Opinion The 'Carlton related stuff that doesn't need it's own thread' thread

I think you're overplaying it a bit. We'll be right.

How did Richmond get all their lost generations back?
I agree. At a school footy parade last year (eastern suburbs) it was Hawthorn, Collingwood, then Richmond and us, then daylight, then Essendon. I was pleasantly surprised.

Juddy and Betts kept my kids interest. Cripps has them proud now.

The biggest turn off for them is when Ive lost my cool in front of the tv or at the ground. I've had to learn to moderate my frustration and pick out the good bits and share those.

My kids are teenagers now and love the social media. They probably stay in touch with the game more with that than watching the game and that's fine with me for now.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

That's it all about the timing.

My daughter is two, and my son just two months.

By the time the youngest starts school we will be gunning for back to back flags, and they will walk the school yard kings and queens.
Yep perfect lol. Daughter turns three in less than a week and the boy is 4 months. Reckon our first will just be old enough to remember their first flag of many :)

I think a generation is the period a person takes to grow up and procreate as an adult - very variable of course - maybe 25 years?

Big difference between growing up and being able to procreate. Personally these two events were about 10 years apart for me!

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app
Procreation ability came first.

Hi folks,

Wasn't there myself but another Carlton friend went to UTAS Stadium today for a North Launceston Past Players function. Brendan Bolton was guest speaker and my friend said he has never felt so excited about the club. BB was absolutely magnetic, had the entire room dialled in and non-carlton supporters were all (nearly) as impressed.

Key things that my friend pointed out:

Every single player is committed one hundred percent to the process. The youngsters know that they will face losses but they aren't fazed - their development has been mapped out and they truly believe success is the end result.

Charlie Curnow and Patrick Cripps are going nowhere.

He pointed out that the reason we aren't playing like other teams that have tasted success ie copying Richmond/Hawthorn is that we don't have the players to do that YET. The champions are developing within the club and give them time.

When quizzed on North's surprisingly successful season compared to ours he shot that down pointing out that yes, they are well coached, but they are not putting a developing side on the park - they should be performing well and they are putting one of the older teams out each week in terms of age and experience.

No word that was passed on to me regarding drafting or free agency plans.

My friend did have a few under the belt but he's an astute football observer and has been a part of football in Tasmania for a long time - he knows what he's talking about. He was a bit misty eyed with excitement. I felt it too.

Brendan Bolton is obviously not going to get up in front of a function and say things aren't going to plan - but the commitment, enthusiasm and conviction was apparently very, very obvious.

I hope you all find this as encouraging as I do. I only wish I could have gone. I'm excited and I wasn't there!

Cheers

It’s a failure of the parents of kids who barrack for another team, massive failure.

You will never get a more dedicated follower of a person than your own kids.

Sorry, had to be said....

I agree. At a school footy parade last year (eastern suburbs) it was Hawthorn, Collingwood, then Richmond and us, then daylight, then Essendon. I was pleasantly surprised.

Juddy and Betts kept my kids interest. Cripps has them proud now.

The biggest turn off for them is when Ive lost my cool in front of the tv or at the ground. I've had to learn to moderate my frustration and pick out the good bits and share those.

My kids are teenagers now and love the social media. They probably stay in touch with the game more with that than watching the game and that's fine with me for now.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

Yep, nothing turns kids off more than seeing their parents make complete **** of themselves.

As a supporter I am way different now than 25 years ago, doesn’t mean my son hasn’t had words from school confirmed under my breath in frustration....

Be passionate, look at positives and get them involved (club junior training sessions and post session player catchups and signatures for example are absolute winners.

Crippa was the glue that stuck 3 years ago, adding Curnow, Samo, One touch, Dow et al it’s currently smooth sailing

Hi folks,

Wasn't there myself but another Carlton friend went to UTAS Stadium today for a North Launceston Past Players function. Brendan Bolton was guest speaker and my friend said he has never felt so excited about the club. BB was absolutely magnetic, had the entire room dialled in and non-carlton supporters were all (nearly) as impressed.

Every single player is committed one hundred percent to the process. The youngsters know that they will face losses but they aren't fazed - their development has been mapped out and they truly believe success is the end result.

He pointed out that the reason we aren't playing like other teams that have tasted success ie copying Richmond/Hawthorn is that we don't have the players to do that YET. The champions are developing within the club and give them time.

When quizzed on North's surprisingly successful season compared to ours he shot that down pointing out that yes, they are well coached, but they are not putting a developing side on the park - they should be performing well and they are putting one of the older teams out each week in terms of age and experience.

My friend did have a few under the belt but he's an astute football observer and has been a part of football in Tasmania for a long time - he knows what he's talking about. He was a bit misty eyed with excitement. I felt it too.

Brendan Bolton is obviously not going to get up in front of a function and say things aren't going to plan - but the commitment, enthusiasm and conviction was apparently very, very obvious.

I hope you all find this as encouraging as I do. I only wish I could have gone. I'm excited and I wasn't there!

Cheers

Great to hear and thanks for sharing. Thats the stuff that turns onlookers into members.

I think a generation is the period a person takes to grow up and procreate as an adult - very variable of course - maybe 25 years?
My eldest 30, youngest turned 2 a few days ago. I am a grandfather of 2 and just a year younger than you (to the day).
WTF is "a generation":D:shoutyoldman:;)

Hi folks,

Cheers

****ing great post … top notch! :thumbsu:

That's it all about the timing.

