Opinion The 'Carlton related stuff that doesn't need it's own thread' thread Part 2

Just watched that vid F_therest posted, have a look at the second last snippet where LoB who could have gone at the ball chose to block Josh Kennedy allowing Hewett/Kennedy to pick up the ground ball and hand ball to Doc on the outside for a clean kick forward.

Classic example of playing for each other and these are the things that supporters may miss while watching a game, but have players like LoB getting selected week after week.
Also, the example shown before that effort, where Saad took possession, LOB can be seen front of screen instinctively running into defence to make sure we have the outnumber. It doesn't give you a stat most of the time, but you don't win games without it.

It's good to see a Carlton team with two way runners, it's been too long.

Absolutely elite, one step and bang. Reckon he’d win the handball comp on the Sunday footy show kicking with his left.

Best kick of the pill I’ve ever seen at the club, get it in his hands as much as possible

I reckon Houlihan has him covered still

Houlihan weighted passes beautifully agreed, he didn’t have the bullet like penetration though.
LOB also has the ability to hit the bullseye off one step more often than not.
Reckon Fev would salivate at both hitting him on the tit

Seeming we're talking about O'Brien, i've got one thing to add. At the game on Friday i thought he had a really strong game for all the 1 percenters (4th for the team). I was excited to watch the replay the next day to see it all but interestingly i thought the broadcast actually hid quite a lot of his contribution because it was coming from the Docklands side of the stadium. I was seated on the other side and noted quite a number of ways he did the team first thing, out-bodied somewhere, shepherded, spoiled and other little nuances that he often fails to produce. When i watched the replay, a lot of these things were missed and to the casual observer there were times where he appeared worse on TV than he actually did at the game where you can better see depth and distance. Anyway, only minor but an interesting observation and one that might showcase that people should not be so quick to judge when only watching from TV.

I used to bang on about this every week(also I was throwing barker and his essendon mate under the bus🤭 ) when people said we win clearances -- least now the media say it's a thing..

You might not be crazy after all?

I don’t have high hopes for myself

LOB is Houlihan all over again.

Elite kick, lacks a physical presence. Gets a reasonable amount of the footy.

Hes earnt his place in the side. He just needs to work on halving more contests when not in possession.

He'll improve that with experience, confidence and good coaching.
I just...
I don't know what world this is true in. But being a massive fan of Hoops who I thought was an integral part of our team with sublime skills..I just find this comparison
I dunno...pretty much
Dead wrong.
Notsaying anything detrimental against LOB exactly...just that I don't think that is the right comparison.

Voss and his brilliant coaching team seem to be making none of these mistakes
I digress, I believe Voss and his brilliant coaching team have been making mistakes, but they have been working through those, refining and never thinking they’ve hit perfection or to try the bang against the wall repeatedly method of previous years.

That is the true brilliance of the coaching team, imo.

I just...
I don't know what world this is true in. But being a massive fan of Hoops who I thought was an integral part of our team with sublime skills..I just find this comparison
I dunno...pretty much
Dead wrong.
Notsaying anything detrimental against LOB exactly...just that I don't think that is the right comparison.
Houlihan was twice the player LOB is, imo.

Seems he's comfortable now kicking at AFL level and he's right there with other elite kicks.
Coming to terms with the pace of the AFL and how much time he’s got, though he still misjudges it by not taking the first option and then getting caught. Don’t think he will ever be a high footy IQ player like Walsh, which is okay, he just needs to play to his strengths.

Usual silky skilled player - bit soft and don't always work hard but agree, Houlihan better, showed a lot more early in his career than LOB

Sent from my CPH2005 using Tapatalk
Fev rated Houlihan as the best kick, said he loved leading to him. But poor Fev didn’t have a lot of great kicks in the team at the time which shows how good he was.

One of the great full forwards in the game.

As I recall Houlihan’s whipping boy nickname was “The Blouse” - that would make O’Brien’s whipping boy nickname “Little Black Dress”.

:p:p:p
I thought he played exactly 200 games but i just looked him up and he played 201.

On O'Brien:

"His delivery by foot into the forward 50 has been a strength, with the Blues scoring a goal from 30.8 per cent of his kicks into attacking 50, ranked third of the top 100 kicks into this area across the competition, according to Champion Data."

Maybe we can cut him some slack for not being perfect at the hard stuff?

He IS improving in this area but there is still work to do.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Definitely improving but would want to improve his kicking efficiency. 65% for a player who predominantly has uncontested disposals is a poor return.

Sent from my SM-G988B using Tapatalk

Definitely improving but would want to improve his kicking efficiency. 65% for a player who predominantly has uncontested disposals is a poor return.

Sent from my SM-G988B using Tapatalk
Running the wing, sometimes a long kick into the 50 is needed. And it gives our talls and smalls a decent chance. Sometimes it doesn't pay off.