Best: Blings 4 goals against WCE.

Worst: Was obviously the Richo hands in the back and 50m penalty... I think thats the most pissed off I have ever been at the footy. At least I wasn't alone, all the Richmond members were on their feet.

Best: Hirds last game was a highlight, not just to see his last game in Melbourne.. but to see the Tiges really give it to Essendon. I enjoyed being surrounded by a bunch of Essendon supporters too.. that had to wait until the final siren before they could leave :D

Agree with telsor, the goal by Edwards was great.. knowing we were onto something with this kid. There were many great moments in 2007, sure we didn't win many games.. but it's great watching the young players develop.

The terrible: Sunday May 6, enough said. I joked to my mates 5 minutes into the first quarter I was leaving when we trailed by 100 points. They made me go 20 minutes into the second quarter (said I'd cursed them...)

The bad: The infamous Hands in the Back free kick against Richo. Football karma when we spoiled the Hird/Sheedy orgasm later in the year.

The good: Angus Graham in the first quarter of the Collingwood match. I was sitting by the interchange gate and saw him injure his leg and hobble off in real pain. He did a couple of run throughs on the boundary then went back on. He was really restricted but kept going. I knew we had a winner, even though many others are happy to cast judgement on his efforts after 2 games...

Best-
Nathan Foley winning goal against Collingwood
1 Point Win against Sydney in 2005, i remember we had these bastard Sydney supporters behind us abusing Richo all game however they kept saying "Richaldson"
Richo's 200th V Port at Telstra Dome his speccie
Richo's 250th when we ran out and all you could hear was the Richo chant in stead of the song
1 Point Win against Hawthorn in 2004 when Richie Vandenberg didnt make the distance from 30 meters when who else but Ray Hall took the winning mark and Tim Flemming kicked the winning point haha.
2 Comeback wins against Hawthorn in 2003 and 2005
Dream Time at The G when Andy Kellaway took the mark then got tackled (should've been 50) but got up quickly to handball to JON who kicked the point!

Worst-
Richo's winning goal being taken away, worst ive ever felt
Draw against Brisbane...enough said
Mark Coughlan redoing his knee
When Matty Knights 'retired'
Brownys Broken Leg
The one point loss to Sydney in Round 21 2000 when if we had've won we were in the finals
Gherig kicking 10 on Ray Hall and losing by 104
Willy T doing his knee in Round 2 2006
115 point loss to Bulldogs

GO TIGES!

worst was the geelong game this season.

the best princess park 1997 40 odd points down against carlton who needed to win to make the 8 and we came back and beat them by 2 points ending thier season .

worst was the geelong game this season.

the best princess park 1997 40 odd points down against carlton who needed to win to make the 8 and we came back and beat them by 2 points ending thier season .

What a great call! Remember Bowden nailing a ripper on the run from 50. The problem was this game got us stuck with the Giesh!

Worse would have been the match against Melboure in the Final round (97 I think) A win and we were in Finals. We played like shit that day and even though Benny and Cambell played their guts out they couldnt drag us across the line. They stood back and waited for the other players to go in before they followed. I stood out in front of the Socail club for an hour waiting for a player to turn up, all I wanted to ask was 'Why;

The Best would have to be the essendon Final in 1995 ( a win after being 30 points down at half time) and then walking out of Waverly the next week after loosing to geelong listening to the Tigers theme song drown out the geelong one. Knowing I was a member of a very special club.

Khan

[/B]

What a great call! Remember Bowden nailing a ripper on the run from 50. The problem was this game got us stuck with the Giesh!

I Think that game was the game of the walking wounded Bondy and Blusus were strapped up with more elasta plast than I had ever seen. Was one the last times I went with a mate who barracked for Carlton. Was as quiet as a mouse while they were winning with an evil smirk on his face then when we hit the front came out with some of the best expletives ever.

The good: Angus Graham in the first quarter of the Collingwood match. I was sitting by the interchange gate and saw him injure his leg and hobble off in real pain. He did a couple of run throughs on the boundary then went back on. He was really restricted but kept going. I knew we had a winner, even though many others are happy to cast judgement on his efforts after 2 games...

i think that effort alone got Gus across the line for a spot on the list - you need a lot of courage, pain resilence and will power to be a good ruckman - and Gus showed alot of qualities that day when he played injured.

I'm very keen to see him have a good crack at showing he can be a top tap ruckman for our club in 08 and beyond

Best I've been at would have to be knocking of Carlton in the 2nd Semi 2001 and then driving home listening to Camporeale squeeling like a little bitch about being touched up!

Worst would be Geelong this year, and the moment would be when Joel Bowden kicked into Mooney on the mark, which Mooney proceeded to slot. The worst part was mooney gave him a pat on the back, and I thought to myself "We don't need you pity you weak, crying bitch!"

The best and worst moments on field as a crowd member