My daughter is two, and my son just two months.

By the time the youngest starts school we will be gunning for back to back flags, and they will walk the school yard kings and queens.

My 10 yo boy goes to training every week with a brand new shiny CFC signed Jacob Weitering No23 long sleeve …….. bear in mind I live in Kalgoorlie and the boy plays for Mines Rovers …. (Everyone goes for Freo or West Coast here).

I show him every highlight of Jacobs game I can find on the net, plus, I show him all the negative stuff (posts from here), why? Footy is a hard slog that takes dedication, much like trying to be a scholar. Persistence in the face of resistance builds metal, fortitude. On a footy field you need that to prevail.

Even my 10 yo knows you cannot win every game off your own boot. It's a team effort. He sees that … at 10yo. One player cannot drag 17 others over the line if they are not a cohesive unit all driving in the same direction. The sum of the parts makes the whole.

This is why I love Bolts. He is the plastering glue that binds the weird offcuts to make the patchwork quilt stick together. He doesn't have all the pieces yet …. buts its bloody closer than we were 15 years ago …..

He will sit through a loss with me and see only positive plays … we will critique together and agree certain players, X, Y, Z should have done this and this and so on better or differently …. It's actually quite a unique bonding experience we have because we both have buy in.

My 10 yo boy goes to training every week with a brand new shiny CFC signed Jacob Weitering No23 long sleeve …….. bear in mind I live in Kalgoorlie and the boy plays for Mines Rovers …. (Everyone goes for Freo or West Coast here).

I show him every highlight of Jacobs game I can find on the net, plus, I show him all the negative stuff (posts from here), why? Footy is a hard slog that takes dedication, much like trying to be a scholar. Persistence in the face of resistance builds metal, fortitude. On a footy field you need that to prevail.

Even my 10 yo knows you cannot win every game off your own boot. It's a team effort. He sees that … at 10yo. One player cannot drag 17 others over the line if they are not a cohesive unit all driving in the same direction. The sum of the parts makes the whole.

This is why I love Bolts. He is the plastering glue that binds the weird offcuts to make the patchwork quilt stick together. He doesn't have all the pieces yet …. buts its bloody closer than we were 15 years ago …..

He will sit through a loss with me and see only positive plays … we will critique together and agree certain players, X, Y, Z should have done this and this and so on better or differently …. It's actually quite a unique bonding experience we have because we both have buy in.
That's good dadding mate. Got to encourage but not coddle, and be real. Good and bad and all that.

And try and break the fall … a little … I see myself as the SRS airbag of my sons HSV (no he doesn't have one at age 10!!!)

Hi folks,

Cheers
10th post in 8 years but it's a beaut. :thumbsu:

That's just it. The youngest kids aren't lost - by the time they are at school we'll be doing well and they won't be as vulnerable to bastard Richmond supporting classmates. At least, that's what I am telling myself as my 3 year old ex-nephew has discovered Dusty and now loves all things Tigers.
Fixed it for you.

There is no doubt the club is a mess at the moment, and predominantly on field. Just about everyone from CEO down have had the finger pointed at them but one man ...

ANDREW McKAY

Legend of the club, but GM of Football since 2011 and has overseen/involved in:
- Ratten sacking
- Malthouse appointment
- Loss of high profile players with no return - Betts Waite
- Giving away of players with no return - Robertson, Garlett, Laidler
- Shambolic trades
- Sub standard Northern Blues development program
- Apparent shambolic rehabilitation and injury prevention
- Pathetic list management
- No improvement in 7 years but in fact prob worse than we were when he started

So my question is, what has he done to justify a continued role 7 years later?

There is no doubt the club is a mess at the moment, and predominantly on field. Just about everyone from CEO down have had the finger pointed at them but one man ...

ANDREW McKAY

- Ratten sacking
- Malthouse appointment
- Shambolic trades

Should have his position reviewed, in 1-2 weeks

Just got back from our yearly family trip to Melbourne.

Footy was terrible, but I must say the after game function was a absolute highlight for my 7 year old son. We stayed until the final siren & took the pain & then afterwards for him to meet some of the players & get autographs & handshakes was sensational.

To a man the players were awesome & I now have even more respect for Ed Curnow. Explained to him we had come over from Tassie & the 4 games my 7 year old has seen live over the course of his life have all been defeats & Ed was genuinely disappointed & apologised a couple of times.

The footy is terrible but the character of the players can not be in question.....interestingly Simmo & Lamb were the only two I did not see in attendance.

On a side not, spoke to Cunners who indicated once he is over his current injury he might get a block of games to find his feet in the seniors.

Cain Liddle I also chatted with & again is a quality bloke who I think could be a real asset to our club, mentioned a former Richmond employee who is integral in their membership department is coming on board & that we will chase hard at least a couple of big name free agents this coming off season.

On a side note, I was surprised at the height of Matthew Kennedy, I stand 192 & whilst he is listed as 188 he looks smaller on the tv when playing.

ANDREW McKAY

- Ratten sacking
- Malthouse appointment
- Shambolic trades

Tbh not sure what his role is. It’s like he is a sort of list manager sort of ceo? Would be glad to get some clarification from some of the posters here

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk